The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taking advantage of new hardware technologies, this package presents a reinvention of "Escape from Butcher Bay", delivering 2004's award winning experience in high definition with enhancements. Also included is the Dark Athena chapter, an expansion of the original game with a new story andTaking advantage of new hardware technologies, this package presents a reinvention of "Escape from Butcher Bay", delivering 2004's award winning experience in high definition with enhancements. Also included is the Dark Athena chapter, an expansion of the original game with a new story and new gameplay features. With The Chronicles of Riddick: Assault on Dark Athena, players are not only be challenged to survive Butcher Bay, but also engage in a new single-player experience and, for the first time in the Riddick universe, take action in intense multi-player combat. The game introduces the ominous Merc-ship Dark Athena, which sits silent like a marauding spider, awaiting helpless prey in the dark reaches of the galaxy. Players must face a large, bloodthirsty operation led by the dreaded Captain Revas and her slaves-turned-controllable combat drones, storm though death-defying events and fight fierce enemies in a battle of malice and gore. [Sierra Entertainment] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Game Informer
    95
    One of the year’s best deals in gaming. [May 2009, p.78]
  2. Solid mechanics, lavish presentation, and strong audio all combine for one great gaming value.
  3. For fans of the Original (TCoR:EfBB), this is nothing but a "must have". But everybody else, who's simply looking for a good, brutal shooter with stealth-elements and a cool main character, should definitely have a look too! Personally, I'm sure you won't regret it.
  4. Unfortunately Riddick hasn't evolved much in the years since Escape from Butcher Bay, while the genre definitely has. Five year old gameplay doesn't compete well with next gen games, though Riddick still copes well.
  5. PC Format
    80
    There are many reasons to dislike Diesel, this isn't one of them. [May 2009, p.92]
  6. The Chronicles of Riddick: AODA tries to combine several genres into one single game. The result: an average game with nothing but mediocre aspects. Vin Diesel's presence and the Riddick-license make the game enjoyable nonetheless and additional to the Assault on Dark Athena campaign, there is a full next-gen version of the original Escape from Butcher Bay game. Sadly though, this remake does not live up to modern day standards.
  7. Akella, Russian distributor of the game, pulled a crazy marketing stunt. In addition to the regular PC release, it sells the game as two independent halves – Escape from Butcher Bay and Assault on Dark Athena. My gut reaction was to scold Akella for greediness, but now I see that this is an unintentional benefit. You buy the remake of one of the best action games of 2004, and forget about its defective 6-hour appendage.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Jan 16, 2011
    10
    To be honest, when i played the Butcher's Bay demo years ago, i thought i won't like this game, but i had to admit that I was wrong :
    With the
    To be honest, when i played the Butcher's Bay demo years ago, i thought i won't like this game, but i had to admit that I was wrong :
    With the whole story (not the cut from demo), the good voice cast (play it in english guys!) and the good mix of steal-action-adventure, Riddick game is a succes: some part (sneaking into the dark and kill silently) reminds me Hitman, some others hunt-phase reminds me AvP, and the overal story is as good as a game-from-movie should be..
    Of course, the game is not perfect (keyb assign can be better, also like some secondary caracter's anims), but for a low priced game, i thing we got a very great deal!
    The story from 2004 is also in, so its 2 good game for 1 bought.
    Nice ;)
    Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2012
    10
    absolutely amazing. The storyline is fantastic, the tension is brilliant. Why didn't they hire these guys to make the movies? Lurking in theabsolutely amazing. The storyline is fantastic, the tension is brilliant. Why didn't they hire these guys to make the movies? Lurking in the shadows... waiting to pounce... so much fun. There's only been a few times in my life when I wanted to jump into the game and kick @ss, from an emotional standpoint when the kid's mother is murdered by that prisoner... oh, man I enjoyed beating him to death.
    When you find out what the pirates are doing to their captives... that really made me want to kill every last one of them. While there is a strong stealth aspect to the game, I made it a point to go and kill every last one of those space pirates.
    Expand
  3. ChrisM
    Dec 27, 2009
    10
    V-good game graphics are ok gameplay (keeps the Riddick feel but looses it in the firefights) generally overall gd game.
  4. Apr 15, 2015
    9
    Slightly worse than the previous game and not as memorable, but in all other aspects, it's basically the same game. The story is a littleSlightly worse than the previous game and not as memorable, but in all other aspects, it's basically the same game. The story is a little worse, but the gameplay is still a mix of action and stealth and it is as fun as in the first game. It's just not as good as Escape from Butcher Bay, though. 8/10

    However, I got Escape from Butcher Bay in the first place because it is included in this game for free, so all in all, it's a great deal and a really good bundle. The gameplay reminded me of Deus Ex, so if you liked that series, this one may interest you as well, even though it's nowhere near as complex as far as game mechanics are concerned.
    Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2018
    8
    A great sequel! Continues the story from Butcher Bay very nicely with great gameplay, atmosphere, action and even better voice acting.A great sequel! Continues the story from Butcher Bay very nicely with great gameplay, atmosphere, action and even better voice acting. Seriously, the characters' performances are top notch, combined with great facial and body animation. Really felt like I was playing something I'd never played before with both this one and Butcher Bay.

    On the downside, the graphics somehow look worse when compared to the crispy, pretty looking graphics from its 5 year older predecessor. Also, for some reason you only have 2 quick select (compared to 9 on Butcher Bay) whic which makes switching quickly through weapons a struggle.
    Expand
  6. CB
    Aug 5, 2009
    7
    At first, the crap graphics made this game an eye sore to me (it's also generally very dark and I couldn't play with a decent At first, the crap graphics made this game an eye sore to me (it's also generally very dark and I couldn't play with a decent enough frame rate at higher graphic settings) and the beginning game play was awkward (not having played Butcher Bay before). Shortly into the game I began to actually appreciate it and felt the urge to finish it all the way through. The game only has about 6 hours of game play but it gets straight to the point. It's a nice variety of shooting, hand to hand combat, and strategy (mainly if finding ways to climb/crawl/jump and overall maneuver into new rooms or areas). I enjoyed putting a few hours into this 'different' FPS and I give it a decent 7/10 but nothing more. It's worth beating the adventure once and getting to use the weapons towards the end of the game (SCAR gun and the mechs are sick). Not super impressed but satisfied. Expand
  7. martint
    Apr 19, 2009
    3
    I am voting for the whole product. The game itself is great, the remake is better then the athena part but you will enjoy both if you like I am voting for the whole product. The game itself is great, the remake is better then the athena part but you will enjoy both if you like this kind of fps. The product is totally overpriced. You can only install it on 3 PCs because of drm. A hardware change, e.g. a new vga card or an os re-installation will use up one installation. There is no revoke tool available. You have to phone a support hotline to get more and you have to state a legitimate reason before you get one - try this in the middle of the night. This game is a rental at full-price, it has no resell value. Do yourself a favor and wait until this game is available in the bargain bin for 10 bucks without drm in a year or so. The game is great, the product is horrible. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews