User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 598 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 29, 2021
    10
    Really good game , bloomer team make narrative games that are really stunning
  2. Feb 8, 2021
    8
    Un buen juego, me ha sorprendido mucho. No suelo jugar a juegos de terror pero gracias a su historia no he podido parar (pese a los sustos). El toque de pantalla doble es muy original y la historia engancha de principio a fin. Como aspectos negativos podría destacar algunos crasheos que tuve en un momento del juego y que técnicamente es muy exigente. Jugando con una RTX 2060 los framesUn buen juego, me ha sorprendido mucho. No suelo jugar a juegos de terror pero gracias a su historia no he podido parar (pese a los sustos). El toque de pantalla doble es muy original y la historia engancha de principio a fin. Como aspectos negativos podría destacar algunos crasheos que tuve en un momento del juego y que técnicamente es muy exigente. Jugando con una RTX 2060 los frames oscilaban continuamente entre 40-60 y a veces con caídas muy bruscas y lagazos. Recomendaría este juego a cualquiera, espero que haya una segunda parte. Expand
  3. Feb 8, 2021
    8
    For this sized Studio,The Medium is an Awesome Game

    I joined the Xbox ecosystem with Xbox One X in Summer 2020.I didnt play so many Xbox exclusives.Also i purchased Game Pass Ultimate with Xbox One X.I played The Medium at PC.Because it wasnt compatible with Xbox One X.But The Medium is by far the best Xbox/PC exclusive game that i have ever played.The team made an awesome work.Though
    For this sized Studio,The Medium is an Awesome Game

    I joined the Xbox ecosystem with Xbox One X in Summer 2020.I didnt play so many Xbox exclusives.Also i purchased Game Pass Ultimate with Xbox One X.I played The Medium at PC.Because it wasnt compatible with Xbox One X.But The Medium is by far the best Xbox/PC exclusive game that i have ever played.The team made an awesome work.Though the optimization and stability isnt anywhere good, the game design is good and the story was awesome.Keep up the good work guys...
    Expand
  4. Feb 8, 2021
    10
    One of the best games I've played in a long time. The story and atmosphere were wonderful and the voice acting was top notch. Performance left a lot to be desired though. I really hope they continue the story.
  5. Feb 5, 2021
    9
    Me surpreendeu! Confesso que não esperava muito do game, mas ao dar play, adentrei a atmosfera e PQP. O jogo me fisgou. Minha placa de vídeo (GTX1070), sofreu um pouco para dar conta, por isso eu acho que a empresa precisa focar bastante no polimento dos próximos jogos, para que isso, não seja um motivo par afastar novos jogadores. Mas ainda assim, minha experiência é totalmenteMe surpreendeu! Confesso que não esperava muito do game, mas ao dar play, adentrei a atmosfera e PQP. O jogo me fisgou. Minha placa de vídeo (GTX1070), sofreu um pouco para dar conta, por isso eu acho que a empresa precisa focar bastante no polimento dos próximos jogos, para que isso, não seja um motivo par afastar novos jogadores. Mas ainda assim, minha experiência é totalmente satisfatória. Espero que vire uma nova franquia!. Por games do gênero. Expand
  6. Feb 3, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. O jogo possui altos e baixos na história, o começo é lento, porém em pouco tempo ele começa a pegar um ritmo e se mantém nele de forma agradável ao decorrer do jogo.
    Os gráficos são lindíssimos e a concepção de arte tambem, porém peca nas animações faciais e na resolução.
    Amei a história e achei o jogo sensacional
    Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2021
    9
    Superb way to tell a story. Utterly engaging. The game design deserves an award
  8. Feb 9, 2021
    9
    Best Xbox - Pc exclusive so far. Beautiful and unique, immersive, great atmosphere , visuals, voice acting and story. Performance and character animation could be a little better but I think that Bllober team will take care of these things in the sequel...

    Great job from a small studio.. keep up the good work!
  9. Feb 7, 2021
    10
    Very intense, very grim, The story is well developed, the surrounding is just magnificent. Very often you see nice enough horrors, that turns a bit candy at the some point. no such thing in here! From the very beginning until the heartbreaking end- not a drop of hope in the story. If you enjoyed Hellblade this will be your new obsessive-compulsive experience.
  10. Feb 9, 2021
    8
    hope bloober team is gona start working on a remaster version of the medium. that master peace Narrative and voice acting deserves a better gameplay and less graphic issues.
    also pls stop using unreal engine
  11. Feb 5, 2021
    5
    The graphics are great. The story seemed okay. But the monologue feels so immature, it borders the ridiculous.
    And the worst thing is the characters are absolutely not credible. The writing is what hurts this game.
    At one point in the game, I realized I was rolling my eyes too often - and to top it all off I met a certain key character whose dialogue made absolutely no sense whatsoever.
    The graphics are great. The story seemed okay. But the monologue feels so immature, it borders the ridiculous.
    And the worst thing is the characters are absolutely not credible. The writing is what hurts this game.
    At one point in the game, I realized I was rolling my eyes too often - and to top it all off I met a certain key character whose dialogue made absolutely no sense whatsoever.
    I couldn't stand it anymore, and I quit the game, probably forever.
    Too bad - it had some potential, but in 2021 - there are WAY too many FABULOUS games out there to waste my precious time on mediocre writing.
    Expand
  12. Feb 10, 2021
    6
    Decent. The game's story is good. Gameplay is bare bones. Chase scenes with the game's primary villain lead to some genuinely adrenaline pumping moments. Environments begin to look drab and repetitive until you get outside the facility. The story drove me to see the game through to completion. The game has some unique elements which help make up for the minimal level of interactivity.
  13. Feb 9, 2021
    8
    I appreciate effort to make something unique and different. Considered how different it is compared to other games, I think devs did great job.
    From my perspective, the best thing about this game is two worlds system, which creates very decent atmosphere. Audio-visually the game is superb too. Strong part of this game is also story, which I found quite complicated and therefore I think
    I appreciate effort to make something unique and different. Considered how different it is compared to other games, I think devs did great job.
    From my perspective, the best thing about this game is two worlds system, which creates very decent atmosphere. Audio-visually the game is superb too. Strong part of this game is also story, which I found quite complicated and therefore I think game should be a little longer to cover more details. But maybe playtime itself is not the issue. I found myself bored by plain walking sometimes, so maybe if playtime was used better, its length would be enough. Story is also told via letters found randomly.
    Main character is very charismatic and I liked her.
    What I didn't like about this game is camera. Yes, it is unique, and I liked it at very beginning, but later in the game it started to be annoying. Whole camera system is interesting for sure, but it also creates situations where character is difficult to control and you may find yourself kind of lost sometimes. Standard camera system simply provides better overview.
    When it comes to general gameplay, I am not impressed. It was little too hollow I would say.
    I like puzzle elements in games, but not too much in this one. Some people may be ok with them, but I found them little boring or annoying in general.

    Pros:
    + story,
    + graphics and audio,
    + main character,
    + parallel worlds system,
    + cutscenes,
    + general immersion.

    Cons:
    - keyboard experience,
    - camera,
    - little backtracking,
    - lot of plain boring walking,
    - lack of story details.
    Expand
  14. Jan 31, 2021
    5
    While certainly blessed with an interesting story and some interesting underlying mechanics, "The Medium" tries to imitate certain classic titles of the survival horror genre without grasping what turned them into those classics. They also mistook some of the mostly age-related flaws of those games and not only replicated them, but made them worse.

    You don't get a masterpiece if you
    While certainly blessed with an interesting story and some interesting underlying mechanics, "The Medium" tries to imitate certain classic titles of the survival horror genre without grasping what turned them into those classics. They also mistook some of the mostly age-related flaws of those games and not only replicated them, but made them worse.

    You don't get a masterpiece if you just imitate the terrible movement controls of those games and have the camera angle change three times whenever you walk through a room. And having to zoom in on any given item or document up to three times so that you can look at it, only to have to zoom out three times so that you can move again does not result in the kind of nostalgia the developers were obviously going for.

    It's also one of those games where someone really wanted to make a movie, and did neither have the budget nor the experience to pull it off. Overall the narrative is decent, and despite some pacing issues and wooden animations the team succeded at creating the atmosphere they were going for.

    You can see the inner battle of "The Medium" in almost every scene, but you can also see the inner battle of the game to stand on it's own feet and not just become a cheap copy - and I'm not sure that one has a happy ending.
    Expand
  15. Feb 22, 2021
    0
    a stupid bug-filled production story, not interesting, although it is a special game, I had fps drops, damn you
  16. Feb 3, 2021
    9
    The Medium é incrível! Consegue trazer de novo aquela sensação de Resident evil e Silent Hill, clássicos, honrando a velha guarda, com história e mecânicas novas.
    Título obrigatório para amantes de survival horror.
  17. Feb 4, 2021
    10
    Grandiose erfrischende und packende story gepaart mit toller Grafik und atmosphärischen sound
  18. Feb 4, 2021
    6
    A dull and short affair, with gameplay that doesn't really expect much from the player, besides walking between points of interest.

    It has some brilliant voice acting and music, however. Get it if you want a time waste on GamePass, but I don't recommend buying it.
  19. Feb 4, 2021
    8
    It is a good game, it is not a silent hill, but without a doubt it is an interesting job, and more with the dual screen, it is something that surprised me a lot, I only had a small problem when enabling HDR + RT on PC, the frames dropped a lot from +60 to -40 fps, but I imagine that in some patch that will be solved.
  20. Feb 7, 2021
    9
    The game sets a very creepy tone from the start. This isn’t your usual combat horror game. This takes you on a journey that is filled with scares and interesting characters. A very story driven game that I loved from start to finish.
  21. Feb 3, 2021
    8
    Story

    Very interesting concept, hooked me in right from the get-go. It was an immersive, gripping experience. Dual reality driven story telling in this perspective was never done in gaming. There are lots of games out there with dual screen features, but this one brings a new meaning to the term. It is its own style. A little bit short, and not a definitive ending. I would be
    Story

    Very interesting concept, hooked me in right from the get-go. It was an immersive, gripping experience.

    Dual reality driven story telling in this perspective was never done in gaming. There are lots of games out there with dual screen features, but this one brings a new meaning to the term. It is its own style.

    A little bit short, and not a definitive ending. I would be really happy with an additional 2-3 hours.

    9/10

    Graphics

    Start of the next-gen here! And this game surely proves that. Definitely, a new level of graphics are achieved in this title. I can only imagine what can be built upon this. One special mention would be that the game does not "need" temporal anti aliasing. Some games out there nowadays "need" TAA to be not broken graphically. Hopefully, this game is perfectly fine at 1080p without TAA, even FXAA wasn't needed, no apparent jaggies could be seen. So yeah, finally enjoying a TAA-less, proper game was refreshing. In-door/little scope games do usually outshine other games in the industry, so it is expected from this game to look really good, and honestly, I would say it delivers.

    Graphic options do not scale very good. Only resolution makes a meaningful difference, and it makes the game look really bad.

    8/10

    Gameplay/Engine

    Enough gameplay elements to not make you feel like you're completely out of the story, so that's a plus

    Clunky character animations. Really, it's really bad. I hope the Bloober Team improves their character physics and animations

    7/10

    Overall, 8/10
    Expand
  22. Feb 3, 2021
    10
    Excelente juego, excelente historia, dejemos el fandom a un lado, soy jugador de todas la consolas y puedo decir que este juego es una obra de arte
  23. Feb 3, 2021
    10
    Beautiful game. Visually stunning and emotionally touching. Lack of combat makes all the way more impressive.
  24. Feb 3, 2021
    10
    The game is amazing yeah maybe the gameplay wasn't that good but man the atmosphere, soundtracks and the story were unique and beautiful good job bloober team
  25. Feb 4, 2021
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Was hooked all the way through... which is unusual for me in alot of games... rarely find myself up all night playing something anymore.... Loses one point or that freaking ending though... I hate that ambiguous type ending...

    People thinking marianne killed herself doesnt make a lick of sense. Lily specifically says that the demons existence is tied to lilies lifeforce.. She couldnt kil herself because the demon would stop her... and lily HAS no opportunity at a normal life, her life is over, its been bitter and sad, and even if somehow marianne killing herself magically stops the demon(which it had no problem persisting, killing everything alive before she showed up, for decades, it only needs mari to essentially switch to a more sturdy host) Who would honestly think lily would just happily go on after watching her sister blow her brains out, and losing the only thing left she had that could in her own words "end this"... the reason the demon kept saying "It all ends in me", and lily repeats that in the end is because the demon is an extension of her, its a corrupted part of her soul torn from her and set free... i just needed to clear that up, because people keep saying its likely mari killed herself, so lily can go on having a life she never had like mari... LOL mari's life wasnt great, was it as bad as lilies? no but not great by a longshot...she lives with death, day in and day out... she suffers from burns over 45% of her body(although never seen), and wrestled with a past she didnt understand or know of at all... I'd say neither of these girls would go on just living out normal "happy" lives... Lol thats just a ridiculous assumption... mari could actually cease someones existence, and erase their soul essentially... Its why she was so important in the plot to destroy the demon... Erasing lilies soul would erase that corrupted extension that was terrorizing everything... Mari killing herself... it just turns into the long drawn out method, Lily has to wait till she expires naturally for The Maw to be stopped... and its possible the maw could still exist WITH lilies soul still around, because mari's skill is to Move souls on, just like she does the entire game, essentially erasing their existence... and whos to say the maw doesnt draw out another medium to the property and still getting its brand spanking new fly ass skinsuit... Lily Had to die, even if it wasnt what mari wnated... In a way, that could still be considered saving lily... mari's skill would ensure she didnt linger even after death with the Maw, and that lilies suffering would finally end.. When thomas's shadow said "you can still help her.." he didnt say save her..
    Expand
  26. Feb 6, 2021
    9
    Ótimo jogo, bonito, boa narrativa, trilha sonora excelente e gameplay surpreendentemente gostoso.possui alguns problemas como desempenho e a física, mas é tipico de jogos indie...
  27. Feb 6, 2021
    10
    excelent game, fantatic............................................................
  28. Feb 6, 2021
    10
    Bloomer Team create a nice game again. Detail story and worked world, amazing soundtrack (Akira Yamaoka is good as always) and good example of horror-game (finally we get horror without screamers but with nice a tense atmosphere)
    Sure, game have some problem with productivity, optimization and IMO quests (is very easy). But c'mon, games such this as very little!
    The Medium really a
    Bloomer Team create a nice game again. Detail story and worked world, amazing soundtrack (Akira Yamaoka is good as always) and good example of horror-game (finally we get horror without screamers but with nice a tense atmosphere)
    Sure, game have some problem with productivity, optimization and IMO quests (is very easy). But c'mon, games such this as very little!

    The Medium really a good project and I hope that we get part 2 or DLC.
    Expand
  29. Jan 30, 2021
    6
    Me encantan los survival horror, es uno de mis géneros favoritos. Pero tengo que decir que The Medium no es un survival horror. De hecho , está muy lejos de serlo. Es una aventura gráfica al mas puro estilo de Telltale Games pero sin la rejugabilidad de estos juegos debido a las elecciones.
    The medium es un buen juego, correcto sin alardes. Tiene una historia muy interesante de suspense
    Me encantan los survival horror, es uno de mis géneros favoritos. Pero tengo que decir que The Medium no es un survival horror. De hecho , está muy lejos de serlo. Es una aventura gráfica al mas puro estilo de Telltale Games pero sin la rejugabilidad de estos juegos debido a las elecciones.
    The medium es un buen juego, correcto sin alardes. Tiene una historia muy interesante de suspense que te atrapa bastante y quieres saber en todo momento del título cada vez más y más de la elaborada narrativa que ofrece. Sin duda lo mejor del juego.
    Gráficamente es bonito pero no es next gen desde luego en ningún aspecto y mucho menos en los modelados y expresiones faciales que son bastante lamentables.
    La dualidad de mundos es interesante pero noto que está desaprovechada en el juego.
    El sonido es un gran aliciente y la banda sonora también.
    El juego carece de puzles interesantes y no hay ningún tipo de reto durante la aventura.
    No he muerto ni una sola vez y si alguien muere es porque algo ha hecho mal no porque el juego le proponga un reto.
    El juego puede durar unas 10 horas ya que la movilidad es lenta pero lo peor del título sin duda es que carece de exploración y no ofrece rejugabilidad ninguna.

    Básicamente ver un longplay en youtube y jugar al juego no dista de ser una experiencia muy diferente siendo sinceros.

    Aun así es un buen título que aconsejo si tienes el game pass pero no recomendaría a nadie por 50 euros.

    Gráficos 7
    Jugabilidad 5
    Sonido 8,5
    Vida útil 4

    NOTA FINAL 6

    -JUEGOS SIMILARES-
    Until dawn es sin duda un gran título que se me viene a la mente si te gusto y tiene mas vida útil.
    Otra opción interesante seria Song of Horror aunque ese juego si que es más cercano a un survival-horror.
    Expand
  30. Feb 7, 2021
    9
    First of all let me start of by saying it pains me to see those negative reviews. This game is absolutely amazing, Let's focus on the story because that's really what stands out in this game. It is absolutely phenomenal, I couldn't pull myself away simply because I wanted to find out more about this world and characters. It develops at a nice pace and ends with one of the most emotionalFirst of all let me start of by saying it pains me to see those negative reviews. This game is absolutely amazing, Let's focus on the story because that's really what stands out in this game. It is absolutely phenomenal, I couldn't pull myself away simply because I wanted to find out more about this world and characters. It develops at a nice pace and ends with one of the most emotional last 30 minutes of a video game that I played in a while. It left me feeling shocked and exited for everything that happened withing those last minutes. It is storytelling at it's best. You feel the characters and their emotions, you feel what they've gone through. The music greatly complements the story and action. The performance from the voice actors and music artists is really good as well. They help the game feel more real and emotional. The gameplay is almost 99% exploration and that's fine by me, because you slowly piece everything together on your own. It also doesn't fell dull at any moment. I didn't exactly love the "escape from the monster" sequences but it had it's place in a story. Everything else gameplay wise was just great. Overall an amazing game and an emotional experience. I highly recommend it especially if you have Game Pass. Check it out, the game has some nice horror elements and its extremally interesting. Expand
  31. Feb 1, 2021
    4
    No es AA es un indie.
    Gráficos 6 nada del otro mundo. Solo utiliza cámaras fijas con movimientos controlados, para ahorrar recursos. De esta forma, cualquier juego logra buena estética. Ya que no consume nada y pueden exprimir más cada hardware. Técnicamente es mucho menos que indie. Animaciones, malas, interacción con el entorno, inexistente, traspasa la hierba, no la mueve al caminar, es
    No es AA es un indie.
    Gráficos 6 nada del otro mundo. Solo utiliza cámaras fijas con movimientos controlados, para ahorrar recursos. De esta forma, cualquier juego logra buena estética. Ya que no consume nada y pueden exprimir más cada hardware. Técnicamente es mucho menos que indie. Animaciones, malas, interacción con el entorno, inexistente, traspasa la hierba, no la mueve al caminar, es realmente malo el apartado técnico. La historia es correcta, pero mal contada. Ni llega a a ser un video juego. Ya que no podes siquiera tomar una decisión. Sólo tenes que ir viendo cóm
    o ocurren de manera forzada todos sus elementos. Aburrido como pocos. Until Dawn es 3 veces superior
    Expand
  32. Feb 3, 2021
    6
    Bloober Team really need to stop trying do a horror games. When Medium is focus on characters and story telling is good. But when we must run from stupid giant piece of garbage with wings and Cookie Monster voice, than the only thing you feel is cringe than fear. It's far for being bad game, but I also can't call it a good one
  33. Feb 9, 2021
    8
    This game is not a horor game, but more a thriller. The only time I got scared was at the begining at the game. I would recommended this game to you if you like a good thriller. It has alot of good puzzles. The graphics is also good and it has some really good scenes .
  34. Feb 1, 2021
    2
    A very disappointing title here. Performance issues abound and just a lack of any real coherent gameplay. Simply walk for long stretches of time, as the game refuses to let you run in many of the rooms, solving what can barely be considered puzzles. Then running away from things when it wants you to endure a chase scene, that almost feels like I'm playing Dragon's Lair again or thoseA very disappointing title here. Performance issues abound and just a lack of any real coherent gameplay. Simply walk for long stretches of time, as the game refuses to let you run in many of the rooms, solving what can barely be considered puzzles. Then running away from things when it wants you to endure a chase scene, that almost feels like I'm playing Dragon's Lair again or those terrible chase levels in games like the Lion King or Crash Bandicoot!. Enagements only become mildly challenging when the interaction mechanics of the game cause you issues. There are, irritating camera angles, a very narrow playfield because your display is split between two different world views...which inherently works against the game all thre way through. It's a bizarrely dreadful design choice, to say the least

    I'm a big fan of horror, old slower paced adventures and I can see what they were trying to do or achieve, but it's a tedious farce that isn't enjoyable to play at all. Regardless all the performance issues, there is just very little positive to say about it...other than it'll cost next to nothing to play on gamepass. You can't find much better games than this mess.
    Expand
  35. Feb 1, 2021
    1
    This game is a buggy mess, one that is more frustrating to play than anything else. Any suspense or horror comes purely from the AWFUL controls. The camera switching is the most scary thing in the game.
    It's sad since the game is quite interesting when you can find the next bit of story, you certainly want to see what happens next. This serves to make you torture yourself as you slog
    This game is a buggy mess, one that is more frustrating to play than anything else. Any suspense or horror comes purely from the AWFUL controls. The camera switching is the most scary thing in the game.
    It's sad since the game is quite interesting when you can find the next bit of story, you certainly want to see what happens next. This serves to make you torture yourself as you slog through the physical impasses that the game presents by way of wonky controls that are never consistent, and scripted events that either kill you or jar you from whatever you were actually trying to do.

    The game is gorgeous sometimes, and in the fleeting moments when you are not being confined to near identical looking labyrinths of meh, it can be stunning even. Some of the beginning sequences such as walking down a trail through a forest will make you stop and wish you could look around. Did I mention this plays from a fixed/on rails camera perspective like Resident Evil? Not my thing at all to be fair.
    I played on PC with the graphics maxed out. The game ran smoothly for me (as well it should with my computer!) except for a few of the split screen moments. Strangely, it was a game engine issue when it dropped from my monitors refresh rate of 150 to about 30. No matter what settings I changed in the game from minimum to maximum, it was always locked at a low FPS in these particular split scenes, and it was no faster at 720P minimum than 1080P Ultra. Too many draw calls perhaps? I didn't run it in DX12 with raytracing, so maybe it would have been different if I had.

    I stopped short of completing the game, at least for now. When you die due to a bug only to find that the nearest "checkpoint" is a long boring sequence back with lots of talking and artificially slow walking before even getting another chance at the quick time(ish) event the game requires to continue, the only emotion the game causes is RAGE by the third time.
    I'm upset since I wasted so much of my time and effort against the controls only to be insulted by the extremely poor checkpoint placement on top of it having been a bug that killed me in the first place. (very VERRY mild spoiler? maybe? The event in question involved grabbing and moving an object. To the devs, incase it was a bug that can be fixed; It was a cement mixer. You know the one. It could _NOT_ be moved.) If I could just watch this game play itself, I would. It DOES have an interesting story, nice visuals, and honestly great sound design.

    I would recommend skipping this game and going straight to your favorite online video site to watch a playthrough instead. I'm the type of gamer who is straight up allergic to spoilers, I NEVER look at videos before playing a game I am interested in. I don't like how hard companies have to try and pitch their games these days to the point of spoiling them themselves in fact. I've never recommended someone watch a play through of any game until this one, and generally frown upon those videos since they could be damaging to the game developers. In this case though I really think it's the better way to experience this one. :/ I might return to it and complete it some day, but definitely not today.
    As I mentioned above, I don't watch videos on things if I know I am interested in them heavily, such as a sequel to a game I loved. While this was not such a game, in this case I saw some media when it was first shown at e3 or whichever trade show it was first shown off at. I thought it looked really cool from the initial presentation, but I don't remember any indications that it was fixed camera, and worse, really poorly implemented fixed camera.
    Devs, make the horrible joystick direction lock handicap a toggle please? Actual gamers like myself who instinctively correct the joystick orientation do NOT like being constantly thrown into the wall by your built in baby system that lets you keep holding the joystick the same way after a camera change as you were before it. When you do need to make a slight adjustment after, the game then updates your direction to the one your joystick is actually at. Given how painfully slow the character turns around, this makes you slowly walk into a wall, then slowly scrape along as you S-L-O-W-L-Y turn around, just to go back the way you were already trying to go. No doubt while something is actively chasing you. :) I am very thankful I played this through Game Pass. I would have been extremely disappointed if I had spent any money on this game. I can justify my Game Pass cost with many other titles and completely omit this one from its value in my head thankfully.

    Three stars for cool idea and nice visuals, one ultimate star because the former positives to the game only serve to be the carrot on the end of the self torture stick.
    Expand
  36. Jan 29, 2021
    8
    a pretty good game, but not the best, it should be longer, have harder puzzles and more mecanics
  37. Jan 30, 2021
    10
    Estou gosto muito do genero terror, mas esse game me prendeu demais.
    Muitas novidades e sabemos que na industria dos games isso faz falta.
    Joguei no gamepass pc e espero q a MS lance mais games assim.
  38. Jan 29, 2021
    5
    Szczerze gra mnie mocno zawiodła pod wieloma względami wady produkcji wymienię poniżej w punktach dla przejrzystości

    1 .Cena : Tak jest to wada jestem człowiekiem który przelicza czas gry na zł nowa produkcja Bloober Team aktualnie kosztuje zawrotne 180 zł gdyby przejście jej zajmowało z 30-40 godzin to byłbym w stanie to zaakceptować ale tak nie jest fabuły starcza maksymalnie na 8
    Szczerze gra mnie mocno zawiodła pod wieloma względami wady produkcji wymienię poniżej w punktach dla przejrzystości

    1 .Cena : Tak jest to wada jestem człowiekiem który przelicza czas gry na zł nowa produkcja Bloober Team aktualnie kosztuje zawrotne 180 zł gdyby przejście jej zajmowało z 30-40 godzin to byłbym w stanie to zaakceptować ale tak nie jest fabuły starcza maksymalnie na 8 godzin co daje około 22 zł za 1 godzinę dla porównania cyberpunk 2077 kosztujący 20zł więcej na premierę oferuje aż 50 godzin rozgrywki przepaść ogromna gdybym miał do wyboru kupić the medium lub cyberpunka to nie wahałbym sie ani chwili i wyszedł z cyberpunkiem ze sklepu

    2. Horror a może nie ? : Zacznijmy od tego że produkcja była od dawna promowana jako gra horror patrząc na poprzedni tytuł od tego studia czyli blair witch miałem wysokie oczekiwania niestety jak sie okazało za wysokie gra nie ma nic wspólnego z horrorem przez pierwsze 2 godziny gry twórcy jedynie próbują nas straszyć uwaga migającym światłem takie coś mogłoby kogoś przestraszyć może 10 lat temu ale nie dziś gra naprawdę długo myślałem po przejściu co miało nas w tej grze wystraszyć i nic nie wymyśliłem dla mnie studio zrobiło krok w tył pod tym względem straszenia nawet nie pokusili się na dodanie do gry banalnych do wykonania jumpscarów zdecydowanie nie jest to tytuł dla osób lubiących horrory

    3 Wymagania : W skrócie są kosmiczne do odpalenia gry na low w 30 klatkach jest potrzebny gtx 1060 patrząc na statystyki steama które pokazują najczęściej używane karty przez graczy można założyć że około 60-70 % graczy nie jest w stanie komfortowo zagrać w the medium gra też nie wygląda jakoś lepiej od innych tytułów z poprzednich lat

    4 Wpychanie mechanik na siłę: Mówię tu o mechanice np podzielonego ekranu w momencie gdy protagonistka przenosi sie do 2 świata obraz dzieli sie na 2 części 1 strona pokazuje świat realny natomiast 2 świat duchów znajduje ona w nim pewną osobę i zaczyna rozmowe i tu dzieje sie nagle coś dziwnego z 1 strony na ekranie widzimy protagonistkę mówiąca do ściany a z 2 normalnie rozmawiającą z osobą po co podczas takiej rozmowy jest nam pokazywany świat realny skoro nic sie tam nie dzieje nie lepiej byłoby dać świat duchów na pełny ekran ? jak dla mnie jest to takie wpychanie mechaniki na siłę

    5.Reszta: Historia jest poprawna nie wybitna dodatkowo jednorazowa zagadki są stworzone jak dla dziecka trafiłem może raz podczas rozgrywki na jakąś trudniejszą no i lokacje są całkiem ładne

    Szczerze odradzam jej kupno za pełną cenę jeśli naprawdę chcecie ją przetestować kupcie sobie gamepassa za 40 zł tyle może i jest warta ewentualnie poczekajcie z rok będzie na przecenie po 30 zł
    Expand
  39. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    Świetny klimat. Gra zdecydowanie nie dla wszystkich ale mnie kupiła Na średnim sprzęcie też daje radę.
  40. Jan 29, 2021
    10
    Gracias, gracias por este juego, por yamaoka en la musica y por volver a traer este tipo de juego de terror en 2021. Siento injusta la comparación con Silent hills pero es que es directa es normal que no se pueda comparar estéticamente. Han conseguido captar los inicios de esa saga que tantos fans tiene ahora. Puzles sencillos y a la vez complejos si no miras bien. Narrativa ni muy densaGracias, gracias por este juego, por yamaoka en la musica y por volver a traer este tipo de juego de terror en 2021. Siento injusta la comparación con Silent hills pero es que es directa es normal que no se pueda comparar estéticamente. Han conseguido captar los inicios de esa saga que tantos fans tiene ahora. Puzles sencillos y a la vez complejos si no miras bien. Narrativa ni muy densa ni muy floja y las cámaras y escenarios de 10.
    Por supuesto sin descontar el soundtrack que es simplemente genial.
    Expand
  41. Jan 30, 2021
    5
    First of all, I really like the idea of seeing both worlds at the same time and the 'lock camera' brings me memories from old graphicals aventures, i think it fits well in this kind of games. The game has not the best of the graphics but still pretty ok. On the other hand, game is poorly optimized and suffer big frame drops everytime the camera change or some action happens but i can seeFirst of all, I really like the idea of seeing both worlds at the same time and the 'lock camera' brings me memories from old graphicals aventures, i think it fits well in this kind of games. The game has not the best of the graphics but still pretty ok. On the other hand, game is poorly optimized and suffer big frame drops everytime the camera change or some action happens but i can see them fixing this in the future. And thats another point, this game doesnt have too much action, its boring at some points, puzzles are pretty easy and for the most part, you just walk till the end of the game. Personally i didnt feel anything playing the game, not even a moment of tension or stress for the characters. In the end, disappointed. Expand
  42. Jan 29, 2021
    7
    The Medium is probably the most fully realized (original) game by Bloober Team.

    the art direction is simply out of this world. as a person who loved Beksiński art before knowing how to even read his name properly, I am amazed at how well his paintings and the whole world become a living entity. it's a bit less impressive in the tight interiors, partly because of the sometimes
    The Medium is probably the most fully realized (original) game by Bloober Team.

    the art direction is simply out of this world. as a person who loved Beksiński art before knowing how to even read his name properly, I am amazed at how well his paintings and the whole world become a living entity. it's a bit less impressive in the tight interiors, partly because of the sometimes questionable placements of the camera, but overall the love and appreciation for pan Beksiński is felt in every second of this game.

    the story is very decent, too. it manages a nice balance of predictability and genuine suspense and mystery, very familiar and mundane late-soviet things are nestled well together with some rather screwed up subject matters. if anything, for a foreigner who is interested in Poland, this game feels and plays very polish. being from a neighboring country, I quite liked the painful authenticity of the environment design.

    the characters are quite interesting, too - probably my favorite out of all BT's games. they are solidly written, amazingly acted and have enough charisma to make drudging through the "gameplay" and at times disastrous level design at very least bearable.

    because no matter how competent the game is, how well-animated, no matter how many expensive talents are involved, and how lofty the developer's ambitions are, this is still very much a Bloober Team's game, a stylish, unevenly paced walking simulator with tons of notes, unskippable chases from unkillable monsters who one-hit you and painful, miserable lack of any meaningful gameplay.

    yes, the split-screen level design and puzzles are nice - the first couple of times. same as mirror puzzles. same as "dive" puzzles. 95% of the game is just walking, sometimes breaking into a ridiculously slow jog.

    unfortunately, it's not the "Silent Hill successor" we've been promised. it's Layers of Fear, but in third person. an early 00s puzzle game, but simplistic and boring.

    just another Bloober Team's game.
    Expand
  43. Jan 30, 2021
    3
    Really wanted to love this game but it just sucks gameplay wise tbh.

    The good: - Interesting world. - Awesome artstyle/direction - Creepy Atmosphere - Split reality was a cool idea. - Fixed Camera angels - Story The meh: - Not really that scary - Plot holes in the story, and the ending was unsatisfying. - Constantly having to fight the controlls when the camera angels
    Really wanted to love this game but it just sucks gameplay wise tbh.

    The good:
    - Interesting world.
    - Awesome artstyle/direction
    - Creepy Atmosphere
    - Split reality was a cool idea.
    - Fixed Camera angels
    - Story

    The meh:
    - Not really that scary
    - Plot holes in the story, and the ending was unsatisfying.
    - Constantly having to fight the controlls when the camera angels changes.

    The bad:
    - Game NEVER used the split reality mechanic to its fullest potential.
    - Unoptimized. HUGE framedrops for no reason.

    The awful:
    - Calling this a puzzle game is an insult to all puzzle games out there.
    - Game mechanics that are almost NEVER used (For example. Combining items, only used TWICE in the entire game)
    - Stealth, it just isn't good in the slightest.
    - Pretty much everything regarding gameplay is awful tbh.

    "The Medium is our biggest and most ambitious project to date!" - Bloober Team.

    i'm sorry but there's NOTHING ambitious with The Medium since you failed to even TRY to use the split reality mechanic to its fullest potential.

    3/10 Had potential but fell flat on its head.

    Do not recommend.
    Expand
  44. Feb 1, 2021
    0
    Not a minute worth of playing. Just cheaply made. People call this the new silent hill. I call them fake gamers.
  45. Jan 29, 2021
    10
    Great game with an intriguing story. The dual universe is a game changer. Brings back that old school feel of the csi and x files games
  46. Jan 29, 2021
    8
    Игра отличная, атмосферная. Понравилось олдовое управление.
    -2 балла за оптимизацию и концовку....
    Ещё пригорел с трека в титрах, припев как "Уходи и дверь закрой" :)
  47. Feb 2, 2021
    1
    This game is very... Medium.
    The characters don't feel anything, they just say **** over and over again.
    The game is pretty, but the game-play is very repetitive.
    I think i will forgot about this game existence in a month or two.
  48. Feb 2, 2021
    0
    This game is a joke, i have nothing else to say


    The gameplay is weak and the puzzles is baby level
  49. Jan 30, 2021
    9
    Narration, musique, DA au top, l'écran splité apporte une touche d'originalité, seul bémol, le personnage un peu rigide
  50. Jan 31, 2021
    9
    Good game with a good story. Wish there was some kind of fighting mechanic with a variety of different entities to fight. That would have made the game a lot better. Maybe next time.
  51. Feb 1, 2021
    0
    El juego peor optimizado de la historia y eso ya es mucho decir. Animaciones nivel ps1. Historia más que trillada. Chapuza cósmica
  52. Jan 30, 2021
    7
    This game is a good throwback to the old Resident Evil, Silent Hill and Dino Crisis games.

    "Few jump scares and lots of looking for items" I have mixed feelings about this game. It is good and worth a play through but has some flaws. Environments look really nice but character models are flat and could have used more work. Also movement is super slow but i feel like they done it on
    This game is a good throwback to the old Resident Evil, Silent Hill and Dino Crisis games.

    "Few jump scares and lots of looking for items"

    I have mixed feelings about this game. It is good and worth a play through but has some flaws.
    Environments look really nice but character models are flat and could have used more work.
    Also movement is super slow but i feel like they done it on purpose to add suspense. it just didn't work tbh.

    Overall it was a good game.
    Definitely worth playing if you are a Game Pass subscriber.
    Maybe wait for a price drop if you aren't.
    Expand
  53. Jan 30, 2021
    9
    Proposta muito boa, inovadora, e muito bem executada (com ressalvas).
    O jogo lembra muito alguns clássicos de PS2 como Silent Hill e Fatal Frame, com câmera fixa, sons bem trabalhados e com terror mais psicológico.
  54. Jan 30, 2021
    9
    É um bom jogo, que permite usar duas realidades. E também é bastante imersivo.
  55. Feb 3, 2021
    0
    Невероятно скучная игра , с неплохой идеей , но отвратительной реализацией
  56. Feb 3, 2021
    0
    great game, music, story, graphics.
    sad part is that has no value to replay it.
  57. Jan 31, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game is good and sounds like silent hill impressions thanks I love the medium it make great game Expand
  58. Feb 1, 2021
    1
    Nie ma miejsca w grach na kodziarska propagandę. ***** medium. Tyle w temacie
  59. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    Great game, fantastic story, no performance issue (max settings, bu I have RTX 3090). Max points from my side!
  60. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    Cant wait for next part, will it be BLOOBER TEAM? Fingers crossed! Great game for me!
  61. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    Maybe too short but the story is amazing, crg for this title, music, graphics, story - for me amazing!
  62. Feb 4, 2021
    5
    The only thing frightening in this game is the dialogue written on the props littered around it. Read them, it's hilarious, no don't click Y to read because that's been checked by someone English, read the actual props, hilarious. Oh and also the game is average as hell we wouldn't be talking about it if any AAA first party game had come out on the XBOX Series X so far, It's superThe only thing frightening in this game is the dialogue written on the props littered around it. Read them, it's hilarious, no don't click Y to read because that's been checked by someone English, read the actual props, hilarious. Oh and also the game is average as hell we wouldn't be talking about it if any AAA first party game had come out on the XBOX Series X so far, It's super mediocre. One thing the good reviews have in common though, an interesting dialogue pattern that almost seems like the ones on the props in game, what a shocking turn of events. Expand
  63. Jan 31, 2021
    5
    Decent visuals but everything else was horribly disappointing. Bad cheesy writing riddled with overused clichés. Very inconsistent voice acting and audio levels. Nearly non-existent gameplay, mostly walking/running and some puzzles, a handful of chase sequences and a few really bad stealth sections. The monotone of the "other" reality got old super fast. The level design was terriblyDecent visuals but everything else was horribly disappointing. Bad cheesy writing riddled with overused clichés. Very inconsistent voice acting and audio levels. Nearly non-existent gameplay, mostly walking/running and some puzzles, a handful of chase sequences and a few really bad stealth sections. The monotone of the "other" reality got old super fast. The level design was terribly uninspired with 90% of the areas being a straight road with 1 or 2 branches. Several characters left with no arc or backstory or development of any kind. Several loose ends, a horrible ending that makes The Medium 1 seem like a focus group experiment for the next game, not to mention the post credits cutscene is basically an ad for The Medium 2. Had been looking forward to this game for years, and I feel like I gave it everything I had to like it... it just isn't worth it. Not a good game in any way shape or form. In the words of immortan Joe: "Mediocre." Expand
  64. Jan 31, 2021
    10
    A wonderful love letter to games like Silent Hill, with much of the fat trimmed away for better or worse. It's very linear, the puzzles are simple, and there is very little combat or danger. That said, the game builds a fantastic atmosphere, with a unique story and some of the best sound design we've had in years, as well as representing what I hope is part of a true revival of the "fixedA wonderful love letter to games like Silent Hill, with much of the fat trimmed away for better or worse. It's very linear, the puzzles are simple, and there is very little combat or danger. That said, the game builds a fantastic atmosphere, with a unique story and some of the best sound design we've had in years, as well as representing what I hope is part of a true revival of the "fixed camera angle" horror game. If you're expecting a polished AAA experience then keep looking, this is the studio's first project on this scale, but The Medium is a wonderfully modern throwback to the golden era of video game horror, as well as a path forward. If they get a sequel, I think that's going to be the one that launches this studio into superstardom. Expand
  65. Feb 2, 2021
    8
    It was a good game overall but there were a few bad gameplay mechanics choices. Like I had 2 second to a react to a situation I had no idea how to apprehend. Sometimes the logic differed from previous similar gameplay moments. So you just have to die and retry which was not expected in such a game.
    Also the game crashed 4-5 times in the worst moments during my playthrough.
    On a
    It was a good game overall but there were a few bad gameplay mechanics choices. Like I had 2 second to a react to a situation I had no idea how to apprehend. Sometimes the logic differed from previous similar gameplay moments. So you just have to die and retry which was not expected in such a game.
    Also the game crashed 4-5 times in the worst moments during my playthrough.

    On a positive side, the atmosphere was great and the story kept me interested. There were good puzzles to solve. The voice acting was fine too. Thumbs up to Troy Baker who made for a memorable "Maw".
    Expand
  66. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    I loved The Medium from start to end. 10/10

    It has supreme graphics, an amazing story and brings me the nostalgia to the classic survival horror games with its fixed cameras, puzzles and notes. It also tries something new and unique with the two realities. I found it to be exactly as long as it has to be. Every chapter is unique and the pacing is great. I did not miss combat at all in
    I loved The Medium from start to end. 10/10

    It has supreme graphics, an amazing story and brings me the nostalgia to the classic survival horror games with its fixed cameras, puzzles and notes. It also tries something new and unique with the two realities. I found it to be exactly as long as it has to be. Every chapter is unique and the pacing is great. I did not miss combat at all in this game. Great music score. I just love it and want more...
    Expand
  67. Feb 3, 2021
    10
    This game had me glued from start to finish, I wanted to know more about Marianne and her story and boy did it deliver. Great work Bloober Team!
  68. Jan 31, 2021
    10
    Este juego es increíble “dentro de su género”, es muy entretenido y tiene una magia que te hace seguir jugando más y más, es un digno sucesor de algunos juegos de antaño
  69. Jan 30, 2021
    10
    My first impressions of the game were generally positive but was unsure of the game mechanics and overall look of the game. It came to xbox game pass ultimate so I decided to go ahead and give it a try. After playing for a while I knew this was going to be a winner. Reminds me alot of the original Resident Evil games and I'm a big fan of those. Although some parts of the game need a littleMy first impressions of the game were generally positive but was unsure of the game mechanics and overall look of the game. It came to xbox game pass ultimate so I decided to go ahead and give it a try. After playing for a while I knew this was going to be a winner. Reminds me alot of the original Resident Evil games and I'm a big fan of those. Although some parts of the game need a little work I'm in love with the game. Definitely worth at least two play through a. 10/10 Expand
  70. Feb 12, 2021
    0
    Overall a terrible game, the gameplay is so boring I fell asleep a couple of times, the characters walk and run like they are f*ckin elders. The FPS is an absolute joke, the graphics are meh. Is this supposed to be the new Silent Hill?? LOL Another Microsoft exclusive that belongs in the thrash
  71. Feb 2, 2021
    10
    First thing is first, game is fallowing it's old classic gameplay design with better graphics. As a dinasour, I miss these old gameplay feeling times. A lot of quality and unique atmospheric gameplay was released many many years ago. Most of the new genre games actually not much viable if we compare to this kind. If you want to feel nostalgie, this game %100 provide you that experienceFirst thing is first, game is fallowing it's old classic gameplay design with better graphics. As a dinasour, I miss these old gameplay feeling times. A lot of quality and unique atmospheric gameplay was released many many years ago. Most of the new genre games actually not much viable if we compare to this kind. If you want to feel nostalgie, this game %100 provide you that experience with it's own atmospher.
    Note: Some people are complaining about constant walking toward wall. This is a simple nostalgy that has classic gameplay. Leave your modern obsessions aside and try to enjoy!
    Expand
  72. Feb 2, 2021
    10
    Inutile girarci troppo intorno, The Medium è un capolavoro. Un Masterpiece dei giochi horror in terza persona. Grafica spettacolare (soprattutto le ambientazioni), gameplay assolutamente unico e innovativo, storia complicata e per nulla scontata che ti tiene attaccato fino all'ultimo secondo allo schermo, colonna sonora impareggiabile (me la sono procurata immediatamente dopo averloInutile girarci troppo intorno, The Medium è un capolavoro. Un Masterpiece dei giochi horror in terza persona. Grafica spettacolare (soprattutto le ambientazioni), gameplay assolutamente unico e innovativo, storia complicata e per nulla scontata che ti tiene attaccato fino all'ultimo secondo allo schermo, colonna sonora impareggiabile (me la sono procurata immediatamente dopo averlo finito), ma soprattutto in svariati punti ti mette davvero l'ansia, cosa che ogni degno gioco horror dovrebbe fare. Assolutamente 10/10, il miglior gioco horror a cui abbia mai giocato da Alien Isolation, Silent Hill, Remothered e The Evil Within 2. Expand
  73. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    Wonderful gane for all the players VAAAAAMOOOOOS XBOOOOOOX
    Siuuuuuuuuuuuuuu
  74. Feb 1, 2021
    9
    Me pareció un juego genial, con mecánicas como de sillent Hill tiene esa esencia, también la historia me gustó te atrapa, me atrapó tanto que lo termine el mismo día.
  75. Feb 14, 2021
    2
    How about render 4 screens next time? I've heard that there's a PC that can run it still. You can do better next time. Have you ever run performance tests before release?
    Why do you decide to shrink both worlds instead of just switch between them? Maybe two screens should be must have to play? Along with 3090?
    Well music and artwork are awesome, I'll give you that.
  76. Feb 4, 2021
    10
    Excelente juego para no ser un AAA, tiene sus detalles, pero su historia compensa esos mínimos detalles
  77. Feb 3, 2021
    9
    This game is fantastic. Amazing story, amazing characters, amazing puzzles, and an amazing atmosphere. This is a must buy. Don't listen to the negative reviews because most of them are just people who want to review bomb an Xbox game. They never played it clearly.
  78. Jan 30, 2021
    10
    The médium es un juego que cumple lo que promete, gran banda sonora, un ambiente sobresaliente y no busca el terro o el susto fácil, para mi un juego muy bueno que hace recordar esos clásicos de terror de ps1, el apartado que mejoraría, pero que la verdad no arruina la experiencia sería la animación de la protagonista al caminar.
  79. Feb 5, 2021
    2
    Terrible gameplay, uninteresting characters, pretentious poetry style voice over (seriously bloober stop doing this), anything remotely interesting is a rip off of silent hill and not in cool homage kind of way but in an unimaginative lazy kind of way. Beautiful graphics do nothing to help this lackluster effort.
  80. Feb 2, 2021
    9
    I confess that the beginning of the game is very slow, but some of its qualities and how the story holds you, a puzzle effect, a doubtful and incredible ending, good gameplay and worth buying it
  81. Feb 3, 2021
    8
    Its is a really good game, for me, it is an exploration game mixed with horror, the only parts for me that are horror are de dead world and the ambiance, in the rest is exploration.
    The walking, in the cutcenes and in the gameplay, really sucks and thats why i dont give the game a 10/10. the history is gorgeous, beside the fact that in the start of the game you will maybe get a little
    Its is a really good game, for me, it is an exploration game mixed with horror, the only parts for me that are horror are de dead world and the ambiance, in the rest is exploration.
    The walking, in the cutcenes and in the gameplay, really sucks and thats why i dont give the game a 10/10. the history is gorgeous, beside the fact that in the start of the game you will maybe get a little confused, but in general is a godd game and it is the best and most ambitiou
    s game that bloober team has ever done
    Expand
  82. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Thanks for the game I enjoy ilove this game thankssssssss its same silent hill Expand
  83. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    Una maravilla de juego definitivamente la calidad de Microsoft pronto ya no tendrá comparación,la calidad definitivamente es soberbia y única en cada uno de los detalles que a sido cuidada de una manera maravillosa, perfecta y única un juegazo y 100% recomendado marcará un nuevo género en los exclusivos de Xbox.
  84. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    The Medium is the most ambitious project of Bloober Team so far, the game has strong inspirations from the Silent Hill series and this may be why it's such a great game. The ambiance is dark and even though the game is story focused it still manage to scare the user. As I said, the game is extremely focused on story, and while we have some thrilling chasings, most if not all of them areThe Medium is the most ambitious project of Bloober Team so far, the game has strong inspirations from the Silent Hill series and this may be why it's such a great game. The ambiance is dark and even though the game is story focused it still manage to scare the user. As I said, the game is extremely focused on story, and while we have some thrilling chasings, most if not all of them are scripted, and this really impact negatively on the gameplay. Since it's the first release of the game and my PC is getting older, I won't complain about optimization, but I really hope Bloober Team fix most of the texture issues and some sync issues with the dialogues. 9.5/10. Expand
  85. Feb 1, 2021
    10
    Es un juego maravilloso, muchos lo comparaban con Silent Hill pero no es necesario el juego es buenisimo por merito propio, un gran exclusivo del ecosistema Xbox, una gran historia y una protagonista Marianne muy divertida con mucha personalidad, sin duda mi nueva Heroina favorita, espero y exijo mas de este nuevo y fascinante universo, Me declaro super fan de esta nueva franquicia
  86. Feb 1, 2021
    9
    A good story, an art direction to highlight, great soundtrack and some mechanics / puzzles to accompany you in the discovery of the story that without being outstanding work to not make you heavy the 7 hours. Best of all, a solid ending unusual in the horror genre.
    For me it is a game of 8.5
  87. Feb 2, 2021
    9
    I HIGHLY recommend playing The Medium.

    This is a game CLEARLY made with passion and love. The story is awesome. The writing and voice acting is wonderful. The implementation of the protagonist's "split" is super rad. Seriously, the way you simultaneously interact with two different worlds is refreshingly unique. One of the coolest aspects of the dual screen was seeing the same scene
    I HIGHLY recommend playing The Medium.

    This is a game CLEARLY made with passion and love.

    The story is awesome. The writing and voice acting is wonderful. The implementation of the protagonist's "split" is super rad. Seriously, the way you simultaneously interact with two different worlds is refreshingly unique. One of the coolest aspects of the dual screen was seeing the same scene play out from different angles, with differing emphasis on the environmental details and characters within each screen during cutscenes. Freaking brilliant.

    I truly hope to see more from this universe in the future. Bloober Team, you killed it. I love The Medium ^_^

    P.S. Nothing performance-wise hampered my experience. I do have a nice rig, but it’s definitely not some crazy monster build. The most I experienced was a bit of texture pop-in here and there, and occasional very short-lived freezing/desync at the beginning of a few cutscenes (possibly due to background loading).
    Expand
  88. Feb 2, 2021
    9
    El juego es realmente increíble, es super inmersivo los escenarios enamoran, graficos next gen, le pongo un 9 por que quizas le falta algo de optimización para pc, pero el juego en si es una maravilla, no le hagan caso a nadie, probarlo ustedes mismo, yo no le tenia mucha fe pero al jugarlo me encanto. y pues las animaciones no son las mejores pero entiendo que es un doble A, asi que noEl juego es realmente increíble, es super inmersivo los escenarios enamoran, graficos next gen, le pongo un 9 por que quizas le falta algo de optimización para pc, pero el juego en si es una maravilla, no le hagan caso a nadie, probarlo ustedes mismo, yo no le tenia mucha fe pero al jugarlo me encanto. y pues las animaciones no son las mejores pero entiendo que es un doble A, asi que no hay peros. Expand
  89. Feb 2, 2021
    10
    El final me dejó extremadamente sorprendido porque no esperaba que terminara, así que espero que tenga un DLC para complementar el resto del juego.
  90. Feb 2, 2021
    7
    The Medium Is A Game With Silent Hill Franchise's Atmosphere And Gameplay And Its Have A lot Of Good Things And Bad Things

    POSITIVE - Atmosphere Is So Good And Breathtaking - Marianne's Characterization Is On A Good Level - Great Soundtracks With SH Vibe NEGATIVE -Poor Shaders And Textures - Fps Drops - Hard Gameplay And NOT Modernized -Bugs And Shader Glitches - BAD Face
    The Medium Is A Game With Silent Hill Franchise's Atmosphere And Gameplay And Its Have A lot Of Good Things And Bad Things

    POSITIVE
    - Atmosphere Is So Good And Breathtaking
    - Marianne's Characterization Is On A Good Level
    - Great Soundtracks With SH Vibe

    NEGATIVE
    -Poor Shaders And Textures
    - Fps Drops
    - Hard Gameplay And NOT Modernized
    -Bugs And Shader Glitches
    - BAD Face Animations
    7/10
    Expand
  91. Feb 3, 2021
    9
    Great story a little beat of performance issue but u overcome pretty easily
  92. Feb 7, 2021
    2
    Performance Horror aber kein Horror Game, Langweilig, lohnt nicht!

    Mein PC hat einen I7 9700K, 16GB G-SKill Ram, RTX3080, M2 SSD. UND ES IST NICHT FLÜSSIG spielbar! Selbst Cyberpunk läuft dagegen wie Butter in 1440P mit RayTracing alles auf High! Die Performance des Spiels wird um so länger man es spielt immer schlechter. In den ersten Szenen lief es mit knapp 100FPS alles auf High
    Performance Horror aber kein Horror Game, Langweilig, lohnt nicht!

    Mein PC hat einen I7 9700K, 16GB G-SKill Ram, RTX3080, M2 SSD. UND ES IST NICHT FLÜSSIG spielbar!
    Selbst Cyberpunk läuft dagegen wie Butter in 1440P mit RayTracing alles auf High!

    Die Performance des Spiels wird um so länger man es spielt immer schlechter.
    In den ersten Szenen lief es mit knapp 100FPS alles auf High mit Raytracing.
    Richtung Ende hatte ich öfter 20-30FPS bei manchen Rätzeln in der nah Ansicht kurze Drops auf 2-3FPS für 10 Sec. Danach wieder 60-70FPS.

    Horror ist für mich Resident Evil 2,3,7 usw. Evil Within. Aber das hier ist echt langweilig.
    Laufen... Taste drücken... laufen... ein Gespräch anhören oder ein Zettel lesen. Kurz vor einen Monster in Deckung gehen weiter laufen.

    Hatte mir viel mehr erwartet. Aber das Spiel motiviert überhaupt nicht zum weiterspielen. Habe es trotzdem hinter mich gebracht. War im Gamepass dabei. Gekauft hätte ich es mir nie mals!!!

    Ich hoffe das Spiel wird noch optimiert!

    Einer der schlechtesten Spiele die ich je gespielt habe.
    Expand
  93. Jan 29, 2021
    9
    A atmosfera de The Medium é muito boa e os cenários do jogo são bem bonitos, gostei bastante da ideia de ter dois mundos renderizados ao mesmo tempo. O jogo tem momentos bem pesados, então é bom estar bem preparado psicologicamente.
  94. Jan 29, 2021
    9
    Muy buen juego, recomendado si te gustan las historias narrativas de suspenso
  95. Jan 29, 2021
    9
    The Medium es un juego que pese a su mala optimización (entendible por el presupuesto de un estudio pequeño) y escasos puzzles, logra generar intriga a lo largo de la historia, sin mencionar el gran trabajo de quienes dieron vida a los personajes de la misma con la actuación de voz. Controles tanque, fixed camera, el OST y los paisajes ominosos hacen que uno se sienta jugando a los juegosThe Medium es un juego que pese a su mala optimización (entendible por el presupuesto de un estudio pequeño) y escasos puzzles, logra generar intriga a lo largo de la historia, sin mencionar el gran trabajo de quienes dieron vida a los personajes de la misma con la actuación de voz. Controles tanque, fixed camera, el OST y los paisajes ominosos hacen que uno se sienta jugando a los juegos de terror clásicos (aquí el factor nostalgia) que recurrieron a estos elementos por las limitaciones tecnológicas de su época, sin embargo, al tratarse más de una una aventura gráfica, su manera de cautivar al jugador cae bastante en el plot, teniendo constantes giros argumentales que, si bien algunos son cliché, no son tan predecibles.


    En estos tiempos en que ya los juegos de suspenso/terror no son tan populares, este es una buena propuesta para pasar el rato (NO ES UN SILENT HILL, FANBOYS XBOXERS Y SONYERS).

    Tiempo de juego: He tardado al menos 10 horas desde mi primer juego tratando de sacar todos los logros sin guía y me faltan todavía. No hagan caso a los niñatos que dicen que sólo dura 5 horas el juego (dudo tengan todos los logros en el primer run). Eso tardarías en un run sabiéndo perfecto el juego y sin trabarse.
    Expand
  96. Jan 29, 2021
    9
    He sido usuario de Sony y Nintendo desde hace muchos años . Y puedo decir que unos de los motivos por los cuales ahora quise intentar iniciarme con Xbox fue por este juego.. y vaya que no me decepciono , su ambientación, su historia, su banda sonora y sobre todo su original jugabilidad me hicieron adicto a este juego. Soy fan de los survival horror de la vieja escuela así que para mi TheHe sido usuario de Sony y Nintendo desde hace muchos años . Y puedo decir que unos de los motivos por los cuales ahora quise intentar iniciarme con Xbox fue por este juego.. y vaya que no me decepciono , su ambientación, su historia, su banda sonora y sobre todo su original jugabilidad me hicieron adicto a este juego. Soy fan de los survival horror de la vieja escuela así que para mi The médium me recordó mucho esta época . El juego sin duda no es perfecto pero es un buen exponente del género suspense/psicológico . Expand
  97. Jan 30, 2021
    9
    Loved the story. The graphics are beautiful! The only con are the facial animations, that were a little lifeless. But it was a great journey!
  98. Jan 29, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Incrível, espetacular show de bola,virei fã deb the medium vou comprar camiseta,bonecos tudo que tiver da Mariene Expand
  99. Jan 29, 2021
    8
    The level design of this game is just next level. The idea of being able to play two different worlds at the same is splendid. II really wish it could be improved a little on the gameplay part. I am fine with the game having no combat but the gameplay after sometimes starts to feel a little slow. And some animation work could improve as well. Still worth playing!!! it's on gamepass.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 47
  2. Negative: 1 out of 47
  1. Feb 25, 2021
    80
    The Medium isn't an unflawed masterpiece. It's got some performance issues on PC and some jankeyness in unexpected places. However it has got this absolutely unique horror atmosphere, beautifully crafted worlds and some absolute heart-string pulling story moments. This is a successful return of the "horror adventure" game style from those golden oldies everyone fondly remembers. Bloober Team has done an outstanding job making this title and it's one hundred percent recommended to all fans of horror.
  2. Feb 10, 2021
    60
    The Medium creates a nightmarish limbo for untethered souls in which players must evade, outwit and even aid its horrific inhabitants, but the strong atmosphere and effective scares aren’t enough to completely atone for a poorly constructed story and one-dimensional protagonist.
  3. Feb 9, 2021
    70
    The Medium is an interesting title to play through, but I think it is fair to say that while the split-screen, dual world element is a fascinating idea, it never truly excels at pushing the idea to its maximum potential. There are teases of what could be done here, but this is no new revolutionary way to play. Taking The Medium as an horror game, it brings a brilliant soundtrack that gives life to its locations with eerie atmosphere, an engrossing story that I wanted to see until its conclusion; the main element people will remember once the dust has settled in. Expect The Medium to be a mixture of uncomplicated investigatory item solving and walking through its striking environment art, a captivating and well presented world that is visually pleasing (or disgusting depending how you look at it), but one world where the scares are scripted to certain parts of the story, which stop any potential for this game to have a truly frightening experience.