Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 11 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Aug 8, 2019
    100
    Tetris Effect is a magical experience that you really need to witness to believe. Featuring over thirty stages, unlockable content, and a wide range of challenges with their own leaderboards, it’s also the most complete Tetris experience to date. There’s endless replay value here for fans of the classic puzzle formula and virtual reality is the cherry on top.
  2. Jul 24, 2019
    90
    If you own a good PC and are a Tetris fan, you won't be disappointed by Tetris Effect. It's still what can be considered as the strongest installment in the series, thanks to its lavish visuals and unforgettable sound design and tracks. But, it can potentially be a lot more beautiful and overwhelming than on PS4, with a 4K screen or with a VR headset. You just can't miss this magnificent gem.
  3. Jul 26, 2019
    70
    Tetris Effect is an absolute beauty, but the gameplay powering this audiovisual phenomenon is still the same old Tetris. Players won’t be starved for options, but those hoping for something game-changing like Tetris 99 or Tetris: The Grand Master will feel somewhat empty.
  4. Jul 19, 2019
    100
    Euphoric is the best word for Tetris Effect. It makes my skin tingle and my mind sink into a state of receptive bliss. It is, somehow, a puzzle game about the extraordinary experience of being alive on this Earth. And if that sounds totally insane: try it. You’ll soon understand.
  5. Jul 23, 2019
    90
    he name Tetris Effect was well chosen, because you really do feel the game altering your perception, as it and the Tetriminoes become your whole world. You play Tetris Effect but you also get the feeling that it is playing you, the blending of game and gamer reaching a peak in which they seem almost one and the same.
  6. Jul 31, 2019
    72
    Tetris Effect reflects the classic puzzle game through a particle filled kaleidoscope, putting players into a mesmerizing trance with its unique presentation, alongside classic gameplay. Its price point might jolt you back to reality, though.
  7. Jul 25, 2019
    90
    Maybe Tetris Effect is just Tetris, but it masterfully does what so many other game remakes aim for—an experience suitable for seasoned players as well as beginners, which enhances what’s already good and offers new reasons to love a classic.
  8. Jul 29, 2019
    90
    Tetris Effect is more than a Tetris game. It's a work of art that you just happen to interact with by stacking blocks and clearing rows.
  9. Aug 29, 2019
    100
    A euphoric, almost religious game, and one that will make you wonder what you've been doing playing other games.
  10. Jul 23, 2019
    80
    It’s still the case that some levels are a little harder to focus on in VR, but never to a point that should cause any concern. Tetris Effect in VR is a transcendent spectacle, a thriving biome that takes on a life of its own. Rarely has VR felt this organic. High praise for a fresh take on a gaming staple perhaps but play a level and I’d dare you to disagree with me.
  11. Jul 26, 2019
    100
    Tetris Effect has lost none of the prime gameplay quality that the series is known for, it’s still as addictive and difficult to stop playing as ever. Quite frankly, Tetris Effect is the best version of Tetris. Just as important, the title suits experienced and new VR players alike. The former get hours of engrossing gameplay while the latter get to see why VR is worth getting into. Just remember to take the headset off once in a while.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Jul 23, 2019
    Going diving in the menus to find the best combination of gameplay and visual options makes it clear that there is no wrong way to play Tetris Effect, and the game will be ready for whatever upgrade might come to your gaming PC in the near future. Tetris Effect is now even closer to being a perfect game. [Polygon Recommends]
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 100 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 100
  2. Negative: 28 out of 100
  1. Jul 28, 2019
    7
    It's just a typical tetris game with some flashy effects. I don't get what's so special about it.
  2. Jul 26, 2019
    10
    I always thought Tetris was one of the best if not the best videogame ever, mechanically is perfect.

    With this version it goes to my top 3 or
    I always thought Tetris was one of the best if not the best videogame ever, mechanically is perfect.

    With this version it goes to my top 3 or even top 1, it could be one of the best experiences I have enjoyed in my gamer life. I have been always been grateful to Tetsuya Mizuguchi for REZ, but Tetris Effect is even better.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 26, 2019
    2
    Who would have thought that a 35-year-old game would pair so well with very mediocre music?