User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 357 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 47 out of 357

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 25, 2018
    0
    So i bought this back at release in 2014/15, forgot to do a review though, so here it goes. I quit playing pretty quickly do to the immersion breaking of enemies spawning inside your walls you built. It took me forever to build up 3 big walls around a cliff only to find out the walls are pointless because enemies just spawn inside. This is very unacceptable for a base building game.So i bought this back at release in 2014/15, forgot to do a review though, so here it goes. I quit playing pretty quickly do to the immersion breaking of enemies spawning inside your walls you built. It took me forever to build up 3 big walls around a cliff only to find out the walls are pointless because enemies just spawn inside. This is very unacceptable for a base building game. The build system is also very outdated and needs to be reworked for better usability like that of Rust. I just thought about trying to go back and play this game again and see if that "enemy spawning inside your walls" bug was ever addressed. It wasnt. So i wont go back and play it, and i'll give it 0/10 for bad base building interface and immersion breaking bugs. Thanks for reading. Expand
  2. Jun 9, 2018
    2
    This game always had a lot of potential, but it never really lived up to it. The gameplay is repetitive and the story is uninspiring. The character controls like a tank, and the game runs very poorly.
  3. May 11, 2018
    1
    This game is one big mess. There are more glitches in this game than there are trees.
  4. Jul 4, 2018
    1
    This game is probably one of the worst i have ever played. I played 5 hours when i first bought it in the pre-release and i can tell you they were horrible: no newness, no fun, no balanced challenge. Simply explore generic caves and places with nothing interesting whatsoever. This year, i played it 5 more hours to give it a chance to see if anything had been improved and, alas, it's theThis game is probably one of the worst i have ever played. I played 5 hours when i first bought it in the pre-release and i can tell you they were horrible: no newness, no fun, no balanced challenge. Simply explore generic caves and places with nothing interesting whatsoever. This year, i played it 5 more hours to give it a chance to see if anything had been improved and, alas, it's the same crap! Too many bugs, and no new interesting updates have been added in about 3 years or more. It's still alpha! For 3 years! This is ridiculous. It's a boring, incomplete, full of bugs and a complete waste of time. If you wanna get annoyed by the horrible physics or the stupid sounds, then go ahead and buy this trash. Expand
  5. Jun 3, 2017
    4
    Only the graphics is good in The Forest, the content and building are poor and boring.
    They don't add the destroy construction option in game, don't has snap object.
    Mutants in game are too less. Playing this game remind me of Far Cry Primal but FC is much better.
  6. Apr 1, 2020
    1
    I don't get the hype. This game is so irritating I'd rather stick pencils in my eyes. Barely clad enemies resist multiple slashes of a Katana, Little Bambi deer run off after being slashed multiple times with a Katana. You need to craft two deer skins and rope to make a water canteen yet you can't empty a beer bottle and fill that up with water to carry. Night mode is far too dark and tooI don't get the hype. This game is so irritating I'd rather stick pencils in my eyes. Barely clad enemies resist multiple slashes of a Katana, Little Bambi deer run off after being slashed multiple times with a Katana. You need to craft two deer skins and rope to make a water canteen yet you can't empty a beer bottle and fill that up with water to carry. Night mode is far too dark and too long meaning too much of the game is a drag to play. I could go on. A supposedly intelligent survival game is let down by stupidity and thoughtless game mechanics. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2019
    0
    I think you should take the private parts out and change the girl cannibals desine and you should make it split screen on ps4 and xbox but other than that i think that it is the best game i have ever played
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Jul 16, 2018
    90
    The Forest is an awkward open-world survival game. It's thrilling to play because of the intense atmosphere, but confusing maps and annoying enemies make it really hard for me to immerse into the game.
  2. Jun 21, 2018
    80
    In a crowded landscape littered with a few too many survival crafting games, The Forest makes a pretty strong case for itself. With an open-ended world balanced by a story that moves forward, The Forest contains both freedom and mounting tension and provides not just the means for the player to survive, but a compelling reason to do so.
  3. Jun 3, 2018
    80
    There's a lot to think about when it comes to surviving in The Forest, but the balance between each of its interlocking parts keeps the game moving at a riveting pace.