Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 22, 2018
    85
    Very addictive yet simple game with intense arena shooting mechanics. If you are a fan of Tesla, Lovecraft, or simply want to play one of the best twin stick shooters, we definitely recommend Tesla vs Lovecraft, you won’t regret it.
  2. Jan 26, 2018
    83
    Tesla vs Lovecraft is a fantastic twin-stick shooter that takes the tried and true genre and adds just the right elements to give the player a strong sense of progression, challenge, and most importantly – fun. I can’t recall the last time I found myself lost in a twin-stick shooter, let alone daydreaming about playing one when I’m not home.
  3. Feb 14, 2018
    80
    Tesla vs Lovecraft is a delight thanks to its fast, tight action and its smart use of setting to push it over the top. As far as twin-stick shooters go, they don’t get much better than this.
  4. Jan 30, 2018
    80
    Tesla vs. Lovecraft is a wonderful and creative twin-stick shooter that manages to stand out from the crowd in what is something of an oversaturated genre. Despite the small reservation I have with the game's initial difficulty level, everything else — its art style, sountrack, gameplay and overall atmosphere — adds up to make a truly worthwhile experience. It might just be one of 10tons' best.
  5. Jan 26, 2018
    80
    In all, Tesla vs Lovecraft may be 10Tons most approachable and well-polished game yet. It's got a load of levels across three distinct London settings, and tons of weapons and gadgets to wield. I'd have loved some more long-term leveling, things that didn't wipe away after each mission. All told, it's the most fun I've had with a twin-stick shooter from 10Tons, and it shows that they're perfecting their craft.
  6. Jan 18, 2018
    80
    Tesla vs Lovecraft is stupid fun, reveling in nonsense and bullets. The rapid, frantic gameplay delivered in snackable portions underscored by a fantastic soundtrack makes for a hugely entertaining experience, even if it gets a tad repetitive after a while. We’d say blasting Lovecraftian horrors as Tesla piloting a mech was never this fun, but then it wasn’t ever done before.
  7. Mar 2, 2018
    75
    Tesla vs. Lovecraft isn't going to win you over if you crave innovation. There isn't anything here that hasn't been seen in other twin-stick shooters, but there isn't much for those wanting something off the wall, either. The story is lacking, but the game provides a solid and lengthy shooting experience, and even though there isn't a shortage of that genre on the PC, Tesla vs. Lovecraft is good enough for fans to check out.
  8. Feb 21, 2018
    70
    While it doesn't quite stick the landing, Tesla vs Lovecraft is still well worth checking out. This twin-stick shooter captures the heart of what makes the genre work, and is designed to appeal to every level of skill. It's just such a natural and fun game that anyone will be happy to give up their weekend for it. The only other complaint worth noting is the blaring foghorn. Inception is a fine movie, but the horn it popularised has been a nuisance to this critic's eardrums for quite a long time. Hearing BWWAAAHH every couple minutes is akin to being trapped in the depths of Cthulhu's madness.
  9. Feb 4, 2018
    70
    Tesla vs Lovecraft doesn't reinvent the twin-stick shooter genre, but it's a hell of a lot of fun and has its own weird and distinct style. I only wish there were a bit more substance to the cutscenes and a few more story missions packed in for good measure. But if you like fighting off large waves of monsters, you'll get a lot of fun out of its endless mode.
  10. 60
    Tesla vs Lovecraft is enjoyable enough for what it is: a simple, energetic twin-stick shooter fat doesn't push any boundaries but gets most of the fundamentals right. At the same time, there's so much untapped potential in the idea of Lovecraft/Tesla crossover, and that leaves me wanting so much more from this game than it actually delivers.
  11. Feb 8, 2018
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  12. Jan 30, 2018
    60
    There is no gameplay incentive to push the number of enemies up and play this gloriously unfair exercise in managing swarms and randomness. When I can get past a level by playing the display settings instead of the actual game, 10tons hasn’t done their job. I love the game I thought Tesla vs Lovecraft was, but I don’t love how the graphics dictate the gameplay.