• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Oct 24, 2011
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 48
  2. Negative: 6 out of 48
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    7
    Pros: Great graphics, Good Detail in Gore, Zombies/demons, interesting game modes.

    Cons: Upgraded weapons go away after each game, no leveling up or perks outside of match, Inferno is not fun when the entire level is filled with flames that slowly kill you. Difficulty is not balanced. Easy should be Normal Normal should be Hard and Hard should be suicide. Game is too frustrating when
    Pros: Great graphics, Good Detail in Gore, Zombies/demons, interesting game modes.

    Cons: Upgraded weapons go away after each game, no leveling up or perks outside of match, Inferno is not fun when the entire level is filled with flames that slowly kill you. Difficulty is not balanced. Easy should be Normal Normal should be Hard and Hard should be suicide. Game is too frustrating when you die every 3 seconds with virtually no pacing placed in the game. Wave 2 is just as hard as Wave 4. I actually spoke to one of the developers on their website pre game release and suggested that they add in a leveling and stat up system. I felt that this was really what the original mod was lacking. He said that it was a good suggestion and that they already implemented a upgrade system. Well they did add one and its completely useless. People dont enjoy pointless shooters anymore. Unreal tournament and Quake era are long gone. They should have listened to me and made the game more rewarding. They should use this is a lesson. Killing floor was succesful because it had a certain charm and it was very addictive to level up. This game will be dead in 3 months because people will lose interest. They will really have to add in some kind of a leveling system, fix the diffculty, fix the pacing, and add new game modes to try to keep their gaming crowd.
    Expand
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    7
    Unlike some gamers that had anything bad to say about this game, I am very pleased with this purchase, Its a fast pase shotter game with lots of action and you will always need to to shoot your way out of attacks. Unlike some shooter co-op games it can get boring with another player taken all the action, Free to roam your own direction and take out your own targets makes this game ofUnlike some gamers that had anything bad to say about this game, I am very pleased with this purchase, Its a fast pase shotter game with lots of action and you will always need to to shoot your way out of attacks. Unlike some shooter co-op games it can get boring with another player taken all the action, Free to roam your own direction and take out your own targets makes this game of horror hours of fun.. Not much to say about the graphics but hey if the game play is fun why worry about pretty graphics? its based in hell any way! I recommend this game to any one that enjoys co-op shooter games Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2011
    6
    Very rarely do I walk into a game expecting a challenge, however The Haunted : Hell's Reach actually had me turning the game down to easy, just to come to terms with the expansive (for a third person shooter) amount of combos and melee attacks you have at your disposal. The game is gorgeous, of this there is no doubt, The graphics are a key winner in this genre of horror survival. ThatVery rarely do I walk into a game expecting a challenge, however The Haunted : Hell's Reach actually had me turning the game down to easy, just to come to terms with the expansive (for a third person shooter) amount of combos and melee attacks you have at your disposal. The game is gorgeous, of this there is no doubt, The graphics are a key winner in this genre of horror survival. That and the fact that this game does not play around as far as trying to decide what you can and cannot do. You will be launched into a world, with no obtrusive story line poking it's head in to annoy you between levels, and certainly not gigabytes of bland videos to fill your HD that you watch once and never bother with again. Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2012
    5
    I have a curious like/hate relationship with this game. I really do love playing it - it's great fun for endless, mindless killing. I can't explain why, except it's unusually satifsying to get that squishing noise when you crush them. But it's ugly, the monsters are dreary, it's repetitive, it's limited, and its controls are awkward as hell. Granted, these guys are new. I take that intoI have a curious like/hate relationship with this game. I really do love playing it - it's great fun for endless, mindless killing. I can't explain why, except it's unusually satifsying to get that squishing noise when you crush them. But it's ugly, the monsters are dreary, it's repetitive, it's limited, and its controls are awkward as hell. Granted, these guys are new. I take that into account. Perhaps I was hoping for the jaw-dropping visuals and frights of Painkiller or Doom 3. So many little issues that screw it up - and yet it's a fun distraction and stress release with its very basic and sometimes goofy kill-fest. Unfortunately, that's all there is to it. No back story, no context, no cool hidden stuff to find, just a few maps (which aren't that interesting), hoaky monsters, ....and plenty of annoyances with the way you do battle. It's insanely awkward to aim your weapons, so you rely on kicks and punches. Those attack combos are odd and way too many of them to learn. The camera view - sort of third person, over the shoulder - is a bit wonky and headache-inducing. I far prefer the way the new Tron works in that regard, or even the latest Transformers. Misses the mark on so many levels - and yet it can still be a kick to play when you want something mindless. It's like craving and then porking out on bad candy - fun for a while, but you can get stomach sick and sick of it fast. Expand
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 18, 2012
    50
    Hordes of dumb, brain-eating zombies couldn't help this promising cooperative shooter to rise above grey averageness. [June 2012]
  2. Dec 16, 2011
    68
    KTX Software has to draw people's attention to Haunted's original multiplayer modes, otherwise the game's already humble potential will be lost in brainless monster-bashing matches.
  3. Nov 14, 2011
    50
    If you have three friends who don't mind rustling through some awkward mechanics and just want to kill massive quantities of demons with no consequences then pick it up. Otherwise, if you're into deeper multiplayer experiences, there are countless other games that will be more suitable to your cravings.