Tell Me Why Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 197 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tell Me Why is the latest narrative adventure game from DONTNOD Entertainment, the studio behind the beloved franchise, Life Is Strange. In this intimate thriller, twins Tyler and Alyson Ronan use their special bond to unravel mysteries of their loving but troubled childhood. Set inTell Me Why is the latest narrative adventure game from DONTNOD Entertainment, the studio behind the beloved franchise, Life Is Strange. In this intimate thriller, twins Tyler and Alyson Ronan use their special bond to unravel mysteries of their loving but troubled childhood. Set in beautiful small-town Alaska, Tell Me Why features true-to-life characters, mature themes and gripping choices. Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tell Me Why Cinematic Trailer | Xbox Games Showcase 2020
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Aug 31, 2020
    100
    In a time where I needed hope perhaps more than ever, Dontnod delivered it. For that, their masterpiece has firmly cemented itself as my absolute favorite video game I've had the pleasure of playing.
  2. Sep 15, 2020
    85
    This first episode of the new Dontnod trilogy story is a bit of a slow starter, but sets a beautiful scene of little-town Alaska where twins Tyler and Alyson grew up. The game brings everything we expect from a Dontnod game: exploration, tough decisions and puzzles combined with the supernatural and more than one complex and difficult relationship.
  3. Aug 27, 2020
    80
    Tell Me Why is an intriguing narrative game, an intimate story capable of discussing complex themes using the power of a story that lives between reality and fiction, and that never sounds pretentious. If you like this kind of story-based games and have followed DONTNOD since Life is Strange, you will not be disappointed.
  4. Sep 25, 2020
    80
    Tell Me Why pushes the boundaries of video-game storytelling with its mature, open-minded approach to its themes and its pioneering representation. The inclusion of a trans lead character is vital but the story is a lot deeper than what's on the surface.
  5. Nov 16, 2020
    75
    Tell Me Why is a moody and mature-minded mystery focused on family secrets, while touching sensitively on themes like mental health, gender, and indigenous cultural practices. It’s slow going but compelling. Less successful is a supernatural gameplay component that’s never fully explored, and feels superficially integrated with the storyline.
  6. Sep 12, 2020
    70
    Tell Me Why is more of a PR product that suffers from typical problems of Dontnod Entertainment' games, where's the key story bits is exaggerated and backed up by nothing interesting, while the game tries to resonate with players by cheap controversy. The first episode is powerful, but then game descends into a pit of monotony and despondency. And this is sad.
  7. Aug 29, 2020
    50
    Tell Me Why and Dontnod deserve praise for the game’s carefully considered representation of trans protagonist Tyler, but unfortunately, the game struggles on all other fronts. It tries to make you care about its characters by way of explaining everything about them, leading to jarring interactions and tons of useless exposition. While its strong performances and central mystery ensured I still wanted to see how it all played out, I was also left disappointed by its underwhelming conclusion. Ultimately, it’s a small-town mystery that’s best unsolved, and it’s more interesting before all of its loose threads are haphazardly tied together.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 78
  2. Negative: 31 out of 78
  1. UMK
    Aug 29, 2020
    10
    Very Good..................................
    Best story...................................
  2. Aug 28, 2020
    10
    Historia muito intrigante, puzzles interessantes, graficos lindos e bons personagens, vale a pena jogar.
  3. Sep 11, 2020
    9
    Historia interesante. Buena duración. Gráficos aceptables. Rendimiento correcto.
    Para jugar unas 9 o 10 horas interesantes sin que se haga
    Historia interesante. Buena duración. Gráficos aceptables. Rendimiento correcto.
    Para jugar unas 9 o 10 horas interesantes sin que se haga muy pesado. Muy buenas horas me pase jugando. Le pondría un 8.50 si se pudiera.
    Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2020
    6
    At present I just played it for like 10 mins and the 1st impressions are pretty bad. The voice acting, dialogue writing & facial animationsAt present I just played it for like 10 mins and the 1st impressions are pretty bad. The voice acting, dialogue writing & facial animations are dog $Hit. I will change this review again after finishing the game(gave it 3 before)
    the writing is not as bad as i expected but the facial animations are $hittier than fallout. There is a lot of dialogue in this game , A LOT OF DIALOGUE. this may be gud or bad for u as there is no gameplay (not even qte) wait till all the chapters come out and DONT BUY THIS EARLY. you might be disappointed
    Expand
  5. Aug 29, 2020
    4
    This is game is aimed primarily at American Audiences, both in the dialogue and phraseology of dialogue. I know that DONTNOD want to ‘keep itThis is game is aimed primarily at American Audiences, both in the dialogue and phraseology of dialogue. I know that DONTNOD want to ‘keep it real’ and natural between the two protagonists, but some words such as ‘Potlatch’ and ‘Tlingit’, both to do with Native Americans and their culture. The problem is that unless you are American, you are unlikely to understand or even be aware of these terms, thus some of the choices could be ‘ill-fated’ which in a game like this matters. For a non-American therefore, this game is difficult as a ‘true choice’ cannot be made, because of not understanding of basic American indigenous culture. In the previous games, whilst they have again been aimed at American audiences, it only went as far a ‘Pop culture’ and it was usually relative easy to ‘work-out’ what was happening (though again there were times when it could get a bit confusing). I realise that DONTNOD want to ‘keep it real’, but to non-American’s it may be an idea just to have a basic glossary of words that may be unfamiliar to non-American’s, so that they (non-American’s) can make ‘full choices’, rather than just ‘half choices’ which may alter the game but not in a conscious way.

    I was trying to plough through the game, but as it 'got going' the game was slightly 'clichéd' (even though it was trying very hard not to be given the subject), but then there were topics on there that being a Brit really didn't agree with, such as 'trophy hunting', 'hibernation killing' (why?) and the continued used of Americanisms/words. I thought if this is just in the first hour or so of the game, what more to come. I have now (with regret as I would imagine it would have been quite good), I have deleted the game.
    Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2020
    1
    Another "woke" walking simulator more concerned with modern political ideology and "How do you do, fellow kids?" than crafting an interestingAnother "woke" walking simulator more concerned with modern political ideology and "How do you do, fellow kids?" than crafting an interesting story. Hell, even if you're a member of the Church of Woke, it's a boring ride. At the very least their graphics budget shows, and the game looks good. Expand
  7. Jan 9, 2021
    0
    What an obnoxious, pretentious, lazy, virtue signaling snoozefest of a game!

See all 78 User Reviews