Tacoma Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 154 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tacoma is a narrative-driven adventure set aboard a high-tech space station in the year 2088. Explore every detail of how the station’s crew lived and worked, finding clues that add up to a gripping story of trust, fear, and resolve in the face of disaster.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tacoma - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 56
  2. Negative: 1 out of 56
  1. Aug 1, 2017
    95
    If you want a great story told well, that will last an afternoon, then get Tacoma. It knows what it wants to be, and it does that perfectly.
  2. Aug 14, 2017
    87
    Though short, Tacoma is a great narrative adventure, especially for fans of sci-fi.
  3. Aug 3, 2017
    82
    In spite of its high price and short duration, it is a narrative experience more than recommended for all the lovers of the genre and those who enjoyed the previous title from Fullbright: Gone Home.
  4. Aug 1, 2017
    80
    Tacoma is a beautifully told story filled with real characters and real emotion that you won’t be able to put down until you’ve experienced it in full.
  5. Aug 9, 2017
    73
    Tacoma is a playable science fiction movie with exciting ideas, but gameplay and emotions are lacking.
  6. Aug 2, 2017
    70
    Tacoma has some great characterisation and is a very different breed of science fiction, but my enjoyment was sapped by one key mistake in how the story was told. It also has issues with loading and can be somewhat bland to look at, but looking around you, the environmental storytelling is top-notch. By the end, I’d become invested in these characters, but not necessarily their plight.
  7. Aug 23, 2017
    40
    Sadly, Tacoma, the new game from the creators of Gone Home, is not the best example of interactive storytelling.

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 43
  2. Negative: 10 out of 43
  1. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Amazing exposition, correct language text, the ability to pick up every single object in the game to examine it! This is a detailed orientedAmazing exposition, correct language text, the ability to pick up every single object in the game to examine it! This is a detailed oriented person's fantasy realized. I love being able to piece together the story as it doesn't always add up immediately. I've really enjoyed being able to figure out the lives of the crew members. Expand
  2. Jun 14, 2022
    9
    really a great game, the art style, the color palette, the story, the script... very interesting indie game.
  3. Sep 29, 2019
    8
    You do nothing except thinking and exploring still you get no bored. Brillantly thought storyline. Masterful design.
  4. May 8, 2019
    7
    Well made for what it set out to do. Unlike Gone Home, which operated as a mystery of sorts, Tacoma is more so about learning about theWell made for what it set out to do. Unlike Gone Home, which operated as a mystery of sorts, Tacoma is more so about learning about the characters on the space station for two hours, until the big reveal exposing the big bad corporation. I'd say the world building and characters are more interesting than the plot itself, which is really Tacoma's greatest downside. Although, saying one thing is negative because it wasn't as good as the other aspects of the game is pretty good as criticisms go. It's very low stakes and railroad-y by design and I can see a lot of people losing interest very quickly. I will say though that the AR segments are easily the highlight of the game. I can't even begin to imagine how much of a pain in the ass it must have been to script and perform every bit of dialogue so it all lines up as perfectly as possible. As a game mechanic, it makes for a much more engaging experience when you choose which conversations to listen in to. It's very clever and a step above the endless letters and audio logs from Gone Home. Basically, everything Gone Home did well, this game does better, except for the main story holding it all together which, in Tacoma's case, feels almost incidental. It does fit together with the world building, however, so I can't say it's bad, just underwritten perhaps. It's a very easy-going experience but if walking sims are something you enjoy, I can safely recommend Tacoma as 'another one of those'. Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2018
    6
    Only reason Tacoma got it hooks into me was the space station setting, otherwise i wouldnt had bothered with it after already knowingOnly reason Tacoma got it hooks into me was the space station setting, otherwise i wouldnt had bothered with it after already knowing Fullbright's touch in Gone Home.

    And creating a believable, well crafted and detailed space station frankly is only really good thing the game does because story, characters didnt really do anything for me. Most fun i had was just exploring the bits and crannies of the station's modules, looking out into vaquum of space and seeing how the station spins around to create the artificial gravity. Gone Home style story telling is present where you learn about the world, people, events, character backstories via reading letters, texts from augmented reality screens, book excerpts and other crap, i kinda liked that in Gone Home, but here it felt been there, done that, felt more, like like padding, but i guess its just the genre's trope at this point in time.

    I was pretty impressed how good looking the game actually is, its not really cutting edge, but assets, textures and environments are packed with detail you usualy dont see that often in Unity engine based game and it runs very smooth. What wasnt so good were awfully long loading times, 3 minutes to start/continue the game from main menu, 2 minutes atleast to exit a level and another 2 to enter the next one, its annoying as hell, these might actually be the longest loading times i have ever seen if my long term memory is not failing me.

    Lastly i have to talk about this because it kinda pissed me off. Tacoma is pushing hamfisted politics, often right in your face and down the throat. There's strong pandering for LGBT, i mean 3/6 characters in the game are homosexuals and you get exposed to their their ways thru the story delivering tools like letters, photos and even the character avatars from the game's cool but ultimatly gimmicky play/rewind AR sequences you like it or not. Same about pandering for feminism and multi culturism. There's cerntainly ways to convey such things in gaming, but Fullbright either wants to agresisvely deploy their beliefs via the games they make or simply doesnt know the right way how to do it. Gone Home did it actually much better.
    Expand
  6. Sep 20, 2018
    6
    I think it's an alright narrative experience. So you go around watching recorded events in AR on a spacetation: think pokemon Go but theI think it's an alright narrative experience. So you go around watching recorded events in AR on a spacetation: think pokemon Go but the people are little more than outlines in a solid color. Your main character doesn't talk save for a few lines at the very beginning and very end. It becomes clear why, for story purposes, the developers had to do this. If they had changed that part of story then the main character could have commented on things and I think the game would have been much better for it. However as the game is there were about 2 moments that choked me up a bit. The end didn't really shock me and I think it falls flat. BUT HEY, it's an interesting hour experience. Expand
  7. Oct 29, 2021
    0
    If I wanted to be preached at, I'd go to church. The creators of this game really ham fist their agenda pushing on and off the screen - evenIf I wanted to be preached at, I'd go to church. The creators of this game really ham fist their agenda pushing on and off the screen - even attacking other developers at GDC over their previous title Gone Home. Ironically, the insufferably preachy founder Steve Gaynor got all it's cred from supposedly telling opproesed stories, has been outed as fostering a toxic work environment that drove women to leave his studio. A former employee compared working for Gaynor to "working for a high school mean girl. His go-to weapon was to laugh at people's opinions and embarrass them in front of other people."

    This is a walking simulator - just like Gone Home. But it is primarily a political and social propaganda piece that is as ham-fisted as one could ever make. .

    I could even forgive the pandering if it wasn't done so badly that I got annoyed and quit believing or caring about the characters after 20 minutes. And no, that doesn't make me a homophobe for calling out terrible plots, writing, and twisting an entire story around a social diatribe you want to shove down my throat. It's bad writing and I never finished it.

    This ain't woke - it's tired old-school preaching. And we all quit listening to angry people that condemn others that don't agree with them a long time ago and for good reason. Go out there and find any one of a million other much better games to spend your time on.
    Expand

See all 43 User Reviews