Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Oct 7, 2014
    90
    Despite a few rough edges, Styx: Master of Shadows deserves a place alongside Metal Gear Solid 3, Hitman: Blood Money, and Mark of the Ninja as one of the best titles the genre has to offer.
  2. Nov 6, 2014
    85
    If you’re looking for a game with good graphics and an emphasis on sneaking around in the dark and trying to achieve your aims with as little blood spilled as possible, you have your title right here.
  3. Oct 7, 2014
    85
    Styx: Master of Shadows may not come out swinging, it may not become a household name, but it doesn't have to be. Treasure always teases the eyes of those who want it, and Styx has all the makings of a potential sleeper hit.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 18, 2015
    81
    Styx: Master of Shadows is quite good as a stealth based game. Fighting sucks, but I think that is intentional, so that stealth is the main point. [Feb 2015]
  5. Oct 28, 2014
    80
    Despite some flaws, Styx: Master of Shadows is an impressive game. There's not enough real stealth based games and this one fills this little hole perfectly. Styx is not for everyone - you need to be patient, you have to like challenges and high difficulty level. But if you're not easily irritated it will reward you for a job well done. The satisfaction is really big.
  6. Oct 18, 2014
    80
    A surprisingly fun and solid game, that loses a bit of edge in the technical department, but will still be appreciated by any stealth game fan.
  7. Oct 8, 2014
    80
    The music throughout the game is used to great effect.
  8. Oct 27, 2014
    78
    This is why Styx's greatest strength is in always providing another option when a passageway appears to be impenetrable.
  9. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Oct 25, 2014
    78
    Styx: Master of Shadows is positioned as a prequel to the barely noticed in the game world and almost useless Of Men and Orcs. It seems that developers cut off about 99% of previous content but left untouched the most essential element – creepy old goblin with a pedigree that is longer than the history of the world. After this surgery the prequel looks much better than original and if somebody will work over next Styx series with a file it will be capable to outdo restarted Thief. [Nov 2014, p.86]
  10. Oct 15, 2014
    78
    Admirably open levels that reward exploration means there’s high replay value if you’re prepared to overlook the back-tracking.
  11. Oct 15, 2014
    77
    Styx: Master of Shadows feels like a stealth game from an earlier era. Whether that is a bad thing, however, is the question. If you can look past the somewhat dated graphics, you’ll find that the basic mechanics of the game are well constructed. Also, the open level design and the fun abilities Styx has, make this title well worth the small price tag. Just make sure you remain unseen, as our goblin is certainly not a master of combat.
  12. Oct 20, 2014
    75
    A competent, well-made stealth game that can offer quite a few fun gameplay hours. Unfortunately, the transition from the RPG stylings of Of Orcs And Men to stealth caused the game to lose some of its special atmosphere and charm, mainly due to the lack of banter and dialogue between the two unlikely protagonists of the previous game. Still, if you're looking for a quality stealth game Styx: Master of Shadows is well worth the money.
  13. GamesBeat
    Oct 10, 2014
    75
    The action and the feeling of many right paths make Styx truly engrossing for hardcore stealth fans, at a bargain price. Be ready to save often and die a lot — with a smile on your face.
  14. Oct 8, 2014
    75
    The only actual problems with Styx come from the fact that it's not a big budget game. Sometimes, we can clearly feel it. But fortunately, the price tag balanced this little glitch and we can honestly say that the quality of the game is not questionable. Open world and very straightforward at the same time, Styx urges us to try different ways, to play the missions several times to discover all of its secrets.
  15. Oct 7, 2014
    75
    At its core lies a solid slow game that knows how to shine, especially with its multi-story levels, the multi-paths and Styx 'Goblin arsenal.
  16. Oct 14, 2014
    72
    Styx may stumble in its quicktime combat and its spotty edge detection, but it makes up for most of its flaws with challenging stealth action across massives levels.
  17. Oct 7, 2014
    72
    Despite its shortcomings, Styx: Master of Shadows is an enjoyable hardcore stealth game with the light trappings of its RPG forebear. At $30 and offering around 15-20 hours of sneaky goodness, if you can overlook the poor combat and budget animations, chances are you’ll find a lot to like in Styx. The PC port controls are actually solid, though I still wound up playing the game mostly on the 360 controller, mainly because it was more comfortable. Just keep in mind there’s a reason he’s called the Master of Shadows, not the Master of Fighting, and you’ll likely be very pleased with your purchase.
  18. CD-Action
    Feb 7, 2015
    70
    Cyanide Studios surprised me by making a game that’s genuinely worth recommending. What kept me from giving it a higher rating were some technical issues that I encountered. [01/2015, p.58]
  19. Oct 29, 2014
    70
    An entertaining stealth action offering its gamers sufficiently large number of environments along with another number of instruments for horseplays. Due to the weak production values ​​and primitive combat system, this one is intended only for hardcore fans of the silent stealth genre.
  20. Oct 21, 2014
    70
    Styx is a good surprise for infiltration's fans.
  21. Oct 16, 2014
    70
    If you can get past the fact that it isn’t the best looker, you’ll have a good time with Styx. It’s particularly recommended for hardcore sneak-em-up fans looking for a genuine challenge: a stealth-action game in which the emphasis is unapologetically on the stealth, and not the action.
  22. Oct 10, 2014
    70
    Styx: Master of Shadows is not a great game and the timing of its launch is somewhat unfortunate as many gamers are probably still enjoying the stealth approach in Shadow of Mordor, but for old school fans of the genre it does offer a solid experience with some nice level design and cool character abilities.
  23. Oct 10, 2014
    70
    If you put stealth elements from the thief-, splinter cell- and MGS-series together, and mix them up with a classic fantasy setting, you’ll get an idea, of what it feels like playing the green-skinned goblin-master-thief Styx. While the plot focusing on the amber-drug, cloning, lost memories and the war between Elves and Humans is getting more and more weird through the game, you’ll get a nice stealth-experience with cool game-mechanics, mixed with some rpg-elements. Though the game is fun overall, the AI behaves insufficiently and the jump-and-climb-issue based on the imprecise controls can drive you nuts.
  24. Oct 9, 2014
    70
    Its greatest strength is to offer a traditional stealth game, studying patterns and watching every corner, but its poor technical execution, with special attention in its platform elements, is too important to highly recommend it.
  25. Oct 8, 2014
    70
    A very decent effort and a enjoyable stealth game. It´s a bit janky and has its fair amount of troubles, but at the end of the day you are getting a good game for a very good price, with some superb level design, good mechanics and a fair amount of content.
  26. Oct 28, 2014
    65
    Styx is an entertaining stealth game with beautiful levels, but the gameplay is so frustrating that it is hard to really enjoy it.
  27. Nov 11, 2014
    58
    Misfortune follows Styx everywhere in his travels around Akenash. If you somehow managed to complete the campaign without using F5/F9 even once, congratulations – you have an iron will. Most of you, though, will be loading the last quicksave every couple of minutes, because Styx can be so clumsy, especially when it comes to jumping.
  28. Oct 7, 2014
    55
    Styx is a likeable protagonist and is quite possibly the best videogame goblin of all time, but his humorous nature and sailor-like vernacular isn't enough to lift his game beyond the abyss of mediocrity it languishes in.
  29. Oct 20, 2014
    50
    Sometimes I walked right past a guard in broad daylight, right in front of him, and I wasn’t detected. Sometimes I crept by quietly in the dark 100 metres away with the guard’s back 3/4 turned away from me, yet somehow he saw me and madness ensued.
  30. Oct 8, 2014
    50
    Styx is an honest attempt at a traditional stealth title that, like its protagonist, all too often grasps for the ledge and falls short.
  31. Oct 7, 2014
    50
    In some ways Styx feels like a stealth game from an earlier era, but one that's more dated then vintage. It tries to pick up a few tricks from more modern games in the genre, but much of its core wouldn't have been out of place alongside the earlier Tenchu or Metal Gear Solid games.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 316
  1. Oct 11, 2014
    10
    Finally a revive of the stealth genre. With only little imperfections here and there it's an unforgetable ride. No nursing, lots of freedom,Finally a revive of the stealth genre. With only little imperfections here and there it's an unforgetable ride. No nursing, lots of freedom, outstanding level (or should I say - world) and sound design, solid graphics*.

    Controls:
    Smooth, precise, no automation allowing a great deal of freedom of movement. People complaining about it are usually accustomed to Assassin's Creed type of aids or plainly didn't grasp the introductory tutorial of Styx. After few hours I'm looking like a Quasimodo returning from a ballet lessons!
    Good camera movement BTW. I've never seen a serious clipping or obstruction problems with it.

    Story/world:
    Mature fantasy world with interesting, original twists. Again, mature and non-trivial!

    AI:
    A little bit short-sighted and quickly dropping the hunt for you if you manage to run away after being detected but aside from it. A solid work.

    Game mechanics:
    Like a well-selected orchestra!
    Initially I thought that some elements I've seen in the trailer are misplaced and that I won't use them. So wrong. Everything has its place and purpose and everything has its limitations, avoiding boredom and making a specific item too commonly used during gameplay. A stealthy run through a guard-crawling level on the highest difficulty level will leave you thinking you're a god :) It's all hard work, patience, planning and execution all put together.

    Good representation of Styx's limitations. A jump 15 meters down and you're a goner. It's not anime...

    Audio:
    One of the biggest selling points of the game. Apart from repetitive dialogues of the guards that is. The soundtrack should be sold separately! Well done and, as with the story and world design, a great deal of originality.

    * very well optimised! Radeon 6850 allows for perfectly smooth maxed-out gameplay at 1080p.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 9, 2014
    9
    I am not normally a stealth game type person. I normally get bored and crave something more, the latest "Thief" game is a good example inI am not normally a stealth game type person. I normally get bored and crave something more, the latest "Thief" game is a good example in which this has happened to me. For some reason, with Styx: Master of Shadows, I can't stop playing.

    Pros: You get to be a Goblin assassin. The best kind of assassin.
    Expansive and creative level design offers a multitude of paths for your creative enjoyment.
    The controls work well and I have had no problem with "ledge detection" like other people have stated.
    Movement animations are nimble and feel right. Kill animations make you feel powerful and gritty.
    Beautiful graphics especially the lighting and main character, Styx.
    Good story and a cool way of telling it as far as I'm concerned.

    Cons: Sub par voice acting. I really feel like this is the only thing keeping it from a 10/10 to me. If I had to rate the voice acting it would be a 6/10, not horrible but it could have been better.

    All in all, this is a great game for about 25$. I've enjoyed it more than most games I've bought this year for over twice that price.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 8, 2014
    8
    Lots of some raging imperfections but really enjoyable in the end. Surprised by the combat system in the first place, I finally managed toLots of some raging imperfections but really enjoyable in the end. Surprised by the combat system in the first place, I finally managed to deal with it and had a good stealthy time. It's hard to be a gobelin o_o Full Review »