Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 4, 2014
    72
    A good golf simulator, that will probably become great when more content arrives for it. The course editor has got great potential.
  2. PC Gamer
    Nov 10, 2014
    70
    Admirably back to basics, eschewing fancypants gimmicks to focus entirely on the ancient, noble art of hitting balls into holes. [Holiday 2014, p.58]
  3. 70
    Despite its unyielding dedication for all things realistic, I rather enjoyed the demanding style of play The Golf Club prides itself on, even during the first few hours, where the game will either draw you in or turn you off completely.
  4. Aug 26, 2014
    70
    With a bit more polish applied to its presentation and the addition of a career mode to keep us hooked, this could well have been a package to seriously threaten EA’s dominance in the world of golf games. As it stands, it’s still a strong foundation for the team at HB Studios to build upon for the future.
  5. Aug 25, 2014
    70
    The Golf Club is a bit wobbly and unfinished.
  6. Sep 5, 2014
    65
    If you don’t need modern elements like a career mode, character development or golf lectures this is for you. Especially if you also don’t need licensed players or courses. Or up-to-date visuals.
  7. Aug 25, 2014
    60
    The Golf Club falls short of the green in its current state. There is a tremendous amount of potential here, and the game is immensely satisfying at times due to the demanding nature of the simulation and the wide variety of courses available to play. Off-kilter swing mechanics and noteworthy performance problems have to be addressed, but this is a game to watch.
  8. Aug 28, 2014
    55
    The Golf Club has the potential to be so much more than it is. In my opinion it came out of early access too early, because the full game still feels very beta-y.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 59
  2. Negative: 20 out of 59
  1. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    This is NOT tiger woods! don't expect cheesy gimmicks or crowds to stroke your ego when making that 40 ft putt. This is more of an amateurThis is NOT tiger woods! don't expect cheesy gimmicks or crowds to stroke your ego when making that 40 ft putt. This is more of an amateur experience. You know, like going to the Golf club with a mate and shooting a round of golf.

    You will have many courses to play that will be user generated, Quite a clever move by the Devs seeing as they could not afford official course licenses or they were unable to obtain due to being owned by EA.

    The games graphics are not the best and not the worst. You have no sense of progression through stats, which is good. Your progression will be shooting a lower score on a course you previously did terrible on. Competing in tournaments or tours. Getting your average score down and so on. People will inevitably compare this with TW but I feel this would be unfair, they have different aims and perspectives.
    I loved TW but the boosting and being able to apply spin or remove it while mid-air was just plain stupid.

    This game will attract the more hardcore golfer. Difficulty will primarily come from the course you play and you being able to master the shot. All in all i recommend this game, its realistic, its fun, it has tons of potential with user generated courses, and I will be playing for a long time.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 19, 2014
    2
    I gave it a 2 because you can play something that resembles golf.

    I have been skeptical of this team from the beginning. If you are a TW
    I gave it a 2 because you can play something that resembles golf.

    I have been skeptical of this team from the beginning. If you are a TW hater - that is, you hated the support that TW got, well this game is produced by the team that supported TW (up to now).

    And it shows. No functional multiplayer, terrible terrible physics, and really gimmicky course creator.

    The idea of the course creator sounds pretty good in principle, but fire up a random course and... 9/10 times it's not actually playable. That is, you'll end up at a 430 yard par 4 with 20 yards of fairway in front of you, water for the next 350 or so, then some fairway and the green. So you're stuck, unless you want to chop 40 shots around the damn lake in the heavy rough.

    That's not the only thing that outright sucks though, as you'll find user created courses are even more diabolical. Wait till you get the flagstick that's elevated 100 yards. Also, there's cross platform sharing, so you'll get to sort through about 10000 of these by the end of week one. Good luck finding anything that resembles real golf in there!

    The real insult to injury though is the development team promising a very different game than what was available in 'early access'. It's the same game. Runs on the Xone at low settings. Trees blink in and out randomly. Weight graphics issues around the rough. Your player will stand upside down in the lake if your ball is in the right place.

    But don't worry, *someday* they're gonna fix it *WINK WINK*
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 20, 2014
    10
    I am going to give this game a 10 - strictly speaking it's a solid 8 - but I wanted to add balance to other reviews. I LOVE this game. It'sI am going to give this game a 10 - strictly speaking it's a solid 8 - but I wanted to add balance to other reviews. I LOVE this game. It's a really good game of golf. There are some glitches and there is a lack of character progression. But this game is so social. It's easy to play with your friends. Some players have put hundreds of hours in - that speaks volume for the playability of the game. There is a nice variety of shot modifications. You can even create your own courses. Simply put, I recommend this game. It's not perfect but most will be glad they bought it. Full Review »