Styx: Master of Shadows Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 312 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Styx: Master of Shadows is an infiltration game with role-playing elements set in a dark fantasy universe, where you sneak, steal and assassinate your way through as Styx, a Goblin two-centuries old.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Styx: Master of Shadows - Summer Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Oct 7, 2014
    90
    Despite a few rough edges, Styx: Master of Shadows deserves a place alongside Metal Gear Solid 3, Hitman: Blood Money, and Mark of the Ninja as one of the best titles the genre has to offer.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 18, 2015
    81
    Styx: Master of Shadows is quite good as a stealth based game. Fighting sucks, but I think that is intentional, so that stealth is the main point. [Feb 2015]
  3. Oct 8, 2014
    80
    The music throughout the game is used to great effect.
  4. Oct 14, 2014
    72
    Styx may stumble in its quicktime combat and its spotty edge detection, but it makes up for most of its flaws with challenging stealth action across massives levels.
  5. Oct 29, 2014
    70
    An entertaining stealth action offering its gamers sufficiently large number of environments along with another number of instruments for horseplays. Due to the weak production values ​​and primitive combat system, this one is intended only for hardcore fans of the silent stealth genre.
  6. Oct 10, 2014
    70
    Styx: Master of Shadows is not a great game and the timing of its launch is somewhat unfortunate as many gamers are probably still enjoying the stealth approach in Shadow of Mordor, but for old school fans of the genre it does offer a solid experience with some nice level design and cool character abilities.
  7. Oct 7, 2014
    50
    In some ways Styx feels like a stealth game from an earlier era, but one that's more dated then vintage. It tries to pick up a few tricks from more modern games in the genre, but much of its core wouldn't have been out of place alongside the earlier Tenchu or Metal Gear Solid games.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 57
  2. Negative: 15 out of 57
  1. Oct 11, 2014
    10
    Finally a revive of the stealth genre. With only little imperfections here and there it's an unforgetable ride. No nursing, lots of freedom,Finally a revive of the stealth genre. With only little imperfections here and there it's an unforgetable ride. No nursing, lots of freedom, outstanding level (or should I say - world) and sound design, solid graphics*.

    Controls:
    Smooth, precise, no automation allowing a great deal of freedom of movement. People complaining about it are usually accustomed to Assassin's Creed type of aids or plainly didn't grasp the introductory tutorial of Styx. After few hours I'm looking like a Quasimodo returning from a ballet lessons!
    Good camera movement BTW. I've never seen a serious clipping or obstruction problems with it.

    Story/world:
    Mature fantasy world with interesting, original twists. Again, mature and non-trivial!

    AI:
    A little bit short-sighted and quickly dropping the hunt for you if you manage to run away after being detected but aside from it. A solid work.

    Game mechanics:
    Like a well-selected orchestra!
    Initially I thought that some elements I've seen in the trailer are misplaced and that I won't use them. So wrong. Everything has its place and purpose and everything has its limitations, avoiding boredom and making a specific item too commonly used during gameplay. A stealthy run through a guard-crawling level on the highest difficulty level will leave you thinking you're a god :) It's all hard work, patience, planning and execution all put together.

    Good representation of Styx's limitations. A jump 15 meters down and you're a goner. It's not anime...

    Audio:
    One of the biggest selling points of the game. Apart from repetitive dialogues of the guards that is. The soundtrack should be sold separately! Well done and, as with the story and world design, a great deal of originality.

    * very well optimised! Radeon 6850 allows for perfectly smooth maxed-out gameplay at 1080p.
    Expand
  2. Mar 10, 2017
    9
    Criminally underrated. It has a few issues but it easily outshines the few flaws. If you like stealth and/or killing plenty of guards whileCriminally underrated. It has a few issues but it easily outshines the few flaws. If you like stealth and/or killing plenty of guards while stealing sh*t this game is for you. Can't wait for the sequel! Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2014
    9
    A little gem of a game this is! I could write a really lengthy wall of text about this one, mainly consisting of positive after positiveA little gem of a game this is! I could write a really lengthy wall of text about this one, mainly consisting of positive after positive comment. To keep it short, combat is a bit clunky and I accept that. Styx is a Goblin with a dagger. He's not Styx: The Green Barbarian but Styx: Master of Shadows. If you accept the fact that you're not Drizz't do Urden, you're in for a ride! Use your strengths which are sneaking, backstabbing and agile climbing.

    While playing this game you'll do yourself a huge favor by being patient. Observe and look for opportunities and turn off on-screen objectives. They will only draw you too quickly to the next level, explore instead and use the crude in game map. You're probably in those locations for the first time anyway, so it's only realistic to not know exactly where to go. Also, when playing on "Goblin" difficulty the AI ain't so dumb as some people would have it. The AI is pretty aware of its surroundings and it will be a challenge to remain undetected, while making combat fairly hard as you'll die in one sword hit.

    The graphics are nice, it sets the right mood and Styx is an enjoyable character to play. The graphics isn't particularly demanding, nicely optimized and gets the job done perfectly. Anyone complaining about it should get a proper spanking as there is absolutely nothing wrong with it.

    Styx: MoS is a proper "Thief game". Much more so than, for example, Thief III. Styx follows a tried and tested formula and adds freedom of movement and many paths from A to B both in playstyle (Skill choices) and more literally the route through each zone. Each path with some difficulties, unlike Deus Ex HR, for example (vent routes were almost equal to no challenge). Styx also adds "accidents" which can be triggered mainly by unfastening chandeliers but also by poisoning fruit bowls that the AI guards eats from. A nice little addition to the already diverse choice of more up close and personal assassination techniques. I advice people to unlock the 4 "Kill" skills as quickly as possible. They are, in my opinion, vital to get the most out of the assassination part of the game and I do enjoy that part very much.

    The game gets 8 for product quality ( technical, visual and creative presentation) and 10 for fun rating which ends up with a smashing average of 9!
    Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2019
    8
    A game with brilliant ideas which are unfortunately not so properly realized and an unexpectedly great psychological story which at first lookA game with brilliant ideas which are unfortunately not so properly realized and an unexpectedly great psychological story which at first look kinda stereotipical and not so intriguing - until you complete the mission number five. This makes the plot twist very unexpected and astonishing, but at the same time a lot of people were drawn off because of this, unable to find anything worth their attention at the beginning of the game. Fortunately, I wasn't among those people and thus I enjoyed the plot at full. The protagonist and the antagonist both are very well written characters with understandable motivation.
    If you started to play this game and find it boring, I recommend you to endure just until the end of the fifth mission - it'll be worth it, I assure you :)
    Expand
  5. FGM
    Dec 19, 2016
    7
    Thief 1 without a bow and with a wimpy goblin. Huge levels reminded me of Blades of Darkness, still it gets old after few hours at best, andThief 1 without a bow and with a wimpy goblin. Huge levels reminded me of Blades of Darkness, still it gets old after few hours at best, and minimalistic RPG elements, together with Relics Collection (1 relic each level) are hardly enough to keep you going. Plays alright on a gamepad but is lacking a tiny bit in edge detection department. Gameplay is slow and repetitive, with a slow, dull story, fights consist mostly from dodging and parrying as you can't really attack the big stupid humans. Character are alright, but definitely not from a catwalk.The best part of this game is the level design and some scenery from time to time. I'll give it 7 but it's 6.5 really. Especially that it came out recently and not around 2005-10. I couldn't bring myself to complete the whole story. Expand
  6. Feb 2, 2015
    4
    This is hardly an original concept. I don't suppose anyone happens to remember Thief?
    Well, this is generally Thief, with a goblin.
    Aside
    This is hardly an original concept. I don't suppose anyone happens to remember Thief?
    Well, this is generally Thief, with a goblin.
    Aside from the fact it has one of the worst fight mechanics I've seen in any game for a very long time, the whole thing is monstrously cliched. Apart from the story there seems to have been very little imaginative or at least original thought put into this.
    This is one I would go to on a rainy day when there really isn't anything else worth doing, but I wouldn't play this on a regular basis, preferring Thief to this one any day of the week!
    Expand
  7. Jan 6, 2016
    0
    This game is ok for 2002 year. If you like stupid checkpoints and look on the same scenes again and again. This game for you
    bad bad bad bad
    This game is ok for 2002 year. If you like stupid checkpoints and look on the same scenes again and again. This game for you
    bad bad bad bad bad bad bad
    Expand

See all 57 User Reviews