Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. 73
    The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance Tactics is a nice strategic RPG, however its tie-in nature is in fact a limit to its potential. Who knows what it could have been if BonusXP would have poured a bit more of courage in its develpment.
  2. Feb 28, 2020
    70
    It looks - and sometimes feels - like a free-to-play game, but look beneath that layer and you will find a decent tactics/ strategy game that is ideal for anyone who loved the TV series.
  3. Feb 18, 2020
    70
    The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance Tactics is a mid-tier game with a top-tier Netflix tie-in. Where it delivers on tactical combat, it falls down in being overly grindy for resources, and a direct-from-mobile interface. If you like tactics, and you think Hup is the cutest thing ever to wield a soup spoon, then you’ll like Age of Resistance Tactics.
  4. Feb 14, 2020
    70
    The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance - Tactics is a fairly entertaining game, and if you’re a fan of the turn-based RPG genre or The Dark Crystal I think you would do well to give it a try. Players who have seen the Netflix series might be able to connect more to the game than I was. As a standalone game, I can only imagine the confusion that could go through a new player’s head if they hadn’t experienced any of The Dark Crystal franchise. At that point, I think it struggles as a standalone game.
  5. Feb 21, 2020
    65
    If you’re looking for a simple strategy game for your young one or a distraction from your daily life that doesn’t require your full attention, The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance Tactics is the game for you but just ensure you watch the show first. If you were looking for a complex, intricate turn-based strategy RPG with a lot of nuance, story and character development, your money is better spent elsewhere.
  6. Feb 5, 2020
    61
    Solid oldschool turn based tactics game, based on the Netflix series. Lacks any highlights, both gameplay- or storywise.
  7. Apr 8, 2020
    60
    The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance Tactics is a game you should play only if you meet two very important requirements. First - you've seen the show. Second - you loved the show. Any other scenario and you should most definitely skip this pretty basic, bug-infested strategy RPG. Not that there is nothing to love here. It's just not worth digging for it, unless you really, really love this franchise.
  8. 60
    Hampered by subpar performance and graphics, coupled with a repetitive storyline, The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance Tactics serves only as a starting point for a genre rife with unpolished entries.
  9. Feb 5, 2020
    58
    Sorry Netflix, but this one needed another QA pass. I will be the first to admit that I didn’t finish Age of Resistance Tactics. All it did was make me want to watch the Netflix series again, and I did! Because it’s awesome! But I didn’t need a $20 game to remind me of that.
  10. Feb 7, 2020
    50
    The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance Tactics is, at its very best, a mediocre game with some decent ideas - these primarily being the character customisation/job system and a few different types of battles thanks to map changes or interesting bosses that require tactical planning. However, any positives are bogged down by the silly decisions like requiring multiple clicks for every single action, even the basics, ignoring decades of turn-based tactics innovation and progression. Add onto this a barely-scraped story and an average, often lifeless, presentation and you have a game that can play well, but mostly plays slow.
User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Feb 6, 2020
    3
    One of the most boring turn-based RPG strategy games I have ever played in my life. I have see strategy games from 30 years ago with moreOne of the most boring turn-based RPG strategy games I have ever played in my life. I have see strategy games from 30 years ago with more substance than this. Full Review »