The Golf Club 2019 featuring PGA Tour Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Do you have what it takes to win PGA TOUR’s FedExCup? Compete in the all new officially licensed PGA TOUR Career mode. Play on famous courses like TPC Boston, TPC Sawgrass and more.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Golf Club 2019 - Official Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 28, 2018
    90
    For golf fans, The Golf Club 2019 featuring PGA Tour should be an essential purchase. It’s the refinement of all of HB Studios previous work, and while the series may have started out as an indie underdog it now feels like a AAA sports franchise.
  2. Sep 14, 2018
    80
    The addition of proper online multiplayer and the PGA Tour career mode make The Golf Club 2019 a meaningful improvement over its already impressive predecessor, even if the initial learning curve is on steeper side and the visual presentation remains stuck in the past.
  3. Sep 28, 2018
    80
    A winner in my book and certainly a game that fans of golf sims and realistic sports games will treasure for years to come.
  4. Sep 12, 2018
    78
    It’s entirely addicting and filled with more content than you could ever hope to play, so much so that I didn’t even really touch on the improved matchmaking and multiplayer options, the course creator, societies, etc. That mountain of content is wrapped up in a game that is overall pretty good. Much like golf, things that go wrong will frustrate you beyond belief, but they’ll make you feel like a million bucks when they go right. At least if you throw your controller in frustration at a bad shot it’ll be cheaper to replace than dumping your bag of clubs into a lake.
  5. Sep 9, 2018
    75
    The Golf Club strikes back, and this time it has the official PGA Tour licence. PGA Tour isn’t just a cosmetic feature, it adds a whole new level to the Carreer mode, making it even more interesting.
  6. 70
    While it can be frustrating navigating bunkers and other hazards while you hone your skills, The Golf Club featuring PGA Tour 2019 provides a solid, enjoyable golfing experience.
  7. Sep 5, 2018
    50
    I think less time in the clubhouse and more time on the course would do HB Studios some good.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 2
  2. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Sep 11, 2018
    5
    I want to reccomend this game, but in it's current state I just can't. The game definately needs some optimization. Are the graphics betterI want to reccomend this game, but in it's current state I just can't. The game definately needs some optimization. Are the graphics better than GC2, or worse? I'm not sure. The trees look better at times, and worse at others. Same thing with the water and grass textures. The skies are awful looking. The developers really need to work on the lighting. No cloud shadows, falling leaves, or weather, either. The "official" courses are a huge step backwards, and make me long for the ones in GC2. Does it play better? yes, but not significantly. Using the higher level clubs is mostly a disaster, at least for me. I hold my breath to see which way the ball is going to go. Character creation is still awful, I can't even come close to making a character that looks anything like me. (but then maybe that's a good thing;) The same lame announcer, really? (I'm guessing that John is a super nice guy in real life, but....) If I hear "That was going to be excellent!" one more time I'll slit my wrists. (I know you can shut it off, but I really would like to hear the game being announced, as it feels pretty barren otherwise) Is the game fun to play? That's a mixed bag. There are times when I think "Hey, this is pretty fun," followed by periods where well, for what ever reason, it just isn't. but right now there's just no way it's a 50 dollar game. I will say in all fairness that I'm not going to refund the game. I want to support the developers, and there are parts of the game that I enjoy. Just not enough parts to reccomend it. Expand
  2. May 21, 2019
    1
    glad i got this on 60% off sale inconsistent game mechanics makes it almost unplayable