Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. Nov 1, 2019
    95
    There is no doubt The Outer Worlds is almost a masterpiece. Sure, it could use some work here and there, but it's a perfect delivery system for the hungry human imagination that longs for the stars.
  2. Nov 27, 2019
    93
    The Outer Worlds is an RPG with an incredible amount of choices to make, to the extent that it can sometimes feel more like an adventure game. While it becomes more linear near the end, there are few games that give the player this much freedom of choice.
  3. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds is Obsidian Entertainment’s magnum opus, an RPG with an enticing and multifaceted ruleset set in a dystopian capitalistic society. Its only flaws reside in the combat system and gunplay, but these are easily counterbalanced by the excellent writing and the many possibilities offered to the players. Let’s hope Obsidian will explore this setting further, possibly with a much needed sequel.
  4. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds demands players put in the time and effort if they want the best it has to offer. It’s a fine game under any circumstances, but it’s a top-notch RPG with heavy consequences at almost every turn for those that are willing to immerse themselves. The Outer Worlds doesn’t tell you a story, it gives you a world full of interesting characters and asks you to tell your own.
  5. Oct 22, 2019
    90
    The Outer Worlds is consistently compelling throughout, and it's a superb example of how to promote traditional RPG sensibilities in a sharp, modern experience.
  6. Oct 25, 2019
    89
    Obsidian prove, once again, they know how to make a good RPG. Great story, fantastic world, important decisions and a lot of humor. If you like this genre, you cannot miss it.
  7. Oct 22, 2019
    89
    The Outer Worlds is a typical Obsidian title, which guarantees a certain freedom of approach at all levels, trying to tell a good story too.
  8. Nov 11, 2019
    87
    If you’re tired of waiting for new single-player adventures in a post-apocalyptic wasteland, head to the distant colonies — they have everything you wish for.
  9. Dec 9, 2019
    85
    An excellent effort from Obsidian, and though The Outer Worlds doesn’t surpass its predecessors by offering a world worth visiting over and over, the adventure it presents is more than worth the time spent.
  10. Nov 18, 2019
    85
    Obsidian could have easily fallen into the trap of creating a straight up Fallout clone, but the various planets in the Halcyon solar system and the types of quest available provides a good amount of variety, with excellent splashings of humour and moral dilemmas. It’s not breaking new ground, but it struts its stuff very well.
  11. Nov 11, 2019
    85
    With relevant and humorous commentary on corporate greed and bureaucracy underpinning this smaller scale but highly replayable new IP, The Outer Worlds excels as a Fallout-style RPG thanks to great writing, interesting choices and memorable characters.
  12. Oct 22, 2019
    85
    With The Outer Worlds, Obsidian has found its own path in the space between Bethesda and BioWare's RPGs, and it’s a great one.
  13. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Dec 6, 2019
    84
    Usually, a planet has just one or two settlements and a bit of wildlands to explore. But that’s for the best – instead of exploring miles of filler content, Outer Worlds keeps you moving from planet to planet, from one tense situation to another. [Issue#241, p.34]
  14. Oct 30, 2019
    84
    The Outer Worlds offers an RPG experience that brims with most of the qualities we could expect from its developers, based on their previous projects. It might not be the most ground-breaking or "deeply written" RPG of our times, but boy is it fun.
  15. Oct 22, 2019
    83
    No, The Outer Worlds is by no means the biggest, most complex or epic RPG of recent years. But the latest coup from Obsidian Entertainment has its heart in the right place.
  16. Oct 22, 2019
    82
    The Outer Worlds seems to be inspired by the Fallout series, but this brand new franchise can stand on its own two feet. With a complete universe full of memorable characters, interesting stories, beautiful environments and spicy choices, this is a wonderful game to lose yourself in.
  17. Nov 26, 2019
    80
    Obsidian set out to make a Fallout game, but didn’t think we’d mind if they actually made it a Firefly game along the way. So now we have an anti-capitalist Firefly mired in labor issues but elevated by rapidfire gunplay, peppered with chuckles from a tryhard sense of humor.
  18. CD-Action
    Nov 25, 2019
    80
    The world may not remember it for years to come but here and now it’s worth giving it a chance – mostly because of the tragicomic atmosphere of the narrative, well fleshed out characters, and remarkable and funny dialogue. [13/2019, p.46]
  19. Nov 8, 2019
    80
    Focusing and doubling down on the right areas while telling a story that often asks thought-provoking and difficult questions, the game provides a memorable time without overstaying its welcome.
  20. Oct 25, 2019
    80
    While it bears surface-level similarities to Fallout: New Vegas, Obsidian's created a deeper and more meaningful role-playing experience in The Outer Worlds, though it can still be frustratingly old-fashioned in regards to combat and exploration.
  21. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    Despite its refreshing setting and sharp dialogue, this is an almost retro-infused sci-fi adventure that relies heavily on mechanics established by Bethesdas Fallout games, while never reaching their depth nor scope. It's accessible, witty and great fun if you keep your expectations in check, even though the main story and some long-term decisions don't quite live up to their full potential.
  22. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    I enjoyed the 40 hour ride through the The Outer Worlds, even though it was sometimes a bumpy one. Still, with the interesting world that was built here, it feels like there was left a lot of untapped potential on the road. Flaws similar to the Fallout series – namely a main story that is little more than a frame holding together the sandbox that the rest of the game is and correspondingly flat characters – prevent it from earning a place in the hall of fame of roleplaying-shooters next to Mass Effect.
  23. Oct 22, 2019
    80
    In an alternate reality where modern Fallout retained the the focus on choice and role-playing, The Outer Worlds would be the result. Obsidian Entertainment delivers this small window into that alternate reality, a game that prizes picking the right skills to tackle weird and wild situations. The Outer Worlds shines in the writing, but the combat doesn't equally rise to the occasion. Likewise, the planets you visit could use a few more quests or interesting spots to explore. The Outer Worlds is still a fun romp though, something that will hopefully build to something bigger in the future.
  24. Oct 22, 2019
    79
    There's a category of games I think of as Saturday morning cartoon games. They lack depth, but they are fluffy and easy to enjoy. As I look back on some screenshots as Pippin laser blasts a poor marauder into a pile of dust, I realise that's what The Outer Worlds is to me. If you meet it on those terms, I think you'll enjoy it.
  25. Oct 22, 2019
    75
    Yes, The Outer Worlds has all that we wanted from the writers of Fallout New Vegas. But, while bringing that weird universe with a great liberty of actions, nice questing and a good amount of content (around 20 hours with replayability), the game fails to be à 2019 game. The companion system and the AI don't work quite well, and the global graphics and technical design are weak.
  26. Oct 23, 2019
    70
    There is much to complain about The Outer Worlds - it is mediocre from a technical standpoint, has tons of outdated features and its story and companions are acceptable at best. Fortunately, Obsidian's new title is a well-made RPG - this is a game for those who enjoy being a nameless hero who either saves the world or destroys it without any reason whatsoever, wasting time on pointless side-quests just for the XP.
  27. Oct 22, 2019
    70
    Obsidian’s RPG fulfills its potential, but only in fits and starts. Sure, its worst moments are only ever as bad as workmanlike RPG-making, but they make the stretches between some instances of genuine greatness a little more disappointing.
  28. Oct 22, 2019
    70
    An enjoyable adventure, but one that hews a little too close to its FPS Fallout roots.
  29. Oct 31, 2019
    60
    On some level, Obsidian has succeeded at rendering a hellscape of vapid consumerism through the mechanics of the Bethesda scavenge ‘em up, but the game’s anti-corporate ideals clash with how the only way to move forward is to indulge in all the excesses of that hellscape.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Oct 22, 2019
    It's the best open-world adventure of the year. [Ars Technica Approved]
  2. Oct 22, 2019
    Each area is like a dense little croissant. The environments are bustling with people who feel like they’re a part of a cohesive society. For a capitalist dystopia where people work themselves into their rent-controlled graves, it’s not too bad to explore. And it’s frequently hilarious, if you don’t mind some incredibly dark humor. [Polygon Recommends]
  3. The Outer Worlds is alright, innit. It’s good fun. Sit back and let the orange and neon wash over you. Boo the cartoonishly evil corporations. Exhale through your nose at their Diet Toothpaste. I bet I’ll play it again, in fact. But you can tell it could have been great, if it had taken a few more risks. Real space cowboys take risks, don’t they?
  4. Oct 25, 2019
    A frustrating yet rewarding game of bad starts and good endings.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1590 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 25, 2019
    10
    When it comes to mechanics, the game resembles games from Bethesda. Everyone wondered before the premiere whether the game would be as good asWhen it comes to mechanics, the game resembles games from Bethesda. Everyone wondered before the premiere whether the game would be as good as Fallout New Vegas. I could write to you: The Outer Worlds is even better than New Vegas, better than Fallout 4. It's a real RPG, not an adventure game with RPG elements. Obsidian showed Bethesda how to do role-playing games. Full Review »
  2. Oct 28, 2019
    4
    First I must ask. Are the people giving this a perfect 10/10 playing the same game? This game is far from perfect. In fact it is far from evenFirst I must ask. Are the people giving this a perfect 10/10 playing the same game? This game is far from perfect. In fact it is far from even being a good game. Nowadays all it takes is for a game to be good is to not have too many bugs and micro transactions. The Outer World doesn't have micro transactions and there are very few bugs (one game breaking bug on the last mission) but that does not make this a good game.

    It starts out somewhat interesting when you are a fresh adventurer and don't know where the story is taking you. You start imagining an amazing world and hoping that it keeps getting better. As you progress you suddenly realize that it isn't going to get better and never will. I won't put spoilers but lets just say that there is no payoff for anything you do. You can complete a main quest and your reward is just more of the same boring things you already have. There is never anything amazing that happens in this story either like the first time seeing Liberty Prime in action in Fallout 3. Nothing that will "wow" you.

    My biggest gripe is the writing. I found myself physically cringing at some of it. If you are a certain type of person you may enjoy the cutsie playful dialogue and the constant sarcastic statements that your main character makes, along with pretty much every character in the game but I couldn't stand it. If you are looking for a serious story that will intrigue and immerse you then this is NOT the game for you. You may think "oh its finally getting serious" then the next set of lines have you wise crack like something an immature grade school. Its downright awful.

    The gameplay is nothing to write home about and barely worth mentioning. There are only a handful of guns and they are all unsatisfying to use. I went the entire game with the assault rifle just spraying bullets at everything because sniping and the charged weapons just didn't feel fun in my opinion. Melee is a joke I didn't even bother with it. You have heavy weapons which I didn't bother with either as I didnt see any point. The game is so easy it doesn't matter what you decide to use or how you spend you skill points and perks. Speaking of which pretty much amount to a bunch or percentage increases. There is nothing fun about any of it. You will mostly fight the same type of enemy because there is no variety. I can count the number of different enemy types on my hands.Armor feels like an afterthought and the skills seem like they were placed on pieces at random. There doesn't seem to be any thought process that went into designing armor so I just used the set with the highest armor rating. There are only 2 pieces of armor by the way chest and helmet.

    You have companions and companion abilities but they are pretty much meat bags used to distract the enemy. The companion abilities force you into an un-skippable 10 second cut scene every time you use an one so I abandoned them quickly and just shot everything to death. The whole thing is a boring unorganized mess. By the last missions I was disinterested to the point where I didn't bother killing anything and just ran past the enemy. At that point there was no reason to loot anything or explore because the game is so linear that there is nothing to explore.

    I wasn't a fan of the artstyle, the characters, story or gameplay. The only reason I finished the game is because I felt obligated to having been swindled into thinking this would actually be good. The trailer said "from the original creators of Fallout and the developers of Fallout: New Vegas" is also false advertising. They are only the same in name. The original people who made those amazing games no longer work for the company. Overall this game is barely a 4/10 below average.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 26, 2019
    5
    I would say decidedly average. I came into this game excited based on the initial 20min gameplay video thinking this would be on par withI would say decidedly average. I came into this game excited based on the initial 20min gameplay video thinking this would be on par with fallout writing. Coming from a respectful company who wouldn't be excited?

    I gotta say though. That I got disillusioned pretty quick. There is a lack of overall art direction, interiors which could have had a more vivid inspired art style went with safe and functoinal. There's this weird mish-mash of different lifts from different video games.

    Floating damage numbers from Borderlands? Check
    Robots/machines extolling virtues of a product in a Bioshock kind of way? Check
    Text selection almost exactly like Fallout (including the awful role-play tunnels of 1. Yea that sounds great 2. aw you shouldn't have! 3. Well, gee I dunno, I guess?

    There's no option to be mean in some of the interactions! When you play the old fallout/crpg games, you could get in a whole lot of trouble over the things you said... in this one? You can almost spam any option and get to the end with no worries. It's too cookie cutter.

    I gotta say the level pacing is too off kilter too. Getting a level isn't really a reward, it's more of a 'alright, more points time'.

    I will say that I appreciated the setting and the premise for the story seemed promising, but I am having an awful time liking my companions and am not really feeling 'wowed' by the landscapes/graphics so far. It's a hard sell to continue! Makes me wish some of the good old crpgs came back but those were a product of their time/makers. Back when computer games were made mostly by the same demographic that played them. There's too much candy crap in this. I don't feel tough when I'm trying to defend someone's feelings in a video game and there's no real meat and potatoes to this.

    I'd hate to give it a 5/10, I'd say 8/10 for overall premise but 5/10 for how I felt after a good amount of time in it. Meh.

    In a 2019 game characters speaking with the visual quality of oblivion, or the weird janky art style that exists between
    Full Review »