Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Feb 4, 2021
    93
    In all, Sword of the Necromancer is a fun roguelite with a heartfelt story. The usage of the titular blade adds a whole new layer to the roguelite genre, in that gamers will need to strategize about what enemies to take out first in order to have them fight on their side. If the genre interests you but you need a good story to feel at all invested, then this game is for you.
  2. Feb 18, 2021
    85
    Sword of the Necromancer manages to bring something new to the flooded rogue-like genre while providing a heartwarming story. It has a multitude of options to allow players to tailor the game to their liking. It’s breadth of mechanics allow for tons of experimentation that will keep you coming back until you finally get the true ending.
  3. Jan 28, 2021
    85
    Sword of the Necromancer is a gem of a game. While visually it can look a little repetitive, the game is honestly a ton of fun. I think this one may be a game people remember for a long time.
  4. Feb 23, 2021
    75
    Sword of the Necromancer is a game that will scratch a very particular itch for fans of rogue-lite experiences that feature more narrative than the genre is known for. The gameplay mechanics deliver one cool idea, the monster resurrection, but fail to make full use of it, especially when players need to deal with bosses or the more capable enemies of later levels. I wanted the game to give me more reasons to use the monsters I revived, to understand them, to build strategies around the ones I chose to carry around. The development team clearly understands how important is to ground players into a narrative. But they need to make sure that there’s deeper integration between the world and the gameplay to create a successful rogue-lite. Right now Sword of the Necromancer is like one of its monsters, intriguing at first but quickly dropped when it no longer seems useful.
  5. Feb 25, 2021
    70
    Sword of the Necromancer is an enjoyable game with a story that really makes you want to play more, though after playing through the same sections multiple times with a lot of the same enemies can get repetitive after a while, especially once you get to the end and realise you need to start over for the full ending.
  6. Feb 5, 2021
    70
    Sword of the Necromancer is a fun roguelike, with a unique enemy revival system that sets it apart from other titles in the genre. Unfortunately, a lacklustre combat system and unoriginal story mean that it doesn't quite match up to the absolute best roguelikes out there.
  7. Feb 8, 2021
    60
    If you are looking for a 2D dungeon crawler with some rogue-lite options, Sword of the Necromancer might just scratch that itch, but for me the legend didn’t quite live up to what I had hoped.
  8. Jan 28, 2021
    55
    To enjoy Sword of the Necromancer requires you to be invested in the narrative, but to do that, you’ll have to get through gameplay that lacks many refinements that a roguelike needs. The system of bringing monsters back alive to fight for you is limited because you have to manage only four slots of items, which often shadows the game’s most unique systems. As charming as this game looks, it doesn’t ever become a challenging adventure or an interesting experience.

Awards & Rankings

There are no user reviews yet.