Tales of Berseria Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 333 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Players set out on a journey of self-discovery as they assume the role of Velvet, a young woman whose once kind demeanor has been replaced and overcome with a festering anger and hatred after a traumatic experience three years prior to the events within TALES OF BERSERIA. Velvet will join aPlayers set out on a journey of self-discovery as they assume the role of Velvet, a young woman whose once kind demeanor has been replaced and overcome with a festering anger and hatred after a traumatic experience three years prior to the events within TALES OF BERSERIA. Velvet will join a crew of pirates as they sail across the sea and visit the many islands that make up the sacred kingdom of Midgand in an all-new adventure developed by the celebrated team behind the TALES OF series. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tales of Berseria - Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Feb 10, 2017
    90
    Tales of Berseria is a direct response to all the fans of the series that felt disappointed with the lackluster Zestiria. With a much more interesting overarching story, a stellar cast of characters and many refinements to the gameplay, Tales of Berseria is easily the best Tales game since Vesperia.
  2. Feb 1, 2017
    90
    Tales of Berseria is a strong return to form from Bandai Namco and this return to form has produced one of the best Tales games out there in terms of story and overall quality.
  3. Feb 13, 2017
    86
    Regardless the pitfalls, Tales of Berseria is a high quality JRPG, featuring a great cast of characters and an interesting story, which guarantee plenty hours of fun to the fans of the genre.
  4. Jan 24, 2017
    80
    Tales of Berseria feels like a Tales game made just for me. There’s so many games in the series now, and I’ll never play them all, but the characters and the narrative and the combat mechanics of Berseria just click with all of my tastes so well. For some, the lack of gameplay innovation might be a turn off, but for me, a classic Tales gameplay system combined with a unique narrative led to a fantastic experience. Fans both new and old would be doing a disservice to themselves if they didn’t check this game out.
  5. Feb 23, 2017
    80
    Tales of Berseria is an excellent game despite its flaws. The cast of characters shine in their own right and are easily some of the most memorable in the series and the combat additions coupled with the engaging plot makes this a game every JRPG fan should play.
  6. Mar 17, 2017
    76
    Tales of Berseria is too archaic in its game design and visuals to be a mass-appeal JPRG. Still, if you're looking to play a modern representative of this genre, keep in mind that you can easily find a better-looking game, but you won't have as much fun playing it as this one.
  7. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Mar 1, 2017
    62
    In Tales of Berseria you can find every single thing which caused “traditional” JRPG to fall out of favor: world is almost empty, balance is non-existent and instead of truly intricate story we have a cheap, unbelievable drama. Sure, most of these can be explained away as a JRPG tradition – but that doesn’t mean we didn’t get tired of them. [Issue #217, p.76]

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 44
  2. Negative: 5 out of 44
  1. Jan 26, 2017
    10
    Tales of games are big part of why i'm still playing videogames. This is such a wonderful series. Berseria introduce female main characterTales of games are big part of why i'm still playing videogames. This is such a wonderful series. Berseria introduce female main character which is pretty rare in jrpg, on top of that she is basically villain, a pirate. Other parts are pretty classic, which means they are good. Expand
  2. Sep 18, 2020
    10
    best tales in the series because of character development and its dark story and advance game
  3. Feb 5, 2017
    9
    tale of berseria is one of the best rpg i played in year the story is really the best and the game as good humor the character designed aretale of berseria is one of the best rpg i played in year the story is really the best and the game as good humor the character designed are awesome it s a great game Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2017
    8
    Tales of Berseria si attesta come un ottimo capitolo della serie Tales of che cerca di implementare da una parte una narrativa diversa che ciTales of Berseria si attesta come un ottimo capitolo della serie Tales of che cerca di implementare da una parte una narrativa diversa che ci mostra quanto il mondo di Westland sia più complesso di quanto si immagini, creando quell’atmosfera oscura e angosciante che ci farà riflettere sull’intera esperienza di gioco. Dall’altra abbiamo un sistema di combattimento funzionale e fluido che però non si basa soltanto sul mero attaccare. Lo stesso non si può dire per i dungeon che risultano essere piatti e privi di profondità, senza tentare di proporre qualcosa di nuovo. Si tratta di un gioco riuscito bene ma non perfettamente che ha bisogno di cambiare la sua struttura in alcuni ambiti, giusto per non rimanere fermi nei propri errori.

    Si spera che nel prossimo capitolo, che risulterà essere il primo pensato e sviluppato per piattaforma di questa generazione, sappia innovare e sviluppare al meglio la grande potenzialità che questa serie ha da offrire.

    Review ---> http://www.gamesark.it/mostra_rece.asp?c=19220170011952773&p=1&a=0&f=1&s=1
    Expand
  5. Feb 26, 2017
    7
    I just want to be clear before I start my review; the last Tale's game I played was Tales of Xillia. Xillia 2 and Zesteria seemed to be aI just want to be clear before I start my review; the last Tale's game I played was Tales of Xillia. Xillia 2 and Zesteria seemed to be a little too bland for my tastes. But other than that, I've played most of the major 3D Tales games.

    +Combat:
    -To put simply, the combat in this game is a bit too easy. The best strategy by far is to just button mash all four of the face buttons at once. (I guess I should mention that this game is best played with a gamepad.)

    +Graphics:
    -Underwhelming. The fact that this game came out on the PS3 in Japan isn't enough to defend its bland graphics. On the bright side, I was easily able to get this game running at 4k 60fps at max settings, something that I can't say with most AAA games.

    +Story:
    -Definitely one of the more interesting stories presented in the Tales series in a while. Funnily enough, Velvet, the protagonist, is actually the least interesting character in the story, however her companions more than make up for it.

    +Music:
    -Forgettable; normally music in the Tale's series would get stuck in my head days after playing it, however I can't say the same with Berseria. It's serviceable, but nothing more.

    +PC Port:
    -Surprisingly good; Plenty of graphics options, 60 fps, 4K support, etc. Unfortunately, anything above 60 fps isn't possible, and having a controller is basically essential to playing this game. Compared to Bandi Namco's other PC ports, I was able to play the game with no tinkering of external files to get things working properly.

    +Final Verdict:
    -I could say that Tales of Berseria is better than the past couple of games in the series, however that wouldn't be much of an achievement compared to what most people thought of Tales of Zestiria. I think that a 7/10 is about what this game deserves.
    Expand
  6. Mar 29, 2017
    7
    I couldn't finish this game.

    The story and character design is the best part about the game. You know exactly what drives each character,
    I couldn't finish this game.

    The story and character design is the best part about the game. You know exactly what drives each character, everyone is unique and has their own likability, and the several thousand lines of internal dialogue between the characters gives them a depth and characterization that most games don't even come close to achieving. Not many games are going to make you feel like the characters could have been real people, but Berseria could be one of them. 10/10

    Sound is acceptable. The opening intro music was outstanding, but music for the rest of the game is forgettable and uninspired. Other sounds, such as from in-game effects from footsteps to sword slashing are what you'd expect. I have one pet peeve about the sound that you hear in combat... Each character has access to a couple dozen different skills and many of them have their own cool names, so when they're used, the character has to yell out that name out loud, every single time. 7/10

    Design of the game leaves much to be desired. Game is extremely linear, lack of quick travel combined with mandatory backtracking over long long distances, maps and areas that have little to absolutely none distinguishing features, 'demon' designs that often look like ordinary animals....Graphics also seem dated for a 2017 release. However, sometimes the graphics do work out. There are also anime-cutscenes that are extremely well done, but used too sparingly to compensate for the game's overall lack in graphical appeal. 3/10

    Gamplay... is terrible. The walking around part feels boring and long with no interesting interactions, and the combat system... is terrible. Mashing all the keys at once with no strategic thinking necessary. It is VERY hard to see clearly what exactly is happening. Combat is extremely chaotic and poorly done. 0/10

    The story itself is amazing enough to consider watching it on youtube. But the game itself probably isn't worth playing through. There are several JRPG's that have a stellar gameplay to go with a great story, but this only has the story.
    Expand
  7. May 10, 2017
    0
    - Worst combat in the entire series, pretty much a lousy button-masher
    - bland music,
    - A terrible cast of characters. - It's pretty much a
    - Worst combat in the entire series, pretty much a lousy button-masher
    - bland music,
    - A terrible cast of characters.
    - It's pretty much a 60 USD update of Zestiria.
    Expand

See all 44 User Reviews

Trailers