User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 364 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 26, 2019
    6
    Apparently Zestiria was SO BAD that people think about Berseria as Holy Pinnacle of Video Games. It's really not. On every level. Nice credit sequence though
  2. Apr 19, 2017
    10
    When Tales games are done right, they are always my favorite video game series.

    Tales of Berseria was done very very right, in fact, it has replaced Tales of Vesperia as my favorite Tales game. The story is amazing, and the characters compliment the story very well. If you, like me, play jrpgs mainly for the story, this game should be very high on your radar. Also, if you, like
    When Tales games are done right, they are always my favorite video game series.

    Tales of Berseria was done very very right, in fact, it has replaced Tales of Vesperia as my favorite Tales game.

    The story is amazing, and the characters compliment the story very well. If you, like me, play jrpgs mainly for the story, this game should be very high on your radar.

    Also, if you, like me, love action gameplay rather than turn based gameplay, this should be ridiculously high on your radar. (I am also a kingdom hearts and YS fan.)

    If you like anime, or even if you don't like anime, there's still an 80% chance you will like this game. In fact, it may make you start to like anime like the previous Tales games (Symphonia and Abyss) have done to me.

    The gameplay switches it up from your average Tales game, but I never got tired of it. The only thing I thought that could use work in this game was the dungeons since the puzzles were very lacking in thought. (I dislike extremely difficult puzzles but when they're very easy like in this game its hard to really even call them puzzles)

    There are also a fair amount of things to do other than the main story (which is rather long.)

    Overall, if you like Tales games. You cannot pass this up. If you like jrpgs, you cannot pass this up. If you like anime, you cannot pass this up. If you don't like anime, you can pass this up but I very very strongly encourage you not to. If you like action games and good stories, you cannot pass this up. In short, don't pass this game up.
    Expand
  3. May 21, 2017
    7
    Five Word Review: Standard Tales affair, decent story.
    Favorite Thing: Magilou, she somehow grew on me. Probably because of how necessary she was to balance the dour Velvet.
    Least Favorite Thing: The level design, especially caves, is extremely unremarkable. I got turned around a few times due to how same-ish it all is. Date Completed: 2017-05-13 Playtime: ~ 42h Enjoyment: 7/10
    Five Word Review: Standard Tales affair, decent story.
    Favorite Thing: Magilou, she somehow grew on me. Probably because of how necessary she was to balance the dour Velvet.
    Least Favorite Thing: The level design, especially caves, is extremely unremarkable. I got turned around a few times due to how same-ish it all is.

    Date Completed: 2017-05-13
    Playtime: ~ 42h
    Enjoyment: 7/10
    Recommendation: For Tales and jRPG fans.
    Expand
  4. Jul 16, 2017
    10
    Tales of Berseria was just the perfect game for me. A nice complex yet simple gameplay (I know is weird but that is how i felt it) and one of the best stories in a videogame I have played so far. The best Tales Of Game I have played to date.
    A great character design and character develope throu the game and a nice dificulty
    A must play for me if you like JRPG
  5. Mar 6, 2017
    9
    Tales of Berseria is a modern JRPG that's pretty satisfying. The graphics are pleasing to the eye, if a bit cheap in places. The story was the strongest part for me, sure there's portions of RPG filler, but the core story is emotionally moving in places, in a way that few games are. The story has a dark tone to it, but the "skits" (many of them optional) are often quite numerous or evenTales of Berseria is a modern JRPG that's pretty satisfying. The graphics are pleasing to the eye, if a bit cheap in places. The story was the strongest part for me, sure there's portions of RPG filler, but the core story is emotionally moving in places, in a way that few games are. The story has a dark tone to it, but the "skits" (many of them optional) are often quite numerous or even heartwarming. It's a balance that is perhaps confusing if you don't watch a lot of anime, but it worked for me.

    The game runs fine, I think, hitting a rock-solid 60 FPS (which is its cap) on my mid-range PC. That might not satisfy everyone but for a fun JRPG it worked for me.

    Perhaps the biggest problem with the game is its combat system, which is complicated to the point that you're still getting tutorials on it hours into the game. For all of that complexity, you can get by with button mashing in normal difficulty, I only had to use the slightest bit of strategy when fighting the optional (red icon) challenge monsters. And often they seemed poorly balanced, only challenging because they could deal crazy damage in a few shots randomly.

    The game also lacks good puzzles, there are a few but they are rare and only one was halfway stimulating to solve. There is also some rampant DLC, probably over $100 worth, including some pay-to-win stuff but also a lot of cosmetic items to buy. You can form your own opinion.

    In the end, it's hardly perfect... but it was plenty of fun to play.
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2017
    9
    I was trying Tales of Zesteria but for me fighting and exploring was boring.
    In my opinion in Tales of Berseria they fix all of ToZ problems.
    Game is very addictive.
    If you are searching awesome jRRP that you can play on PC ToB is obvious choice.
  7. Jun 19, 2022
    8
    I can't believe the game is getting review bombed. This game definitely is a not a 6 but an 8. Good story but with a clunky system.

    I didn't like the immense versatility and customization that they added to the battle system, it was just too overwhelming trying to setup good combos, and on top of that the enemies had different weaknesses and strengths so trying to setup something for
    I can't believe the game is getting review bombed. This game definitely is a not a 6 but an 8. Good story but with a clunky system.

    I didn't like the immense versatility and customization that they added to the battle system, it was just too overwhelming trying to setup good combos, and on top of that the enemies had different weaknesses and strengths so trying to setup something for multiple different enemies it was just too bothersome. Nevertheless, if you have the time and if you get used to you can create really cool combos.

    Berseria, if you play it you play it mostly for the story.
    Expand
  8. Apr 22, 2020
    10
    One of the best modern jrpg , great gameplay , a well written story that touches more adult themes and overall an improvement on the tales of series . The cast of caracters is divers and very unique i'ts diversity makes it helpfull to remember and like , a 10/10
  9. Dec 18, 2020
    8
    Really underrated anime action open world game. The game is open world but the story is linear. The story is really fine is anime type of story really cliché but it works. The characters are interesting and I appreciate each single one of them. I think the game overall deserves a 8/10 solid game I can recommend.
  10. Feb 5, 2017
    9
    tale of berseria is one of the best rpg i played in year the story is really the best and the game as good humor the character designed are awesome it s a great game
  11. Jan 26, 2017
    9
    Berseria is about what you always wanted the heroes to do to get out of a situation easily. Who cares about valiantly introducing yourself before a duel? Just attack! Need to get some fools off your trail? Let some worthless people become fodder for your assailants' blades. Velvet, the protagonist, will use any tool at her disposal.

    Battles are fierce and have an interesting
    Berseria is about what you always wanted the heroes to do to get out of a situation easily. Who cares about valiantly introducing yourself before a duel? Just attack! Need to get some fools off your trail? Let some worthless people become fodder for your assailants' blades. Velvet, the protagonist, will use any tool at her disposal.

    Battles are fierce and have an interesting ebb-and-flow. You expend and extract souls from your enemies, allowing you to extend your combo lengths. Anybody who appreciates brawler and fighting games will feel at home, even if you don't normally play RPGs. While it's not quite as fighter-style as Zestiria's combat, it's still engaging and requires you to pay attention. Playing on Hard from the get-go felt natural and enjoyable.

    If you didn't play the game before, Zestiria, you shouldn't be lost -- you'll miss out on some of the clever and/or harrowing realizations that come with having experienced Zestiria, but Berseria takes place a few hundred years prior. Strangely though, it does feel more like a sequel than a prequel. While chronologically this happened first, it's so connected that the pacing of the game's reveals is going to resonate more with Zestiria players than if you played them the other way around. Long story short, Zestiria showed you the most hopeful parts of this world's story. Berseria shows you its direst.

    One of my only complaints are that while the main characters and the villains have great voice acting, some NPCs sound idiotic. My other is that dungeons tend to be lack-luster and kinda overused. Overall, I'd recommend this to anybody who likes jRPGS -- this isn't a Tales game, it's just a good jRPG with apple gels.
    Expand
  12. Feb 26, 2017
    7
    I just want to be clear before I start my review; the last Tale's game I played was Tales of Xillia. Xillia 2 and Zesteria seemed to be a little too bland for my tastes. But other than that, I've played most of the major 3D Tales games.

    +Combat: -To put simply, the combat in this game is a bit too easy. The best strategy by far is to just button mash all four of the face buttons at
    I just want to be clear before I start my review; the last Tale's game I played was Tales of Xillia. Xillia 2 and Zesteria seemed to be a little too bland for my tastes. But other than that, I've played most of the major 3D Tales games.

    +Combat:
    -To put simply, the combat in this game is a bit too easy. The best strategy by far is to just button mash all four of the face buttons at once. (I guess I should mention that this game is best played with a gamepad.)

    +Graphics:
    -Underwhelming. The fact that this game came out on the PS3 in Japan isn't enough to defend its bland graphics. On the bright side, I was easily able to get this game running at 4k 60fps at max settings, something that I can't say with most AAA games.

    +Story:
    -Definitely one of the more interesting stories presented in the Tales series in a while. Funnily enough, Velvet, the protagonist, is actually the least interesting character in the story, however her companions more than make up for it.

    +Music:
    -Forgettable; normally music in the Tale's series would get stuck in my head days after playing it, however I can't say the same with Berseria. It's serviceable, but nothing more.

    +PC Port:
    -Surprisingly good; Plenty of graphics options, 60 fps, 4K support, etc. Unfortunately, anything above 60 fps isn't possible, and having a controller is basically essential to playing this game. Compared to Bandi Namco's other PC ports, I was able to play the game with no tinkering of external files to get things working properly.

    +Final Verdict:
    -I could say that Tales of Berseria is better than the past couple of games in the series, however that wouldn't be much of an achievement compared to what most people thought of Tales of Zestiria. I think that a 7/10 is about what this game deserves.
    Expand
  13. Mar 30, 2017
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Tales of Berseria is a great game. Better than Tales of Zestiria in every aspect. A good JRPG. Pretty good graphics. Better story. A solid protagonist. The battle system is difficult but later improve playing in the gaming. It's a solid game and I love it. Expand
  14. Mar 12, 2017
    8
    Tales of Berseria si attesta come un ottimo capitolo della serie Tales of che cerca di implementare da una parte una narrativa diversa che ci mostra quanto il mondo di Westland sia più complesso di quanto si immagini, creando quell’atmosfera oscura e angosciante che ci farà riflettere sull’intera esperienza di gioco. Dall’altra abbiamo un sistema di combattimento funzionale e fluido cheTales of Berseria si attesta come un ottimo capitolo della serie Tales of che cerca di implementare da una parte una narrativa diversa che ci mostra quanto il mondo di Westland sia più complesso di quanto si immagini, creando quell’atmosfera oscura e angosciante che ci farà riflettere sull’intera esperienza di gioco. Dall’altra abbiamo un sistema di combattimento funzionale e fluido che però non si basa soltanto sul mero attaccare. Lo stesso non si può dire per i dungeon che risultano essere piatti e privi di profondità, senza tentare di proporre qualcosa di nuovo. Si tratta di un gioco riuscito bene ma non perfettamente che ha bisogno di cambiare la sua struttura in alcuni ambiti, giusto per non rimanere fermi nei propri errori.

    Si spera che nel prossimo capitolo, che risulterà essere il primo pensato e sviluppato per piattaforma di questa generazione, sappia innovare e sviluppare al meglio la grande potenzialità che questa serie ha da offrire.

    Review ---> http://www.gamesark.it/mostra_rece.asp?c=19220170011952773&p=1&a=0&f=1&s=1
    Expand
  15. Jan 26, 2017
    10
    Tales of games are big part of why i'm still playing videogames. This is such a wonderful series. Berseria introduce female main character which is pretty rare in jrpg, on top of that she is basically villain, a pirate. Other parts are pretty classic, which means they are good.
  16. Mar 1, 2017
    4
    If you love the Tales series and its style, then this game is for you. If you were hoping that they would one day bring the experience to a modern gaming standard, look elsewhere. Apart from the protagonist being /kind of/ a villain, it is pretty much Tales of Zestiria again. Personally, I just got bored of the game because the gameplay is way too flat for the length of the game. They alsoIf you love the Tales series and its style, then this game is for you. If you were hoping that they would one day bring the experience to a modern gaming standard, look elsewhere. Apart from the protagonist being /kind of/ a villain, it is pretty much Tales of Zestiria again. Personally, I just got bored of the game because the gameplay is way too flat for the length of the game. They also needlessly pad out the gameplay with some of the most pointless repetitions of "go to place X. Now go to place Y. Now go back to place X" that it just becomes plain unenjoyable.

    Now the game isn't all bad. I did like the fact that they chose a female heroine who was out for less noble goals (although once again, they had to contrive it so that she inadvertently saves the world in the process). But the gameplay is just... unforgivably bland. Here are some examples:
    -The level design of the game is pretty room-corridor-room-corridor-etc for every dungeon and big empty spaces for fields. Even worse is that these areas typically have at MOST 5 different kinds of mobs that you will have to slaughter endlessly (dropping mostly lots of garbage loot that you then get to clear out of your inventory), which in the later game, are just reskins of previous mobs. Even MMORPGs try harder!
    -The combat is so utterly boring. You can button-mash your way through almost all of it (even on harder difficulties), making every of the (far too many) fights the same experience. Even actually using the skills you should is hardly more efficient or a particularly different experience.
    -The world is largely non-interactive. You can talk, pick up things, fight and (only when the game expressly permits it), do something else. Some people may say this feels "classic", but I would say it's a technological limitation from 3 console generations ago, that at this point just gives me even fewer things to vary up my experience.
    -Overly linear gameplay. There is no decision-making in this game and that includes exploration. Many areas will just arbitrarily be sealed off until the game tells you to go there. Even worse is that this is often abused to make you go through the same area multiple times with no added experience.

    Some other things:
    -The graphics belong onto a PS2/Gamecube and there is really no excuse for that.
    -Your allies and enemies have an AI that is just dumb (they will keep doing the same thing, even if it clearly doesn't work...)

    And with those limitations in place, you're now supposed to spend 50+ hours, going from cut scene to cut scene with the samey fights in areas with the samey designs. I cannot imagine how that is supposed be to be entertaining.
    Expand
  17. Feb 4, 2017
    10
    Habe das Spiel soeben (80+ Stunden) durchgespielt. Und einfach Wow. Aber bevor ich weiter auf die Aspekte dieses tollen Spiels eingehe, möchte ich noch ein paar Worte zu meiner persönlichen Einstellung zur Tales Reihe kundtun :-).

    Ich bin ein Tales Fan seit ich das erste mal Tales of Vesperia ins Laufwerk gelegt habe. Seither habe ich fast alle Spiele dieser Reihe gespielt (bis auf 3) -
    Habe das Spiel soeben (80+ Stunden) durchgespielt. Und einfach Wow. Aber bevor ich weiter auf die Aspekte dieses tollen Spiels eingehe, möchte ich noch ein paar Worte zu meiner persönlichen Einstellung zur Tales Reihe kundtun :-).

    Ich bin ein Tales Fan seit ich das erste mal Tales of Vesperia ins Laufwerk gelegt habe. Seither habe ich fast alle Spiele dieser Reihe gespielt (bis auf 3) - rückwirkend auch die älteren Ableger. Somit bediene ich mich bei meiner Rezenssion einem großen Fundus an Erfahrung was diese Serie angeht.

    --Spielmechaniken 10/10:
    Typisch Tales! Ein Actionlastiges und Effektgeladenes Kampfsystem welches in Echtzeit abläuft - einfach spaßig (und bin ich doch eigentlich ebenfalls ein Fan von rundenbasierendem Kämpfen - ja so gut ist es :-)). Grundsätzlich trifft man im jeden Tales Kampfsystem folgende Kernelemente an:
    - Artes: die serientypischen charakterspezifischen (und extrem coolen :-)) "Skills" - sowohl magisch als auch physisch anzutreffen
    - Mystic Artes (Name manchmal variierend): Die "Spezialattacken" (Effektgewitter)
    - Echtzeitkampfsystem
    - Nur der ausgewählte Aktive Charakter wird von einem gesteuert - die anderen Begleiter werden von der KI bedient

    Tales of Berseria bedient sich diesem Grundkonzept und baut es, wie fast alle Ableger, weiter aus. So gibt es in diesem Spiel eine Art "Erwachen" Modus - bei diesem können Kombos verbunden, HP wiederhergestellt, die Mystic Arte anzeige gefüllt und negative Statuseffekte verworfen werden. Dieser Modi (jeder Char hat verschiedene) bedürfen verschiedener Voraussetzungen bzw. einiges Risiko. So verliert Velvet in Sekundentakt HP - welche durch gewisse Aktionen aber wieder hergestellt werden können.

    Das Kampfsystem ist meiner Meinung nach, eine Mischung aus den Stärken von Tales of Graces F und Tales of Xillia.

    Im allgemeinen ist hier einfach das typische Tales Feeling geboten - Schnell, taktisch, wuchtig, effektgeladen und vorallem Spaßig. Ich könnte Stunden damit verbringen, die Artes auf verschiedene Weise zu kombinieren - teils um die Schwächen der Gegner auszunutzen oder einfach weil es geil aussieht :-).

    Zum Thema Schwächen. Gegner sind ihre eigene Spezies gegliedert. Des Weiteren haben sie noch Schwächen gegen bestimmte Elemente. Gerade auf höheren Schwierigkeitsgraden ist es ein Muss seine Artes den schwächen der Gegner anzupassen.

    Auch das Charaktersystem ist überaus interessant. Ausrüstung (Waffen, Zubehör, Rüstung usw.) besitzen in diesem Spiel Fähigkeiten (+ 15 Angriff, + 40 magischen Angriff, 4% mehr Schaden gegen einen Gegnertyp usw.) diese können von den Charakteren dauerhaft erlernte werden (bei gleichem Effekt auch summiert). Dies wird durch den, in der Serie bekannten, "Grade" Punkten gewährleistet. Umso mehr Grade man in einem Kampf sammelt, um so schneller erlernen die Figuren die Fähigkeiten Win-Win (Grade wird bekanntermaßen auch für New Game+ Effekte benötigt wie z.B. "Alle bekannten Artes von Beginn an verfügbar" usw.). Ein durchaus motivierender Aspekt in diesem Spiel.

    Ansonsten Serien bzw. JRPG typsisch. Mit einem Level Up werden die Parameter erhöht und manchmal neue Artes freigeschalten.

    Die Steuerung läuft ruckelfrei und direkt von der Bühne.

    --Charaktere 9/10:
    Ich kann die Empathie von manchen Spielern gegenüber Velvet (der Heroine) nicht teilen. Sie ist mir absolut sympatisch und ihre Charakterentwicklung durchaus nachvollziehbar. Aber auch die anderen Charaktere können in diesem Spiel glänzen (vorallem Magilou :-)). Allerdings ging mir der Knirps irgendwann auf die Nerven :-)... Typisch nach Tales Manier wird natürlich sehr viel Wert auf Interaktion zwischen den Char´s gelegt (Skit´s).

    --Story 10/10:
    Sehr gut umgesetzt. BANNAM hat es geschafft, eine düstere und von Rache getriebene Geschichte mit sympatischen Charakteren zu kreuzen. Ja, man ist in diesem Spiel sozusagen der (bzw. die :-)) Böse. Aber dies ist so gut umgesetzt, dass die Phasen verschwimmen. Man kann die Beweggründe einfach nachvollziehen. Egoismus, Gleichgültigkeit und Kaltblütigkeit geben sich hier die Hand mit Verständnis, Mitleid und Zielstrebigkeit - wirklich sehr gut umgesetzt. Die Geschichte um die Antihelden ist bisher die erwachsenste der Serie. Mehr verrat ich nicht.

    Spielewelt 10/10:
    Seit Tales of Vesperia habe ich keine so schöne Welt mehr in einem Tales Spiel gesehen. Die Gebiete sind abwechslungsreich, detailverliebt und schön anzusehen.

    Grafik 10/10:
    Bei mir lief dieses Spiel durchgehend auf 60 FPS... mit höchsten Einstellungen. Wirklich eine butterweiche Erfahrung und sehr schön anzusehen. Auch ist die Animegrafik zeitlos und gestochen Scharf.

    Sound 10/10:
    Motoi Sakuraba hat hier wieder eine Glanzleistung abgelegt. Von der wuchtigen Kampfmusik über das typische "Stadtgeträller" - es passt perfekt zum Spiel.
    Expand
  18. Jan 26, 2017
    10
    Tales of Berseria ist zwar mein erster Teil der Reihe, jedoch muss ich sagen dass es mir unglaublich gut gefällt bis jetzt und ich wahnsinnig gespannt bin auf die Story, die kommen wird. Gerade bei den wenigen Anime Spielen die nicht Visual Novel sind, erfüllt dieses Spiel die Lücke, in dieser Richtung der Gamingbranche.
  19. Feb 23, 2017
    7
    Berseria still runs like its predecessor, Zestiria but removes much of it's detrimental aspects such as the awful gear and key system. However, as I played on, I grew bored of playing as this bland caricature of a revenge driven character, she easily comes of as unsympathetic and sometimes just stupid, making boneheaded decisions because "vengeance". The plot easily falls apart when youBerseria still runs like its predecessor, Zestiria but removes much of it's detrimental aspects such as the awful gear and key system. However, as I played on, I grew bored of playing as this bland caricature of a revenge driven character, she easily comes of as unsympathetic and sometimes just stupid, making boneheaded decisions because "vengeance". The plot easily falls apart when you don't really care to what happens to the protagonist. Expand
  20. Feb 6, 2017
    5
    Tales of Berseria is a painfully mediocre game. It is a good JRPG in that it does all the necessary fanservice and "unexpected" plot twists but as a game it is really bland.

    Yes, it has rave reviews but it still follows every "safe" cliche that has plagued the genre for the last 10 years. Velvet is all "dark", "really evil" and "revenge-driven" but she's extremely prone to not killing
    Tales of Berseria is a painfully mediocre game. It is a good JRPG in that it does all the necessary fanservice and "unexpected" plot twists but as a game it is really bland.

    Yes, it has rave reviews but it still follows every "safe" cliche that has plagued the genre for the last 10 years. Velvet is all "dark", "really evil" and "revenge-driven" but she's extremely prone to not killing important enemies, being needlessly chatty when butt-kicking is due and turning into a damsel in distress when the plot demands it. The supporting cast, however different and "edgy" they might look are all the stereotypical ones. A swordsman who looks carefree but is actually totally absolutely amazingly powerful, a clumsy kid whose primary role is to invoke warm feelings, a really grimdark fighter who is both grim and dark, a comic relief happy go lucky magician girl who, of course, will magically save you when a deus ex machina is needed...

    The combat is quite complicated and nuanced but gut-wrenchingly boring. There are a plethora of "artes" your characters can learn but you are limited to 4 artes per combo level so you either set up the most effective combo all around and mash a single button until you get calluses, start every battle with painstakingly reassigning artes to fit your present set of enemies or say "Eh, whatever" and set combat difficulty to "Easy", saving yourself a few hours.

    And technically the game is stuck somewhere in mid-2000s. The sublevels are small to account for the engine's limitations and when a really big open level shows up it looks like a Quake map with lots of rectangular building blocks glued together with no environmental detail or objects. SFX is flashes and animated inserts, sound is nothing to write a review about.

    Despite all the praise it's still a Tales game fresh off the conveyor with all the flaws and bumps lovingly preserved. You've played this before quite a few times.
    Expand
  21. Mar 6, 2017
    4
    Nice story and characters. Bad Gameplay.

    I would have really liked to play this for the story, as I liked it's characters, the humor and it seems like quite something is building up. But the combat just doesn't work for me at all. 4 Buttons to chose an attack, with 4 stages each. Which can be combined sideways + some power mode. On top of that you can learn many many more, but you
    Nice story and characters. Bad Gameplay.

    I would have really liked to play this for the story, as I liked it's characters, the humor and it seems like quite something is building up.

    But the combat just doesn't work for me at all. 4 Buttons to chose an attack, with 4 stages each. Which can be combined sideways + some power mode. On top of that you can learn many many more, but you can ever only have a set of 4x4 active. Each action addresses certain weakness, and you have to set up the combos in a certain order for maximum efficiency against certain enemies. But you are not told what works well, this is try and error. Maybe if you counted the numbers that popup in the hectic battles.

    This was simply too much. You have to first figure out the weakness of a certain enemy, wade through some menus, click something together that could make sense, and if it works ok, remember it for the next encounters, and this again, after you change map. I gave up memorizing and basically just mashed the buttons randomly. Got the enemies down just as well, only a bit slower. So this was boring.

    Similar are the items you get. Maybe special items come up later, that make more sense, but for as far I got, I couldn't really see any impact in wearing different equipment.

    Besides the pretty characters itself, there are a few nice visuals, but also quite a lot blandness. Reminded me a lot of Xenoblade, with it's text dialogs and shiny balls of light to gather, but with far less fun combat.
    Expand
  22. Feb 13, 2017
    5
    Better story than Zestiria but the combat, graphics, rendering, ect. none of it was improved, it is a 50$ mod of Zestiria pretty much. I always enjoy the stories of the tales games but they've shown they aren't quite ready for the mainstream in the rest of the world when it comes to making engaging gameplay. The Japanese are in-love with rock beats paper style combat, this isn't a surpriseBetter story than Zestiria but the combat, graphics, rendering, ect. none of it was improved, it is a 50$ mod of Zestiria pretty much. I always enjoy the stories of the tales games but they've shown they aren't quite ready for the mainstream in the rest of the world when it comes to making engaging gameplay. The Japanese are in-love with rock beats paper style combat, this isn't a surprise from pretty much the only country that still makes turn-based combat games (very different from turn-based strategy). This game is only something you should buy if you're a fan of the series, there is no fluid combat to be found, no interesting crafting system to explore, perhaps one day we'll get a Tales game that I can safely say I don't play solely for the story. Expand
  23. May 10, 2017
    0
    - Worst combat in the entire series, pretty much a lousy button-masher
    - bland music,
    - A terrible cast of characters.
    - It's pretty much a 60 USD update of Zestiria.
  24. Feb 21, 2017
    0
    Let me give some pointers.
    Graphics: could have been from a gamecube.
    World: Crafted so empty an simple you could not do worse even if you tried.
    Combat: button mashing because you can preset all the combo's
    Gear and crafting: i have played fo 10 hours now and all the stuff you find have either a few % stat difference and
  25. Feb 26, 2017
    5
    Graphic from ps2, really boring combat system. The story looks nice, but you don't have any choice to make. Played 10 hours and really can't go on anymore, too boring.
  26. Mar 29, 2017
    7
    I couldn't finish this game.

    The story and character design is the best part about the game. You know exactly what drives each character, everyone is unique and has their own likability, and the several thousand lines of internal dialogue between the characters gives them a depth and characterization that most games don't even come close to achieving. Not many games are going to make
    I couldn't finish this game.

    The story and character design is the best part about the game. You know exactly what drives each character, everyone is unique and has their own likability, and the several thousand lines of internal dialogue between the characters gives them a depth and characterization that most games don't even come close to achieving. Not many games are going to make you feel like the characters could have been real people, but Berseria could be one of them. 10/10

    Sound is acceptable. The opening intro music was outstanding, but music for the rest of the game is forgettable and uninspired. Other sounds, such as from in-game effects from footsteps to sword slashing are what you'd expect. I have one pet peeve about the sound that you hear in combat... Each character has access to a couple dozen different skills and many of them have their own cool names, so when they're used, the character has to yell out that name out loud, every single time. 7/10

    Design of the game leaves much to be desired. Game is extremely linear, lack of quick travel combined with mandatory backtracking over long long distances, maps and areas that have little to absolutely none distinguishing features, 'demon' designs that often look like ordinary animals....Graphics also seem dated for a 2017 release. However, sometimes the graphics do work out. There are also anime-cutscenes that are extremely well done, but used too sparingly to compensate for the game's overall lack in graphical appeal. 3/10

    Gamplay... is terrible. The walking around part feels boring and long with no interesting interactions, and the combat system... is terrible. Mashing all the keys at once with no strategic thinking necessary. It is VERY hard to see clearly what exactly is happening. Combat is extremely chaotic and poorly done. 0/10

    The story itself is amazing enough to consider watching it on youtube. But the game itself probably isn't worth playing through. There are several JRPG's that have a stellar gameplay to go with a great story, but this only has the story.
    Expand
  27. Mar 21, 2017
    8
    Started out very strong, incredibly interesting characters, very well written, combat is engaging and the music fits well.

    It seems most people have taken to the belief that the momentum of the first 80% of the game was enough to overlook the latter part of the game. While I liked the ideas, particularly that of the story, the way it unfolded and the final area was kind of a let down
    Started out very strong, incredibly interesting characters, very well written, combat is engaging and the music fits well.

    It seems most people have taken to the belief that the momentum of the first 80% of the game was enough to overlook the latter part of the game. While I liked the ideas, particularly that of the story, the way it unfolded and the final area was kind of a let down to how epic everything felt.

    For a Tales game, it definitely went a different direction, the first half of the game is extremely main plot driven, very few sidequests, it really pulls you along and doesn't give you much of a taste of the 'do your own thing' that alot of the previous games did. Instead past the 50-60% mark, it just unloads all of it on you, so it kind of feels like two games in one. the main quest is maybe 30 hours, but then all the real exploring and side quests are about the same.
    Expand
  28. Mar 23, 2017
    7
    Eu poderia passar o dia escrevendo como e porque esse jogo poderia e deveria ser melhor, mas é bem mais simples entender isso jogando. O jogo é razoável para mediano. Nada nele faz sentido ou sequer motiva. O jogo é cansativo porém tem belos gráficos e trilha sonora. O forte mesmo são as lutas com chefe. Torço para que essa série que tem muito potencial evoluir, mas por enquanto eu meEu poderia passar o dia escrevendo como e porque esse jogo poderia e deveria ser melhor, mas é bem mais simples entender isso jogando. O jogo é razoável para mediano. Nada nele faz sentido ou sequer motiva. O jogo é cansativo porém tem belos gráficos e trilha sonora. O forte mesmo são as lutas com chefe. Torço para que essa série que tem muito potencial evoluir, mas por enquanto eu me sinto mal não podendo dar 6.8 e sendo forçado pelo metacritic a dar 7. Expand
  29. Apr 11, 2021
    0
    this game is a bad clone of beserk manga and thats why i hate this game and game itself is a mess of grinding
  30. Jan 18, 2020
    4
    Story: ⭐⭐ ✩
    Gameplay: ⭐  ✩  ✩
    Characters: ⭐⭐ ✩ Immersion: ⭐⭐ ✩ Fun: ⭐ ✩   ✩ Enhancement System: ⭐ ✩   ✩ Sound: ⭐⭐ ✩ Graphics: ⭐ ✩   ✩ . . . . . . . ---Grind--- ☐ Nothing ☑ Average grind level ☐ Too much grind  ---PlayTime--- ☐ Short ☐ Average ☑ Long/Infinite ---Bugs--- ☑ None ☐ Minor bugs ☐ Too Much Overall: 4/10 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
    Story: ⭐⭐ ✩
    Gameplay: ⭐  ✩  ✩
    Characters: ⭐⭐ ✩
    Immersion: ⭐⭐ ✩
    Fun: ⭐ ✩   ✩
    Enhancement System: ⭐ ✩   ✩
    Sound: ⭐⭐ ✩
    Graphics: ⭐ ✩   ✩
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    ---Grind---
    ☐ Nothing
    ☑ Average grind level
    ☐ Too much grind 

    ---PlayTime---
    ☐ Short
    ☐ Average
    ☑ Long/Infinite

    ---Bugs---
    ☑ None
    ☐ Minor bugs
    ☐ Too Much

    Overall: 4/10
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    .
    . . .
    Expand
  31. Sep 7, 2018
    7
    Main plus of this game is awesome dark story about bad guys being main protagonists. It has interesting story, great humour, characters and dialogues. Curiosity was main driving force to finish the game, even if game itself was not so much fan. Level design is very simple and outdated and if there was not new dialogue or small scene peeking behind the corner, I would probably give upMain plus of this game is awesome dark story about bad guys being main protagonists. It has interesting story, great humour, characters and dialogues. Curiosity was main driving force to finish the game, even if game itself was not so much fan. Level design is very simple and outdated and if there was not new dialogue or small scene peeking behind the corner, I would probably give up because stereotype, but I´m glad I was strong enough to finish the game. Expand
  32. Mar 9, 2017
    9
    For the most of gameplay time Berseria feels like a great character-based RPG experience, which is suddenly rare thing lately. It is not skipping all of JRPGs cliches, but every motivation to go forward feels personal even egoistic, instead of just being "battle against all evil". And by going forward there is an opportunity to see all sides of all story figures, even hidden ones or lost.For the most of gameplay time Berseria feels like a great character-based RPG experience, which is suddenly rare thing lately. It is not skipping all of JRPGs cliches, but every motivation to go forward feels personal even egoistic, instead of just being "battle against all evil". And by going forward there is an opportunity to see all sides of all story figures, even hidden ones or lost.
    On the other hand Berseria is one reasonably flexible game in choosing it's pace, difficulty and play-style itself. There is no "must grind" time, by adjusting difficulty and form of control it's possible to find most interesting or comfortable pace, and then change it whenever you like. Still "leaving no stone unturned" has benefits of achievements, fan-service, events and quests, which is fully optional, but giving your own chance to explore world a little more.
    Expand
  33. Jan 21, 2018
    7
    If you play Tales of Berseria, play it for the story. The characters are incredibly well developed and the story is unique and interesting. Few games can say their characters could pass for real people with real complexities and personalities. The dialogue is also endlessly interesting and/or humorous. Magilou and Eleanor in particular are fascinating to me, but all are exceptional. TheIf you play Tales of Berseria, play it for the story. The characters are incredibly well developed and the story is unique and interesting. Few games can say their characters could pass for real people with real complexities and personalities. The dialogue is also endlessly interesting and/or humorous. Magilou and Eleanor in particular are fascinating to me, but all are exceptional. The story itself is centered around revenge, and the main characters could actually be viewed as the villains for a good portion of the game. It's an interesting plot line that I can't recall having seen before.

    That said, the rest of the game is lacking. Graphics are decent but technically unimpressive by all standards. Level design is lazy and uninspired. Enemies are basic animal tropes. Music is completely forgettable except maybe a couple tunes. Fighting bosses is exceedingly frustrating when you can't build up combos. Exploration can be fun, but mostly you'l just want to get to the next area.

    Overall I was satisfied with my playthrough, and a discounted $20 price. I got roughly 40 hours of play, and had a blast with the story. As long as you can accept the game's flaws, it's a decent play. There are several other 2017 RPGs I'd recommend before this one, though.
    Expand
  34. Dec 10, 2018
    9
    Why are so many bad reviews just 1 ot 0? Games like Falout 76, No Mans Sky or Ride to Hell get 1 out of 10, because they have too many problems. I mean, the game works as intended, there are no game breaking bugs, the gameplay isn't just button mashing, when you don't play on the easiest difficulty, you have plenty to do in the game, the game isn't something else it pretends to be, itWhy are so many bad reviews just 1 ot 0? Games like Falout 76, No Mans Sky or Ride to Hell get 1 out of 10, because they have too many problems. I mean, the game works as intended, there are no game breaking bugs, the gameplay isn't just button mashing, when you don't play on the easiest difficulty, you have plenty to do in the game, the game isn't something else it pretends to be, it doesn't lack quality... and why are there a lot of bad reviews that just look copy - paste? And most of those have just reviewed this game. And most of the problems they have, are just nitpicks. There must be some serious resentment for some reason, which I can't explain. I want to keep it spoiler free, so I won't nitpick story details.

    I am not used to this game's style of combat, and it didn't really fit my prefference, because I mostly play isometric RPGs (Shadowrun, Tyranny) or action RPGs (Dark Souls, Witcher for example), or action adventures (like DMC, Darksiders). It was hard for me to figure out.

    I didn't like most JRPGs, because they had either bad pacing or stupid generic anime tropes, so this one really surprised me. It was able to utilise some of that classic anime **** but make it actually work and make it feel way less generic and actually not cringy unlike 99% of modern anime.

    Yes, there were some stupid dialogues with the "Why do the birds fly?", but the story was well constructed, without gaps and dull moments where you wouldn't care. There are other moments that do make you care and maybe even cry. The script makes sense. The twists weren't predictable, but they make sense in the whole picture. The set up to most things was really good and also makes sense. The characters make sense. The pacing is good. Characters have good chemistry between each other. They are different from characters I am used to, so I don't find them bland at all. I hate modern anime, but this felt like older anime I loved watching growing up.

    It's not perfect, of coarse, but the 1 point reviews must have some meaning behind it... probably some hurt feelings or something. I wanted to give it 8, because I didn't like the combat that much and it took me longer to figure out than Dark Souls, but I think it's just because I am not used to this style. Oh, and the ending could have been much better. It wasn't really that well explained and even though most of the game was set up very well, the ending, after you beat the last boss, wasn't that well set up. It wasn't as satisfactory as I would have hoped and left a lot of questions. That's maybe because I didn't play Tales of Zestiria, which this is a prequel of.

    But in the end, it was something new and fresh for me, so I give it a pass for the combat.
    Expand
  35. Sep 17, 2018
    8
    Tales of Berseria is mostly like the other Tales of RPGs and does mostly nothing new wich isnt that bad and the story is ok!
    The story is a bit in the back at the beginning and only comes near the end towards a good story so you really need to keep pushing to get trough some things...
    but in the End its a very good and can also become a very emotional game! If you like good RPGs i will
    Tales of Berseria is mostly like the other Tales of RPGs and does mostly nothing new wich isnt that bad and the story is ok!
    The story is a bit in the back at the beginning and only comes near the end towards a good story so you really need to keep pushing to get trough some things...
    but in the End its a very good and can also become a very emotional game!
    If you like good RPGs i will always recommend the Tales of Series, Dragons Dogma or Final Fantasy!
    Tales of Berseria is not the absolut best but it can stay with the other titles!
    Expand
  36. May 14, 2017
    9
    I never played a game of the saga "Tales of" but this game is really beatiful; if you want to feel real emotions in a videogame and you like the good story you must buy Tales of berseria. Well done Namco Bandai, really well done
  37. Jul 26, 2018
    10
    Muito melhor do que a maioria dos JRPGs que existem.
    Vejo comentários de gente que jogou só 10 horas do jogo e já querem sair falando como se conhecesse tudo.
    Primeiro, para curtir este jogo realmente como eu curti, você terá que jogar o anterior (Tales of Zerestia), pois este faz um pequeno crossover com alguns personagens que estão vivos mesmo tendo se passado mais de 2000 anos entre
    Muito melhor do que a maioria dos JRPGs que existem.
    Vejo comentários de gente que jogou só 10 horas do jogo e já querem sair falando como se conhecesse tudo.
    Primeiro, para curtir este jogo realmente como eu curti, você terá que jogar o anterior (Tales of Zerestia), pois este faz um pequeno crossover com alguns personagens que estão vivos mesmo tendo se passado mais de 2000 anos entre ambas as histórias.
    -O gameplay é simplesmente fantástico (quando digo gameplay, me refiro ao combate)
    -História fascinante (mas o final me deixou um pouco triste e feliz ao mesmo tempo)
    -Gráficos bons
    -ótima trilha sonora
    Obs: Por mais que na steam o jogo esteja marcado como "conteúdo sexual" e "nudez", isso absolutamente não existe em momento algum (apenas fizeram uso de algumas falas sexuais, mas nada de nudez em si), então pode parar por aí se vc acha que nesse jogo vc verá esse tipo de conteúdo.
    Expand
  38. Feb 27, 2017
    9
    Wow, what an incredible game. Having played for 100 hours I feel that I've actually been part of an epic story that I was able to relate to in so many ways and share the emotions portrayed by the characters.

    What stood out for me was the character development and humor which were the best I've seen in a game, the battles were pretty fun and colourful, especially on the hardest
    Wow, what an incredible game. Having played for 100 hours I feel that I've actually been part of an epic story that I was able to relate to in so many ways and share the emotions portrayed by the characters.

    What stood out for me was the character development and humor which were the best I've seen in a game, the battles were pretty fun and colourful, especially on the hardest difficulty, although did get a little repetitive.

    The great thing about this game is that its about so much more than destruction like most games, it's also telling a story with real meaning which gives the game heart and soul.

    When I saw the screenshots I nearly didn't try the game but I'm so glad I did because there's actually a hidden gem, the battle scenes actually run on my PC at 60 FPS at 4K with full anti aliasing and look amazing, as does all the artwork and the movies between battles. The soundtrack and effects are also excellent.

    Comparing this to something like the Witcher, this just wins hands down. The characters in that game are so lifeless and boring and that has to be the nearest competition. Compared to the Final Fantasy series the characterization felt similar, although I felt that this series seems more fluid and well tuned.

    Having a format that follows a set path is so much better than these choice RPG like Witcher, instead of creating an multitude of boring dialogues and outcomes they put time into making a decent story.

    I gave Witcher 7, this is a 9, we will see about FF15 when it comes to the PC.

    Deducted a point because the game system was a bit rushed, too much running around for pointless upgrade items and repeating the same fight when you try and beat a boss on intense difficulty and he kills your heroes in 2 hits so you just turn the difficulty down anyway.

    Also the puzzles aren't hard they are just time consuming, its like the whole focus was on the story and with the exception of the intense battles, the developer wasn't really interested in the world outside of the battles and cut scenes which I spent a fair amount of my 80 hours in.

    The AI in the battles was pretty good and worth mentioning, although was really stupid when when they got stuck on a loop repetitively stood there trying to heal themselves when they were just getting damaged and interrupted every time they tried to cast a spell and had no chance of succeeding.

    Also there's no way they should have killed Shigeru, he was the best.

    Anyway, if you have some time on your hands this is worth a run through.
    Expand
  39. May 1, 2017
    9
    A good tale about revenge with really interesting characters and story which it is extremely interesting to follow, albeit slightly banal.
    Of the bad, only the traditional disadvantages for Jrpg are in the form of weak animation and graphics.
    9/10
  40. Sep 5, 2017
    10
    não joguei os jogos anteriores da série mas este jogo me fez querer jogar todos os outros por ser tão bom e acredito que os outros são tão bons quanto
  41. Dec 26, 2017
    9
    -historia: La trama se desarrola en el pais de Midgard, este mundo esta poblado por los humanos y los malak, que vendrian a ser los serafines del tales of zestiria. Una "plaga demoniaca" asota el mundo transformando a los seres vivos y objetos en terribles mounstros (un copsepto vastante parecido al de tales of zestiria pero este se desarrolla de una forma totalmente distinta) Seguimos la-historia: La trama se desarrola en el pais de Midgard, este mundo esta poblado por los humanos y los malak, que vendrian a ser los serafines del tales of zestiria. Una "plaga demoniaca" asota el mundo transformando a los seres vivos y objetos en terribles mounstros (un copsepto vastante parecido al de tales of zestiria pero este se desarrolla de una forma totalmente distinta) Seguimos la historia de venganza de velvet crowe, una joven de 19 años dispuesta a hacer desde lo incorrecto asta lo imposible para vengar a su hermano, laphicet. En su camino se encontrara con personajes de lo mas carismaticos y extraños cada uno de estos rivaliza con otro personaje del equipo antagonista. Estos personajes se le uniran a velvet por varios motivos ya sea porque tienen una deuda con ella o simplemente no tienen nada mejor que hacer, estos motivos rezatan todavia mas sus personalidades y aportan un tono mas maduro en siertos aspectos ya que no es el tipico grupo de amigos unidos para salvar el mundo.
    No es la tipica historia en blanco y negro de buenos contra malos. No. Esta historia esta llena de grices, habra momentos en que nos hara dudar de si somos los buenos ya que efectivamente no es tan simple, no todo lo que hacemos estara "bien" y no todo lo que hagan los antagonistas estara "mal". Esto le da un aspecto muy maduro a la historia.
    En resumen tenemos una muy buena historia que nos enganchara y unos grandes personajes.
    -Jugabilidad: Nos encotramos con una jugabiladad bastante parecida a la del anterior titulo (podemos hacer las mismas acciones como pasos rapidos, defensas, etc esepto por la armatizacion que fue removida) pero esta mejora en aspectos de fluides y personalizacion. Se pueden realizar las artes con cuatro botones cada boton tendra asignadas como maximo 4 artes(1ra, 2da, 3er y 4ta arte) estas artes se pueden combinar para formar nuestros propios combos dependiendo de las debilidades del enemigo. Ademas de todas las artes cada personaje tiene un "alma rompedora" que es un movimiento muy importante ya que cambia totalmente el rol del personaje y manera de utilizarlo. se simplifico bastante la forma de utilizar los objetos equipables( armas, armaduras, etc)
    y las habilidades que poseen ya qe en el anterior titulo era demaciado complicado y se podia hacer tedioso. Ahora se puede jugar a 60 fps cosa que en el anterior titulo no se podia.
    -Apartado artistico: Nos en contramos con un gran apartado artistico lo que mas resalta del apartado es el diseño de peronajes y enemigos pero tambien hay grandes diseños destinados a las ciudades , edificios y estructuras entre otros.

    En resumen un grandioso jrpg pero por su historia adulta y una cultura japonesa exaltante en gran parte del juego no todo el mundo lo puede apreciar como es devido
    Expand
  42. Feb 13, 2019
    10
    Humor great With a story that offer really interisting characters in a fantastic universe
    Gameplay fun and scalable. You evolve you abilities and skills more you continue the story,
    And well, this game made me cry at the end huu it was a pure plaesure those 6O Houres of Gaming

    To everryone who love Japanime universe , knowing the Tales Of series or not
  43. Mar 2, 2020
    8
    Argumentalmente supera por completo al juego anterior, con una historia mas oscura y madura en comparación a los juegos anteriores ya se centra en un tema como la venganza, personajes carismáticos, y un muy buen desarrollo de los mismos, ademas de contar con un final que está para llorar por lo bonito y triste que es.

    Jugablemente me dejó un poco que desear, ya que lo hicieron mucho mas
    Argumentalmente supera por completo al juego anterior, con una historia mas oscura y madura en comparación a los juegos anteriores ya se centra en un tema como la venganza, personajes carismáticos, y un muy buen desarrollo de los mismos, ademas de contar con un final que está para llorar por lo bonito y triste que es.

    Jugablemente me dejó un poco que desear, ya que lo hicieron mucho mas fácil al darnos la opción
    de configurar los ataques como queramos, haciendo que podamos tener configurado ataques muy devastadores desde el principio y lo que realmente me molestó es el bloqueo automático cuando no nos movemos. Espero que para Tales of Arise no nos deje con tantas libertades para configurar los ataques.
    Eso hace que el juego sea mas fácil que Tales of Zestiria, ya que Berseria es fácil pasárselo en la máxima dificultad, mientras que en Zestiria hay que andarse con cuidado.

    Lo que si me gustó es su sistema de almas, ya que dependiendo cuantos tengamos mas ataques podemos realizar y si tenemos una... pues solo un ataque y ya está :/

    Gráficamente es muy simple pero no es malo, pero envejecerá mal en un futuro. Eso si, la cantidad de ataques en momentos frenéticos hace que el juego se vea muy bien.

    La optimización es infinitamente mejor que Tales of Zestiria, ya que el juego no se ralentiza y los controles con teclado funcionan muy bien, salvo el mause, ya que desaparece en los menús pero funciona, pero sinceramente para este tipo de juegos recomiendo usar mando ya sea de Xbox o de PS3/4, ya que es mas cómodo (en comparación con Zestiria el cual tiene un port malisimo en el que hay que utilizar mods para mejorar el rendimiento y ay que tener mando si o si para poder jugar por que con teclado el juego se vuelve loco).

    P.D. Los DLC son solo cosméticos y se puede vivir sin ellos... pero son "excesivamente caros", y no valen en lo mas mínimo la pena para lo que son, así que recomiendo ni si quiera voltearlos a ver.
    Expand
  44. Sep 3, 2021
    9
    'Tales of Berseria' is a JRPG worthy of recommendation. It tells the opposition between the two values from a different perspective, and ensure the story performance without losing the gameplay.

    Review of "Tales of Berseria"

    Graphic/Art: 8.5

    Music/Sounds: 8.5

    Narrative/Performance:8.5

    Gameplay: 8

    Score: 8.6 (+0.2)
  45. Jan 7, 2019
    8
    Tales of berseria es un buen JRPG y se agradece que este en PC.
    las historia es realmente buena a pesar de tener algún tipo de cliché como cualquier típica seria de este género, hay que aclarar que tuvieron bien trabajada la trama, donde me parece que es su fuerte, su gameplay bastante cómodo, mejorando a Zesteria y con unos personajes que hacen que quieras seguir jugando.
    La
    Tales of berseria es un buen JRPG y se agradece que este en PC.
    las historia es realmente buena a pesar de tener algún tipo de cliché como cualquier típica seria de este género, hay que aclarar que tuvieron bien trabajada la trama, donde me parece que es su fuerte, su gameplay bastante cómodo, mejorando a Zesteria y con unos personajes que hacen que quieras seguir jugando.
    La protagonista es el antihéroe que no pedíamos pero que siento que ya se necesitaba, llena de un pasado oscuro que la atormenta y su constante pelea interna que tiene consigo misma hace que te preguntes como terminara esto. No lo pase a la primera, sino más bien lo jugué de mes en mes, cada cierto día, ya que encontraba la trama a veces un poco pesada, ciertamente llega un punto en el que quieras saber cómo terminara todo, y sientes que se alarga mucho, donde se termina haciendo pesado, es donde le veo el punto negativo, aunque hay que admitir que una vez que te atrapa quieres saber su desenlace, sobre todo en torno a la protagonista y su deseo de saciar la venganza que lleva consigo.

    Cosas Positivas
    Fue disfrutable su historia
    Gameplay fluido
    Si te gustan las conversaciones y lo bien trabajado que hicieron a los personajes secundarios te encantara.
    Cosas negativas
    La historia a veces sentí que se sobreentiende a un punto que ya quieres saber el final y te siguen dando vueltas en mazmorras bastante aburridas.
    el equipamiento o ítems: a veces se siente que no importa si abres un cofre, no te esperas nada bueno, en otras palabras, no siento que sea un juego donde explotaron esta cualidad que quizás le hubiera dado más interés al jugador por seguir explorando otras zonas, ya que en si estarías pensando “otro cofre más que no tiene nada relevante”

    En resumen un buen juego, que pudo ser mejor, pero bastante recomendable a pesar de todo, si te gustan las historias con un buen final, este es sin duda tu juego.
    Expand
  46. Jan 26, 2022
    5
    I think on many levels it works but I think it's going to depend a lot on the type of player.

    I felt that a lot of hours and dialogues are just filler or that the dialogues don't go to anything. However, beyond the overall script, each character has an interesting and engaging background: they start from a cliché and build from there to reverse this idea. That's why it works quite well.
    I think on many levels it works but I think it's going to depend a lot on the type of player.

    I felt that a lot of hours and dialogues are just filler or that the dialogues don't go to anything. However, beyond the overall script, each character has an interesting and engaging background: they start from a cliché and build from there to reverse this idea. That's why it works quite well.

    The scenarios are not the most inspired of the JRPG and the enemies comply, although it calls to plan and make the secondary content to take advantage and improve weapons.

    I insist, it may appeal to a large audience, but I think they are going to a specific niche. At least I got a good impression in general that is declining as the hours of play go by. That doesn't discourage me and makes me want to play more Tales of titles, since this is the first one I've tried.
    Expand
  47. Jun 30, 2022
    10
    insanlar ne bekliyor anlamıyorum bana jryoyu sevdiren oyundur karakterdir en iyi tales oyunudur kesinlikle oynayın .ah velvet ah
  48. Jul 23, 2020
    9
    I love this game for its story, setting, and even the combat. The combat at first really did not sit right with me but after my full play-through I realized how much it actually grew on me.
  49. Nov 30, 2020
    8
    Tales of Berseria is a solid (8/10) JRPG that I 100% recommend to all fans of the genre or fans of the "Tales of" franchise. The game breaks some the mold with twists on characters, combat system and story, which is a very welcome change. However, the game still is a JRPG in this core, so if you don't like the genre this game isn't for you. I will detail the pros and cons of the game,Tales of Berseria is a solid (8/10) JRPG that I 100% recommend to all fans of the genre or fans of the "Tales of" franchise. The game breaks some the mold with twists on characters, combat system and story, which is a very welcome change. However, the game still is a JRPG in this core, so if you don't like the genre this game isn't for you. I will detail the pros and cons of the game, without spoilers, below:

    Pros:
    -Story: This game takes the classic "zero to hero" we are used to see in JRPGs and paint it on darker tone, with a more serious and less optimistic journey.
    -The characters: The protagonists are interesting both in their visuals, their past and their motivations. Also, the character development during the game is very satisfying.
    -The worldbuilding: With lots of dubbed dialog and NPCs that change their lines based on the last events, the world of this game trully fells "alive".
    -Content quantity: The game is not only long but also features a lot of side quests that complement the mains storyline.
    -Graphics: The anime-styled graphics on this game are beautiful.
    -Opitimization: These beautiful graphics run well even on a modest video card.

    Neutral:
    -Combat: This is more a matter of taste, but I didn't like the combat that much. In combat, you control your main character (you can choose who) like in a action game while the rest of the cast support you. The problem is that the combat/formations lacks some strategical or mechanical depth. It is not bad, but it's not incredible.
    -Simple puzzles: The puzzles of this game are kinda easy, some may like this way and some don't.

    Cons:
    -Enemy design: Almost all enemies visuals are random JRPG monsters that don't fit well the place where they are or the story of the game and there are a lot of enemies that are just recolors. The exception are a few main antagonists.
    -The "mood": Tales of Berseria tries to twist your classic JPRG adventure with a darker tone, which is a agood thing for variety in the genre. However, the musics and the bright landscapes are exactly the same you would encounter in a happier JRPG, failing in setting the right "mood" for the darker objectives of your protagonist.
    Expand
  50. May 5, 2020
    6
    There is a lot of playful banter in this game. This makes the characters pretty likable, but my main problem with this game is the combat. It is horrible.
  51. May 11, 2021
    10
    tale of berseria is one of the best rpg i played. best story, i recommend play even if you don't have played other tale saga
  52. Jun 19, 2022
    10
    I really enjoyed this game. It takes some time to get into but when you do it’s very rewarding and I love all the characters and story. Those saying the combat is button mashing clearly don’t know how the mechanics in the game work. The enemy’s have weaknesses and you string combos together based off those weaknesses with different Arte combinations on harder difficulty’s if you don’t doI really enjoyed this game. It takes some time to get into but when you do it’s very rewarding and I love all the characters and story. Those saying the combat is button mashing clearly don’t know how the mechanics in the game work. The enemy’s have weaknesses and you string combos together based off those weaknesses with different Arte combinations on harder difficulty’s if you don’t do this you won’t gain more souls making it harder to health regenerate remove status effects and do longer combos. I’ve spent 70 hours on the game and plan to spend more. One of the best tales games in the series and if you like darker story’s a must play. Expand
  53. Jul 16, 2022
    10
    In first 5 hours i wanted to drop this game because of gameplay. Combat is good but level design from 2007. When i played it i thought its too old. But after some time this plot grabbed my attention. I got what i ve wanted and i glad that i gave it second chance.
  54. Jul 27, 2022
    8
    Really good game overall if you focus mainly on story. It is well written even though it is pretty predictable (except some specific moments, but way less than other Tales), has an incredible cast of extremely likeable characters and risks going for a cast of outlaws and "bad guys" instead of the typical good guy heroes.

    The maps, the combat and the backtracking is laking though. The
    Really good game overall if you focus mainly on story. It is well written even though it is pretty predictable (except some specific moments, but way less than other Tales), has an incredible cast of extremely likeable characters and risks going for a cast of outlaws and "bad guys" instead of the typical good guy heroes.

    The maps, the combat and the backtracking is laking though. The pacing would be amazing if they cut the 2 middle chapters off completely, as those two only delay the game for a long time for no reason.

    Overall this is a nobrainer for every Tales fan, I'd recommend other Tales games to start the franchise but this one is good as a standalone game too. If you like feeling attachment to characters, edgy protagonists and a complete JRPG journey, this game is for you.
    Expand
  55. Oct 13, 2021
    8
    Prós:
    - Gráficos simples mas bonitos
    - Jogabilidade muito boa - Ótimo enredo - As melhores skits que já vi na saga Tales - Quebra de clichês Contras: - Muito tutorial e detalhezinhos bestas sobre cada funcionalidade do jogo. Não que seja ruim, mas isso tudo é apresentado de forma precoce e muito no início do jogo, fazendo com que você precise aprender muitas coisas em um curto
    Prós:
    - Gráficos simples mas bonitos
    - Jogabilidade muito boa
    - Ótimo enredo
    - As melhores skits que já vi na saga Tales
    - Quebra de clichês

    Contras:
    - Muito tutorial e detalhezinhos bestas sobre cada funcionalidade do jogo. Não que seja ruim, mas isso tudo é apresentado de forma precoce e muito no início do jogo, fazendo com que você precise aprender muitas coisas em um curto período de tempo.
    - Final muito fraco para tudo que o jogo apresenta.
    Expand
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Mar 31, 2017
    80
    The 16th game in the Tales series is also the most adult. Who would have thunk it? [Issue#260, p.62]
  2. Mar 17, 2017
    76
    Tales of Berseria is too archaic in its game design and visuals to be a mass-appeal JPRG. Still, if you're looking to play a modern representative of this genre, keep in mind that you can easily find a better-looking game, but you won't have as much fun playing it as this one.
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 1, 2017
    62
    In Tales of Berseria you can find every single thing which caused “traditional” JRPG to fall out of favor: world is almost empty, balance is non-existent and instead of truly intricate story we have a cheap, unbelievable drama. Sure, most of these can be explained away as a JRPG tradition – but that doesn’t mean we didn’t get tired of them. [Issue #217, p.76]