Superliminal Image
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Perception is reality. In this mind-bending first-person puzzler, you explore a surreal dream world and solve impossible puzzles using the ambiguity of depth and perspective.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. 90
    The escalating panic of the automated guide over the tannoy system adds some narrative cohesion to the puzzles and environments that keep getting stranger. But, in all honesty, if Superliminal had no narrative, I’d still love it.
  2. Nov 12, 2019
    85
    Portal meets The Stanley Parable in a game that, although may fall short in some aspects, offers one of the most imaginative and surprising experiences of 2019. A true hidden gem for the puzzle lovers as well as a video game design masterclass.
  3. Edge Magazine
    Dec 5, 2019
    80
    It spits you out, head spinning, with a message about overcoming failure through unorthodox thinking; one last surprise in a game that encourages you to readjust your perspective in every sense. [Issue#340, p.118]
  4. Superliminal plays with your perceptions while you play with it.
  5. Dec 12, 2019
    70
    A well-built puzzle game, certainly appreciated by fans of the genre, but unable to rival the sacred monsters of the category in terms of inspiration, originality and the power of the story.
  6. Nov 12, 2019
    70
    Rather than repetition, Superliminal wants to keep you guessing until the very end. It might not be for someone who is brand new to the genre, but veterans will spend a memorable afternoon trying to wake up from this hard day’s night.
  7. Apr 19, 2020
    47
    A soulless Portal copycat built around a cool gameplay mechanic, which would have flourished in a game by Double Fine or Valve. Superliminal has more originality than other copycats (see The Bradwell Conspiracy), but it’s absolutely devoid of substance and leaves you indifferent.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 30
  2. Negative: 3 out of 30
  1. Nov 15, 2019
    10
    This game is simply mind bending and amazing. It’s like portal, but more about experiencing rather than puzzle solving. Your way of perceivingThis game is simply mind bending and amazing. It’s like portal, but more about experiencing rather than puzzle solving. Your way of perceiving the environment will never be the same agin after finishing this game. Gameplay wise, the only mechanism is the forced perspective, it’s very tricky to explain to someone but amazingly intuitive. This level of innovation although is not quite Portal level, it’s definitely good to see from floods of similar 3A titles these days. Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2020
    10
    Amazing game. I already knew the programmer did an amazing job, but i was not expecting the story and soundtrack to be amazing too. Not tooAmazing game. I already knew the programmer did an amazing job, but i was not expecting the story and soundtrack to be amazing too. Not too challenging but it's duration made the game not tiresome (The game was short but it gave you a blast for those few hours). A lot of people didn't get the message of the story. Minor spoiler if you can't finish a 2-4 hour game. The final phrase really made me realize how we use games as an escape from our problems. Expand
  3. Jun 13, 2020
    10
    Superliminal is by far the bast game I played in the last few years. Even though it starts as a puzzle solving game that has a funny way ofSuperliminal is by far the bast game I played in the last few years. Even though it starts as a puzzle solving game that has a funny way of dealing with physics, the story is what caught me the most. especially in the last 20 minutes. It kind of reminded me of Kafkas "Trial" when you did not really know what was going on around you, but you just knew that you needed to comply in hope that it will end.
    There was so much love put into the game, which makes it so awesome to play. I can only recommend to play this if you want to have a good time.
    Expand
  4. Dec 28, 2019
    8
    It's fine though not a masterpiece but great. The main reason it's not a 10 is that the story and setting of it is very blunt to the point ofIt's fine though not a masterpiece but great. The main reason it's not a 10 is that the story and setting of it is very blunt to the point of being boring and cheesy though at least it doesn't resort to cheap jump scares like other games so at least it does that well. The other reason that makes it lose a point is that while the puzzles aren't necessarily unoriginal they do not make you think they are revolutionary but they are still partly original especially if you haven't played that many 3d puzzle games before. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2019
    8
    It is pretty good. It doesn't have much of a story, and it isn't real deep. The puzzles are so simple it is more of a walking simulator alongIt is pretty good. It doesn't have much of a story, and it isn't real deep. The puzzles are so simple it is more of a walking simulator along the lines of The Stanley Parable or The Beginner's Guide than something like Portal. It is also pretty pricey at $17 (that includes the 15% launch discount) for a 2-3 hour game. Plus it is only on the Epic store right now, for PC only, and has no controller support.
    But personally I thought it was worth it overall. It was a fun, trippy walking simulator if nothing else. A couple sections were fun enough to play around with even though I knew how to continue on. I've spent that much on 2-hour movies that weren't nearly as entertaining.
    I would much rather waste $17 than 3 hours of my time. I thought this was worth my time. But if money matters to you, there are longer, better, cheaper puzzle games out there.
    Expand
  6. Nov 17, 2019
    7
    Superliminal starts strong, very strong. Puzzle mechanics are different enough for it to pique interest.
    Unfortunately after the third "wake"
    Superliminal starts strong, very strong. Puzzle mechanics are different enough for it to pique interest.
    Unfortunately after the third "wake" things go dramatically downhill. Puzzle solutions become more mundane less imaginative and the solutions become less intuitive, which is ironic given the idea of the game is looking at things with a different perspective. The game quickly becomes a Stanley Parable walking sim, which as good as that game is, is not something I signed up for by buying Superliminal.
    Although the game is short, it ran out of ideas well before the end point, and I was rather wishing for it all to be over about three quarters of the way through.
    I am sure you can sense my frustration here, because after first half hour I was sure I had stumbled upon a classic game.
    It is not without some charm and interest, and of its genre it is pleasant enough to play through.
    Expand
  7. Dec 21, 2019
    0
    This would normally get a very high score. Unfortunately, Pillow Castle decided to abuse their copyright and only licensed their product toThis would normally get a very high score. Unfortunately, Pillow Castle decided to abuse their copyright and only licensed their product to Epic Games under an exclusive license. As a result, their game is inaccessible to those opposed to Epic, and their game specifically endorses these immoral business practices. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews