User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 76 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 76
  2. Negative: 19 out of 76

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2016
    4
    Nice idea but bad execution. This game has a fine drawn graphics, good audio (music) and that's it. Game mechanics are often crude and frustrating. Gameplay is simple but yet unbalanced, sometimes I was thinking it's more based on luck than careful planning or 'survival skill'. Amount of rain is ridiculous, is it USA or Amazon? In my opinion days are passing too fast and you're almostNice idea but bad execution. This game has a fine drawn graphics, good audio (music) and that's it. Game mechanics are often crude and frustrating. Gameplay is simple but yet unbalanced, sometimes I was thinking it's more based on luck than careful planning or 'survival skill'. Amount of rain is ridiculous, is it USA or Amazon? In my opinion days are passing too fast and you're almost constantly wet or/and hungry, but what annoyed me the most are really rare checkpoints. I know it supposed to be a rogue-like but losing 2h of progress can be really frustrating. Sadly after few "Game Overs" it's getting boring and no storyline (or any kind of plot) makes it even worse. Better stick with "Don't Starve". Expand
  2. mno
    Sep 25, 2018
    3
    It looks beautiful and the atmosphere is wonderful but apart from this, it's just a horrible game. It's an unfinished prototype which needs serious redesign and many hours of further work, if you ever want to turn this into a good game.
  3. Apr 9, 2016
    4
    Great idea with a bad implementation. I like the nomad approach, graphics, music, the river, BUT... inventory space is not enough for the amount of crap you'll find in the different locations considering there is no base to drop your resources. The hunger decay is ridiculous, no one dies of starvation in 2 days, not even in "Don't Starve" . The randomness in the resources and locationGreat idea with a bad implementation. I like the nomad approach, graphics, music, the river, BUT... inventory space is not enough for the amount of crap you'll find in the different locations considering there is no base to drop your resources. The hunger decay is ridiculous, no one dies of starvation in 2 days, not even in "Don't Starve" . The randomness in the resources and location types turns the surviving theme into pure luck. Traps can't be reused, why? Do I really need to go to a specific type of camp to find bloody stone and a piece of wood? This kind of things make the game stupidly difficult. When you realize that you are dying not because you are playing wrong but rather due to the fact game mechanics are totally unfair, the motivation to play fades away. Expand
  4. Jun 15, 2016
    0
    can'├Čt rebind keys.are you kidding me?lack of keyboard binding options makes it absolutely unplayable.the lack of rebinding options is absolutely lazy and something that is not to be tolerated in this time and age
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. CD-Action
    May 30, 2016
    70
    An experienced traveler will deal with the campaign in 2 hours tops, but gathering experience in a series of adventures in a randomly generated world is the most enjoyable thing here. The moments of triumph and fear that you will experience along the way are reasons enough to give this game a chance despite its many (but not severe) technical issues. [05/2016, p.42]
  2. Apr 28, 2016
    70
    The Flame in The Flood can be seen as a novel of formation nestled in a methapore that turns life into a river. Unfortunately Molasses Flood's first work tries to transmit a deep and manifold message with a not so deep and manifold messenger.
  3. Games Master UK
    Apr 25, 2016
    75
    An impressive shake-up of survival tropes - but dedicated fans of the genre may be left wanting. [Apr 2016, p.74]