Terraria Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2115 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Terraria offers players a chance to be an action gamer, master builder, a collector, and even an explorer.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Terraria Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    100
    Still, Terraria is a great adventure, one of the best sandbox games around, and an absolute steal for ten bucks on Steam. It's well worth checking out for anyone, regardless of how they feel about Minecraft. Despite having one fewer dimension, Terraria hides greater depth than its 3D cousin.
  2. Aug 4, 2011
    90
    You stick your nose under your first sod and there you are – in another world. Terraria is not much of a Minecraft 2D rip-off, it's an addictive pursuit of perfection that entertains; even though it stinks of a sweat from the adits.
  3. Jun 29, 2011
    88
    Terraria is the best Minecraft clone on the market. Version 1.05 add many items and the Hardcore mode, which is the ultimate Terraria experience to try!
  4. May 27, 2011
    80
    Terraria is a small production that offers a cross between Mario and Minecraft... like a 2D platformer with craftsmanship and free construction. Quite limited in its realization, this title makes you play immediately for hours if you like the concept. Just take breaks from time to time!
  5. Oct 24, 2011
    80
    The open-sandbox creation genre is still in its infancy, and Terraria is a good, solid, and inexpensive entry.
  6. Jun 17, 2011
    80
    An interesting bidimensional twist of the well known Minecraft: Terraria is accustoming and incredibily "deep" (literally).
  7. May 30, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 650
  1. May 17, 2011
    10
    Terraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots ofTerraria is an amazingly enchanting game, that sucked me in from the moment I started it up. With great pixel art, endearing music and lots of retro aspects, terraria will occupy me for years to come. This idea is still fresh and I'm glad somebody didn't shy away from it just because of MineCraft's recent success. Expand
  2. Jun 21, 2020
    10
    La verdad cuando yo conocí este juego me pareció muy bueno y creo que actualmente va a ser mi juego favorito de toda la vida
  3. Kmi
    May 5, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terraria is an all-around incredible game. I want to go as in-depth as possible in this review, but to be honest, I don't know where to start. So, let me start at the very beginning.

    I make a new world and hop in. You paid 10 bucks for this game, maybe 5. You might've even gotten it for free as a gift. I discovered this game on my uncle's computer, where I did my first playthrough. Lucky me. At first, Terraria didn't seem to offer anything special. There were trees, slimes, bunnies. All things Minecraft, the game I used to be hooked onto, had. I took out the axe and started chopping down some trees. After a couple of minutes, I had learned the game mechanics and built a small shack.

    At this point, I was about ready to close the game and find something else to play. Terraria wasn't really that interesting... it was everything Minecraft was, but with one less dimension. And yes, this is was most people who hop onto this website and spill out a bad review seem to think. But if only, if ONLY they bothered to make it to at LEAST the first boss, they would see it is so much more than that.

    Terraria keeps you on your toes the entire way through. It has a very smart way of doing things, giving you satisfaction with your current power and then shoving a buttload of new enemies straight at your face. Yes, you WILL die. But each death adds to your ever-growing knowledge of the mobs' AIs, the world generation, and the strategies you must implement to conquer these challenges and continue your path to defeat the Moon Lord.

    Now, let's tackle a problem a LOT of people have with the game. The crafting recipes can get confusing and messy. There's no explanation apart from a few random tips from the Guide on what to do. This is the fun part of it, though. If you knew EVERYTHING that was going to happen, the game would be no fun. Once you discover that you can create shortcuts, craft new accessories, weapons, and other helpful items, you'll feel like a master... even IF everyone has done these things before. The road down Terraria gets smoother and quicker and, of course, more exciting as you go on. Are you going to let a bumpy start slow you down?

    I've already gone over this, but I feel the need to emphasize the genius of this game. The one moment where everything changes: when you kill the Wall of Flesh. Everything you thought you knew about the world is erased. Your feeble weapons are no match against the new enemies with higher stats, smarter AI, and freakish looks. Of course, through fighting these and exploring the altered world, you will obtain stronger weapons to fight the crazy bosses.

    Ah, yes. The bosses. Terraria bosses are very unique. You go up against them and are scared as **** but you learn their movements and put them down. This is the way of Terraria. I cannot begin to explain how diverse the enemies, biomes, ores, weapons, tools, accessories, and armors are. Just look up a video showing all of the Terraria armors. Or, you could, you know, complain about the bumpy start to Terraria and quit after ten minutes.

    Your choice.
    Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2020
    9
    This game has insane amount of content... thats what I was thinking before it got few gigantic updates with hundreds of things in them. ItsThis game has insane amount of content... thats what I was thinking before it got few gigantic updates with hundreds of things in them. Its not really Minecraft in 2d, think about it more like a metroidvania with crafting and building. Once you get into it, you can easily have fun for months, maybe even years... Expand
  5. May 23, 2011
    9
    The ones that says that Terraria is like Minecraft should go play the game before writing a "review".

    Terraria is one of those special gems
    The ones that says that Terraria is like Minecraft should go play the game before writing a "review".

    Terraria is one of those special gems that you find. It's not expensive, it's extremely addicting and one helluva experience. It has all the building and mining of minecraft but with the equipment, combat, looting, and gameplay of a sidescrolling action RPG. the whole game feels more polished than Minecraft, anyway, with more items, less bugs, and more fun. It's only $10, it'd be worth at least $50. You should buy it. Now.
    Expand
  6. May 22, 2011
    8
    absolutely the best game i have played in years; i cant stand how lame and boring minecraft is; not to mention that terrible 3d boxxy styleabsolutely the best game i have played in years; i cant stand how lame and boring minecraft is; not to mention that terrible 3d boxxy style

    2d with sprites takes me right back to the days and this game has it all; platforming elements, its like zelda meets minecraft meets castlevania; it strikes just the right chord with my inner gamer

    multiplayer is way more fun than i expected and the game just kicks ass all the way around
    Expand
  7. Jun 27, 2018
    0
    Terraria is a fun game but it after a while you may start to stop liking it or even start to DREAD it like I and many other people have/ OfTerraria is a fun game but it after a while you may start to stop liking it or even start to DREAD it like I and many other people have/ Of course the game is fun at the start but after a while, nah. I think that you should not buy the game and spend your money else where. IT gets more boring faster than other games. Expand

See all 650 User Reviews