Terraria Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1808 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria offers players a chance to be an action gamer, master builder, a collector, and even an explorer.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Terraria Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    100
    Still, Terraria is a great adventure, one of the best sandbox games around, and an absolute steal for ten bucks on Steam. It's well worth checking out for anyone, regardless of how they feel about Minecraft. Despite having one fewer dimension, Terraria hides greater depth than its 3D cousin.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    90
    You stick your nose under your first sod and there you are – in another world. Terraria is not much of a Minecraft 2D rip-off, it's an addictive pursuit of perfection that entertains; even though it stinks of a sweat from the adits.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    88
    Terraria is the best Minecraft clone on the market. Version 1.05 add many items and the Hardcore mode, which is the ultimate Terraria experience to try!
  4. May 27, 2011
    80
    Terraria is a small production that offers a cross between Mario and Minecraft... like a 2D platformer with craftsmanship and free construction. Quite limited in its realization, this title makes you play immediately for hours if you like the concept. Just take breaks from time to time!
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    The open-sandbox creation genre is still in its infancy, and Terraria is a good, solid, and inexpensive entry.
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    An interesting bidimensional twist of the well known Minecraft: Terraria is accustoming and incredibily "deep" (literally).
  7. May 30, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 26 out of 575
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots ofTerraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2019
    10
    Ох, сколько же был потеряно часов в этой игре...
  3. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Alright Negative reviews, after reading all of those opinions, I think you have Terraria seen completely wrong. You compare it to Minecraft, you say it's a blatant rip-off, you can't build as cool things. Well then, let me just say this: Minecraft is a building game, with RPG elements (you can explore caves, kill monsters with boring combat, as well as...leveling up?), Terraria, on the other hand, isn't supposed to be a full building game like Minecraft: it's supposed to be more RPG, with building elements to enhance gameplay. It is in 2D, that can be a pro and a con for some. If you really, really just want to create things, by all means dis this game for Minecraft, but don't rate Terraria a 0 (which ALMOST NO GAME ever deserves) because it doesn't get building in Minecraft perfect. Now that we have that out of the way, let's talk more Terraria. Yes, you can't build as cool of things. If you want a game where you can build cool things, again, go play Minecraft. But for the survival aspect of Terraria, where the one thing you want to build is a base, and you want to survive against waves of enemies. I'm happy to say, everything about Terraria survival is superior to Minecraft. To start, when you build your base, you will actually care about defending that base from enemy waves: in Minecraft, the only thing you really have to defend from are Zombies, Skeletons, Spiders and Creepers. None of these creatures can open doors, so if your inside a properly built fort, you don't have to do anything at all, and the only purpose of going out to slay these creatures is for useless crafting items...where grinding enemies for items is as tedious as watching grass grow. In Terraria, there are actually events that happen that can actually harm your base: Blood Moons which give Zombies and Demon Eyes more power, as well as the ability to open doors, and Goblin invasions, which sends entire ARMIES of mobs to raid your house. These can actually be defended from uniquely with traps, especially now with the 1.1 update which introduces Terraria to one of Minecraft's best features: Wiring, which can be made to create traps that, unlike Minecraft, ACTUALLY HAVE PURPOSE. Now, why do you want to defend your house? NPCs move into your base, and they can be slain by creatures of the night, these NPCs include a Merchant, an Arms Dealer, a Nurse, and many more. These NPCs really make your base 'important', it gives you purpose to go back to your house when you see "The Blood Moon has Rose". When you have a fortified base up, you will enter what is arguably Terraria's strongest point: Exploration. Exploring the world in Terraria is on another level compared to Minecraft, as there actually seems to be diverse biomes that ACTUALLY MATTER, and what seems to be a development, like a normal RPG. In Minecraft, you chop wood, build a basic house, then start mining untill you get diamond and obsidian, then go to the nether, then to the end, and that's it. In Terraria, there are so many things to go do and to explore. -The Surface -3 levles of underground -The Corruption (a dark, polluted bersion of the normal overworld, with different mobs and special rewards) -The Jungle/Underground Jungle (again, special items and mobs) -Floating Isles -The Dungeon -The Underworld and finally, after killing the Lord of the Underworld (not going to tell you what it is) -The Hallow (opposite of corruption, stands as the new "end-game" zone, along with the empowered corruption). You follow from one area to the next, developing new items and powering your character in ways that, again, ACTUALLY MATTER. Speaking of items, for those who think Terraria's items are "a copy of minecraft" my god you did not get far in the game, did you? Once you get past the normal Copper, Iron, Silver and Gold, there are so many items to develop, and it's after that point you can actually play as a dedicated "Class" (Melee Warrior, Archer, Gunner, Magician). Meteorite, Shadowscale, Necro, Jungle, Molten, Cobalt, Adamantite and Mythril armor sets, each with varied stats (Molten has highest base Defence, Jungle very mana conserving, mage-like, etc), as well as a boat-load of weapons (Swords, Axes, Lances, Hammers, Flails, Bows, Pistols, Machine Guns and Magic to name a few types), and accesories (Rocket Boots - Allow Temporary Flight, Obsidian Skull - Immunity to Fire Blocks (Meteorite, Hellstone), as well as being able to combine them). So in conclusion, Terraria, absolutly doesn't rip off Minecraft, and in fact actually improves on what Minecraft originally set to achieve upon it's release: Survival and Exploration. Graphics and be underwhelming for some, but maybe that's what they aimed for. I would do a full Part 2 of this review but that's...a little overboard. Note that at the time Terraria is in it's 1.1 update, and Minecraft has been released. If you bought Terraria on Steam for $2.50, you made a good choice. Expand
  4. Nov 13, 2017
    9
    Terraria is such a fabulous game. It is far from a 'clone' of Minecraft. This 2D adventure game has endless amount of content. CountlessTerraria is such a fabulous game. It is far from a 'clone' of Minecraft. This 2D adventure game has endless amount of content. Countless amounts of blocks, furniture, NPC's, bosses, minerals, weapons and so much more add for a unique experience for every player. This game has such a great value, and the community is extremely friendly. This game is a must have, there are so many adventures to be had, so go on! Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2011
    9
    An amazing game, the art, sounds, and everything is well done. The concept is original and well executed, Notch could not have done better.An amazing game, the art, sounds, and everything is well done. The concept is original and well executed, Notch could not have done better. There is not much to say in an in depth manner, it is just simply fun and addicting. The only negative thing I CAN say about this game is that the multiplayer is virtually unadministered and unadministerable. However, a recent update added a console and some commands along with it, hopefully this will grow into enabling the proper administration of servers. That is the only reason I give it a 9/10. Expand
  6. May 23, 2011
    8
    This game is very addictive until you run out of ideas.The graphics are cute and remind me of my SNES-times bringing a lot of nostalgia. ItThis game is very addictive until you run out of ideas.The graphics are cute and remind me of my SNES-times bringing a lot of nostalgia. It combines the best features of many genres to be a powerful and enjoyable indiegame. It has RPG elements, NPCs, Hack'n'Slash elements, sandbox creativity-building and generally a lot to discover. This game sucked me in for the first ~20 hours almost playing 10 hours in a row (so be careful to miss school / your job!). Even after "finishing" the game by obtaining the best gear and defeating all bosses there is still plenty to do. Unless you lack imagination in which case you might get bored. There is a lot of room to build. Not just houses, but fun creative stuff like Bowling or even Buzzwire (check youtube). Now to the negative parts of the game. First off the multiplayer was kind of laggy, as in that monsters often 'teleport' especially slimes and deamoneyes. There are still bugs and errors after the first patch, the game sometimes randomly crashing on switching to fullscreen. But those should be fixed with the upcoming patches. Speaking of patches there is still plenty of improvement, like adding more NPCs, items and bosses. I am sure this game will improve even more. One of the best games I have bought in years. Enjoy. Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2018
    0
    Terraria is a fun game but it after a while you may start to stop liking it or even start to DREAD it like I and many other people have/ OfTerraria is a fun game but it after a while you may start to stop liking it or even start to DREAD it like I and many other people have/ Of course the game is fun at the start but after a while, nah. I think that you should not buy the game and spend your money else where. IT gets more boring faster than other games. Expand

See all 575 User Reviews