The Park Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Park is a single-player horror experience developed by Funcom, set against the backdrop of an amusement park where a dark and sinister secret is just waiting to be uncovered.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Park - Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 3, 2015
    80
    A haunted walk through the smelling amusement park can surprise, entertaining and frightening at the same time. The park is ideal leisure for one autumn evening. [Issue#258]
  2. Oct 27, 2015
    80
    Though a little unfocused, The Park manages to deliver a surprisingly personal and powerful story. Scary at times, the real horror comes not from monsters or figments of the imagination, but from that which strikes much closer to home.
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Dec 9, 2015
    75
    The Park runs on standard-but-efficient horror fuel: whispering sounds and child’s cries, all-enveloping darkness and creaking of abandoned yet living park rides. Hansel and Gretel’s story, intermixed with deeply personal horrors of maternity. [Issue#204, p.85]
  4. Oct 28, 2015
    70
    The Park is more unnerving that outright scary, though there are a few attempts at jump scares scattered throughout the game.
  5. Nov 13, 2015
    65
    It’s a low cost horror game that gives you a decent enough storyline to justify the price tag. It’s also a short game though, and not a memorable one. Get it only if you truly love this kind of product.
  6. Nov 9, 2015
    60
    Even though it has some interesting ideas, you’ll be mostly a passive observer on this one time only ride.
  7. Dec 3, 2015
    40
    Although the Park offers a respectable level design, it is failing on all other aspects. It ignores the story and gameplay rules of the horror titles, and the result is an experience that you can easily miss.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 24
  2. Negative: 8 out of 24
  1. Oct 27, 2015
    10
    Amzing game. I really recommed playing it. Quite a unique experience. The atmosphere, sound, story, setting is top notch. Its a scary game inAmzing game. I really recommed playing it. Quite a unique experience. The atmosphere, sound, story, setting is top notch. Its a scary game in a diffrent way than many other horror games, and not diffrent in a bad way. Hope Funcom does more of these games. Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2015
    10
    The Park is a superb horror game. It's personal and psychological, sure there are jump scares but the deeper you get into the game the moreThe Park is a superb horror game. It's personal and psychological, sure there are jump scares but the deeper you get into the game the more you begin to dread the things you suspect rather than the external threats. If you consider the cost of a movie I think the cost of the game is reasonable for it's length, it certainly delivers a better horror experience than most horror movies.

    The game echoes Silent Hill 2 and PT at times, but that's a compliment as those may be the best two horror games ever.

    People who have played The Secret World will get more out of the stories than newcomers, but the game should be understandable for all, and hopefully some newcomers to the setting will be drawn into the deeper story of the MMO.
    Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2015
    9
    Some people say it was too short. I strongly disagree. The developers made it clear from the trailer just a few weeks ago it would be shortSome people say it was too short. I strongly disagree. The developers made it clear from the trailer just a few weeks ago it would be short and focus on the story, rather than the length of the game. Everyone should check the length of a game before buying it if they're unsure of it's quality. It took 1½ hours for me to complete it and it was a perfect length, I'd say. The price is acceptable and is similar to Gone Home and Dear Esther. Two games that are also pretty short and very good.

    The story was incredibly well written and it really got to me. I won't spoil it for you but it was told in a very beautiful, yet scary way. If you interact with all optional things and read as many papers as you can find, you are in for a treat. The Park has some really crazy history and you'll be able to witness this amazing new story.
    Expand
  4. Nov 5, 2015
    6
    This game have a exciting Story with a cool graphic and the game is really creepy. Just as you would want :). The idea is cool, too but I willThis game have a exciting Story with a cool graphic and the game is really creepy. Just as you would want :). The idea is cool, too but I will not spoil it. The game costs 12'99 $ on Steam. I find the end was a little bit predictable. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2015
    6
    6/10 ... it is enjoyable - but not without (quite some) faults.

    Visually it is fine - with a good design of darkness and light. An
    6/10 ... it is enjoyable - but not without (quite some) faults.

    Visually it is fine - with a good design of darkness and light. An abandoned fair that - for some reason is still supplied by the electric company is always as creepy as clowns. I loved the first ride (swan ride) - with excellent storytelling and an ending with a twist - and the little scare. ...

    But from there on - the suspense became more and more a matter of progressively cheaper jump scares that - after the 10th or so - one does not care for anymore.

    Due to - in my opinion - a fairly poor optimization - i had to play the game on a rather low resolution (1024x768) - on medium settings. Why is that relevant? - because i pretty much missed all the little notes. They became unreadable.
    In the end - i was a little surprised by the ending - surprised means... i had no idea what it was about. I guess i missed a little too much of the background story.

    All in all - the unreal engine 4 does a good job with its light and shadow effects. Many figurines gain a wax quality though (at least that is what i call it - they look like wax figures with the very striking highlights and sharp shadows)

    I do not mind that it was a short game. I do not mind that my involvement in the game was pretty irrelevant. I am rather amused that the game offered me options to interact (running/shouting) that had absolutely no effect whatsoever.
    But i do mind that the story itself was not of an appropriate quality. The good voice acting was strangely cut together - with the character sometimes casually rambling away after she had just had a near heart attack due to some scare.
    Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2015
    1
    could be a decent game, but the lack of keyboard binding options makes it absolutely unplayable. the lack of rebinding options is absolutelycould be a decent game, but the lack of keyboard binding options makes it absolutely unplayable. the lack of rebinding options is absolutely lazy and something that is not to be tolerated in this time and age
    also the bonuses given to the secret world players make that game now a pay to win and it's unacceptable
    Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2017
    0
    The Park is a first person horror walking simulator made by FunCom, the makers of The Secret World. The game is about Lorraine, who returns toThe Park is a first person horror walking simulator made by FunCom, the makers of The Secret World. The game is about Lorraine, who returns to the titular park to search for her son, Callum, who has run off into the park in search of his teddy bear.

    Well, maybe.

    This is one of those games that relies rather heavily on mind screw, and at the end, it isn’t really clear what is real and what is fake, or even what actually happened. The protagonist is clearly going crazy and being messed with by The Park, but in the end, the whole thing feels slightly pointless – you walk around the park in a disguised linear loop, but while you see stuff and get to know Lorraine a little bit, ultimately I was left feeling cold. Why should I care? What greater context is there? Some bad guy built an amusement park on bad land and something bad happens as a result. All of the horrible stuff doesn’t really touch me because I’m left wondering why I should care about any of it; there’s no greater connection to the world, and Lorraine isn’t a particularly sympathetic protagonist.

    As a walking simulator, the only gameplay is walking around and clicking on stuff; there’s a few dozen interactive objects within the game, including a few rides that you fade to black to get into rather than organically climbing into them for whatever reason. There’s a couple weird scenes that feel kind of inconsistent with everything else and make little sense until you get towards the end, and even then, you might not realize what it meant unless you think about it (I didn’t realize what a certain scene involving electricity meant until I was writing this review).

    As there isn’t really any gameplay, and the story is confusing and kind of hollow, I’m not really left with a whole lot here. The game looks nice enough – the parking lot at the start of the game looks nice, as does the park at times (especially when first entering), and there is a nice “blood running down the walls” effect, but the game is a rather generic haunted park, and while some moments are nice visually, on the whole there’s nothing particularly memorable about the game.

    As a fan of The Secret World, I did enjoy the nod towards that game in the ending, and indeed, the whole game takes place in a location in that game (or at least an analogue thereof), but, really… I just couldn’t bring myself to care about this game.

    My recommendation? Avoid this.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Trailers