Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Apr 24, 2014
    91
    A great conclusion to the Blackwell series, Epiphany delivers a poignant ending, the usually strong investigative and spooky gameplay and at least one breathlessly emotional "ghost story". Be aware, though, that having played the previous games is strongly suggested.
  2. May 28, 2014
    90
    This spectacular ending to the Blackwell Pentalogy makes it even harder to think that we will not see any further adventures from Rosa and Joey, but fills us up with anticipation for their next new great project.
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    90
    The Blackwell Epiphany is very polished and at times packs a real emotional punch, sending the series out on a high.
  4. Apr 30, 2014
    90
    The Blackwell Epiphany is a fantastic and poignant end to the series, and I really hope we can start mentioning Dave Gilbert in the same breath as adventure gaming luminaries like Tim Schafer, Charles Cecil and (sigh) Jane Jensen.
  5. Apr 24, 2014
    90
    Fans will definitely enjoy the ride, latching onto each minute. Newcomers, well, go play the whole series—they’re on sale often and you’ll thank me when it’s over.
  6. May 15, 2014
    86
    The puzzle design, dialogue, voice-overs, art direction and the way it completes the Blackwell storyline is absolutely sublime. One would be forced to nit pick to find downsides to this beautiful and emotional finale to Rosangela's story. A fairly short duration and the fact that one pretty much needs to be a fan of the series in order to get the full emotional impact of the events unfolding could be considered downsides.
  7. Apr 24, 2014
    85
    An excellent ending to the series, but best played by those who have played its predecessors.
  8. May 6, 2014
    82
    The high-point of a consistently strong series, and a great showcase of adventure game design that fits the story's theme.
  9. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    The heart of the game is in its logical execution of conversations and puzzles, while not being trivial. [Issue#242]
  10. May 1, 2014
    80
    The Blackwell Epiphany is the latest chapter in the Blackwell series and the best of all of them. It closes the series with great tact, with great plot twists and by tying up all the loose ends.
  11. Apr 26, 2014
    80
    A solid and emotional end to the series, and a game every adventure gamer should play. But not without having played the previous Blackwell games.
  12. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    It’s sad to see the series go but the satisfying revelations and conclusion makes Blackwell Epiphany a must play.
  13. CD-Action
    Jul 23, 2014
    75
    If you want to travel back in time to the period when adventure games posed a clever challenge, you won’t find a better game to do so. Epiphany is the best game in the series, so I’m genuinely sad there won’t be a follow-up. [06/2014, p.64]
  14. 70
    The level of storytelling once it makes it past the more clunky moments makes the whole experience worthwhile. The conclusion itself made me forgive the game for all the awkward moments that came before it. And, after playing through all five chapters in quick succession, I can guarantee that that is the best way to appreciate the overall narrative.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 72
  2. Negative: 12 out of 72
  1. Fuz
    Apr 29, 2014
    10
    Simply put, one of the best adventure games of these last years.
    Fantastic story, great puzzles, nice voice acting, good music.
    The only
    Simply put, one of the best adventure games of these last years.
    Fantastic story, great puzzles, nice voice acting, good music.
    The only downside is that you pretty much have to play the other games in the serie to fully understand what's going on... but it's not a big flaw, since the others are pretty good games too (and they're pretty cheap on GOG.com).
    Every point-and-click adventure lover should play this.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 26, 2014
    10
    A great ending to a great series, with a lot of twists that will make you see the end at all costs, especially if you've been waiting for itA great ending to a great series, with a lot of twists that will make you see the end at all costs, especially if you've been waiting for it for all this time. It is also the longest chapter of the entire series, if I have to say, finishing it in about 6-7 hours (the others are shorter, with 4 hours tops if you replay them for the achievements).

    What really must be addressed about this game is, if you haven't played the first games, you "might" be confused for some parts or some scenes, since it's heavily tied up with the other games. In addition this game is definitely more expensive than the previous chapters (I paid 15 euros) and I don't recall the other games to be all that expensive at launch (although now you can buy the first 4 games in a bundle, which is a must if you want to enjoy the games fully). Aside that, the graphics are similar, if not the same, of the fourth chapter, which was kinda weaker than the third but much more fluid in movement. Voice acting is still pretty good, and puzzles are not hard but still challenging that you have to think up, since you can control two characters and they work differently.

    And the ending is definitely something to see...and kinda unexpected, I won't spoil though, but It was rather bitter sweet.

    Best chapter so far, and a great ending: must try if you have the previous ones, give it a look if you're curious...but make sure to get the other chapters as well, if you plan to fully enjoy the entire series.
    Full Review »
  3. Jul 17, 2014
    10
    I've played through the entire series and eagerly awaited this final installment. I enjoyed every moment. There were the usual frustrationsI've played through the entire series and eagerly awaited this final installment. I enjoyed every moment. There were the usual frustrations inherent in the adventure point and click genre, the sometimes slow and tedious running about and all that. But none of that detracted from my enjoyment of the story and ambient music.

    Definitely a recommend for anybody who loves a good noir ghost story.
    Full Review »