User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 188

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 17, 2022
    10
    This game is probably the best beat ‘em up I’ve ever played. And that’s heavy shoes to fill with the likes of old school arcade games like X-men,TMNT arcade and Simpsons. The jump in and jump out Co-op is great. I can create a lobby or jump right into another flawlessly. Controls are fluid and the story mode is rewarding with the power-ups”levels” you get and you can jump in and out ofThis game is probably the best beat ‘em up I’ve ever played. And that’s heavy shoes to fill with the likes of old school arcade games like X-men,TMNT arcade and Simpsons. The jump in and jump out Co-op is great. I can create a lobby or jump right into another flawlessly. Controls are fluid and the story mode is rewarding with the power-ups”levels” you get and you can jump in and out of that as well like arcade. It’s hard to put down and I’ve probably logged 15 hours already with two days since launch. If you are on the fence….. GET THIS GAME NOW!! Expand
  2. Jun 19, 2022
    10
    Great games. 80's Nostalgia . Fun, great graphics . Most have for all that want a real good beat em up game.
  3. Jun 18, 2022
    9
    Awesome nostalgia trip. TMNT(SR) looks and plays fantastically whilst staying true to the older titles in the franchise. Currently playing multiplayer via Xcloud (perfectly) on the Ayn Odin and the boy is playing on the Series X. This game is best in class.
  4. Jun 19, 2022
    9
    Splendido, molto curato.
    Temevo due cose: 1) Che fosse un gioco che si reggesse solo sulla nostalgia 2) di essere troppo vecchio e smaliziato per un picchiaduro arcade.
    i timori erano infondati: è un ottimo passatempo. Molto giocabile, rapido, dal sistema di combattimento soddisfacente. Entrare ed uscire dal gioco con altri giocatori connessi è rapido e semplice, ed ora che il gioco è
    Splendido, molto curato.
    Temevo due cose: 1) Che fosse un gioco che si reggesse solo sulla nostalgia 2) di essere troppo vecchio e smaliziato per un picchiaduro arcade.
    i timori erano infondati: è un ottimo passatempo.
    Molto giocabile, rapido, dal sistema di combattimento soddisfacente.
    Entrare ed uscire dal gioco con altri giocatori connessi è rapido e semplice, ed ora che il gioco è appena uscito si trova sempre qualcuno con cui fare una partita, con attese quasi nulle...ed è molto godibile in gruppo.
    Pieno di citazioni e riferimenti al cartone anni 80 ed al film, sempre anni 80.
    C'è qualche bug in fase di multiplayer online, che blocca il gioco all'avvio di un livello ogni tanto....ma niente di tragico...basta lasciare la partita e ricominciare (senza nemmeno riavviare il gioco) per sistemare tutto.
    Ottimo prodotto, tra l'altro pagato pochissimo con l'xbox gamepass per pc.
    Gamepad oppure Fighting stick (anche economico ) raccomandatissimo, quasi obbligatorio.
    Ovviamente parliamo di un gioco ARCADE, che omaggia la vecchia scuola....io giocavo questo genere di giochi più di ventanni fà in sala giochi e sono abituato, i giocatori più giovani sono avvisati.
    E simile ad i picchiaduro "rapidi" come Street of rage, Vendetta, The Punisher, Cadillac and Dinosaurs ....(più rapido di un Double Dragon o Golden Axe).
    in due o tre giorni si finisce la trama principale.... ma rimane divertente anche una volta finito.
    Rapido da avviare, si sceglie un livello da rigiocare e via.... è divertente rigocarci.
    La longevità è allungata dal cercare punteggi più alti, provare altri personaggi, sbloccare trofei, far salire di livello uno dei protagonisti, vedere le diverse schermate finali ecc
    Ci starebbe un espansione tra qualche tempo
    Expand
  5. Jun 19, 2022
    10
    The best game of 2022. Absolutely fantastic. Thanks everyone for this stuff.
  6. Jun 17, 2022
    10
    Amazing. How did it take almost 30 years to finally make the Turtle game we've been wanting??
  7. Jun 18, 2022
    10
    I normally would never play a “beat ‘em ups” game, because I find them too repetitive and boring; but this game is fast-paced and always keeps it fresh. Also, I’m not a hardcore gamer, so I really appreciate the three difficulty levels. You can level up your characters….:so there’s a progression system. It’s replayable with different challenges. Plus, it’s Teeanage Mutant NinjaI normally would never play a “beat ‘em ups” game, because I find them too repetitive and boring; but this game is fast-paced and always keeps it fresh. Also, I’m not a hardcore gamer, so I really appreciate the three difficulty levels. You can level up your characters….:so there’s a progression system. It’s replayable with different challenges. Plus, it’s Teeanage Mutant Ninja Turtles!! Expand
  8. Jun 17, 2022
    10
    This game is pure bliss for an older gamer who grew up on the 1987 cartoon. Turtles in Time has been dethroned!
  9. Jun 18, 2022
    10
    the game took me back to the past many many years ago, when there was a favorite sega and nothing else
  10. Jun 20, 2022
    9
    It's a great, great, great, great, great game - but not perfect, as it's way too easy... once you get a hang of your turtle, rat or April, the enemies and bosses stand zero chance - especially once you've levelled up a bit.
  11. Jun 18, 2022
    10
    Awesome, except I don't know why they changed the rhythm of lyric delivery in some sections in the theme song cover. I don't care that taunt can be spammed, maybe it'll be changed maybe it won't, but if it really bothers you, play gnarly difficulty in arcade mode and get back to me. First playthrough was in 5p coop and it was a blast. Already replaying it.
  12. Jun 17, 2022
    10
    Pura nostalgia... empecé a jugarlo y no pare hasta terminarlo... tiene mil millones de detalles, enemigos, movimientos, frases, boses.... y las nuevas mecánicas están implementadas de diez. Para mi un obligatorio incluso para los que no jugaron a los anteriores.
  13. Jun 18, 2022
    7
    Shredder's Revenge is a wholesome, lighthearted beat-em-up that stands tall on its artistic and visual merits while falling flat in difficulty and longevity. Though there can be fun in 6-player co-op mayhem, it's replayability only consists of simple challenges and collectibles. The price tag is the saving grace that prevents this from scoring lower. If you like TMNT and you areShredder's Revenge is a wholesome, lighthearted beat-em-up that stands tall on its artistic and visual merits while falling flat in difficulty and longevity. Though there can be fun in 6-player co-op mayhem, it's replayability only consists of simple challenges and collectibles. The price tag is the saving grace that prevents this from scoring lower. If you like TMNT and you are awe-inspired and appreciative of vibrant artwork, and have a knack for beat-em-ups, don't hesitate to pick this up. If you're looking for something to fill the void before your next preorder or big release, you'll be severely disappointed. Expand
  14. Jun 17, 2022
    10
    Отличная игра, вернула в детство. Стиль тгр 80-90х сохранен. Геймплей и управление тоже на уровне. Рекомендую не только любителям черепашек, но и забористых битэмапов. Можно смело ставить на один уровень с Streets of Rage 4.
  15. Jun 20, 2022
    9
    Extremely fun. Never been particularly interested in this genre but I had a blast playing through the whole story with random people. The combat system is just great. Definitely give it a try with game pass, even if it's not your thing. Super nostalgic with amazing music. Loved it.
  16. Jun 18, 2022
    10
    This is nostalgia done right.
    I recommend giving it a try.
    This game are awesome.
  17. Jun 18, 2022
    10
    30 years later and Donatello is still the best turtle. __________________
  18. Jun 17, 2022
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The main question is, do you need a big budget to make a really good game? Of course not. When you got ideas and proper execution this is what we get, probably the best TMNT game. The big hit of nostalgia is at your fingertips. Design, Gameplay, Music, everything here is just great, the game has a cool story mode with really great co-op, and high replay value, especially with friends, since u can level up all available characters up to level 10. We got some collectibles to find across the levels, and boss fights, and all this is served in two classic modes (Story and Arcade).. Finally, we got a little diamond among the puke that AAA studios served us lately (Diablo Immortal, Warcraft III: Reforged, Cyberpunk 2077, GTA Trilogy, and so on). Pure fun and joy, this is what u get when u decide to buy this game. Remember game folks and greedy devs, gameplay and pure fun are always above graphics and big-budget, and here we got a good example. The last thing I can say is that we can only wait for the sequel. Cowabunga! Expand
  19. Jun 17, 2022
    10
    Beautiful, fun, and an absolutely must play for anyone that likes a good beat’em up.
  20. Jul 27, 2022
    9
    Pros.:
    - Design.
    - Music.
    - Characters.
    - Overall wrap-up style and nostalgia.

    Cons.:
    - Even on middle difficulty a bit easy. Especially some bosses at the end.
    - Could add more about the story.
  21. Ead
    Jun 19, 2022
    10
    I will give this game 9.5 out of 10 in the beat them up genre.

    Pros: Exceptionally art style. Designing a simple and stand-out character is very hard, especially since you need to keep it aligned with existing art. Extremely good sound track. Very good hit feedback. Plenty of moves to use. Good pacing for each level. Good length. Not every damn game need to play 100 hrs to finish
    I will give this game 9.5 out of 10 in the beat them up genre.

    Pros:
    Exceptionally art style. Designing a simple and stand-out character is very hard, especially since you need to keep it aligned with existing art.
    Extremely good sound track.
    Very good hit feedback.
    Plenty of moves to use.
    Good pacing for each level.
    Good length. Not every damn game need to play 100 hrs to finish everything.
    Good reliability. Do you want to try something diff? You can. You want to drop the game, you can!
    Good mode selection, story and arcarde, there could be more mode, like rouge surviver. But with the offering, can't complain.
    Good and simple character progression system.
    Extreme good point, supports up to six player local and online play together. Is it very chaos? Yes, is it fun, damn that's right!

    Con:
    Latency, loss of connection is an issue.
    Combo is a little stiff.
    Expand
  22. Jun 17, 2022
    8
    7,5/10
    Ну что тут скажешь, делать битемап по черепашкам-ниндзя изначально было беспроигрышной идеей, независимо от качества и оригинальности проекта, но игра всё-таки смогла меня немного удивить.
    Начнём с того, что я вообще не фанат этого жанра, считаю его очень устаревшим и однообразным, а "выезжание" на настольгии "олдовых" геймеров, конечно, очень скользкий маркетинговый ход, тут
    7,5/10
    Ну что тут скажешь, делать битемап по черепашкам-ниндзя изначально было беспроигрышной идеей, независимо от качества и оригинальности проекта, но игра всё-таки смогла меня немного удивить.
    Начнём с того, что я вообще не фанат этого жанра, считаю его очень устаревшим и однообразным, а "выезжание" на настольгии "олдовых" геймеров, конечно, очень скользкий маркетинговый ход, тут вообще сходу включают легендарную заставку, которая автоматически пробирает до муршаек, но мне черепашки 80-ых, кстати, никогда не нравились, по мне в 2000-ых годах были мульты покруче, не настолько карикатурные.
    Крче, несмотря на то, что я вообще не целевая аудитория этой игры, но на 2 часа она смогла меня увлечь, очень качественные анимации, разнообразные локации, кооператив до 6 человек с поддержкой клава/мыши и ремот плея, все игровые механики сделаны по классике битемапов, геймплейных проблем (своим хоть и абсолютно непрофессиональным в жанре взглядом, но всё же) не нашёл, наоборот очень много крутых мелочей, таких как, например, возможность хилить союзников, хлопая с ними в ладоши, а сделав забавный таунт.. например.. поиграв в приставку прямо во время боя, вы накопите немного энергии) Поднимать упавших друзей вы будете запахом куска Пиццы) Можно кидать противников прямо вам в экран. Обычные драки разбавляются уровнями с драками в полёте.
    И вот в этом все черепахи, очень креативно, со вкусом, возможно, лучший битемап, в который я играл, но всё же не предлагающий чего-то достаточно уникального, и, вторая половина игры (общая продолжительность часа 3-4), выглядит уже не так увлекательно. Да и большинство боссов это очень похожие друг на друга звери, то кабан, то медведь, а можно не только с животными сражаться?) Также тут есть коллектиблсы, за которые вам, вроде просто прокачивают уровень перса, ну, могли бы придумать что-то получше. Сюжет тут, естественно, максимально прост, говорить не о чем, хотя заставки прикольные.

    Подписывайтесь на Кураторство в Steam: https://store.steampowered.com/curator/37365104/
    Expand
  23. Jun 17, 2022
    9
    It’s a fun game to play and most importantly, it’s just pure nostalgia. I remember playing the old Ninja Turtle on NES with my dad and my uncle, it was one of my favorite games growing up and the dev has hit all the right notes with this one! Good job! My only complaint with the game is that the story is kinda short, but its an easy fix with futures DLCs. Can’t wait for more content downIt’s a fun game to play and most importantly, it’s just pure nostalgia. I remember playing the old Ninja Turtle on NES with my dad and my uncle, it was one of my favorite games growing up and the dev has hit all the right notes with this one! Good job! My only complaint with the game is that the story is kinda short, but its an easy fix with futures DLCs. Can’t wait for more content down the road. Keep up the good work! Expand
  24. Jun 18, 2022
    10
    Perfect blend of old school with modern features. My 7 year old and I have been playing non stop. This is how beat 'em up's should be done.
  25. Jun 17, 2022
    10
    ce jeu c'est de la bombe de balle. Le pixel art, la musique, les niveaux, les persos, les couleurs, les animations, tout est parfait... La prise en main est assez déroutante au début mais une fois qu'on là c'est la fête de la pizza !! C'est le jeu de l'amour, dotemu a fait un excellent travail. Bravo bravo bravo les gens.
  26. Jun 17, 2022
    10
    No he dejado de jugarlo durante todo el día junto a mi hermano, este juego no solo es pura nostalgia, es también una mejora absoluta a la jugabilidad de los TMNT clásicos. El impacto de los golpes y las animaciones son extremadamente buenas y detalladas. Es indudablemente un juego brillante que rompe cualquier expectativa y que, a gusto personal, sitúa al producto de Tribute Games dentroNo he dejado de jugarlo durante todo el día junto a mi hermano, este juego no solo es pura nostalgia, es también una mejora absoluta a la jugabilidad de los TMNT clásicos. El impacto de los golpes y las animaciones son extremadamente buenas y detalladas. Es indudablemente un juego brillante que rompe cualquier expectativa y que, a gusto personal, sitúa al producto de Tribute Games dentro de lo mejor del año. (Con TMNTSR y Streets of Rage 4 podemos afirmar que el Beat em Up no ha muerto.) Expand
  27. Jun 17, 2022
    9
    man I don't really like beat'em ups, but this game is sick as hell, and it's in game pass, so you just need to try it
  28. Jun 20, 2022
    9
    very fanny!!!!!!!!!!great pixel art!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Awesome nostalgia!!!!!!!!!
  29. Jun 20, 2022
    9
    Sometimes you really don't have to reinvent the wheel. Just give us fun from fighting with hosts of enemies, fill levels with collectibles and add some retro style to it. And this game proves that sometimes you don't need more to have a great game. Cowabunga!
  30. Jun 19, 2022
    8
    "TEENAGE MUTANT NINJA TURTLES: SHREDDER'S REVENGE" is an absolute blast to play! If you're a fan of old school Beat 'em up's then this one is a must have. tons of character to play as, each with their one unique playstyle, a story mode and arcade mode and plenty of fun stages.
  31. Jun 17, 2022
    10
    Excellent! One if the best beat em up games out there Really enjoyed it and replay value is high
  32. Jun 18, 2022
    9
    A nostalgia induced button mashing extravaganza, perfect for either a quick solo session or getting the crew together.
  33. Jun 17, 2022
    9
    Great Beat ’em up and best game TMNT ever ..................................
  34. Jun 17, 2022
    9
    Exactly the kind of TMNT game that I've been waiting for. Worth playing if you're a beat 'em up or TMNT fan.
  35. Jun 17, 2022
    9
    A whole year passed since this game was announced. I prepurchased as soon as I could. Totally worth it Finished the story in a couple of days. Tons of replayability. Super fun with friends. There's a ton of love put into this game, and it shows. You can tell the developers are very fond of the source material. The older folk will enjoy this nostalgia trip and all the tiny details carriedA whole year passed since this game was announced. I prepurchased as soon as I could. Totally worth it Finished the story in a couple of days. Tons of replayability. Super fun with friends. There's a ton of love put into this game, and it shows. You can tell the developers are very fond of the source material. The older folk will enjoy this nostalgia trip and all the tiny details carried from those arcade games in the 90s. Younger audience can enjoy a very solid gameplay, avcompanied by with fun voicelines tons of puns. This is a no brainer. You can't go wrong with this onr. You'll hours of fun out of those 10 bucks.
    Now, if you are still wondering what aspects of the game could annoy you. The game's too simple, you can pretty much finish the whole game just smashing the one attaco button, jumoing from time to time and pushing the "special atttack" a couple of tines per level. Don't get me wrong, you can pull somr sock combos and chain you attacks. However, it comes don't only to the d-pad and one attack button. You can juggle your enemies and throw them into other enemies, which is fun as heck, but the animations are so detailed that you sometimes try to act faster than the game allows and you'll take cheap hits from enemies cause you arr stuck in you cooldown frames. You can use the dodge button but you will, most likely, forget it even exists. Besides, again, you are on you cooldown frames so you are sruck until Leo stips swinging his swords around. Furthermore, there's no block button, you can't cancels your grabs of the enemies and you don't have "ranged attacks". All of this details were there back in the Manhattan project, so you can see where I'm going with this. The gameplay feels dated in a lot of places Thet evolved the whole formula and got.set back by frecreating the old games too hard.
    All of this complains don't make the game less fun, just make it simpler and this game is too essy for the most part, except whennit comes to the challenges, which is all of this problems really stuck out while replaying the levels. Trying to complete the challenges encourages playing extremely passive and running away from.your enemies. You can get vrry good at the game and even beat yout bosses with next to no damage and still not complete your challenges cause you got hit by a banana while you were trying to beat up a random easy foot soldier. I get that they're "challenges" and not everyone can beat them, but it sometimes feels more like luck than skill. You cannot restar a lvl either. If you fail a challenge you have to go back to the map and re enter the lvl, which is tedious. Good thibg is that you can complete each challenge on a different run, but it's still annoying!
    I don't wanna be too harsh on this game. I'm loving and me and my sister had a lot of fun completing the story mode. I loved it so much that I want it to improve for the sequel they will probably announce after how good it's selling. I literally just made a metacritic account to recommend this game cause I can't review it on the Switch!
    Expand
  36. Jun 18, 2022
    10
    Best game ever! Thanks, you return me to childhood! I play this game with my child.
  37. Jun 18, 2022
    10
    As someone who played TMNT on NES, no joke this might be my favorite game of all time.
  38. Jun 19, 2022
    10
    IT'S PERFECT!
    I absolutely loved this game! I was waiting so much for this game to be released!
  39. Jun 19, 2022
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Awesome dude
    Really enjoyed this tmnt game. Had a blast playing with my wife and kids. Highly recommended.
    Expand
  40. Jun 18, 2022
    5
    Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder’s Revenge is a call back to a bygone era of games. This is very much a sequel to TMNT: Turtles in Time, but it also is leaning very, very heavily on nostalgia, pretty much running every single popular character and toy from the original series in the game as a boss or someone you have to rescue. Giving you the long-awaited ability to play as MasterTeenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Shredder’s Revenge is a call back to a bygone era of games. This is very much a sequel to TMNT: Turtles in Time, but it also is leaning very, very heavily on nostalgia, pretty much running every single popular character and toy from the original series in the game as a boss or someone you have to rescue. Giving you the long-awaited ability to play as Master Splinter, April O’Neill, and Casey Jones, this game has seven characters instead of four, and while it is a side-scrolling beat ’em up, there are some differences between the characters.

    Unfortunately, this game also shows why they don’t make these games anymore – this game took a lot of effort to make, and is nicely animated pixel art, but it’s only two and a half hours long. If you try and collect everything, it might take you another hour… but after that, it’s just grinding for some tedious achievements, which isn’t fun.

    The other problem is that beat ’em up gameplay remains very simplistic, and this game is no exception. The characters aren’t especially mobile, and while it reflects the design of the era, modern games are more fun to play and less awkward and stiff. This isn’t bad as far as beat ’em ups go – in fact, it’s a reasonably good example, though Turtles in Time felt like it had better variety – but the game is still very simple, and not really super fun to play. Being short is a saving grace as much as it is a drawback; if it was any longer, you’d get bored.

    Which is the biggest problem, really – it isn’t 1994 anymore. Back in the day, I remember enjoying these games, but today, they’re just too simple compared to modern game design. The game is quite easy even on the middle difficulty setting, but cranking the difficulty didn’t really make me any more enamored with it. The high difficulty older beat ’em ups were designed as quarter eaters; modern games don’t benefit from that, but it reveals just how little content there actually is.

    While it was kind of nostalgic seeing all these characters again, the voice acting wasn’t great and the only thing that made me laugh was the “twist” at the end.

    All in all, I can’t recommend this trip down memory lane unless you get it for free, like playing it on Game Pass or something. There, it is a reasonable thing, as you can taste it and see if you want to see it through, and even if you do, it won’t feel like it took a bite out of your wallet for such a short and mediocre experience.
    Expand
  41. Jun 19, 2022
    3
    When you see a beat-em-up being praised by press and casuals, you know it’s a case of a shallow and poor game with pretty “graphics”.
  42. Jun 20, 2022
    0
    The ost isn't quite as good as tmnt 4 and the taunt is broken. Those are the only flaws I can think of.
    Oh, and that you can't choose comic book colors for the turtles.
  43. Jun 19, 2022
    5
    My first impression playing Shredder's Revenge for the first time was hmm... why do I think Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time on snes looked, played and sounded better than this? So, I booted up Turtles in Time to make sure this was not an effect of nostalgia. I played Shredder's Revenge and Turtles in Time back to back just to be sure. I was really surprised to see that a gameMy first impression playing Shredder's Revenge for the first time was hmm... why do I think Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Turtles in Time on snes looked, played and sounded better than this? So, I booted up Turtles in Time to make sure this was not an effect of nostalgia. I played Shredder's Revenge and Turtles in Time back to back just to be sure. I was really surprised to see that a game released in 1991 looked, sounded, and played better than this new game.
    Shredder's revenge is by no means a bad game, but it certainly isn't the best tmnt game ever made (as mentioned by many reviews here)! It is a mediocre entry into the series. If you are still on the fence about this game, I'd say trust your instincts. Personally, this game didn't scratch the tmnt itch for me. I can't wait to play Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: The Cowabunga Collection.
    Expand
  44. Jun 17, 2022
    4
    As a fanboy of the older beat em ups of the Turtles I really hate to write this. In a way i am disappointed in this game. It feels more like a party game then a proper beat em up.
    Almost in every screen the perspective of the backdrops are just so wrong or objects are way too big, like the cars for example. Completing all challenges is just too easy. The whole party just spamming taunt to
    As a fanboy of the older beat em ups of the Turtles I really hate to write this. In a way i am disappointed in this game. It feels more like a party game then a proper beat em up.
    Almost in every screen the perspective of the backdrops are just so wrong or objects are way too big, like the cars for example. Completing all challenges is just too easy. The whole party just spamming taunt to be able to spam your Super Attack is funny at first but it actually ruins the game for its difficulty and other mechanics.
    Expand
  45. Jul 2, 2022
    4
    The game insidiously use our nostalgia about such kind of beat em ups and a love to Ninja Turtles. There are good enough animation and music, but nothing more. We can see only really boring fight system, lame and similar bosses, except maybe two of them, no real differences among characters.
  46. Jun 20, 2022
    5
    As someone who likes beat-em-up games, this game was too easy and short for me, but I had a good time.
  47. Jun 25, 2022
    5
    A direct continuation of the Super Nes classic, this new episode evokes each easter egg to make every fan nostalgic. Despite being a game of easy assimilation, it definitely seeks to please the fan born between the 80's and 90's. A charm aside.
  48. Jul 16, 2022
    10
    Absolutely amazing experience to see and play. The characters are back in that '90s style beat'em up which reminds me a lot of Turtles in Time. Turtles in Time on SNES was amazing and STILL is. Shredder's Revenge revamps the experience back in the modern era and brings you back to playing Turtles in Time all over again.

    All the enemies & boss designs are amazing and bring each of their
    Absolutely amazing experience to see and play. The characters are back in that '90s style beat'em up which reminds me a lot of Turtles in Time. Turtles in Time on SNES was amazing and STILL is. Shredder's Revenge revamps the experience back in the modern era and brings you back to playing Turtles in Time all over again.

    All the enemies & boss designs are amazing and bring each of their own unique challenges.

    The Soundtrack is quite something, I've had to of heard it all the way through at least 10 times now equaling 10 hrs overall (roughly 1 hr).

    Highly recommend a purchase of Shredder's Revenge if you desire a classic Turtles experience in the modern era with a banging soundtrack and amazing fighting mechanics.

    10/10
    Expand
  49. Jul 7, 2022
    9
    The good old Beat'em Ups are coming back.

    TMNT: Shredder’s Revenge is a very fun game, especially if, like me, you are a fan of the classic beat em up games from the 90s. It is safe to say it’s one of the best TMNT games, of course not that hard to achieve since it’s been quite a while. Some of the classics, like Turtles in Time or Hyperstone Heist, were also very good games, for
    The good old Beat'em Ups are coming back.

    TMNT: Shredder’s Revenge is a very fun game, especially if, like me, you are a fan of the classic beat em up games from the 90s. It is safe to say it’s one of the best TMNT games, of course not that hard to achieve since it’s been quite a while.

    Some of the classics, like Turtles in Time or Hyperstone Heist, were also very good games, for their time, but they all had big issues when it comes to hit detection (I guess what we would call "hitbox detection" today), and this is mostly improved in Shredder’s Revenge, but it’s still not completely perfect, and we’re still going to get a few surprises here and there or unexpected hits coming from way off or position in the axis, and this is particularly evident in the hardest difficulty setting, where every hit we get hurts a lot.

    Continuing on the difficulty aspect, I think Normal is far so easy, whereas the next one available, which is called Gnarly, feels too punishing, and clearly the game was not properly balanced for this one, much.
    I feel the other great modern beat’em up game we got recently, Streets of Rage 4, manages difficulties quite a bit better, at least from Normal to Hard, and even going to Mania, you can feel the difficulty curve being smoother, so to speak, like there’s a much better "difficulty progression", if that makes any sense.

    That said, apart from that detail that could easily be tweaked and patched in the future, the game is pretty awesome and enjoyable.

    Performance wise, this game seems pretty easy to run and I encountered zero issues on my Ryzen 5 3600 and RTX 3060 Ti, which clearly is way more than enough PC a game like this needs, but I experienced zero frame drops or anything like that, it’s pretty much all the way.

    Moving on to the game’s Controls and how it feels in action, I think the improvement over the classic games is quite massive here: we have lots of different movements we can use, and none of them are particularly difficult to execute, they’re pretty simple and we have an interactive tutorial to learn all about these moves.

    The game offers six initial playable characters, and a seventh one unlocked after finishing the Story Mode, and that’s is a very nice amount of characters, compared to most beat’em up games, certainly, at least on release.

    The Graphics are nicely done and the UI is easily readable but, if anything, it would’ve been great to have some retro, CRT style, shaders available to use, as those would fit pretty well with the visual design in this game, even though the clean pixel design is quite well done as it is.

    The Music is absolutely amazing too, I can never get tired of it and just like in the old school games, the soundtrack is a crucial part of the experience when playing each level, and this game really delivers there, for sure.

    One final last flaw in the game though, the multiplayer has some cross-play related issues at the moment when it comes to Steam-Gamepass crossplay, in game it’s not currently possible to find online players other than those from the Epic Games version, no Steam or Gamepass players are shown currently, and it seems to be a known issue due to certain versions needing an update.
    Furthermore, it does seem that in order to connect with Gamepass players, both Steam and Gamepass owners need to link their…Epic Games accounts, then invite using the Epic UI in game, a bit…weird, but again the developers have mentioned that it does seem that the Gamepass version needs an update.

    All in all, this is another must have beat’em up, especially if you liked the classic games, or more recently Streets of Rage 4, this one is quite good too; SoR 4 still feels like the more complete and bigger game, clearly with higher budget, but TMTN: Shredder’s Revenge is a pretty solid and affordable game in the genre, and quite enjoyable to play.
    Expand
  50. Feb 25, 2023
    8
    {__/}
    ( • - •)
    /つ☕______________________________________________________________________
  51. Jul 2, 2022
    7
    I used to play TMNT on PlayStation 1, so this was hella nostalgic and brought back so many memories.
    The gameplay was good, the combat system, controls, characters' traits, and variety of enemies and locations was really good.
    I usually don't like beat-em-up games because after some time they become boring and repetitive. And unfortunately it was the same for TMNT: Shredder's Revenge.
    I used to play TMNT on PlayStation 1, so this was hella nostalgic and brought back so many memories.
    The gameplay was good, the combat system, controls, characters' traits, and variety of enemies and locations was really good.
    I usually don't like beat-em-up games because after some time they become boring and repetitive. And unfortunately it was the same for TMNT: Shredder's Revenge. Other than episode 3 (which was skateboard level), other levels are pretty look alike and there's nothing new. Even boss fights were look alike! For a short game like this, I expected more detailed and unique levels.
    The other problem was Super Attacks were too OP. You could simply meditate and fill the super attack bar as many times as you wanted and finish levels without sweating!
    Attacking could be more complicated and unique rather than just simply pressing a key or two.
    As a conclusion, TMNT: Shredder's Revenge is extremely fun to play and worth playing, but I have to say that It has lots of unused potential and despite being short, it is repetitive.
    7.5/10
    (June - July 2022)
    Expand
  52. Sep 2, 2022
    9
    It is so fun! The best part is playing with other players as team! It immediately brought back my childhood memory of playing the TMNT games when I was young.
  53. Nov 21, 2022
    7
    Prós:
    - Jogabilidade
    - Direção de arte
    - Trilha sonora

    Contras:
    - Falta de identidade de combos entre os personagens
    - Sistema de upgrade pouco explorado
    - Campanha bem curtinha

    Conclusão: um ótimo jogo pra se divertir em pouco tempo, recomendo para todos que curtem um beat-up mais tranquilo e de jogabilidade veloz.
  54. Jul 17, 2022
    7
    Хорошая игра для дедов, ностальгирующих по временам денди. Ну а в целом, это коротенький не особо разнообразный битемап с красивой пиксельной графикой и прикольной музыкой. Визуально, как уже было сказано, игра хоть и красива, но было бы намного лучше, если бы она не была пиксельной, а имела рисованную 2D-графику а-ля мультик, как в новой Streets of Rage. В общем, на разок пройти сойдёт.Хорошая игра для дедов, ностальгирующих по временам денди. Ну а в целом, это коротенький не особо разнообразный битемап с красивой пиксельной графикой и прикольной музыкой. Визуально, как уже было сказано, игра хоть и красива, но было бы намного лучше, если бы она не была пиксельной, а имела рисованную 2D-графику а-ля мультик, как в новой Streets of Rage. В общем, на разок пройти сойдёт.
  55. Jun 27, 2022
    8
    The game is great, but 8 out of 10 because it's too short. Why are so few levels created? Will there be more or is that all?
  56. Jul 9, 2022
    7
    Good remaster of the old TMNT game. A bit too simple (1 button mashing), but very short so you don't get bored.
    +1 for Nostalgia
  57. Sep 19, 2022
    5
    I played this game with my brother, mostly because of the high reviews. The game can be finished in a few hours and there is no reason to replay it.

    I get that they wanted to make an old school game, but there was no effort to modernise it whatsoever. There is almost no interaction with the background. I remember old school games (Golden Axe, Cadillacs and Dinosaurs) that were already
    I played this game with my brother, mostly because of the high reviews. The game can be finished in a few hours and there is no reason to replay it.

    I get that they wanted to make an old school game, but there was no effort to modernise it whatsoever. There is almost no interaction with the background. I remember old school games (Golden Axe, Cadillacs and Dinosaurs) that were already more advanced than this.

    Overall, it's a mediocre and forgettable experience.
    Expand
  58. Jun 25, 2022
    8
    Я отлично провел время играя в эту игру. Это концентрация весёлых и смелых решений! Не смотря на то, что игра является переосмыслением старых игр про черепах 80-х годов, она смотрится как полноценный, современный проект. И я не шучу.
    Если посмотреть на последние тенденции игрового рынка, то можно заметить, что пиксельные проекты набирают все большую популярность. Не имею смелости
    Я отлично провел время играя в эту игру. Это концентрация весёлых и смелых решений! Не смотря на то, что игра является переосмыслением старых игр про черепах 80-х годов, она смотрится как полноценный, современный проект. И я не шучу.
    Если посмотреть на последние тенденции игрового рынка, то можно заметить, что пиксельные проекты набирают все большую популярность. Не имею смелости говорить, что пиксельная графика должна остаться в прошлом. Это не так. Достаточно оглянуться на 360 и каждому это станет ясно.
    Но у всего хорошего всегда есть надоедливое "НО". И я снова о новых черепахах... У игры есть технические проблемы и пара проблем, связанны с геймплеем непосредственно. Недоработки? Думаю да! И без багов не обойдется. Но о них ниже.
    Первое: что встречает игрока, это, как не странно, меню игры, и его функционал относительно невелик. Я имею в виду функции системы сохранений. Бинд клавиш не всегда сохраняется, а слотов под сохранения режима истории попросту нет, и в своей специфики, игра доставляет этим неудобства.
    Второе: странное геймплейное решение - "механика насмешек". Это странно, потому что ломает сам "beat ‘em up" как включение в процесс. Выживание сводится к тому, чтобы в нужный момент успеть восполнить энергию супер удара одной кнопкой и следом его применить, снова и снова. Никакого временного отката способности нет. Вы можете просто бесконечно восполнять энергию, что позволит побить до 100% толп врагов на следующем участке, одной лишь супер атакой. Если вы играете в компании друзей, тогда о безопасности думать не нужно. Просто делайте это, пока друзья отвлекают противников на себя. Можно вообще не пользоваться стандартным набором атак. Не находите это странным?
    Третье: сетевые баги. Можно часто наблюдать, как в сетевой игре враги телепортируются с одного места на другое, или проигрывают анимацию, не соответствующую их действию. Иногда это генерирует серьёзные проблемы и приближает к проигрышу.
    Однако, пока бессмысленно ругать игру за ранние проблемы. Оценку я в любом случае занижу, но патча буду ждать с нетерпением. Теперь это одна из любимых моих игр.
    Expand
  59. Jan 7, 2023
    8
    Una gran vuelta a este tipo de juegos y a las tortugas ninja, gran experiencia cooperativa. Nada como comprar una pizza y jugar a las Tortugas Ninja.
  60. Jun 20, 2022
    9
    This game is freakin amazing. As an old school 80's Turtles fan, I'm quite picky about the renditions I see of the gang. This game hit every single mark for me on every level. The gameplay is great, it very much mimics the old arcade game that I was such a huge fan of as a kid. They lovingly crafted everything in the vein of the 80's cartoon, staying true to the designs while givingThis game is freakin amazing. As an old school 80's Turtles fan, I'm quite picky about the renditions I see of the gang. This game hit every single mark for me on every level. The gameplay is great, it very much mimics the old arcade game that I was such a huge fan of as a kid. They lovingly crafted everything in the vein of the 80's cartoon, staying true to the designs while giving them a stylized update. Even the music is crafted to feel very 80's!

    My only real complaints are I wish the game was a bit longer. My hub and I completed it over the course of a couple nights. Lastly we did find a nasty crash bug while fighting Super Shredder. Other than these minor issues I absolutely loved this game. I plan to play through it again and again. We need more games like this where creators honor the essence of the property. Too often people try to "re-envision" things for a modern era and it almost never works. These guys did it right so all the kudos to them, from an old 80's fangirl. This game was like water for a dried out soul.
    Expand
  61. Sep 24, 2022
    8
    A great fun game. It's extra fun if you have four friends to play with. We had such a great time playing it and the mechanics were also great. But it was too short, that's why I give it an 8. But everyone should play it, eventually.
  62. Jun 26, 2022
    8
    This game kicks shell. The pixel art, the fighting, the music, the online, crossplay, and local multiplayer,
    is just amazing. If you haven't played this game yet, go play with friends. You're going to have a fun time.
  63. Jul 14, 2022
    8
    Nostalgic fun, TMNT has been a childhood staple but for decades they didn't make good games, but with this title they return to roots. although the story and presentation is more goofy rather than fierce which i liked in past, they make up for that by engaging gameplay excellent!
  64. Jul 24, 2022
    9
    i love this game, its just great visuals, music and characters that lie in my brain
  65. Oct 12, 2022
    10
    The game has cool story mode, awesome nostalgia graphics and most of all, this is one of the best beat ‘em up game I’ve every played.
  66. Jan 17, 2023
    6
    Неплохая игра по черепашкам-ниндзя, исполненная в жанре классического beat ’em up, с множеством различных атак, выполненных с красивыми анимациями. Геймплей состоит из стандартных уровней: бьешь кучу мобов, в конце сильный босс. Часть врагов требуют индивидуальный подход: где-то необходимо в воздухе бить, где-то сильную атаку заряжать, но большинство мобов проходятся спамом обычной атаки,Неплохая игра по черепашкам-ниндзя, исполненная в жанре классического beat ’em up, с множеством различных атак, выполненных с красивыми анимациями. Геймплей состоит из стандартных уровней: бьешь кучу мобов, в конце сильный босс. Часть врагов требуют индивидуальный подход: где-то необходимо в воздухе бить, где-то сильную атаку заряжать, но большинство мобов проходятся спамом обычной атаки, из-за чего игра довольно таки легкая, но лично для меня это скорее плюс, что ты можешь просто расслабиться во время игры. В игре так же есть возможность играть в кооперативе в 6-ом.
    Плюсы:
    1. Геймплей;
    2. Графика;
    3. Саундтрек;
    4. Кооператив + возможность играть по remote play together;
    Минусы:
    1. Короткая, полностью проходится игра за часа 2-3;
    2. Отсутствие нормальной реиграбельности (после первого прохождения тебе дают поиграть за Кейси, но это не особо мотивирует перепроходить игру);
    3. Цена;
    Expand
  67. Jan 25, 2023
    8
    Excellent game.
    80's Nostalgia !
    If you like this kind of game, just do it.
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Oct 19, 2022
    69
    Shredder’s Revenge is one big nostalgia trip that doesn’t even try to do something more – like offering actually good and nuanced beat’em up experience, for example. [Issue#260, p.52]
  2. Sep 3, 2022
    70
    Besides the 6-player co-op mode, very little reminds us that this game debuted in 2022. Shredder’s Revenge lifts most of its ideas verbatim from the arcade classics, sprinkling some modern niceties and a handful of minor bugs. If you can recite the TMNT theme song by memory, this is definitely your game.
  3. Jul 12, 2022
    84
    TMNT: Shredder's Revenge is a fantastic love letter to the Turtles' arcade and SNES classics from the 90s. The introduction of modern gameplay elements makes this a reinvigorated take on the classic genre that expertly balances contemporary expectations with nostalgia.