The Good Life Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Play as Naomi, a journalist from New York who moves to a backwoods British town called Rainy Woods in order to pay off her massive debt.

    The only way for her to escape from debt hell is to take pictures of happenings in the town and report on them. Of course, 'the happiest town in the
    Play as Naomi, a journalist from New York who moves to a backwoods British town called Rainy Woods in order to pay off her massive debt.

    The only way for her to escape from debt hell is to take pictures of happenings in the town and report on them. Of course, 'the happiest town in the world' is not your average town...

    The inhabitants of the happiest town in the world are some of the most bizarre people you'll ever come across. You'll live alongside them as you solve mysteries and experience a hearty helping of craziness. We're sure that you'll eventually come to love all the mystery, horror, and good old charm that this town has to offer.
    Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Oct 25, 2021
    80
    While The Good Life still has some annoyances carried over from Deadly Premonition, it’s still a great time with some wacky characters. The transformations and photography are a lot of fun to mess around with, and the life simulation aspects compliment the more relaxed pace nicely.
  2. Jan 5, 2022
    75
    I enjoyed my time in Rainy Woods, but I wish The Good Life would have given me more reasons to stick around longer. It’s a refreshing experience that encourages you to slow down for a minute and take the time to smell whatever it is that grows out there. And for SWERY fans, The Good Life feels like his most polished effort to date and probably a greater realization of what he had attempted to do with Deadly Premonition, at least in terms of free, exploratory gameplay.
  3. Nov 1, 2021
    70
    The Good Life is another flawed yet fascinating gem from Swery65. It's a weird world full of unforgettable characters, and even when the gameplay grows a bit tiring or repetitive, it's worth all the photo quests and fetch missions in the world to see that next bonkers twist in the story.
  4. Oct 21, 2021
    60
    If you can get through the fetch quests and borderline walking simulator elements, then The Good Life has an intriguing narrative for you to unravel and enjoy. It’s charming and unique in its own way, with its goofy presentation and silly supernatural elements. Maybe it’s the good life that SWERY65 had always imagined.
  5. Jan 22, 2022
    59
    The developers seem to revel in their weak game design as if saying, “Yes, we know that our quests are atrocious, enjoy!” No interesting conversations, no stories, just emptiness decorated with mediocre puns and overly dumb situations. The same emptiness permeates the main storyline, which riffs on age-old cliches featuring UFOs, Nazis, Sherlock Holmes and medieval poems. There is no thought behind this madness, and all these quirky characters don’t come off as actual people.
  6. Oct 14, 2021
    50
    Boring, pointless, and jammed with grating characters and obnoxious story beats, The Good Life doesn't live up to its name.
  7. Edge Magazine
    Nov 4, 2021
    50
    The Good Life makes for a charmingly eccentric getaway for the 12 hours its story lasts, though you'd hardly want to spend weeks, let along months, there. [Issue#365, p.116]

See all 22 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Nov 6, 2021
    9
    The game was surprisingly interesting, odd characters and an even more weirder story, but nevertheless, i had a great time with the narrativeThe game was surprisingly interesting, odd characters and an even more weirder story, but nevertheless, i had a great time with the narrative overall, the gameplay on the other hand is a little wonky, but that's what to expect from a swery 65 game, i had fun with it, hopefully there will be more games like this in the future. Expand
  2. Oct 16, 2021
    8
    The Good Life is basically an RPG "fetch-quest" game with "life simulator" elements. It won't appeal to the masses, but if you are familiarThe Good Life is basically an RPG "fetch-quest" game with "life simulator" elements. It won't appeal to the masses, but if you are familiar with SWERY games this latest entry is def worth checking out. The presentation delivers everything we enjoyed about Deadly Premonition: odd and outdated game play mechanics, juxtaposed to a colorful cast of characters and a mystery that keeps us baited throughout the game. If you've ever played PS2 Japanese RPGs of the early 2000s, The Good Life will feel just right at home. Expand
  3. Oct 19, 2021
    7
    It's not just a matter of combining everything, but there are many elements that are half-finished and feel unnecessary.
    That element would
    It's not just a matter of combining everything, but there are many elements that are half-finished and feel unnecessary.
    That element would be a new element five years ago, which would make the whole game look like a cheap classic game of papier mache.
    Enjoying slow life in-game is difficult. Especially, I can't feel a sense of life due to the influence of graphics such as the whole city, people's actions, and movements.

    However, stories and debt repayments are not without fun. I think I'll try to clear only the story, so it seems that the experience will be different from the purpose provided by the game creator.
    Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2021
    2
    Optymalizacja leży i kwiczy. Ale jestem pełen podziwu - 2021 a wygląda gorzej od metina 2
  5. Oct 25, 2021
    1
    Getting tired of all the boring franchise cookie cutter games i thought I'd try this. The story is drawn out, the voice acting, which doesn'tGetting tired of all the boring franchise cookie cutter games i thought I'd try this. The story is drawn out, the voice acting, which doesn't happen too often, happens enough that i turned the volume off. It was a miserable game i just had to delete. Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2021
    0
    don't even bother with this. it's a game that needs to be really played with a controller but most things require you to dash and OH rightdon't even bother with this. it's a game that needs to be really played with a controller but most things require you to dash and OH right DASH DOESN'T WORK WITH A CONTROLLER!! Expand