User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 24, 2015
    10
    Gem-Alert!
    An amazing game I'd rate at 10/10 in spite of obvious flaws. I tripped over this little beauty by chance 2 days after release, can you believe it :)
    Graphics 2/10 Sound 1/10 Dialogue 3/10 Character building 10/10 Tecnological development as a strategic mechanic 11/10 Tactical gameplay 12/10 Overall 10/10 Templar Battleforce delivers what I always wanted when playing
    Gem-Alert!
    An amazing game I'd rate at 10/10 in spite of obvious flaws. I tripped over this little beauty by chance 2 days after release, can you believe it :)

    Graphics 2/10
    Sound 1/10
    Dialogue 3/10
    Character building 10/10
    Tecnological development as a strategic mechanic 11/10
    Tactical gameplay 12/10
    Overall 10/10

    Templar Battleforce delivers what I always wanted when playing a Games Workshop sci-fi computer game. No fantasy elements or board-game mechanics. Instead it fully utilize what the computer can afford a tactical squad-game. Superb tactical mechanics, fantastic technology tree and brilliant character building! Raiding derelict space-ships while outmanouvering xenos is finally as fun as you thought it would be.

    I recoment turning off the in-game "music" and put Atrium Carceri or Lustmord on Spotify in the background.
    Enjoy!
    Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2015
    10
    Fantastic game, bring back fond memory's of great classics gone by. The game is 100% addiction for any tactical gamer, with great support from the developers. The Trese brothers don't believe in DLC, instead you get regular updates FREE.
    Just check out the reviews on steam and watch some youtube videos on the game and you will get some idea of why I give this game such a high score.
  3. Sep 22, 2015
    10
    Trese Brothers deliver once again. Templar Battleforce is EASILY their most polished game to date. If you are a fan of top-down tactical games, this is sure to draw you in. Sound effects are amazing, gameplay is solid, and Battleforce is a welcome addition to the Star Traders Universe!
  4. gas
    May 9, 2016
    8
    I would like to sepnd 5 mins to write this review because i see this game did not have for some reason many critic reviews, only some user.
    This game is a turn based strategy game with rpg elements done right.
    The art style in quite poor and getting involved requires a little of time cause its needed the willing to read a bit the perks and understand how the various units works together,
    I would like to sepnd 5 mins to write this review because i see this game did not have for some reason many critic reviews, only some user.
    This game is a turn based strategy game with rpg elements done right.
    The art style in quite poor and getting involved requires a little of time cause its needed the willing to read a bit the perks and understand how the various units works together, but honestly the game is very solid and deserve a try from anyone who likes the turn based genre.
    this game reminds me mostly to Space Crusade on Amiga (1992), Laser squad and Incubation (incubation is still a bit better overall), over other titles, as mechanics and setting.
    The setting is inspired by the Warhammer 40k universe, those units are basically space marines with very similar gear and also very similar squad logic.
    There are a good number of different units with their traits and perks to level up, some of them are to unlock during the campaign.
    Those units have unique abilities and in most levels you are free to choose your starting team according to your playstyle and also according to the needs of the mission (ofc some units may be most interesting to use in some specific situations).
    During missions usually its possiible after capturing some special buildings, to call in the mission more units, choosing from your team pool
    Those units are called in spedning points earned by killings aliens, which usually requires a bit of planning to choose the right units you really need and also decide how many points you want to invest cause there is to wait some times to recuit many units with this system.
    im playing the game as normal difficulty and i find it quite balanced, mostly ending missions with bonuses and without any casualty, anyway the sense of satisfaction in here so its quite balanced to my taste.
    Incubation is a bit harder (the expansion a lot harder) and also a bit more involving and rewarding in my opinion, it requires more thinking and more chess-style playing then this one.
    Anyway Actually i guess i did like 15 missionso or such, and i can surely tell that this game is a lot better then many others turn based strategy games i played in the last years.
    I played recently some other games maybe more cool with the art style and story, and maybe a bit overhyped, but defo very cheap as strategy involved and without the right complexity i want in those games to be really interesting.
    this one instead has what it takes to be very well done where it counts, as turn based strategy game is really nice.
    Still a bit more contemporary art style and effects could be welecome, even if ofc its less important then the gameplay itself.
    I hope in a future release.
    Expand
  5. Sep 30, 2015
    9
    Best tactical game I've played in several years. Deeper mechanics than Banner Saga with less story and basic presentation. Sound/Art quality/story are all a bit on the weak side and I'm still gonna give this a 9. This space hulk from the warhmammer 40k universe without the license btw. I'm okay with it since they made a better game than the guys with the license.
  6. Aug 22, 2016
    10
    An enjoyable and well supported little indie game, at a reasonable price and a large amount of depth it's a decent buy. The devs are very active and will happily take on board feedback. The simplistic graphics should not put you off as it is a nice art style and the gameplay more than makes up for it.
  7. Oct 8, 2015
    8
    Templar Battleforce - Review: By Andrew Salfinger Rating: 8/10

    “Templar Battleforce is a must have for all fans of tactical strategy games!” ~ Omni Horizon Hello, my name is Andrew from Omni Horizon, Below you will find our first video game review. Read the review @ http://bit.ly/1One2H3 Backstory: Trese Brothers the company behind Star Traders RPG, 4X Empires, Heroes of
    Templar Battleforce - Review: By Andrew Salfinger Rating: 8/10

    “Templar Battleforce is a must have for all fans of tactical strategy games!” ~ Omni Horizon

    Hello, my name is Andrew from Omni Horizon, Below you will find our first video game review.

    Read the review @ http://bit.ly/1One2H3

    Backstory:
    Trese Brothers the company behind Star Traders RPG, 4X Empires, Heroes of Steel, Cryber Knights, Templar Assault and age of Priates are back again with Templar Battleforce the fourth game set in the Star Traders sci-fi world.

    The game follows Templar Knights are a martial order sworn to protect the Star Traders – the last known free humans. Under the guidance of the Templars and the prophet Shalun, the Star Traders departed the ruins of the Galactic Core – leaving behind the desolation wrought by the great Galactic War. Guided by the prophet, the Star Traders sought a new home among the stars. Across the multi-generational journey of the Great Exodus, many ships have disappeared, fallen behind, or splintered from the main fleet – scattering the Star Traders to the galactic winds.

    With the Great Exodus coming to an end, the Star Traders founded new colonies on the few remaining habitable worlds. The Templar Knights are called upon once again to defend the Star Traders and their new colonies from an ancient threat.

    Review:

    Templar Battleforce is a pickup and plays squad tactical grid combat game, with a focus on defending or advancing through swarms of enemies while completing objectives via set scenarios. It shares common ground with other squad tactics games like Xcom and the more recent Warhammer 40K games. It adds its own spin on progression by blending tabletop RPG attributes, light tech tree management, and weapon/gear loadouts to give it its own unique feel and tone to the genre.

    Some players who may be new to this type of game may find it overwhelming so let’s break down the basics. Each turn every character in your unit will have six “move points (MP)” This will allow you to move six squares after using up all MP the character will not be able to move till the next player turn. If you use up all six MP this does not mean you can’t attack, for that each character also get five “AP” you will use these to use abilities and attack when it’s the players turn. Planning this stage is also recommend since different abilities will use different amounts of AP. You can do this by clicking on a character in your unit then at the button of the screen you will see your characters ability then right clicking on one will tell you how much AP it will use.

    The game fills great, and from a small indie team they have done an amazing job. You can fill the love and passion they have put into this game. The combat is quick and quite challenging; you can kill an enemy within one turn, tho it can also happen the other way around so you will need to be on your toes with your strategy. In this game you don’t just want to grab, shoot get out of there, you will need a plan. It’s important to have each member of your squad cover and support one another, because if any single member is left exposed they will quickly be overwhelmed. At the end of the day crowd control is the key of the game, you are also often playing against the clock. You’re encouraged to race through and complete each scenario as fast as possible. If you stay put and try to bide your time you will usually lose by getting overwhelmed.

    One of the great things within the combat turn is “free forming” where any of your characters can do any action in any order you wish, You don’t even have to use them all before moving to another character or ending your turn. This was a nice change from the normal, you have to do it in this order or else type gameplay and opens up the strategy and adds a new layer of gameplay.

    Progression is handled within the game a couple of different ways. One of them is with the “Requisition” system or skill tree. On First glance there is a lot going on here but the Requisition is broken down into sections like engineer, scout, soldier, captain and so on, you can pick the skills in order of what type of unit you want to play and focused on.

    The game also haves things called ”Tactical Points" that you can capture and control on the map. They generate currency over time you can use to resupply, deploy extra squad members and give your squad bonuses. Tho be careful the enemy can and will try to destroy these “Tactical Points,” so I always felt compelled to protect them and at some points it can be critical in some levels. However, it can also be a misleading lure; where you could get caught up in stands off against the enemy when you should instead be pushing ahead.

    Due to the 5000 max work head over to http://bit.ly/1One2H3 to read the full review.
    Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic Review

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Apr 23, 2016
    80
    Templar Battleforce is a really excellent example of the tactical RPG. It is not for everyone, as it is unforgiving and sometimes unintuitive, but it delivers what was promised; an engrossing struggle to purge the aliens, with a large amount of mechanical variety.