The Cave (2013) Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 214 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Cave is an adventure game from the mind of Ron Gilbert.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Spelunkers Unite - The Cave Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. PC Master (Greece)
    Jun 10, 2013
    82
    A dialogue system and a fully functional inventory would not only vastly enhance the game, we could be talking about the birth of a new sub-genre. Even so, we enjoyed it. From now on, when someone asks, what the heck of a game is The Cave, we will answer “a really great game”… after all, that’s what really matters. [March 2013]
  2. Feb 4, 2013
    80
    The Cave may not turn out to be the genre trailblazer that Maniac Mansion was, but this modern day classic puts a new spin on many of the adventure conventions that have been around since Colossal Cave.
  3. Jan 25, 2013
    79
    The Cave is really funny, with great puzzles, but it isn't a masterpiece because of some flaws.
  4. Jan 29, 2013
    70
    GameSpy, however, is a website that gives away the answer to the riddle of whether The Cave is worth playing: yes. It doesn't hit the ability-powered platforming highs of Trine or the old-school adventure challenge of Maniac Mansion, and it appears the devs struggled to focus and define this ambiguous hybrid.
  5. Apr 14, 2013
    65
    The Cave is a game that showed lots of promise, given those pulling the strings, and when it’s great, it’s really great.
  6. Hyper Magazine
    Mar 12, 2013
    60
    Far from Ron Gilbert or Double Fine's best, but The Cave manages to deliver just enough satisfaction to avoid disaster. [Apr 2013, p.74]
  7. Jan 31, 2013
    40
    There is some dark-ish humour but it never goes far enough and borders on embarrassingly bad in most places. Those attuned to adventure titles will feel their puzzle sensibilities tickled but definitely not itched.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 8 out of 37
  1. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    This game is misunderstood by the press hard to imagine why. I'm grew up with maniac mansion, monkey island and all the great lucasartsThis game is misunderstood by the press hard to imagine why. I'm grew up with maniac mansion, monkey island and all the great lucasarts stuff. The Cave is different according to these old games, but its quite as funny as they were. The most puzzles are well done, they could've been a bit harder to solve, but it was okay. For some people maybe its harder if they dont have much experience in doing adventure games. Backtracking is one of the things, the press most argues about. I really don't know why. Backtracking was quite normal in the good old days. How long i ran through the forest in Monkey Island 1. I love that, Maybe u see something u missed before or some details the graphics art style is awesome... not as detailed as some other games like "trine 2", but too many details would kill the cave's atmosphere anyway. There are problems with gamepad controls for me. I think there is a little bit of input lag. But its ok as well.

    To make it short: I love the game, its humor, the voice of the cave... and all the funny things u are going through with the lovely characters. Thanks Ron Double Fine. Hope to see more things coming
    Expand
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    It's a wonderful game. I think of it as a mix of an adventure game with "The Lost Vikings" gameplay (or maybe Trine, if you're younger). TheIt's a wonderful game. I think of it as a mix of an adventure game with "The Lost Vikings" gameplay (or maybe Trine, if you're younger). The possibility of selecting 3 from 7 characters with distinct abilities is the main positive thing about the game, because it gives you a lot of possibilities. I just think the "Cave" humour could be a little less forced. Expand
  3. Jan 24, 2013
    9
    So far, I'm enjoying the hell out of this game! I'm a long-time adventure fan and huge fan of Double Fine's titles. I'm a few hours in and soSo far, I'm enjoying the hell out of this game! I'm a long-time adventure fan and huge fan of Double Fine's titles. I'm a few hours in and so far I am not disappointed. I really like the idea of several different characters with their own back story and the execution, presentation and puzzles overall is brilliant. Only minor quibble is the control precision, but that's easily overlooked. I just wish they could make more frequent and larger scale games of this type. All in all, cool and very funny adventure game! Recommended. Expand
  4. May 8, 2016
    8
    At first glance The Cave is just a simple side scrolling adventure that you would only play if nothing else peaked your interest. Of courseAt first glance The Cave is just a simple side scrolling adventure that you would only play if nothing else peaked your interest. Of course looking at it this way will cause you to pass up a fun little adventure game that is well worth your time. You will not find anything groundbreaking or extremely innovative with The Cave but you will have some fun while playing it and get a good laugh as well.

    The storyline of The Cave is a simple one and in some ways is an aspect of the game that is truly lacking. Of course the game does explain the mysterious cave to the player and yes, it is a talking cave. Beyond this we are are only told enough so that the storyline makes sense. Even then it’s still a little crazy. It wouldn’t be an issue not to have a storyline for an inanimate object but the game gives the cave a voice and personality so there must be more behind it. The game does cover this up to a point by making the cave have a great sense of humor, so in that respect it’s okay. As for the characters storylines, well they are present to a degree and the game does give you glimpses into them via paintings on the cave walls. A game like this doesn’t require a massive, complicated storyline but it would be nice to know a little more about the characters. We do know that they are there for adventure and there are a bunch of them though.

    Now as for the actual characters the game does give you some variety. Starting out there are seven characters(eight if you include the twins as 2 instead of a unit) and the player has to choose three of them to play the game with. Of the seven we have the Knight, the Hillbilly, a Time Traveler, the Scientist, an Adventurer, the Twins, and the Monk. Each of these characters has their own storyline while playing and an ability that must be used to complete their part. The game sets the play-through around the three characters you choose at the beginning of the game so choose wisely. Certain combinations of characters can actually allow you access to certain areas that would otherwise be off limits on that particular play-through. For instance if you are playing as the Knight in his “stage” and have the Time Traveler with you then you can send her to an area early and get a funny little cut scene that you normally wouldn’t see. It’s small things like this that make the game fun for multiple runs.

    Beyond the small story there is actually a lot of fun to be had running around in the cave and solving puzzles. The entire premise of the game is based around each character having a “stage” and you must use their power to progress through puzzles in that area. The puzzles themselves were fun and sometimes clever but nothing too difficult. Some of them are as simple as throwing a stick of dynamite, while others required some time hopping between areas to achieve the solution. Either way they were fun to play around with and sometimes hilarious when something went wrong. The only problem is while playing around I did sometimes over think the puzzles causing myself a hard time. Every puzzle in the game can be solved without a lot of effort so be sure to not over think them. The only thing you need to solve them is time.

    Spending time in the game was not an issue for me however. The game simply looks and sounds great. The visuals while cartoonish in nature are very well done and bring the game to life with the theme the developers were looking for. All the visuals from the textures on the ground to the characters themselves were top notch for that style of game. The audio for the game was also well done to match the visual style and overall theme. There are a lot of small sounds that you won’t notice unless you pay close attention but they add a lot of depth to the gameplay. The music itself is very fitting for each of the characters in their respected levels as well. It makes it very fun to explore each character and see what else you can get yourself into.

    With The Cave being an arcade-ish title I have to say it was very enjoyable for the time I spent playing it. The game played well and I never really found anything that I didn’t like about it. Sure I wish there was a little more story to it but what can a person do. Overall I’d say that if you have the extra cash and want a arcade like title to play then pick this game up. It will give you more than a few laughs while playing it.
    Expand
  5. Jul 15, 2013
    7
    I still don’t understand why Ron Gilbert doesn’t just make another point ‘n’ click adventure game! The Cave has the trademark Ron GilbertI still don’t understand why Ron Gilbert doesn’t just make another point ‘n’ click adventure game! The Cave has the trademark Ron Gilbert humour in there but in a puzzle-platformer package which is a pain to play if you’re used to playing with keyboard and mouse. Also while the game is charming I feel a bit miffed about the secret (and I mean secret) alternate endings, not to mention the game’s short length (6 hours). Thankfully the game isn’t expensive so if you’re a Ron Gilbert fan, it might be worth a look, especially if you can grab it when it’s on sale. Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    6
    The game has nice ambiance, graphic design and humor. Sadly it involves a lot of needless repetition and the puzzle elements are not veryThe game has nice ambiance, graphic design and humor. Sadly it involves a lot of needless repetition and the puzzle elements are not very difficult. Personally I wouldn't buy this game again after playing through it once. Doubt I'll bother grinding through the the other story lines. In summary: Pretty looking game but short and repetitive as hell. Expand
  7. Feb 12, 2013
    2
    A mediocre game. Not surprising though. I don't get all the hype about Ron Gilbert, really. Look at any of the games he has been involved inA mediocre game. Not surprising though. I don't get all the hype about Ron Gilbert, really. Look at any of the games he has been involved in making for the past 20 years or so. All rubbish. Even if you take Lucas Arts games, the ones he worked on are nothing compared to, say, The Day of the Tentacle or Grim Fandango. Even if his idea was used for TDotT, it was Tim Schafer who brought it to realization. Now Tim brought Mr. Gilbert in... and it was a mistake. Double Fine was producing vivid original games, it was on a streak that felt like it's not going to end. And then came Ron Gilbert and ended it. I hope he won't be leading any more projects. Expand

See all 37 User Reviews