Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Dec 7, 2020
    96
    A riveting politico-economic drama that seamlessly turns into a journey of self-knowledge. Political Sim games fans, Choose-Your-Own-Adventure enthusiasts, as well as those who crave strong narratives, should definitely check it out.
  2. Mar 23, 2021
    90
    This is a brilliant political strategy game, very well written and full of gut-wrenching decisions. Only you will decide the fate of the Republic - and its embattled president.
  3. Jan 4, 2021
    85
    Suzerain is unlike most things you can play that’s out right now. The choose your own adventure stylings are fascinating, with rabbit trail upon rabbit trail to investigate. Because of this, you’ll be able to play it again and again, and because they do such a great job with the setting and people you’re going to want to. While some sections can be long in tooth, they only make me appreciate what Suzerain is doing, creating a riveting narrative of what it’s like to be President.
  4. Dec 16, 2020
    85
    Suzerain is a good experience that sometimes feels like it needs a little more game. Following the career path of President Rayne and facing the many challenges can be both thrilling and boring, with a side of frustrating at times. The developers clearly have a lot of talent for world-building and dialogue writing, which makes the game a treat for anyone willing to learn about the world and play with its possibilities. Come to Suzerain first for the feeling of power and the scheming, stay longer to discover the characters and the way choices are interlocked in an interesting way.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 12, 2021
    80
    A political text adventure full of possibilities, great characters and interesting plots will engulf you and make you think about economic and human issues. [Issue#310]
  6. Apr 1, 2021
    80
    Suzerain has problems with how it presents information as well as some logical holes, yet its non-linear narrative, moody atmosphere, the tingling feeling that everything will end badly, awesome soundtrack, and a well-developed world are all valid reasons to veto any criticisms and return to Sordland for more socio political experiments.
  7. Jan 11, 2021
    80
    Suzerain is a compelling political drama/simulation and if you have the patience for great walls of text and often punishing decision-making, this is the game for you.
  8. Dec 6, 2020
    80
    Suzerain is basically West Wing in game form, which is as awesome as it sounds. A game more akin to 80 Days than Civilization, Suzerain is a surprisingly compelling narrative that allows players to run a country with their own ideas about how things should be done to see if they’re right. I got to test out my theory of crime being a symptom of failings in other areas, pushing education and healthcare to the forefront; I was happy to see crime decrease as a response to increased access to necessary services. Suzerain may not seem exciting upon first glance due to its limited mechanics, but within minutes you’ll be hooked on Sordland’s history with a desire to shape its future. If you think you can run a country, prove it — grab Suzerain today.
  9. Dec 3, 2020
    80
    Suzerain is an interesting game with some serious quality behind it. Those who want more machinations in their strategy games, particularly when tied to some characters with genuine depth, will find a lot to love.
  10. Feb 22, 2021
    76
    Suzerain is a fascinating game told through incredibly dense and detailed writing with effective pacing and smart world-building. Its unique mix of player choices against a strategy backdrop make for a compelling adventure, even if presentation aspects are lacking. A game that is designed to challenge whatever political ideology you hold.
  11. Dec 23, 2020
    72
    Suzerain would have benefited from the additional graphical flourish to really push the game up a level or two, but it is still a strong contender and will stand on its own. Well worth a play.
  12. Suzerain is not a game with action dynamism. You mostly encounter text walls and you read it all the time. Suzerain is a game that can be developed with updates and attracts strategy lovers like me.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 39
  2. Negative: 6 out of 39
  1. Jan 16, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Truly a masterpiece, really makes you think about your existence and role on society, I really liked. Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2021
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I originally reviewed this game on January 31, 2021 via GOG:

    Sordland needs a wise strongman.

    To this end, I sided with the Old Guard, enacted emergency powers, banned extremism on the both the left and right, and suppressed ethnic separatism. I rejected any and all bribes from corporate special interests and promoted austerity for myself and for those in my administration. I refused to bail out businesses or give out temporary stimulus, instead I sought long-term goals — investing in rail infrastructure and agriculture.

    I also invested heavily in education and healthcare, especially in rural areas, while at the same time, introducing privatization to those sectors to make them more competitive and reduce budgetary strains. I reformed the education system to enhance academic freedom and remove political indoctrination. I promoted women's rights for meritocracy, so that citizens of any sex can prevail if they are smart and willing enough.

    I created an anti-corruption agency, boosted the powers of the police while separating them from the military, and greatly increased the strength of the army.

    I would also jail the corrupt oligarchs indefinitely without trial, nationalizing their industries and limiting the power of the media. I lowered taxes for small business, increased taxes for larger ones, and passed laws to protect fair competition and workers' rights. I managed to recover the economy with a balanced budget. I made two trade deals with minimal concessions and tightened border security to keep away refugees.

    I reconciled with and united minorities, and ensured all schools taught a common language while protecting religious freedom. Women and minorities strongly supported my reign by the end. I had consistently promoted peace worldwide and domestically.

    Due to my tyranny however, my cabinet resigned at the end, so I decided to resign as well and let a new leader take my place — lest I stay in power too long and become another Soll.

    Good game, but its file size and performance requirements are unnecessarily large.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 9, 2021
    0
    Very unique president simulator in lovely fictional world. Very immerse and interesting, especially for people interested in politics.