User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 49
  2. Negative: 8 out of 49
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobbyW.
    Jul 31, 2007
    9
    The game looks amazing and runs on even the lowest end systems fine (which is just awesome for a few of my friends.) The sound track is done mostly by soundTeMP (who also made Ragnarok Online's soundtrack), so you know the audio won't disappoint. The biggest draw for me was the PvP. Finally... PvP that isn't gear-centric and based on skill! However... the only draw back is The game looks amazing and runs on even the lowest end systems fine (which is just awesome for a few of my friends.) The sound track is done mostly by soundTeMP (who also made Ragnarok Online's soundtrack), so you know the audio won't disappoint. The biggest draw for me was the PvP. Finally... PvP that isn't gear-centric and based on skill! However... the only draw back is the leveling process. It's more or less a grind when there's no quests to do, and that's just insanely boring to me. Otherwise, best MMO out right now. So many characters to play with, I seriously can't choose anymore. Expand
  2. NigelH.
    Jul 12, 2007
    2
    This game has potential - a really underexplored genre, but it is critically flawed because th game basically plays itself! Combat is monotonous, and you can actually have the game auto-fight for you for up to half and hour! No need to pay for expensive botting services, why not just get your own pc to do the playing for you! I'm disapointed. The game has some Korean screens This game has potential - a really underexplored genre, but it is critically flawed because th game basically plays itself! Combat is monotonous, and you can actually have the game auto-fight for you for up to half and hour! No need to pay for expensive botting services, why not just get your own pc to do the playing for you! I'm disapointed. The game has some Korean screens appearing now and then, and the translations are sometimes a bit funky. But if it was fun to play I'd be a fan. Sadly, not yet in this case. Expand
  3. NathanV.
    Jul 13, 2007
    3
    The novelty of playing 3 characters gets old rather quick, due to the stale gameplay based simply on mindless grinding in order to meet the requirements of a certain set of skills, item, or an incredibly expensive piece of clothing with a high level requirement that has no impact on gameplay whatsover. Brain-dead MMO hack/slash at its finest.
  4. DannyR.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    There are two types of people who will try this game: those who get what it really offers, and those who don't. My guess is you are going to see some very high scores and some very low scores, and the ones you should listen to are the high scores cause those are the people who get it. I don't blame those who don't get it, cause all they probably did was try the game alone There are two types of people who will try this game: those who get what it really offers, and those who don't. My guess is you are going to see some very high scores and some very low scores, and the ones you should listen to are the high scores cause those are the people who get it. I don't blame those who don't get it, cause all they probably did was try the game alone and they don't know much about it. But, seriously, this game is amazing. It is beautiful (awesome females characters!). And you can level up to three character classes at the same time. The PvP option alone is going to be epic, at least once the game has some veterans (it has just launched, and I think most people are still focusing on their low level characters. lol.). One very nice thing about this game is that you can play it very easily, at first, but you can also become super skilled if you try to control each of three characters individually using strategy and all the stances and skills at your command. And I don't know if anyone mentioned this in their reviews yet but you can try this game totally for FREE. That is how I heard about it, cause I love free games. I have never seen anything this awesome that you can try for free. If you love MMORPGs and you are tired of the same old fantasy ones with trolls and you want to have a variety of gameplay options with so many characters, then check this out. Do yourself a big favor, though, and go to the website (I think it is just the name of the game and then .com) and get into the forums and read. You will want to talk to other people so you can learn how to play and why this is a real 10. Sleeper hit of the summer, people. Do not miss out! Expand
  5. JohnM.
    Jul 31, 2007
    6
    This game has a lot of potential, and will do well when technical problems are ironed out. The staff is great, also. That all being said, there are a number of serious issues that have not been fixed or addressed yet, and the use of X-Trap causes more problems that it stops. As for the game itself, the combat system is innovative, and a lot of fun. The Quarters system allows you to have This game has a lot of potential, and will do well when technical problems are ironed out. The staff is great, also. That all being said, there are a number of serious issues that have not been fixed or addressed yet, and the use of X-Trap causes more problems that it stops. As for the game itself, the combat system is innovative, and a lot of fun. The Quarters system allows you to have up to 36 characters on stand-by, ready for use. UPCs add a new flavor to the game, without being game breakingly powerful. But, try the game for yourself, before listing to anyone's opinion. K2 offers a F2P version, where you can get to level 20 before you stop getting experience and drops. At which point, you can subscribe to continue on with your existing family. Expand
  6. Jaruri
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    The game has clean graphics, godly music, and good effects, though there is the occasional crash or failure, this game is still GODLY.
  7. NikolausB.
    Oct 13, 2007
    7
    This game has so much potential. The art is fantastic, and the multi character control can lead to tactical movement which could keep this game interesting for a long time; however the world falls short in it's quests. The quests are so bland and generic. (95% of the quests I have seen thus far have all been of the "Go kill this many of this" variety.) Simply writing in interesting This game has so much potential. The art is fantastic, and the multi character control can lead to tactical movement which could keep this game interesting for a long time; however the world falls short in it's quests. The quests are so bland and generic. (95% of the quests I have seen thus far have all been of the "Go kill this many of this" variety.) Simply writing in interesting quests would perk this game up so much. The other problem is the enemy re-spawn rate. The enemies respawn so fast that most tactical maneuvers will result in you getting flanked of ambushed by monsters you killed mere seconds ago. The character costume options present a nice variety, but there are no options in physical features. I feel like I MUST own a hat to hide the fact that my hair looks exactly the same as every other character of the same class. This game has so very much potential, and all of it's issues could be fixed in a simple patch, I'm ready to give it a 10 in a moment's notice. It's so frustrating when a game comes this close to being great. Atleast it's worth the $0 it costs to play. Expand
  8. StevenJ.
    Jul 13, 2007
    10
    Amazing a Korean MMO that is better than WOW!!
  9. ChuckL.
    Jul 16, 2007
    10
    I've been playing the game since beta. The mcc system is kick ass and pvp is going to rock. Good for any gamer ranging from completely new players to veteran players.
  10. JulianS.
    Jul 18, 2007
    9
    Cool graphics, awesome mcc and sexy pk maps.. its only ftw!
  11. ImranK.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    This is one MMO you don't want to miss. Amazing graphics and mindblowing stances make this game unbeatable.
  12. JamesK.
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Awesome Graphics and gameplay, it's the only game out that really lets you control up to three characters at once! You got to check out the download package got a kickbutt special character.
  13. SouvikM.
    Jul 24, 2007
    10
    A fantastic MMORPG adventure with breath-taking graphics which will keep you entertained for months together!!
  14. MattA.
    Jul 31, 2007
    8
    Wonderful MMO with a mind-numbing grind.
  15. MikeG.
    Jul 31, 2007
    6
    I'll break this down into categories: Music - 10/10, It has some of the best music I've ever heard in a game. SoundTeMP is great at what he/she/it does. Graphics - 8/10, Beautiful graphics, good weapon effects. Controls - 8/10, Good controls, but the Scout frequently doesn't want to listen when you tell him what to do. The fact that you control three characters means that I'll break this down into categories: Music - 10/10, It has some of the best music I've ever heard in a game. SoundTeMP is great at what he/she/it does. Graphics - 8/10, Beautiful graphics, good weapon effects. Controls - 8/10, Good controls, but the Scout frequently doesn't want to listen when you tell him what to do. The fact that you control three characters means that it takes a longer amount of time than one would want in order to get them into a position that would be considered strategic, which isn't a good thing when you're PvPing. Gameplay - 5/10, Typical grind. The afk leveling system makes it so that people who put in hard work don't get rewarded. The game basically plays itself in that regard. The gameplay's only saving grace is that you can control 3 characters, but that might be a curse for some people. Itemization - 4/10, Items on an "every 4 levels" basis. Not good. Complete lack of variety, extremely low amount of uniques and elites. Abysmal drop rates in most areas. Basically, the game is good, until mid level when you really start to feel the grind. One would hope they would see the light and do away with the AFK leveling system and turn down the grind instead, or add an offline exp system a-la EVE Online, but alas, this doesn't seem to be the case. Expand
  16. PyroStasis
    Jul 31, 2007
    9
    First off, the game is a korean grind game. That cant be sugar coated at all. You need to understand that the game is going to take lots of time to level. However unliked most games that have a major grind, the combat system in SOTNW(sword of the new world) is intense. In a normal game where a dungeon would have 5 monsters in a room, sotnw will have 50 - 60 on 30 second timers. Leading to First off, the game is a korean grind game. That cant be sugar coated at all. You need to understand that the game is going to take lots of time to level. However unliked most games that have a major grind, the combat system in SOTNW(sword of the new world) is intense. In a normal game where a dungeon would have 5 monsters in a room, sotnw will have 50 - 60 on 30 second timers. Leading to rather crazy moments of desperation when entering a new dungeon thats a bit higher level than you. SOTNW also have an open pvp system. As you level your characters contribute points to your family level, like exp. Once you reach family level 6 your able to attack other players who are family level 6. You will most likely be in your 60's or 70's though by this time, so it gives new comers plenty of time to adjust to the game and its mechanics. Duels are available and ranked. There are self made arenas that can support 1 v 1 up to 16 v 16 and any combination in between. Clans can take colonys and fight over them, and there are clan wars where clans can openly attack each other untill a truce is signed. This gives TONS of pvp options for everyone from the soloist to the zerger. However what makes SOTNW really shine is the Multi Character Control System or MCC. In most MMO's you control one toon, in SOTNW you control 3. (You also can still only use 1 or 2 toons, but your success will be limited). There are 5 starting characters that you can make, and as you do quests for NPC's occasionally one will give you his or her card and ask you to call them if you need help. You then can create them as one of your characters. These cards are called Unique Player Characters, and there are somewhere around 25 - 30 of them in the game. Each of these UPC's are different than the starting 5. some have more different skills, and some have combinations. All have their strengths and weaknesses and unlike other MMO's were there is a cookie cutter spec or group... in SOTNW its rather open as all are extremely effective. I would strongly recommend giving this game a shot, its Free to Play till level 20 giving you a rough idea of the game, and then can be converted to Pay to Play for only 9 dollars and that covers your first month subscription, witch is only 9 bucks a month. Almost half of the current mmo's pricing. See you in the new world! Expand
  17. CurtG.
    Aug 19, 2007
    8
    I have only been playing On-line for about 4 years. Most time spent on WoW (3 years) So my perspective is limited. Having said that, I came to play for a change of pace. I found the game delightfull in just a bit spartan. I would have enjoyed a bit more virsatility in charicter and clothing selection. But my overall opinion is that of satisfaction. It is well worth the vaey small price I have only been playing On-line for about 4 years. Most time spent on WoW (3 years) So my perspective is limited. Having said that, I came to play for a change of pace. I found the game delightfull in just a bit spartan. I would have enjoyed a bit more virsatility in charicter and clothing selection. But my overall opinion is that of satisfaction. It is well worth the vaey small price they charge for the game. Expand
  18. KevinY.
    Aug 25, 2007
    9
    An amazing MMORPG that has a very unique gameplay style, along with incredible graphics and music. Also, it is now free to play, which makes it even more incredible.
  19. Meestyk
    Sep 14, 2007
    6
    Dull! Very Dull! Can you say repetitive over and over again? That's killing things that keep respawning right in front of you over and over. One another thing reminds me of Evercamp (tm). They claim they ban BOTs users, but there must be plenty of them playing this sort of game. This is the kind of game you can go to sleep and wake up and your guys are still there grinding like Dull! Very Dull! Can you say repetitive over and over again? That's killing things that keep respawning right in front of you over and over. One another thing reminds me of Evercamp (tm). They claim they ban BOTs users, but there must be plenty of them playing this sort of game. This is the kind of game you can go to sleep and wake up and your guys are still there grinding like there's no tomorrow! Slow grind you bet! Play this only if you're a boring person who enjoys boring games. Graphics don't make a game. A good story, gameplay variety and choices. About choices, you only have about 4 different toons faces (male/female) for the 4 classes. That's it. Utterly boring. The only upside is that you can play 3 toons at once instead of the usual solo toon, your alter ego. Those who gives it a higher score than what I give are truly desperate. Expand
  20. SSpark
    Mar 6, 2009
    9
    A very refreshing game that is rather unique from most MMO's. You can control 3 charaters at once and the game offers a total of over 40 character classes to play. The afk leveling system and the fast xp rates also make the game a much less of a grind than others. The gameplay is dinamic, the leveling curve is pretty easy to learn and the game has many many things to try. Combined A very refreshing game that is rather unique from most MMO's. You can control 3 charaters at once and the game offers a total of over 40 character classes to play. The afk leveling system and the fast xp rates also make the game a much less of a grind than others. The gameplay is dinamic, the leveling curve is pretty easy to learn and the game has many many things to try. Combined with great graphics and music, this game can be a very fun and diverse experience. Expand
  21. JayB.
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    I've always avoided MMO's until Lord of the Rings. I've been playing that for a few weeks and recently discovered Sword of the New World. Sword is much faster paced than LOTRO and has a killer soundtrack. I did some research an it turns out that DJ Tiesto contributed to the score. While my level 10 elf in LOTRO still looks like he picked up his outfit at the Good Will, the I've always avoided MMO's until Lord of the Rings. I've been playing that for a few weeks and recently discovered Sword of the New World. Sword is much faster paced than LOTRO and has a killer soundtrack. I did some research an it turns out that DJ Tiesto contributed to the score. While my level 10 elf in LOTRO still looks like he picked up his outfit at the Good Will, the default costumes in Sword are amazingly cool. Expand
  22. PremR.
    Jul 18, 2007
    10
    I have been playing Sword of the New World from the stage of its beta launch. I am really impressed with its mind blowing graphics and this game
  23. LeeC.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    This is the most fun MMO I have ever played. Well done K2 and IGN. I see this one going farther that any other MMO has.
  24. CapnM.
    Jul 31, 2007
    10
    The fighting in this game is more like a single player game than the 1-kill-at-a-time style of most mmorpgs. The graphics and effects are amazing. And the music sounds like it cant possibly be coming from an online game. The ability to use 3 characters, all of which have loads of skills, adds a large amount of strategy to game.
  25. JoniS.
    Aug 21, 2007
    7
    Brilliant graphics, brilliant music, decent effects. Gameplay is rather straightforward, multi-character control or no, and despite a glowing beginning to this game, the game eventually degenerates into the level grind typical of most Korean MMOs. Some of the most annoying things about this game include a cumbersome chat interface and a decreased need for other people to party with since Brilliant graphics, brilliant music, decent effects. Gameplay is rather straightforward, multi-character control or no, and despite a glowing beginning to this game, the game eventually degenerates into the level grind typical of most Korean MMOs. Some of the most annoying things about this game include a cumbersome chat interface and a decreased need for other people to party with since you have the three members of your family to control, this game is more for the power-leveler rather than the social RPer. Also (as of this comment at least), the horrible translations. I play the North American version, and in it, most of the higher level NPCs have some of the most annoying Chingrish I have ever seen in an MMO. Not to mention what I personally affectionately dub the "Scout-lag". Expand
  26. NickB.
    Sep 14, 2007
    6
    This is a game which is utterly beautiful but falls flat on so many levels for the American audience. Not a bad game in some respects, but suffers because it will be judged relative to the competition:very limited character customization, but what few options you have are very nice looking (unless you want a heterosexual, masculine-looking hero, in which case look elsewhere); gameplay: a This is a game which is utterly beautiful but falls flat on so many levels for the American audience. Not a bad game in some respects, but suffers because it will be judged relative to the competition:very limited character customization, but what few options you have are very nice looking (unless you want a heterosexual, masculine-looking hero, in which case look elsewhere); gameplay: a terrible grind, but if you are accustomed to such, or enjoy it, then that's not a problem. Gameplay at low levels is almost autopilot, but it does get more complex later on. The multi-character control system is neat, but the characters themselves lack distinction and it's not very easy to manage multiple characters. Storyline hints at greatness but falls flat all too often, and some quests are enigmatic and poorly localized. Music is purely awesome one minute and the worst Asian pop music the next. Overall, this is not a bad game by any stretch, it just looks worse in comparison to other titles. Worth checking out for an idea of what Diablo would be like with multi-character MMO play. Expand
  27. Jan 7, 2016
    8
    Fascinating music! And awesome gameplay! The game graphics is also excellent! One of the best Multiple character control system I have ever played. Glad to have introduced this to my friends, never regretted it!
  28. Jan 8, 2016
    8
    I saw this on steam, and when I asked my friends about it they told me that it was really good (so thats where all i will base my score for this game). i'm not a fan of mcc's, i don't even kno what it is, they just can't stop talking about this game.. but i guess, there's no harm in trying. heard that the soundtrack is pretty wicked. guess its really time for me to go to steam andI saw this on steam, and when I asked my friends about it they told me that it was really good (so thats where all i will base my score for this game). i'm not a fan of mcc's, i don't even kno what it is, they just can't stop talking about this game.. but i guess, there's no harm in trying. heard that the soundtrack is pretty wicked. guess its really time for me to go to steam and download this game. i hope it won't disappoint me. Expand
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 3 out of 18
  1. Hardcore Gamer
    80
    It's like candy for your eyes. [Vol 3, Issue 2, p.56]
  2. This game offers a beautiful, highly stylized, world to explore, but sacrifices meaningful interaction.
  3. Even though the game is a bit rough around the edges, Sword of the New World: Granado Espada oozes with quirky personality that will appeal to fans of Asian-born titles, presenting a visual mash-up of anime and Baroque influences.