Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Jan 19, 2022
    90
    Overall, Super Robot Wars 30 is an excellent tribute to the 30th anniversary of the series. The new mission setup is a bit daunting at first but works well on multiple playthroughs and with the new DLC. Considering the challenges the development team must have faced during the pandemic to get this game done, it’s remarkable how well it all turned out.
  2. Dec 10, 2021
    90
    If you’re a Turn-Based Strategy or Mecha anime fan, then you owe it to yourself to give this a try. As for me, I plan to delve once again into the endless war these heroes fight so that, one day, true peace will once again return to humanity.
  3. Dec 21, 2021
    87
    I loved every second I spent with this game and am grateful that the opportunity to play it presented itself. Whenever I was at work, all I could think about was coming home to play it. I even contemplated burning a sick day or two so I could stay home and play it all day. Despite its flaws, Super Robot Wars 30 most certainly cast the spell on me that it’s been casting on fans for the past 30 years, and I look forward to 30 more.
  4. Dec 21, 2021
    85
    Super Robot Wars 30 is a love letter from mecha fans to mecha fans. It’s flashy, loud, and colorful. It oozes charm, and it’s a delight to play once one gets past the information overload — and in the end, I loved it wholeheartedly.
  5. Apr 3, 2022
    80
    A superb homage to the history of Super Robot Wars and Super Robots in general.
  6. Feb 1, 2022
    80
    Overall, Super Robot Wars 30 is a good addition to the series for fans of the previous titles. While it may not be the type of game I would play that doesn’t stop me from appreciating the hard work that has been put into it. From the graphics to the audio and the story, it plays like an anime story that you play through.
  7. Dec 2, 2021
    80
    Super Robot Wars 30 is one of the most fun I've had playing in recent years. Its revamped narrative logic complements the characteristics of Super Robot Wars. However, I was slightly disappointed by the conservative battle. For most fans, this should be a satisfactory answer, but for the future of Super Robot Wars series, it failed in its performance.
  8. Nov 24, 2021
    80
    If you like mecha anime or even mecha-themed SRPGs, Super Robot Wars 30 provides a strong introduction to one of the longest-running SRPG franchises. It's a great encapsulation of what makes the franchise shine, and it's filled to the brim with fanservice in a way that will warm even the coldest mecha fan's heart. On its own merits, it is a lengthy and enjoyable (if easy) SRPG, but it really shines if you know the source material. It's not for everyone, but if SRW30 is for you, it'll give you everything you could possibly want.
  9. Dec 1, 2021
    77
    If you’re a 30 year fan of Super Robot Wars, the latest entry into the saga is something pretty special. No expense was spared bringing crunchy strategy rules and every mecha IP under the sun into one full throttle extravaganza. And even if you are a complete noob like me, this feels like a great entry to the wider world of giant robot anime. I suppose if you are only looking for the most finely honed strategy game and style is meaningless to you, you’re not going to find what you are looking for in Super Robot Wars 30. But give it a chance, it might grab you with a 10 foot long mechanized fist and not let go.
  10. Nov 8, 2021
    77
    If you are a longtime fan of mecha anime, you will surely feel home while playing Super Robot Wars 30.
  11. 77
    An official version of Super Robot Wars on our PCs is a long-cherished dream, but it's not an experience for everyone. Certainly not for those expecting a deep and challenging strategy game, as almost the entire experience plays on fanservice. Not to mention a roster incapable of giving back the encyclopaedic feeling that an event like the 30th anniversary would require.
  12. Nov 8, 2021
    75
    Super Robot Wars 30 is a wonderful place to start in this series due to its ease of accessibility and commendable encyclopedia of terms and characters. It’s an approachable SRPG no matter your skill level but shows age in its menu design and limited tutorials. Still, it managed to rope me in for hours of enjoyment as I survived off this mecha feast for days. So, here’s to another 30 years of Super Robot Wars.
  13. Nov 8, 2021
    72
    Super Robot Wars 30 celebrates thirty years of an iconic franchise for many Japanese robots fans, and it does it in the best way: with an official western release, although limited to the PC version available on Steam.
  14. Dec 21, 2021
    70
    SRW 30 is a great starting point for newcomers to the series; it is also a milestone for veteran SRW players due to how it has revamped its narrative structure to be more open-ended and non-linear. If there is one common thread throughout every single SRW game, it has always been to form your giant robot dream team and have fun breaking the game in half with them. SRW 30 is no different.
  15. Nov 3, 2021
    60
    A love letter to mecha fans. Unfortunately a complete lack of any semblance of challenge makes it very hard to recommend to anyone but the most die hard of giant robots fan.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Dec 10, 2021
    4
    I can't recommend this game for advanced players on Tactics and RPG games, its easy, lack of any strategy or great history context, forI can't recommend this game for advanced players on Tactics and RPG games, its easy, lack of any strategy or great history context, for obvious reasons, its a mix of various anime mecha characters on generic missions that at some point will fight against their usual enemy, with a tons of dialog (maybe take more time in this that in battle) and beautiful animations scenes in battle, nut that's is all.

    If you are a fan of mecha animes in general, and don't want a truly strategy game go for it, if you don't, you'll be very disappointed.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 14, 2022
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. This game is for mecha enthusiasts and SRPG fans. Fair warning: check the series list. If you’re exclusively a fan of say, Evangelion, then this may not be the title for you, but you shouldn’t write it off – it’s still an excellent game.

    Full review at:
    https://aggregatorreviews.com/was-super-robots-wars-30-worth-it/
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 3, 2022
    8
    This is the 30 year’s anniversary game of the super robot wars series. I was hoping for more mechs from more animes.