The Binding of Isaac Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1048 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Isaac is a roguelike shooter based on the dungeon structure of Zelda (nes). At its core it controls like Smash TV / Robotron in a randomly generated semi RPG world filled with powerups items and special abilities.
  • Developer: Edmund McMillen, Florian Himsl
  • Genre(s): Action, Action Adventure, Shooter, Horror, Horror, Shooter, Static, Shoot-'Em-Up, Top-Down
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Binding of Isaac - Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oct 16, 2011
    100
    The Binding Of Isaac is pitch-black and hard as hell.
  2. Oct 7, 2011
    90
    With Binding, McMillen and Himsl created the rules of the world and then set it in motion. Yet this game is nearly as much fun as Super Meat Boy, and more profound. It proves that there's more than one way to make a masterpiece.
  3. Mar 10, 2012
    90
    One may play for an hour or two, but they're constantly tempted to go back in and uncover the scads of remaining secrets. It's a style of game that really intrigues me, and one I want to see more of
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    85
    I'll put it simply: If you can roll with the macabre toilet humor and if religion jokes don't put you off, AND if you enjoy games with non-optional permadeath, randomized content, tons of secrets and considerable replay value… it's hard to go wrong with The Binding of Isaac. Especially at five dollars.
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    83
    The Binding of Isaac looks like an old school game like the original Zeldas, but with a dark scenario and dark humor. It has the typical difficulty of a McMillen game, which is not found anywhere else these days. This game will motivate you to try and try again in such a simple way – just brilliant. If you like the style and the old school gameplay of The Binding of Isaac, you'll have a lot of fun with it.
  6. Oct 7, 2011
    80
    Funny and miserable, disgusting and endearing, the end result is a game that's smart enough to have things both ways, offering an often brutal critique of certain religious sacraments, while wallowing comfortably inside the rituals of one of gaming's oldest genres.
  7. Oct 2, 2011
    70
    It's a good game, with a surprising amount of content for the price, but it will definitely turn away those who don't like even cartoon gore, and leave a slightly bitter taste in even the most hardened gamer's mouth... and mind.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 251
  1. Oct 1, 2013
    10
    Definitely a must-have during Steam Sales, but even at regular retail price I think it's worth the money. I will admit I didn't enjoy the gameDefinitely a must-have during Steam Sales, but even at regular retail price I think it's worth the money. I will admit I didn't enjoy the game at first, but over time you will create strategies and learn the nature of each monster, providing you with tens to maybe even hundreds of hours of skill and luck. Edmund McMillen did great on this revival of the dying genre of Rogue-like games, and added his own element of unique and fascinating artwork, similar to his previous title, Super Meat Boy. Overall, this game is great, because it brings together so many great elements for a game to have into one wholesome title, making it enjoyable for everyone except those who don't take time to see the beauty of a game. Expand
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    10
    This is a game from older generation. There is no saves, no hints, no help. You must remember that gives each piece and how it interacts withThis is a game from older generation. There is no saves, no hints, no help. You must remember that gives each piece and how it interacts with others. Plus, it's very random, one game may be simple, the other incredibly difficult. But precisely this is the charm of the game. Challenge the player to deal with all its complexities.
    This is very good and captivating game. I will continue to ply it until I collect all items)
    Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    This game is awesome, awesome, and more awesome. Obviously the previous guy who rated this a 2 just doesn't "get" the appeal of this kind ofThis game is awesome, awesome, and more awesome. Obviously the previous guy who rated this a 2 just doesn't "get" the appeal of this kind of game. It's based on an old model of PC gaming (called roguelike) where you die once and the game is over--completely. There are no saves, no continue spots--you're dead and you have to start all over. But that's exactly what makes this game so damn addictive! I have the Battlefield 3 beta on my computer and I've barely played it because The Binding of Isaac is sucking up all of my time. Because every playthrough is completely randomly generated and you'll never play the same levels twice, dying is not a big deal. Death feels the same way it feels in Super Meat Boy; you die, and die, and die again--but you get better each time, and it makes you want to start the game right back up again. Like SMB it's a throwback to a time long ago when you needed actual skill and quick reflexes to complete a game, and it's precisely that which makes it so appealing to me. Oh...that and the absolutely awesome and hilarious abilities and powerups, which I definitely wouldn't want to spoil here. The game is full of surprises and has a very dark tone about it, feeling like a mix between The Legend of Zelda and Splatterhouse. The fact that it's only 5 bucks doesn't hurt either, but it shouldn't give you any indication of the quality of the game. I've paid 50-60 bucks for games that weren't nearly as fun as this. Just buy it, play it, and enjoy some excellent old-meets-new gaming for less than the cost of a sandwich. Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    I religiously play this game atleast once a day to see if I can finally defeat the final boss. I never succeed, but that's what keeps meI religiously play this game atleast once a day to see if I can finally defeat the final boss. I never succeed, but that's what keeps me coming back for more! each time you play through, the game gets randomized in every aspect. Different enemies, different map layouts, different items, healths, difficulty! almost everything. And I seriously love that aspect in games, it's what keeps gamers coming back for more. The thrill of having the game change when you come back to it. I've clocked up 24 hours of gameplay and I am still finding bosses that I have never fought before! suprises enemies, and items! the game's soundtrack is really nostalgic too, for some reason it reminds me of real old school gaming years. Since this game is also 3£ on steam, it is certainly worth picking up! you will not regret it! Expand
  5. Jan 12, 2012
    8
    The Binding of Isaac is an excellent implementation of the new age of roguelikes. The graphical style is simple and lacking in much detail,The Binding of Isaac is an excellent implementation of the new age of roguelikes. The graphical style is simple and lacking in much detail, but it works perfectly with the narrative. The story is both fun and dark, without taking itself too seriously. The game's difficulty is something of a barrier, but not too detrimental to the gameplay. Dying so many times can get frustrating, but getting right back in it isn't too tough to accomplish. There are so many power-ups and items that you will be hard-pressed to collect them all. Also, there are many items that will change the visual appearance of your character, which is really fun. Unfortunately, many items are not provided with a description of their usage as you find them, which means that you may be negatively or positively surprised, depending on the outcome. The bosses and mini bosses are well done, and of adequate difficulty in comparison to the rest of your enemies throughout the game. The map system is excellent, and extremely helpful, especially to someone like me who has trouble with spatial directions and remembering locations. The game's performance is not good. There is plenty mentioned about this, by many people in the Steam forums if you are curious. At the highest quality and resolution, in rooms populated with many enemies, there will be severe slowdowns effecting the gameplay to the point of loss of health and deaths being blamed on this serious problem. The only way to remedy this is to set the detail quality and resolution lower, and then experiment with the changes. The keys are fixed, and you will not be able to rebind them. This is a problem for me, as I am not accustomed to using WASD to move. As you progress through the game each time, you will unlock different characters with specific statistics and abilities. The Binding of Isaac is hard, even given its roguelike characteristic. As I write this, I have played and died a total of 68 times, and only reached the final boss three times (dying in that battle as well). Needless to say, this is an incredibly difficult game, mostly because of its roguelike and retro nature. With that said, the genre is exemplified perfectly with The Binding of Isaac. It is a game that you keep installed for the long run, going back to it every so often in hopes that you will finally be able to beat it. Just like in the old days of the original roguelikes. Expand
  6. May 19, 2012
    8
    It has awesome graphics but the gameplay is very good! Every time you start playing, change the levels, enemies, bosses, items. Have muchIt has awesome graphics but the gameplay is very good! Every time you start playing, change the levels, enemies, bosses, items. Have much variety in every way. It is very addictive. Thoroughly recommend it. Expand
  7. Aug 4, 2014
    0
    This game is so ridiculously difficult that it makes Dark Souls set on hard look like a kid's game. You can expect to live about 3 or 4This game is so ridiculously difficult that it makes Dark Souls set on hard look like a kid's game. You can expect to live about 3 or 4 minutes on average. I don't know how people can think this is a good game when you can only play 3 minutes before dying. It is not even fair how poor the controls are. You have basically no chance to win. Look at the stats. On Steam, 37% of the players couldn't even get the EASIEST of the 84 achievements. How sad is that? Unless you are a masochist, please don't waste your money. Expand

See all 251 User Reviews