The Red Strings Club Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 129 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Red Strings Club is a cyberpunk narrative experience about fate and happiness featuring the extensive use of pottery, bartending and impersonating people on the phone to take down a corporate conspiracy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 46
  2. Negative: 1 out of 46
  1. Jan 31, 2018
    95
    The Red Strings Club is a game with refined dialogue and sublimely implemented choices. It sets a new standard for story-driven adventure games that can be seen as literature.
  2. Jan 22, 2018
    90
    The creators of Gods Will Be Watching bring us The Red Strings Club, a cyberpunk conversational adventure about happiness, fate and the power of technology corporations. It builds a multilinear plot with deep, diverse and complex characters. The game is varied thanks to different mechanics, like serving cocktails or making pottery, that interweaves with profound conversations in which we must research about a dystopian-ish enterprise.
  3. Jan 24, 2018
    90
    The Red Strings Club deeply explores human emotions and feelings, giving the player the opportunity to play with them.
  4. Jan 22, 2018
    80
    Seeing the way that your decisions ripple outward and affect other parts of the game adds a sense of weight to every scene.
  5. Feb 5, 2018
    80
    The Red Strings Club in an excellent story-driven game that offers a beautiful pixel design and a very interesting narrative gameplay.
  6. Jan 24, 2018
    77
    The Red Strings Club is a clever (and occasionally quite confronting) narrative experience that blends a compelling cocktail of ethical quandaries and social engineering, with a fresh slice of low-stress minigames. Served chilled.
  7. Jan 23, 2018
    30
    Sadly, The Red Strings Club will fool some into thinking it follows in the footsteps of classics from WadjetEye Games purely because of its aesthetics. Do not be mistaken, though. This is not a patch on any of that company's releases, nor is it affiliated with it at all. Instead, this takes an intriguing style and theme of the world gone mad for technology, mixes in some extremely random love story between the lead duo of hacker and bartender that bears no relevance to the underlying tale, adds in a heavy dose of some of the most painful attempts at puzzles, and then perfectly tops it all off with an overly wordy script filled with too much padding.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 28
  2. Negative: 2 out of 28
  1. Jan 1, 2019
    10
    Я влюбился в эту игру в, в эту атмосферу,саундтрек, персонажей их историю.Игра заставляет задуматься о человечном о эмоциях ,о моральныхЯ влюбился в эту игру в, в эту атмосферу,саундтрек, персонажей их историю.Игра заставляет задуматься о человечном о эмоциях ,о моральных качествах каждого человека.У каждого человека идеальный мир будет разным. Expand
  2. Jun 27, 2019
    10
    A beautifully deep and introspective game.

    Life is the connection between birth and death. However, it is the events that occur during this
    A beautifully deep and introspective game.

    Life is the connection between birth and death. However, it is the events that occur during this connection that matter, as it is the only part of life you can change. That's what this game is about. Every choice you make matters, each tangling the red string of fate further. Only for it all to end the way fate had intended it to.

    The game peeks into a pivotal point in Donovan's and Brandeis' lives when the world is on the verge of change. A change for better or worse is what the game asks you.

    Which is another thing: the writing is excellent. While there is not much more I can say without spoiling, I would like to say that the ideas and principles woven into each character engages you into their story. You will begin to understand them, and perhaps question your current principles.

    Not to mention the stellar soundtrack, with each track leaving me scrambling for my phone to download it.

    This is a must play if you're in the mood for of a change in perspective with some banger tunes.
    Expand
  3. Jan 23, 2018
    10
    Fun, innovative gameplay mechanics. Awesome cyberpunk story with very well developed characters. Really beautiful pixel art and music with aFun, innovative gameplay mechanics. Awesome cyberpunk story with very well developed characters. Really beautiful pixel art and music with a very personal style. Overall top quality everywhere with many unique and innovative touches. Potential indie GOTY. Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2019
    9
    Carregado de filosofia, The Red Strings Club consegue capturar o jogador dentro de uma narrativa profundamente controversa e cheia deCarregado de filosofia, The Red Strings Club consegue capturar o jogador dentro de uma narrativa profundamente controversa e cheia de dualidades com uma jogabilidade simples mas satisfatória, chegando a seu ápice com um dos melhores finais que um videogame já ofereceu. Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2019
    8
    Lo considero una obra maestra en su categoría.
    Este juego me ha hecho dudar de mi mismo, de mi criterio, de mi moral y en muchas ocasiones
    Lo considero una obra maestra en su categoría.
    Este juego me ha hecho dudar de mi mismo, de mi criterio, de mi moral y en muchas ocasiones "sacarme los colores" al demostrarme lo incongruente de mis argumentos o decisiones.
    Historia sorprendente y original, toma de decisiones, causa y efecto.
    A nivel artístico presenta un pixelart increíble además de su ambientación y su extraordinario guion.
    Me resultó algo corto y algunas de sus mecánicas son totalmente irrelevantes o no aportan nada más allá de tenerte 10 mín "tallando" jarrones.
    Lo recomiendo para todos esos amantes de los futuros distópicos y seguidores de Huxley.
    *Puntuación con respecto al panorama independiente.
    Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2018
    8
    One of the best quick adventure games out there - plenty of mini games - lots of hard choices - a story thick enough to keep you guessing -One of the best quick adventure games out there - plenty of mini games - lots of hard choices - a story thick enough to keep you guessing - and coming back for replays. Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2019
    0
    Stop shoving politics down my throat, it's annoying. Seriously and the game's lame.

See all 28 User Reviews