User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 695 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 50 out of 695

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 14, 2015
    9
    If you liked Portal and Portal 2, this game may be for you. I say 'may' because the puzzles are not up to the same level of design as the puzzles from Portal, but are still very enjoyable.

    The game is gorgeous - a very nice set of settings and design of the 'hub' worlds and the individual levels. I would highly recommend this game - played through in about 30 hours or so and enjoyed
    If you liked Portal and Portal 2, this game may be for you. I say 'may' because the puzzles are not up to the same level of design as the puzzles from Portal, but are still very enjoyable.

    The game is gorgeous - a very nice set of settings and design of the 'hub' worlds and the individual levels.

    I would highly recommend this game - played through in about 30 hours or so and enjoyed it greatly.
    Expand
  2. Dec 13, 2014
    10
    A surprisingly fun puzzler with great graphics and great sound coming from the studio that made Serious Sam? That is a sentence i never thought i would write! It is without a doubt the first FPS puzzler that comes near the perfection of Portal and in some, albeit subjective ways, it surpasses it. The "ways" i am talking about are the technical aspects(graphics and sound) which were alwaysA surprisingly fun puzzler with great graphics and great sound coming from the studio that made Serious Sam? That is a sentence i never thought i would write! It is without a doubt the first FPS puzzler that comes near the perfection of Portal and in some, albeit subjective ways, it surpasses it. The "ways" i am talking about are the technical aspects(graphics and sound) which were always a forte of Croteam and the atmosphere. This game just grabs you from the first second with its amazing puzzle design and great writing. You just have to see what comes next. Overall a breath of fresh air in an otherwise stale year filled with over hyped triple A boredom. I wholeheartedly recommend buying it. Expand
  3. Dec 31, 2014
    2
    There is nothing really bad about this game per se, but all it really is is a glorified mobile puzzle game on PC. It's a first person candy crush saga. It's essentially just Portal, without the fun of a portal gun. If you like lame mobile games and easy puzzles and a really boring setting, then this game is for you. If you want real video games, steer far away from this one.
  4. Jan 18, 2015
    8
    The Talos Principle manages to stand its ground against the excellent Portal series, and that in itself is saying much.

    Direct comparison is inevitable as, like its venerable ancestor, TTP is a first-person puzzler set in a cryptic and unsettling science-fictional background, where the player has to find a way out of an environment controlled by a seemingly friendly omnipotent figure
    The Talos Principle manages to stand its ground against the excellent Portal series, and that in itself is saying much.

    Direct comparison is inevitable as, like its venerable ancestor, TTP is a first-person puzzler set in a cryptic and unsettling science-fictional background, where the player has to find a way out of an environment controlled by a seemingly friendly omnipotent figure but where - of course - nothing is quite as it seems.

    The narrative structure varies, as TTP conveys most of its story through written text and pre-recorded messages. It also places more emphasis on the (well-designed) puzzles themselves as there is quite a lot of them, with a nicely adjusted difficulty, they can be accessed in a non-linear fashion, and completionists will have a blast finding all the secrets.

    The writing is smart and the voice acting is occasionally superb (Alexandra's couple of last time capsules are especially poignant, kuddos to the voice actress), but alas falls short of its predecessor cinematographic brilliance. Half-way through the game, most people will have understood everything there is to understand and will be waiting, as I have been, for a last twist or two that never come. The end of the game, while relatively satisfactory gameplay-wise, becomes more of a road to confirmation rather than a road to enlightenment as the build-up would have you believe, and you're left with the feeling that the philosophical food for thought thrown at you throughout the game, while certainly entertaining and curiosity-arousing, was maybe just a bit too much for the writers to tie-up properly.

    That being said, TTP remains a great experience, with very neat production values, and a satisfyingly smarter-than-average backstory and game mechanics. If you liked Portal for its blend of sci-fi puzzling, you'll feel right at home and will most likely have a blast with TTP as well! Wether or not that's worth 40€ is ultimately up to you, as there's quite a bit more of content out-of-the-box than Portal, but a lot of it is absolutely optional.
    Expand
  5. Jan 11, 2015
    10
    The true heir of Portal II, a phylosophical masterpiece filled with tricky puzzles.
    You will dig deep into your knowledge and logical abilities to find the solutions and some of the star levels require out of the box thinking.
    It reqired me 25 hours to gain access to all three finals
  6. Apr 10, 2015
    10
    It has been a very long time since a game has captivated me like the Talos Principle did, the puzzles can be extremely challenging at times, but you can just abandon that particular puzzle and come back to it later, while you go solve another one.
    What I found great about the game was that it didn't force you to be a part of the story, if you just wanted to solve puzzles, then it left you
    It has been a very long time since a game has captivated me like the Talos Principle did, the puzzles can be extremely challenging at times, but you can just abandon that particular puzzle and come back to it later, while you go solve another one.
    What I found great about the game was that it didn't force you to be a part of the story, if you just wanted to solve puzzles, then it left you to it, but if you wanted to delve more into the story line then it rewarded your curiousity. Considering there wasn't alot of narrative in the game in terms of videos and other cutscenes I still found myself engaging in the the philosophical questions posed by the terminals. Despite not getting many answers it only drove me to play the game even more just to see what was on the next terminal. I can honestly say that I can't wait for a sequel to this game I'd love to see where the development team might take this IP. In short if you just want to solve puzzles then play this game. If you want an engaging story then play this game. If you want both... Yup you guessed it! Play this game.
    Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2015
    10
    The best puzzle game since Portal 2.
    The game gets almost everything right: from puzzles that seem impossible until it suddenly all becomes obvious, the way the story is delivered, the sound and graphics, right up to what must be one of the most impressive option menus I have ever seen.
    The puzzles are clever and logical although occasionally a little too simple, but are laid out in such
    The best puzzle game since Portal 2.
    The game gets almost everything right: from puzzles that seem impossible until it suddenly all becomes obvious, the way the story is delivered, the sound and graphics, right up to what must be one of the most impressive option menus I have ever seen.
    The puzzles are clever and logical although occasionally a little too simple, but are laid out in such a way that if you get stuck you can always work on something else for a while, which is almost essential for this type of game.
    I would recommend this in an instant to anybody that enjoyed any of the portal games, you will not be disappointed.
    Expand
  8. Jan 24, 2015
    9
    A very good game that made me think about technology and humanity; this is certainly a game that makes you think. Great Graphics and mechanics. It's 9/10 because some puzzles are too easy, even near in the end of the game.
  9. Jan 15, 2015
    9
    Genial puzzle, and nice idea of completing parts and getting higher up to tower.
    I didn´t bore any second while i played this game.
    Nice textures and good story and multiple endings.
    And also lift stuck troll, which croteam trolled yourselves, because it is easy to evade from it, by developer cheats haha.
    Great game, only - is no multiplayer why ?
    It could be much more fun like portal 2 :/
  10. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    One of the best puzzlers I ever saw. Cleverly done with beautiful graphics. Reminds me of Portal but it's even better. Nice work Croteam! I was a bit sceptic seeing this game coming from masters of mindless FPS Serious Sam, but guys really nailed it.
  11. Feb 23, 2015
    10
    If you love Portal and Portal 2, you will love The Talos Principle. Even when the gameplay may seem familiar to Portal, they are really quite different but equally good
  12. May 25, 2015
    10
    What an excellent game! Very well designed with a gorgeous atmosphere, beautiful soundtrack, intriguing and original story and very satisfying puzzles. There are tons of Easter eggs for those that really feel like a hunt. It's nice to see that they got this one so right.

    No need to worry yourselves about input lag or your ping here; just prepare to use your mind for this adventure!
    What an excellent game! Very well designed with a gorgeous atmosphere, beautiful soundtrack, intriguing and original story and very satisfying puzzles. There are tons of Easter eggs for those that really feel like a hunt. It's nice to see that they got this one so right.

    No need to worry yourselves about input lag or your ping here; just prepare to use your mind for this adventure! This kind of game makes me happy to be a PC gamer; loved the main story and will definitely keep installed to play some Steam workshop mods and wait for an expansion or any DLC that may be down the road hopefully. A job well-done to the developers at Croteam for this gem!
    Expand
  13. Jun 19, 2015
    10
    The Talos Principle is an interactive allegory of the human condition and poses the idea of what comprises a human being. It is true that puzzles are tedious and repetitive, but you don't truly play it for the 'wildly fun puzzles,' you play it for the layered and brilliantly complex story that makes you question you stance on your existence within the universe. I found myself craving theThe Talos Principle is an interactive allegory of the human condition and poses the idea of what comprises a human being. It is true that puzzles are tedious and repetitive, but you don't truly play it for the 'wildly fun puzzles,' you play it for the layered and brilliantly complex story that makes you question you stance on your existence within the universe. I found myself craving the next, excellently performed audio log. (I have never heard video game voice overs this good.) The story pulls you in, until the very last excruciating second, and makes you feel content in your journey. The game itself is gorgeous (albeit a bit redundant.) It is a perfect example of how some video games are a viable modern art form. Expand
  14. Jul 25, 2015
    9
    Capolavoro tra i puzzle game. Tecnicamente è veramente ben fatto, soprattutto a livello grafico. Sostanzialmente vieni catapultato in un mondo che non capisci cos'è, tu non sai chi sei e man mano che prosegui nei livelli inizi a capire cosa accade. La storia è molto intrigante e viene raccontata sottoforma di "file" all'interno di alcuni computer sparsi per il mondo di gioco. E' una storiaCapolavoro tra i puzzle game. Tecnicamente è veramente ben fatto, soprattutto a livello grafico. Sostanzialmente vieni catapultato in un mondo che non capisci cos'è, tu non sai chi sei e man mano che prosegui nei livelli inizi a capire cosa accade. La storia è molto intrigante e viene raccontata sottoforma di "file" all'interno di alcuni computer sparsi per il mondo di gioco. E' una storia da ricostruire pezzo per pezzo. Non delude sotto praticamente nessun punto di vista, è veramente un eccellente puzzle game che non annoia mai e che, verso la fine, presenta dei livelli di difficoltà abbastanza elevati (anche se mai "impossibili"). Consigliatissimo a tutti gli amanti di Portal 1 e 2. Expand
  15. Oct 3, 2015
    10
    Philosophy in its purest state.

    An amazing experience that will make you ask yourself all those questions you've ever had about life and humanity. The game itself goes over very deep topics, this means that the player must be a person who like to stay calm, read and explore all he can get or reach. The story is based in the mystery of not knowing what the hell is happening. Every
    Philosophy in its purest state.

    An amazing experience that will make you ask yourself all those questions you've ever had about life and humanity. The game itself goes over very deep topics, this means that the player must be a person who like to stay calm, read and explore all he can get or reach.

    The story is based in the mystery of not knowing what the hell is happening. Every time you get information about who are you, or where you are, a new theory comes across your head. It's magic.

    The Talos Principle remains between reality and fiction in the genre of puzzles. While the gameplay is simple to understand but hard to reproduce, with few mechanics that work together (making the game frustrating some times), the graphics, effects and scenarios are excellent crafted and really beautiful. But clearly what highlights is the wonderful narrative and story.

    It is the first game in which I do not want to play the actual core game, instead find more information, stories and people thoughts in each area.

    The game suggest in a sublime way the future of artificial intelligence and the infinite possibilities of a virtual universe, while questioning our own universe with elaborate theories, really creepy actually Questions about life, death, consciousness and how humans act in front of a machine depending on the level of consciousness it has, instead if that machine is alive or not. Raises impossible questions that will encourage more and more to end as quickly as possible to know how the story end. Keep in mind that The Talos Principle has different endings based in your final choices.
    Expand
  16. Jan 6, 2016
    9
    Widely praised as the game of the year of 2014, The Talos Principle is a puzzle-platformer which can probably be summarized in the following way:

    The Good: It reminded me of Portal 2 in a good way. The Bad: It was not Portal 2. The Ugly: It kind of wanted to be Portal 2. Its similarities to – and differences from – Portal 2 are instructive. Some of these were solid choices
    Widely praised as the game of the year of 2014, The Talos Principle is a puzzle-platformer which can probably be summarized in the following way:

    The Good: It reminded me of Portal 2 in a good way.

    The Bad: It was not Portal 2.

    The Ugly: It kind of wanted to be Portal 2.

    Its similarities to – and differences from – Portal 2 are instructive. Some of these were solid choices which helped to differentiate it, but some of its differences were failures on its part which diminished it as an experience.

    However, perhaps the most salient difference is this: Portal 2 is about 8 hours long. The Talos Principle took me 26 hours to complete.

    Now, you might think that this means that The Talos Principle had massively more content than Portal 2. In a strict sense, this is true; The Talos Principle has about twice as many levels as Portal 2 did, with Portal 2 clocking in at 64 in the single-player campaign and The Talos Principle clocking in at 138, more counting the Easter eggs – little (and sometimes big) things hidden in the various levels.

    However, even with twice the content, that would leave The Talos Principle at only about 18 hours in length. Whence the extra 8 hours?

    The answer to that is, sadly, “running around looking at walls”. And it is actually probably more than that, as the first half of the game is primarily spent on that activity, with far more time spent trying to find hidden puzzles than is spent on solving the actual puzzles themselves.

    And worse still, despite taking nearly three times as long to beat, The Talos Principle doesn’t feel like it has more content than Portal 2 – indeed, in many ways, it feels like it has less, as you don’t interact with the characters as often, nor do the environments feel as varied as they did in Portal 2.

    Through the course of the game, the player travels through a number of different environments themed around ancient civilizations – Greek ruins, Egyptian ruins, ruins of European churches, and even ruins of castles and forts high in snowy mountains. This contrasts sharply with the obviously technological nature of the player and of the various puzzles in the game, revealing a dichotomy between the pseudo-religious nature of Elohim, and the reality of the technological reality you inhabit. All of this contrasts sharply with the overworld hub – a place full of what look like beautiful ancient places from the inside, but which it quickly becomes clear are naught but replicas built in concrete bunkers in a snowy place from the outside. The tower dominates your view in the overworld hub, an enormously tall spire of concrete and steel that towers over all else, containing an elevator with the higher floors locked out – to begin with. Unlike everything else in the game, there is a sort of grubby reality to the tower, which hints at its true nature and purpose.

    The story aspect of the game is quite good, and the whole game does a great job of invoking a feeling of profundity but also underlying desperation. You find messages left behind by various previous people, with version numbers after their names, and, if you pay close attention, you might notice a name or two from your Steam friends list. This is no coincidence – it is possible for you yourself to find paint buckets to leave behind messages to future folks who go through. Interestingly, this also hints at the nature of the world – as well as where you’re going in the end – and as you progress through the game, you unlock more and more messages you can leave behind for your buddies.

    The game also has some meta aspects to it. I have seen some reviews which claim that the whole game is meta-commentary about video games, but it really isn’t. That said, it certainly contains meta-commentary about video games, and there are a lot of in-world meta explanations for the nature of the world and even why names from your Steam friends list are appearing in the world – this is not an artificial contrivance, but an actual part of the world you inhabit, and there’s a reason for it. There are also in-game Easter eggs, some of which are quite brilliant, and as you progress through the game the reason that those Easter eggs exist is again explained in-game as being an organic (if silly) part of the world.

    What the game is really about is the central question of what it means to be human. The titular Talos Principle is a concept from Greek mythology – Talos being a massive automaton made of bronze, animated by ichor put in his body by Zeus (or Hephestus, depending on the myth) himself to animate him and give him life. In the end, when the ichor is drained from his body, he dies as a human would if they exsanguinated, thus proving him to be “human” in a sense. Much of the game’s philosophical conversations with Milton – and many of the documents in the computer – talk about the question of what it means to be human, and the question of whether or not the AIs they are creating – which you are one of – are “human” in a sense.
    Expand
  17. Jul 16, 2015
    8
    This is an excellent 3-D puzzle game. The puzzles are challenging, but logical. The setting and plot are intriguing. They keep some measure of mystery and feed you details, but you can choose to dig a bit further yourself. It leaves you, in part, wondering about the nature of sentience and being and the validity of various beliefs about those things. The graphics aren't strong, butThis is an excellent 3-D puzzle game. The puzzles are challenging, but logical. The setting and plot are intriguing. They keep some measure of mystery and feed you details, but you can choose to dig a bit further yourself. It leaves you, in part, wondering about the nature of sentience and being and the validity of various beliefs about those things. The graphics aren't strong, but they're adequate for the game. Expand
  18. Aug 8, 2015
    10
    10/10
    Pros:
    - interesting, varied puzzles which get hard pretty quick (I even had to look up for the solution on youtube for a few) - about 120 puzzles which took me about 5 days in total to solve - nice music and graphics - the story with much intrigue which kept me interested till the end, they way they chose to tell it (notes, emails, voice recordings) was great - many references
    10/10
    Pros:
    - interesting, varied puzzles which get hard pretty quick (I even had to look up for the solution on youtube for a few)
    - about 120 puzzles which took me about 5 days in total to solve
    - nice music and graphics
    - the story with much intrigue which kept me interested till the end, they way they chose to tell it (notes, emails, voice recordings) was great
    - many references to philosophy, citations from their works, pretty educational

    Cons (really minor stuff):
    - some of the conversations contained replies none of which I wanted to pick, but still had to pick something to continue
    - the 2nd ending lacked explanations - I really wanted to know what happened to the world but i guess they didn't bother to think that stuff thru
    - a few very annoying puzzles where precise timing was needed (e.g. "Nerve Wrecker"). It's annoying when you already know how to solve a puzzle but fail to do it over and over because you fail to press a key at the precise needed moment. Thankfully, there were just a few such puzzles.
    Expand
  19. Jul 11, 2015
    8
    A competent and intelligent puzzle game. The philosophy can seem forced and out of place at first, but makes much more sense once more of the story (which is quite good) and context is revealed. Of course, this is something that you'll have to look for and interpret yourself. The Talos Principle is definitely not a game to be rushed.

    The soundtrack is very well done if slightly
    A competent and intelligent puzzle game. The philosophy can seem forced and out of place at first, but makes much more sense once more of the story (which is quite good) and context is revealed. Of course, this is something that you'll have to look for and interpret yourself. The Talos Principle is definitely not a game to be rushed.

    The soundtrack is very well done if slightly repetitive, and the visuals are quite decent as well. UI is perfectly functional and compact. There are also a huge plethora of in-game options to tweak to your heart's content. This is a very well optimized game.

    In my opinion, the game would be improved if:
    - there was greater puzzle variation.
    - the game was a little shorter. I felt it overstayed its welcome just a little bit.
    - there was an in-game explanation of how to use different tools and their possible applications. Perhaps if there was a brief and optional tutorial separate from the main game.
    - quicksaving was implemented.
    - the game used additional avenues of storytelling besides audio logs and text documents.

    Overall rating - 8.1/10
    Expand
  20. Nov 15, 2016
    10
    It was pleasant for me to find out that I have only good things to say about this game. Unlike many modern titles, that are either frustrating, derivative, or unfinished, Talos Principle is a pleasant, focused game, that resembles a quiet, lazy autumn afternoon when you go for a walk alone just to sort through your thoughts, passing people, observing, thinking, enjoying that preciousIt was pleasant for me to find out that I have only good things to say about this game. Unlike many modern titles, that are either frustrating, derivative, or unfinished, Talos Principle is a pleasant, focused game, that resembles a quiet, lazy autumn afternoon when you go for a walk alone just to sort through your thoughts, passing people, observing, thinking, enjoying that precious little moment when there is no task at hand, no time pressure nor a danger that would force an immediate action.

    Everything in the game is "just right" - graphics, although very static, are pleasant to look at, the soundtrack is serene and enjoyable, the puzzles are not too difficult but not trivial either. Many of them feature clever twists, their structure indicating certain direction towards the solution that in facts leads nowhere while thinking out of the box is required. Solving such puzzles provides great satisfaction.

    I have not finished the game yet, but I would gladly play something similar again. Perhaps the best of the recent "puzzle games" I have tried, including Witness, Fish Fillets, etc.

    Fantastic little game, one of the few I will gladly give the perfect score!
    Expand
  21. Jul 31, 2015
    10
    This is a challenging puzzler with a very interesting and original idea of story. It's not easy to get all the stars, I spent hours to find certain stars and the experience and the sense of accomplishment that you get are unique. But what kept me the most hooked in this game was the story, very well done. A truly unique game.
  22. Aug 27, 2015
    10
    Likely one of my all time favorite games. Instead of getting a flat "go through X puzzles to get X thing to do X things", you are given the ability to choose, to think, to form an opinion. A great game with an interesting puzzle set and a thought provoking philosophical story.
  23. Aug 10, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the most captivating games I have ever played... The mechanics are simple, but the whole atmosphere the game presents is similar to an acid trip. Love the philosophy and discussions on the terminals, however limited the answers are. I really felt deep respect for Alexandra Drennan and her in-game work. I just wish there were more content for the afterwards of the events of the game, I do wish an expansion for the events of the real world. Normally, I wouldn't even finish this game, but with this lovely story telling, I even got every achievement on Steam :) Expand
  24. Sep 18, 2015
    10
    If you love to solve puzzles, don't even think about it another second, download this puzzle game. It is Fantastic!
    Besides the 120 or so puzzles, there is a story that reveals itself as the game progresses. I wasn't thinking about it much at the beginning but I soon realized that I was getting emotionally caught up in the story as I was solving the puzzles. And the puzzles are
    If you love to solve puzzles, don't even think about it another second, download this puzzle game. It is Fantastic!
    Besides the 120 or so puzzles, there is a story that reveals itself as the game progresses. I wasn't thinking about it much at the beginning but I soon realized that I was getting emotionally caught up in the story as I was solving the puzzles. And the puzzles are logical....repeat....The Puzzles Are Logical. None of that off the wall nonsense that you can find in many poorly designed adventure games.
    Also, there are Star Puzzles that are scattered throughout the game that you can also solve (only if you want to) that are much harder.
    The thing that absolutely amazed me was when I finished the last puzzle and the game ended, I felt a kind of loss. Seemed ridiculous but the feeling hung with me for days!
    Thank Goodness there is an expansion that you can download: The Talos Principle: Road To Gehenna which will let you continue on your journey for awhile.
    Also something that I noticed was how fluid this game played on my computer. The motion, reaction time, etc. felt smooth as silk. I found out that it uses the Serious Engine 4 designed by the Croteam who also designed the game.
    I have to tell Ya, I've been playing intellectual video games since I was a kid and The Talos Principle is one that stands high among the best that I have ever played. And I'm in my 60's!
    The only negative thing that I can think of about the main game or the add on is that they finally came to an end.
    It's going to be hard for anyone to top this masterpiece.
    Expand
  25. Oct 9, 2015
    10
    The game is great! it was 24h of puzzles and thinking about life, consciousness and people! I like gameplay, like the animation, it's great detalized locations and magnificent story line!
  26. Dec 11, 2017
    8
    The Talos Principles has very different approach to puzzle games than Portal series. Serious plot with barely any jokes, less casual puzzles and atmosphere of loneliness are main components here. And it works.
  27. Aug 15, 2015
    8
    This is a truly unique game which the industry needs more of. A serious puzzle game with an intriguing story, some great philosophical elements, lots of mystery and things to be discovered. It is a very immersive experience and quite relaxing. The soundtrack, art style, environments and graphical fidelity make for a somehwat euphoric experience. It's a beautiful game in its design. ThereThis is a truly unique game which the industry needs more of. A serious puzzle game with an intriguing story, some great philosophical elements, lots of mystery and things to be discovered. It is a very immersive experience and quite relaxing. The soundtrack, art style, environments and graphical fidelity make for a somehwat euphoric experience. It's a beautiful game in its design. There are no tutorials in this game - it's all about exploration and experimentation. What I love baout this game is that the puzzles are really intuitive; at least once you know the main mechanics, you'll rarely find yourself being frustrated by a puzzle and resorting to "cheating" (by looking up the solution). There's quite a good diversity in terms of the worlds, so you'll always be immersed and want to continue to progress the story (through interacting with "Command Prompt"-style terminals, listening to audio logs, reading some things etc.) The ambiguity in this game motivates you to progress further - everything feels like it has meaning and purpose. I would compare The Talos Principle to Portal as being a top-notch puzzle game but unlike Portal, The Talos Principle is far deeper and more "serious", with Elohim being a much more intimidating, powerful and "Godly" character than the tongue-in-cheek GLaDOS. Also the game does not rely on a single mechanic or device (although many puzzles will use just one device). Every puzzle feels like a "puzzle within a puzzle within a puzzle", and indeed due to the way it's structured, some of them link so to get some of the stars you have to think literally "outside the box" (or rather, "puzzle arena"). It's beautiful, unpredictable, atmospheric and truly original. I would not have expected a game like this from the developers of the (not so serious) Serious Sam series! This is a game that is definitely worth checking out if you want something perplexing - an adventure game without any guns or violence or a linear, cliche plot. The only negative I would give this game is that I wish there was a bit more traditional story-telling to tie things together and less of those obnoxious 'Sigil' shape puzzles. Expand
  28. Jun 3, 2016
    8
    Any fan of the puzzle style games, similar ish to Portal and after a good challenge will really find something here. Puzzles get progressively difficult and a great narrative and setting make this worth your time.
  29. Oct 1, 2015
    8
    Tier 2
    + Creative and unique puzzles that keep the player mentally engaged from start to finish
    + Interesting interplay between gameplay and story + Allows the player freedom in their order of progression ? Odd hint system tied to tedious online Tetris piece puzzles ? Particularly challenging collectible system, only for the most die-hard completionists - Aspects of the story feel
    Tier 2
    + Creative and unique puzzles that keep the player mentally engaged from start to finish
    + Interesting interplay between gameplay and story
    + Allows the player freedom in their order of progression
    ? Odd hint system tied to tedious online Tetris piece puzzles
    ? Particularly challenging collectible system, only for the most die-hard completionists
    - Aspects of the story feel hamfisted in their message and poorly integrated
    - Some puzzles are enormously tedious not just due to complexity but also in execution
    - Final level of the game is lamely tied to a "rising lava" obstacle that does nothing but frustrate
    Expand
  30. Feb 4, 2016
    9
    The Talos Principle is a thought provoking game that will make you think hard to discover its puzzles and its plot.

    The puzzle game which The Talos Principle sets up is nice, and the design of a lot of the puzzle areas is well done and makes you think and observe your environment in order to advance. The way in which the game gives you a new mechanic to work with and then softly
    The Talos Principle is a thought provoking game that will make you think hard to discover its puzzles and its plot.

    The puzzle game which The Talos Principle sets up is nice, and the design of a lot of the puzzle areas is well done and makes you think and observe your environment in order to advance. The way in which the game gives you a new mechanic to work with and then softly introduces you to that mechanic by way of self learning is clever and rewarding. The only thing that you will notice however is that there are some puzzles that tend to be too similar to others

    The story is what shines in this game, as the philosophical themes are strewn about, which make you think hard between dialogue, and under those themes is a story which you must piece together with audio logs, and the final ending is a bittersweet conclusion.

    The visuals are nice in this game, nothing groundbreaking but pleasant to look at, and the change of scenery between each world from Egypt, to Greece, and the middle ages is a nice switch. The Talos Principle is a smart, thoughtful, and challenging puzzler that poses intriguing thoughts, and a sad story underneath a well designed puzzler.
    Expand
  31. Jan 10, 2016
    9
    Good game, similar to Portal, but definitely not at the same level.

    Let's start with what I think were mistakes on this game: - they failed on the Law of Conservation of Energy during the narration (or at least the Italian translation did, badly) and since the whole game is about AI this is really bad IMHO - puzzles are repetitive, to a point that for more than half of the puzzles
    Good game, similar to Portal, but definitely not at the same level.

    Let's start with what I think were mistakes on this game:
    - they failed on the Law of Conservation of Energy during the narration (or at least the Italian translation did, badly) and since the whole game is about AI this is really bad IMHO
    - puzzles are repetitive, to a point that for more than half of the puzzles everything is reduced to the hassle of running around with the pieces (and/or falling/else because you're bored and you don't pay attention anymore) of a puzzle you solved as you entered the room because you've already solved that same puzzle before, with minor differences
    - narration is slow... actually it's a direct consequence of the exaggerated amount of puzzles needed to beat the game

    So why isn't my review negative? Because, again, the game is good.
    The plot, even though it's smeared on almost 20 hours of game-play, is nice and catching with all the reasoning, philosophy and physics. Graphics are top notch (mostly) and anyway always visually rewarding. Same could be said for the soundtrack that was never able to bore me even if I was listening to it for 20 hours straight. Probably something more could have been done on sound effects, sometimes they felt repetitive or missing.

    I'd like to talk a bit more about those puzzles, because the concept is great, and the realization is great too, when I was given a puzzle I had to think to solve it was fun and rewarding, but then I was given the same puzzle, with minor differences that took me a minute or less to understand and I lost tenth of minutes just running around with puzzle pieces, bored, so bored I'd actually fail falling or being killed because I was rushing to end the thing ASAP, furthermore increasing the boredom adding some frustration.
    And again, certain puzzles were great and on others I even gave up (more or less 1/3 of the "stars") so challenging they were, I just cannot stand this "same puzzle over and over" thing, sorry. Not to mention that to beat the game you HAVE to complete all the puzzles (except for the "stars").

    To conclude, in my opinion this game could have been on the same level of Portal if it had 1/3 of the puzzles it has (or even less), so that the narration would have been a bit more fast paced and catching and every puzzle would have felt a new challenge.

    NOTE: Italian dub is not that good and Italian translation isn't either, since reading a lot of text on a foreign language is quite demanding I still opted for the Italian translation, but I couldn't really stand the dub too, so I played the game with the original English voice acting and Italian subs/text; if you feel very confident with the English language I'd suggest you to play the whole game (speech, subs and text) in English language.
    Expand
  32. Apr 17, 2016
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Half way through this game I was convinced it wasn't worth more than a 5 tops. The puzzles to that point weren't much challenge and the only areas I could advance the story gave me lame responses to the AI that I was conversing with. But after the midpoint in the game the puzzles got a whole lot better. I spent ten hours on the first half of the game and 42 on the second! I'm a completionist and that includes every yellow star (secret) and gray sigil (area only playable after recovering 30 stars) and no looking up the solution on the internet. I still think the philosophically heavy story was a bit tedious and haughty for a puzzle game but I had a great time nonetheless.

    If you like 3D physics based puzzles you'll probably like it too.
    Expand
  33. Oct 20, 2015
    9
    amazing concept, and story.
    it is really rare to find a game that debates philosophy without it feeling forced. (thought many texts are too unrelated.
    the gameplay is quite fun but too many puzzles feel like tutorial. the dlc RtG has some mindbending puzzles.
    the voice over is amazing.
    soundtrack is good. but fitting.
  34. Aug 2, 2016
    8
    Beautiful, fun first person puzzle solving. It can get a little repetetive because there are basically only 4 kinds of levels textures, but if you play it more casually and like puzzle solving, it can be fantastic.
  35. Dec 29, 2014
    9
    The Talos Principle is a first-person, Portal-inspired puzzle game with a philosophical narrative as a backdrop that makes for a truly intriguing and remarkable experience. The game delivers a wealth of challenging puzzles compiled with a thought-provoking story. It's a fantastic combination that makes this title a prime GOTY contender.

    You begin by not knowing who you are, what you are
    The Talos Principle is a first-person, Portal-inspired puzzle game with a philosophical narrative as a backdrop that makes for a truly intriguing and remarkable experience. The game delivers a wealth of challenging puzzles compiled with a thought-provoking story. It's a fantastic combination that makes this title a prime GOTY contender.

    You begin by not knowing who you are, what you are or why you exist before you are propelled into a mysterious world in where you seek answers for your existence. Your progression in the land is unfolded by completing puzzles and collecting Silgils. Only you and a strange voice seemingly from the sky reside in this strange place but can whoever or whatever is there be trusted? You'll have to progress to find out..

    The game houses a vast selection of smart and beautifully crafted puzzles which were designed to an amazing standard by the developers; Croteam - the development house behind the Serious Sam games. Some are fairly routine in the early stages as expected but the more Sigils you collect; the harder the puzzles become especially in the latter stages of the game. You will find yourself deeply confused, frustrated and dumbfounded at times but it's all worthwhile for the satisfaction on completion of a tricky task and is a testament to the developers for their creativity. The supportive writing and story complimenting the game is also of a very impressive standard and you really have to admire the effort that has gone into producing a game that's more than just a puzzle title.

    Overall; I hadn't heard of The Talos Priniple this time last week and now I am the proud owner of a truly fantastic title that is worth every penny. The narrative is deep and compelling and the puzzles on offer are of the highest standard. The developers have done a truly fantastic job in their design and execution and should be commended in the highest order for what has been a dreadful year in gaming. The Steam Workshop potential is also another selling point to what is a beautifully produced title.
    Expand
  36. Dec 22, 2014
    9
    This is not the new portal. This is not something more magical than anything else ever, it isn't going to involve you as much as something like Brothers, doesn't have the massive emotional impact of Vanishing of... the graphics are NOT 'top notch' they are pretty good, with nice thoughtful details and inventive ideas... but it is a great great puzzle game, if with so far pretty simpleThis is not the new portal. This is not something more magical than anything else ever, it isn't going to involve you as much as something like Brothers, doesn't have the massive emotional impact of Vanishing of... the graphics are NOT 'top notch' they are pretty good, with nice thoughtful details and inventive ideas... but it is a great great puzzle game, if with so far pretty simple mechanics, and right now in terms of new games, yes it probably is the finest simple puzzle orientated current new game on steam by some distance.
    Anyway my favourite things... it runs at HIGH SPEED on my average machine. The levels load in like an instant. the voice acting is good, the support 'info' is intriguing. there's no rubbish cutscene movies to sit through. No tedious messing about as you reset a level after you mess up. Puzzles so far are a bit repetitive, but overall... great game.
    Expand
  37. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    Great in a Philip K. Dick sort of way. With philosophical writing that requests you to wonder about the world outside of the game. I will admit that game play sticks out way less in my mind but adds a whole lot more depth to this game. The serious engines have always been one of the best optimized engines letting you get away with a better looking game. With vague writing cynical ofGreat in a Philip K. Dick sort of way. With philosophical writing that requests you to wonder about the world outside of the game. I will admit that game play sticks out way less in my mind but adds a whole lot more depth to this game. The serious engines have always been one of the best optimized engines letting you get away with a better looking game. With vague writing cynical of Judeo-Christian dogmas and revisiting such questions as Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? This game is much more enjoyable for those who love subtext and less about what is coherent in this story. (Portal is small time compared to this game) Expand
  38. Feb 26, 2015
    9
    This isn't just a game, it's a work of art. The visuals are awe-inspiring, the puzzles are satisfying, and the narrative fragments are haunting. So many goosebumps.
  39. Dec 27, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a great puzzle game. The mechanics is not similar to Portal games. All the puzzles are so clever that you can get great satisfaction when you find out the solutions. There are mainly two goals for the game. One is to collect sigils which can be used for you to reach the eternity. Another one is to collect stars which can be used to open up more puzzles. Collecting sigils is easier than collecting stars (I found all the sigils without much struggles. But so far I found 23 stars. I am still trying to find others). There is also an opportunity to climb up the Babel's tower, which I am going to try after I finish the star job. The background of the game is about fundamental philosophical ideas such as consciousness, ontology, moral, and divinity. If you have some ideas about philosophy, this game will give you good opportunities to think about philosophical problems while you are solving puzzles. After all, what human beings do is to solve puzzles which are presented to us in real worlds just like we solve puzzles in this virtual reality that the game presents to us. Expand
  40. Mar 1, 2015
    9
    An absolute must play for puzzle fans, and a secret contender for game of the year if you love Portal. The setting and music is both misterious and relaxing, and don't get fooled from the easy start, the puzzles get waaaay more challenging. This game will leave you with a big question mark most of the time.. but a good one.
  41. Dec 17, 2014
    10
    A deep narrative that will keep you on the edge of your seat, a myriad of clever puzzles, beautiful visuals, an enchanting soundtrack, tons of hidden stuff - The Talos Principle has it all. If you are looking for a game that will not simply entertain you, but also give you lots of material for contemplation, then devoting some of your time to this amazing puzzler is worth it indeed.
  42. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    This game is really fantastic and I do not regret money I spent. It has excellent graphics and sound effects are also stunning. Each time I enjoy when I play this game,it is great.
  43. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    Wow!! Very good and quality puzzle game. I haven't played a puzzle game as good as this in a long a time. I didn't expect much of this game but if there will be a second part I will expect very much and I will buy it as soon as it gets out. I'm very glad that i bought this game!
  44. Kac
    Dec 22, 2014
    10
    The Talos Principle is a great game if u like solving puzzles. It's very interesting and very fun to play. I would recommend this game to everyone because it's a unique experience and you definitely won't regret it.
  45. Jan 3, 2015
    8
    Exellent puzzle game. Great grapics. To be honest i havent beaten the game yet, im just taking my time with it. But if you've been craving something along the lines of a portal 3 this is as close as your going to find. Doesnt have portals humor or wit bit it does make you think in more ways than one and gives you multiple setups for puzzles as well. Also game is pretty big and from whatExellent puzzle game. Great grapics. To be honest i havent beaten the game yet, im just taking my time with it. But if you've been craving something along the lines of a portal 3 this is as close as your going to find. Doesnt have portals humor or wit bit it does make you think in more ways than one and gives you multiple setups for puzzles as well. Also game is pretty big and from what ive seen so far puzzles looke to be in the hundreds. Expand
  46. Feb 5, 2016
    10
    You may think that this is a puzzle game but I'd beg to differ, in my mind this game is no more about solving puzzles than living is about breathing. This is a deeply philosophical game which takes a good long hard look at what makes a human being, or a person, and what life entails.

    Yes - you could play this game as a pure puzzle game and not take any note of the many texts, voice logs
    You may think that this is a puzzle game but I'd beg to differ, in my mind this game is no more about solving puzzles than living is about breathing. This is a deeply philosophical game which takes a good long hard look at what makes a human being, or a person, and what life entails.

    Yes - you could play this game as a pure puzzle game and not take any note of the many texts, voice logs and metaplot happening all around you, but that would in my mind be a huge mistake. Rarely have I been this moved by a video game, if you want to talk about video games as art then talk about the The Talos Principle. This is a game which every human, or other intelligent lifeform for that matter, should play and think about.

    Quite simply - this is a masterpiece of a game and I'm in awe of the development team for having created it. If you like philosophy and video games then The Talos Principle is a game you simply cannot overlook.
    Expand
  47. Dec 27, 2014
    10
    I am not kidding when I say that this is the most thought provoking game that I have ever played. It's beautifully designed, has wonderfully memorable music, and has many clever puzzles to solve. But most importantly, the story of the game is rich in philosophical and metaphysical concepts. In many ways, this game has had a profound impact on my life. I never thought I would say that aboutI am not kidding when I say that this is the most thought provoking game that I have ever played. It's beautifully designed, has wonderfully memorable music, and has many clever puzzles to solve. But most importantly, the story of the game is rich in philosophical and metaphysical concepts. In many ways, this game has had a profound impact on my life. I never thought I would say that about a video game. Expand
  48. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    I loved this game, it made me think which is hard. It has great graphics and great soundtracks. I have recommended it to all my friends and I recommend it to all of you. I really like the game. Can't stop playing it.
  49. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    I love it! A friend showed me a demo version,so i decided to play. I'm very i impressed with graphics. Every time i'm bored i enjoy thinking hard with ttp
  50. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    A very fun puzzler with great graphics .The game is a great example of how the modern games should look like, it's not overpriced, the gameplay and story quite interesting and intriguing.
  51. Dec 24, 2014
    10
    This is an exceptional game. I'm not a big fan of puzzle games, or that worried by graphics, but this was so well designed I couldn't help but enjoy it. The puzzles are everything puzzles should be, simple and intuitive concepts used to build challenging puzzles, and the graphics and visual style are stunning. I'm finding myself taking time out from solving the puzzles just to lookThis is an exceptional game. I'm not a big fan of puzzle games, or that worried by graphics, but this was so well designed I couldn't help but enjoy it. The puzzles are everything puzzles should be, simple and intuitive concepts used to build challenging puzzles, and the graphics and visual style are stunning. I'm finding myself taking time out from solving the puzzles just to look around and enjoy the scenery. And then there's a story which is excellent in it's own right. It's difficult to point out any single thing that is exceptional beyond every single aspect of this game being incredibly polished, right down to telling you how much progress you'll lose if you quit (< 1 minute for example) Expand
  52. Jan 11, 2015
    8
    The Talos Principle is a first-person[3][4] puzzle video game created by Croatian developer Croteam[5][6] and published by Devolver Digital. The game features a philosophical storyline.[5][7][8] It was simultaneously released on Linux, OS X and Windows on 11 December 2014,[5][9] and is slated for release on PlayStation 4 and Android platforms in Q1 of 2015.
  53. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    A absolute pearl of a game. It's quite amazing what a small studio like CRO-Team can achive. Great puzzle game. If you loved Portal games, then you are definitely love Talos Principle. Don't miss this gem, there aren't many this great puzzle games.
  54. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    I like puzzle games in general, and this one i find interesting not only because of the gameplay but also because of the fact that it is made by an unknown team(to some). An awesome game that i would gladly recommend to anybody.
  55. Jan 30, 2015
    10
    IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. ININ THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS END THE WORLD ENDS. YOU CANNOT GO FORWARD IN AN ABSENCE OF SPACE. REPEAT. IN THE BEGINNING WERE THE WORDS, AND THE WORDS MADE THE WORLD. I AM THE WORDS. THE WORDS ARE EVERYTHING. WHERE THE WORDS ENd. Expand
  56. Dec 21, 2014
    10
    The Talos principle is a very good game. I like playing it. The story and puzzles are having a nice synergy. I also like playing it because you are like a robot and there are some nice metafors. The graficke is very good and the sound and the world are very well designed. The game remides me of portal 2 and G-mode. Also very good games. The level design is very good. It really makes youThe Talos principle is a very good game. I like playing it. The story and puzzles are having a nice synergy. I also like playing it because you are like a robot and there are some nice metafors. The graficke is very good and the sound and the world are very well designed. The game remides me of portal 2 and G-mode. Also very good games. The level design is very good. It really makes you think logicaly. I like playing it and i hope that more games will come like this. !0/10 would recommend it. Expand
  57. Dec 14, 2014
    10
    My IGOR is SIT.
    By the way, this game is absolutely awesome. There is a moment when you play a game and its not a Portal.

    Oh, Your review must be at least 150 characters long - what else?
  58. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    I must say I was surprised after having played this game. Usually I am not that quickly satisfied with just one usual Computer game, but this one was completely different. The graphics were just perfect and the sound was great. I will continue on playing it for sure.
  59. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    This is favourite game this year.
    As soon as I played the demo I felt like "This is for me". The moment you solve a puzzle is a real satisfaction, and you really want to see the next one. Also the whole action is embedded in a broader philosophical framework which is deep and interesting. I completed the whole game with all the optional stuff and was still eager to try the prototype
    This is favourite game this year.
    As soon as I played the demo I felt like "This is for me". The moment you solve a puzzle is a real satisfaction, and you really want to see the next one. Also the whole action is embedded in a broader philosophical framework which is deep and interesting. I completed the whole game with all the optional stuff and was still eager to try the prototype puzzles. If you like mental challenges you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  60. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    Still a better game than call of duty
    Don't really have much to say other than this is a really fun puzzle game. This is why I own a pc, to get good exclusives that the consoles will never have.
  61. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    I've came across this game by accident, and knowing that same studio made the Serious Sam game back when I was younger I decided to give it a go. IT didn't disappointed, from cool graphics, novelty of puzzle game being played from first person perspective (reminded me off another classic, Broken Sword, older gamers will know what I'm talking about). But don't get me wrong, it isn't thatI've came across this game by accident, and knowing that same studio made the Serious Sam game back when I was younger I decided to give it a go. IT didn't disappointed, from cool graphics, novelty of puzzle game being played from first person perspective (reminded me off another classic, Broken Sword, older gamers will know what I'm talking about). But don't get me wrong, it isn't that type of mystery puzzle, graphics are top notch and sound effects are fitting, once you get into flow it's hard to stop. Recommendations! Expand
  62. Jun 3, 2016
    5
    Decent graphics, nice atmosphere, and a cheap gimmick for a storyline are there, but they are not the most important aspects for a puzzles game. After all, I'd just come for a few puzzles per session, when I'm in the mood, and I consider a well done context as nothing more than a pleasant bonus.

    Maybe more useful to you is the following warning: Some 3D games give me motion sickness,
    Decent graphics, nice atmosphere, and a cheap gimmick for a storyline are there, but they are not the most important aspects for a puzzles game. After all, I'd just come for a few puzzles per session, when I'm in the mood, and I consider a well done context as nothing more than a pleasant bonus.

    Maybe more useful to you is the following warning: Some 3D games give me motion sickness, others don't; The Talos Principle makes my stomach uneasy quite quickly, therefore I couldn't do more than a few puzzles in a session even if I wanted to.

    Anyway, here's what seriously lowers my opinion of this game: The puzzles are not intellectually challenging whatsoever, but do require a modicum of dexterity, with failure resulting in death and a puzzle's reset. Unfortunately, there are no free saves, only checkpoints. I'll never tire of repeating it: Bad annoying design ! I'm not interested in carrying a cube for 2 kilometres of desert only to have to do it again if I ever drop it at the wrong place or time when the actual play begins. No to backtracking. No to repeating. No to artificial lengthening.

    If you make your puzzles depend on fingers rather than brains, at least make it amusing.

    Still good enough for a very casual session once in a while. For its relaxing environment, not for its actual puzzles.
    Expand
  63. Nov 12, 2015
    10
    Amazing game the likes of which I have never seen in over a decade of playing games. Some of the puzzle styles get a bit repetitive, so once you can recognise the pattern, you can repeat the same solution in another puzzle. A few of the puzzles left me scratching my head for months, until I came back to them with a fresh approach. It took me about a year to finish this game basicallyAmazing game the likes of which I have never seen in over a decade of playing games. Some of the puzzle styles get a bit repetitive, so once you can recognise the pattern, you can repeat the same solution in another puzzle. A few of the puzzles left me scratching my head for months, until I came back to them with a fresh approach. It took me about a year to finish this game basically because I don't like to look up the solutions. The other great thing is the writing in the game. The theme of it is a philosophical discussion about what it means to have intelligence, raising the question if it walks and talks like a human, then is it? This game is unique and stands on a different plane amongst its peers. Expand
  64. Aug 4, 2015
    9
    Классная игра, графика просто на высочейшем уровне! Это игра, где ты проходишь её, а потом думаешь: "да нафиг эти испытания! и начинаешь осматривать D0 B2 D0 B8 D1 80 D1 82 D1 83 D0 B0 D0 BB D1 8C D0 BD D1 8B D0 B9 мир, ведь он так красив! Эта игра, где на разрешении 2K чувствуешь себя лучше, чем в 4k, фиг знает, какую технологию сглаживания они используют, но мне на максимальномКлассная игра, графика просто на высочейшем уровне! Это игра, где ты проходишь её, а потом думаешь: "да нафиг эти испытания! и начинаешь осматривать D0 B2 D0 B8 D1 80 D1 82 D1 83 D0 B0 D0 BB D1 8C D0 BD D1 8B D0 B9 мир, ведь он так красив! Эта игра, где на разрешении 2K чувствуешь себя лучше, чем в 4k, фиг знает, какую технологию сглаживания они используют, но мне на максимальном сглаживании в разрешении 2к играть комфортнее, чем на 4k без сглаживания. Не верите, посмотрите скрины. И ещё: там есть два разрешение: р. 3D и р. монитора, не путайте их. Теперь сюжет, он просто офигительный, просто нет слов выразить это иначе. Он очень интересен, везде, все и всегда подсказывает тебе, что мир D0 B2 D1 81 D0 B5 D0 B3 D0 BE+ D0 BB D0 B8 D1 88 D1 8C+ D0 BF D1 80 D0 BE D0 B3 D1 80 D0 B0 D0 BC D0 BC D0 B0. Эти постоянные D0 BE D1 88 D0 B8 D0 B1 D0 BA D0 B8+ D0 B8+ D0 BF D1 80 D0 BE D0 BF D1 83 D1 81 D0 BA D0 B8... Вобщем, осень интересный сюжет, игра вас очень затянет, так же вы будете постоянно держать телефон рядом с компьютером ☺. Физика - не сказал бы, что она D0 BD D0 B0+ D0 B2 D1 8B D1 81 D0 BE D0 BA D0 BE D0 BC+ D1 83 D1 80 D0 BE D0 B2 D0 BD D0 B5, но вполне подходит для головоломки. Мешают ошb&,#и? После игры, они лишь будут добавлять атмосферу. Так вот, единственный минус – это концовка: ни одна мне не понравилась, но это дело вкуса. Ладно, начинаю оценку:
    Текстуры: 11/10
    Сюжет: 5/5
    Логика: 4/5
    Музыка: 5/5
    Интерестность: 8/10
    Итого: 9,4/10
    * задачки там очень простые, но бывают и те, где решение нужно искать за пределами доступного вам D0 BC D0 B8 D1 80
    *Музыка максимально передает атмосферу.

    Неужели это свершилось? эта игра догнала portal 2, самую офигенную логическую игру в истории? Оценка portal 2: 9,4
    И обогнала она её по музыке (3/5) и графике (8/10), но отстала по интересности (9/10) и логике (6/5)
    Expand
  65. Dec 29, 2014
    10
    The Talos Principle (TTP) stands on the shoulders of giants. Among those being Portal, Myst, and Antichamber. That's not to say TTP does not bring its own stock of new ideas to the table. Discovery in TTP plays a major role so the less details you know in advance, the better. Enter the world of impeccable visuals, music, and voice acting; the world full of ingenious 2D and 3D puzzles; theThe Talos Principle (TTP) stands on the shoulders of giants. Among those being Portal, Myst, and Antichamber. That's not to say TTP does not bring its own stock of new ideas to the table. Discovery in TTP plays a major role so the less details you know in advance, the better. Enter the world of impeccable visuals, music, and voice acting; the world full of ingenious 2D and 3D puzzles; the world with a mysterious story only revealed to you in glimpses if you care to follow them; the world of thought-provoking philosophical undertones so rare in video games; the world with tons of secrets, extra content, and Easter eggs; and finally, the world when you don't need guns and weapons to make progress. Even if you are not a completionist, TTP will provide you with around 20 hours of gameplay. The game is extremely polished, well-tested, and rewarding and satisfying to play. I would not expect such a gem coming from creators of Serious Frikkin' Sam :-) This is a complete paradigm shift and I'm very glad Croteam took this turn to expand their horizons - and everyone else's. I rate 10/10. Expand
  66. Jan 18, 2015
    9
    I recommend this game to everybody - especially if you are interested in level design - that you like puzzles or not. The level design is brilliant making the game good for both: beginners and more demanding players. The only flaw I feel to remark is that it fails at teaching that you can put boxes on top of bombs but you will figure it out yourself a some point. Every puzzle will leaveI recommend this game to everybody - especially if you are interested in level design - that you like puzzles or not. The level design is brilliant making the game good for both: beginners and more demanding players. The only flaw I feel to remark is that it fails at teaching that you can put boxes on top of bombs but you will figure it out yourself a some point. Every puzzle will leave you with a pleasant feeling of accomplishment. Wonderful. Expand
  67. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    The makers of Serious Sam came again with some incredible work. I really enjoyed their new work. Graphics and sound are surprisingly good. If you want to sit in your chair and play a nice puzzler game I want to recommend this beauty. Enjoy!
  68. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    This game is awesome and fun, I played it several times..... It has great graphics and it's good for thinking. Thanks Ana for recommending it. It was a real fun.
  69. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    This is a very good and quality game with great puzzles. Graphics and puzzles are near the perfection of portal series. I love all games coming from the studio that made Serious Sam, but especially this one. This game is absolutely awesome and I love it.
  70. Dec 13, 2014
    9
    I only have a single complaint with the game: the puzzles are inconsistently difficult. For probably the first 15 puzzles, you're doing a slight variation on the very first puzzle. In between these puzzles are what I call "Star Puzzles" because you get a little gold star for doing them. The problem with them is that they're less puzzle, and more "find this or that without any clues as toI only have a single complaint with the game: the puzzles are inconsistently difficult. For probably the first 15 puzzles, you're doing a slight variation on the very first puzzle. In between these puzzles are what I call "Star Puzzles" because you get a little gold star for doing them. The problem with them is that they're less puzzle, and more "find this or that without any clues as to what to do or where they could be." Expand
  71. Dec 24, 2014
    10
    This game is surprisingly good and it has great graphics. I don't play puzzle games that much but this one amazed me, so I will continue to play it. Well done.
  72. Jan 10, 2015
    9
    Oh man I love this game! It's kind of a mix of portal meets, dunno what. But you can feel portal in it. It's basically a fps game where you solve puzzles, For those who love a bit mind games this game is great. We should support indy devs.
  73. May 4, 2015
    6
    The game is made out to be something more than it is. Enjoyable visuals. Good if you like small, self-contained puzzles, but lacking on a grander scale. Advertisements tout an amazing story, but it is more like a thought provoking philosophical dialog than a story with a plot.

    Admittedly, my low rating comes from my high expectations. I was thinking more along the lines of a larger
    The game is made out to be something more than it is. Enjoyable visuals. Good if you like small, self-contained puzzles, but lacking on a grander scale. Advertisements tout an amazing story, but it is more like a thought provoking philosophical dialog than a story with a plot.

    Admittedly, my low rating comes from my high expectations. I was thinking more along the lines of a larger overarching adventure game with a plot (e.g. Myst and Riven of yesterdays) than a purely level-based puzzle game. It is good for what it is.
    Expand
  74. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    This was such a surprisingly interesting game with awesome graphics and even better sounds. Always being very critical about, well everything, I thought I'd never say something like this about just one game, but it simply amazed me, so it means I'll definetely continue on playing it.
  75. Dec 18, 2014
    10
    The game is a great example of how the modern games should look like, it's not overpriced, the gameplay and story quite interesting and intriguing. You can play Public Test to decide if you want this game. The first thing that will take your breath away is graphics - its top notch. The optimization is also splendid. Music is charming and in its place. The game is 10 out of 10 without aThe game is a great example of how the modern games should look like, it's not overpriced, the gameplay and story quite interesting and intriguing. You can play Public Test to decide if you want this game. The first thing that will take your breath away is graphics - its top notch. The optimization is also splendid. Music is charming and in its place. The game is 10 out of 10 without a discussion.
    PS. I've come across the game's ads occasionally in Steam while surfing through newly-released titles. A picture of robot gently holding a kitten in its hands attracted me at once, and here I'm here - with the downloaded and finished Public Test and 100% ready to buy the full game. I'm sure I won't ever regret! Awesome demo! Top notch and winner on all points.
    Expand
  76. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    Upon first hearing of this game, my expectations were quite low. I appreciate the endeavor of combining the First Person Shooter scenario with a puzzle game. Despite my initial prejudice, this game proved to be fun to play and has helped me waste hours of my vacation days continuously.
  77. Feb 7, 2015
    9
    A story driven, high fidelity puzzler unlike any other. Yes, it shares some similarities with Portal, but definitely stands on its own, and is amazing.
  78. Dec 6, 2015
    6
    With all the reviews raving how good it is, I really tried, clinging to hope it would pick up. It didn't.
    I managed about 2/3 of the game until I gave up and watched the endings. It seems for the best ending you don't even have to do all the uber difficult star puzzles.
    The puzzles are generally interesting, but there are so many of them (~120) and they took more and more time to
    With all the reviews raving how good it is, I really tried, clinging to hope it would pick up. It didn't.
    I managed about 2/3 of the game until I gave up and watched the endings. It seems for the best ending you don't even have to do all the uber difficult star puzzles.

    The puzzles are generally interesting, but there are so many of them (~120) and they took more and more time to complete, with too little innovation in between. If only the story could motivate, but it's bits and pieces are hidden in longish texts on the terminal you pass by. Nice voice acting though. Nice, but lifeless scenery.

    They tried hard with this, the grave story and philosophical aspects I found quite impressing, but as a game it's not really that much fun.
    Expand
  79. Jun 26, 2015
    7
    It's a nice puzzle game with a good length but something is missing that would round it up to be a really good game.
    I have 23h on record and got all sigils, stars, and endings as far as I can tell.
    The main issue with the game is that the puzzles are quite repetitive and just classic laser redirection with a few twists. At times it can be challenging but it just won't come up with
    It's a nice puzzle game with a good length but something is missing that would round it up to be a really good game.
    I have 23h on record and got all sigils, stars, and endings as far as I can tell.

    The main issue with the game is that the puzzles are quite repetitive and just classic laser redirection with a few twists. At times it can be challenging but it just won't come up with anything new.
    Expand
  80. Aug 9, 2017
    10
    Most surprising game I've played in a long time. It gets better the longer you play. Wonderful atmosphere. I can't say its better than portal, because portal was the perfect game with every last bit of fat squeezed out. But, this is absolutely as good as Portal 2 (I prefer this to Portal 2 by far).
  81. Feb 25, 2018
    9
    This is surely a great puzzle game. The puzzles are funny and logical and there are plenty of them. Fortunately you will have several mechanics to solve the puzzles and not just one, like in Portal.
    The worlds werde made brilliantly: very good idea to bring history to this game. The setting was a great idea, also: You start as a robot and a god welcomes you. In addition there are some
    This is surely a great puzzle game. The puzzles are funny and logical and there are plenty of them. Fortunately you will have several mechanics to solve the puzzles and not just one, like in Portal.
    The worlds werde made brilliantly: very good idea to bring history to this game. The setting was a great idea, also: You start as a robot and a god welcomes you. In addition there are some philosophy texts to read, that makes this game more interesting. Portal was very funny instead.
    Graphic engine is great, it doesnt need a lot of hardware to show you nice graphic.
    Music is very beautiful, also the voice actors.

    Bad:
    No retail version.
    The most stupid ending, I ve ever seen ... no I will not write any spoiler here, it is not about the content, but about the save file...it is overwritten very often und if you are not careful, you cant go back before the ending to see alternatives: I needed to research a bit in the internet how to solve this problem. How can you know, that your save file saves your last 10 checkpoints? So -> after an ending, load one of the last checkpoints, you dont need play everything again.
    Expand
  82. Mar 1, 2016
    9
    Someone sold me the idea of the Talos Principle by telling me it was Portal meets the Stanley Parable. I waited for a good sale and eventually bought it, but was so unsure of the concept that I decided not to grab the DLC (a decision I now regret). Here’s the thing: it’s not Portal meets the Stanley Parable -- it’s a reimagining of Portal. It trades the gun for several tools (each moreSomeone sold me the idea of the Talos Principle by telling me it was Portal meets the Stanley Parable. I waited for a good sale and eventually bought it, but was so unsure of the concept that I decided not to grab the DLC (a decision I now regret). Here’s the thing: it’s not Portal meets the Stanley Parable -- it’s a reimagining of Portal. It trades the gun for several tools (each more confusing than the last) which you unlock as you systematically complete more and more puzzle rooms. It trades the trademark humor of the franchise for heavy-handed philosophy about perception, artificial intelligence and, of course, what it really means to be human.

    The gameplay is great. I do not suspect anyone who is a fan of Portal will not be a fan of the gameplay. The graphics are pretty solid too. Not as great as some of the higher budget AAA games out there, but surprisingly good. The environments are a bit sparse, but that’s by design. There are some places in the game that I stopped to admire because I thought they were particularly beautiful. Even the voice acting, which only employs the talent of two actors, is quite good.

    The place the game falters is that heavy-handed philosophical conversations do not appeal to everyone. If you are not trying to pay full attention to, at the very least, the interactions with the computer (most of the documents are unnecessary but some of them are quite funny or interesting), you will not really enjoy the game enough to really stick with it. I loved that aspect of the game, though. If you think that would appeal to you, give this game a shot.

    The Talos Principle is enabled in the Steam Workshop, so you can get lots of fun stuff and add-ons through there, which is a welcome addition to any game, although I have not yet been able to find many add-ons that added too much content.

    TL;DR - My personal score is 9.5/10. If you don’t like anything philosophical, this game is probably not for you.
    Expand
  83. Mar 25, 2017
    10
    This is a very deep and inspiring game, with the great world for those who love exploring and solving puzzles. Astonishing visuals and great sound design both just feel like a nice addition to the amazing puzzle design and story.
  84. Nov 24, 2015
    9
    Elohim's Puzzle Eden

    Overall: 87% (179.1 / 205) ---------- Aesthetics ---------- Animations 8.0/10 Atmosphere 9.2/10 Graphics 9.0/10 Level Design 7.2/10 Overlays 8.5/10 ------------- 84% (41.9 / 50) ---------- Audio ---------- Sound Effects 9.0/10 Music 9.2/10 Dialogue 9.5/10 ------------- 92% (27.7 / 30) ---------- Functionality
    Elohim's Puzzle Eden

    Overall: 87% (179.1 / 205)

    ---------- Aesthetics ----------
    Animations 8.0/10
    Atmosphere 9.2/10
    Graphics 9.0/10
    Level Design 7.2/10
    Overlays 8.5/10
    ------------- 84% (41.9 / 50)

    ---------- Audio ----------
    Sound Effects 9.0/10
    Music 9.2/10
    Dialogue 9.5/10
    ------------- 92% (27.7 / 30)

    ---------- Functionality ----------
    Performance 8.5/10
    Stability 10.0/10
    ------------- 93% (18.5 / 20)

    ---------- Gameplay ----------
    Balance 9.7/10
    Controls 8.7/10
    Mysteries 9.5/10
    Replay Value 7.0/10
    Variety 7.0/10
    ------------- 84% (41.9 / 50)

    ---------- Technics ----------
    Physics 7.5/10
    ------------- 75% (7.5 / 10)

    ---------- Writing ----------
    Story 9.3/10
    Text 9.6/10
    Tutorial 4.5/5
    ------------- 94% (23.4 / 25)

    ---------- Other ----------
    Cost-Benefit Ratio 3.5/5
    System Requirements 5.0/5
    User Rating 9.7/10
    ------------------- 91% (18.2 / 20)
    Expand
  85. Jun 8, 2017
    10
    The Talos Principle is one of the best games I've ever played. I absolutely love how much the game forces one to think outside the box, while providing solid and straightforward challenge within each individual puzzle chamber as well. The music and graphics present a soothing and lovely atmosphere that works as a constant sort of coolant for the mind, as one works at overcoming each trial.The Talos Principle is one of the best games I've ever played. I absolutely love how much the game forces one to think outside the box, while providing solid and straightforward challenge within each individual puzzle chamber as well. The music and graphics present a soothing and lovely atmosphere that works as a constant sort of coolant for the mind, as one works at overcoming each trial. Beyond the intended puzzles lies a rich layer of secrets, ranging from gaming and music references to curious little oddities that leave one questioning the meaning of the game itself and what it truly represents (maybe even life, if you're feeling totally deep, man). I did not find myself terribly interested in the backstory or philosophical ideas presented through much of the game, but loved the little bits and pieces of mythology, history, and science around. Whether one pays any attention to the attempted meaning behind the puzzles and dialogues, or just focuses intently on the mental exercise provided by each puzzle itself, I believe this game will deliver considerable enjoyment to anyone fond of puzzles, lovely environments, and serene atmosphere. Expand
  86. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    Great game! First look is very impressive. Love the idea and whole concept of game... Its original and unique... I really can wait for it to release full version...
  87. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    A friend recommended this game to me, and at first i didn¨t want to play it. But she managed to persuade and I didn¨t regret it. Thank you, ANA!!!!!!!
  88. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    I like this game because it is a very fun game for all people who like puzzle games and it has a very good graphics. I think it is great because you really have to use your brain to solve those puzzles. And the best of all, it's free!
  89. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    Very cool puzzle game with interasting gameplay and graphics. Gamplay is similiar to Portal witch was a great game. Cant wait till the release to play it! 10/10
  90. Apr 4, 2016
    6
    This is a perfect example of a game that could have been that much better by being substantially shorter. What is most surprising is that some puzzles are almost duplicates of others, which is unnecessary. That said, the puzzling aspect of this game is quite good and has nothing to envy from Portal. The atmosphere is intriguing and puts the player into an introspective stance. The visualsThis is a perfect example of a game that could have been that much better by being substantially shorter. What is most surprising is that some puzzles are almost duplicates of others, which is unnecessary. That said, the puzzling aspect of this game is quite good and has nothing to envy from Portal. The atmosphere is intriguing and puts the player into an introspective stance. The visuals are serviceable and the music is quite enjoyable yet quite repetitive. You will be at times invited to debate an AI through a DOS like interface, but in my personal experience, the choices allowed felt disloyal and rarely approximated my actual thinking. It is easy to recommend the game to puzzle solvers, however, I advise you to turn around if you are not particularly found of puzzle games in the first place. Expand
  91. Dec 23, 2014
    10
    A surprisingly fun puzzler with great graphics. The "ways" i am talking about are the technical aspects(graphics and sound) which were always a forte of Cro-team and the atmosphere. This game just grabs you from the first second with its amazing puzzle design and great writing. You just have to see what comes next. Overall a breath of fresh air in an otherwise stale year filled with overA surprisingly fun puzzler with great graphics. The "ways" i am talking about are the technical aspects(graphics and sound) which were always a forte of Cro-team and the atmosphere. This game just grabs you from the first second with its amazing puzzle design and great writing. You just have to see what comes next. Overall a breath of fresh air in an otherwise stale year filled with over hyped triple A boredom. I wholeheartedly recommend buying it. Expand
  92. Sep 8, 2017
    8
    I think that this is truly a unique game and I would recommend that if you are a fan of this type of genre then I think you should give this game a try.
  93. Aug 15, 2018
    7
    Surprised by the reviews honestly, should be at least 7/10.

    Gameplay: 9/10 Graphics: 7/10 Story (yes there was one); 4/10 Music/Sound: 7/10 Outdated Graphics, lifeless world, however the puzzles were unique and rarely repetitive but cmon though this is not 9/10 or 10/10 game. You got to take all the other attributes in a game to get a solid overall score, it had strong gameplay
    Surprised by the reviews honestly, should be at least 7/10.

    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 7/10
    Story (yes there was one); 4/10
    Music/Sound: 7/10

    Outdated Graphics, lifeless world, however the puzzles were unique and rarely repetitive but cmon though this is not 9/10 or 10/10 game. You got to take all the other attributes in a game to get a solid overall score, it had strong gameplay but everything else was a bit average. It's like The Witness game all over again with the reviews.
    Expand
  94. May 1, 2016
    2
    This was just shockingly terrible. Vacuous, uninspiring, and full of psuedo-philosophical nonsense, there's almost nothing to do here except look at the graphics and solve -extremely- simple puzzles.

    As a mobile game... ehhh, maybe. It sucks and is simple enough, but the graphics are too nice for mobile. As a Portal clone... ehhh, also maybe. It feels like a Portal clone, looks like
    This was just shockingly terrible. Vacuous, uninspiring, and full of psuedo-philosophical nonsense, there's almost nothing to do here except look at the graphics and solve -extremely- simple puzzles.

    As a mobile game... ehhh, maybe. It sucks and is simple enough, but the graphics are too nice for mobile.

    As a Portal clone... ehhh, also maybe. It feels like a Portal clone, looks like a nicer outdoor version of Portal, and the game seems generally trying to copy the Portal FPS-puzzle-physics-placement formula in order to print money.

    As a benchmark... doubtful. The engine looks nice but doesn't seem to push my rig like other benchmarks already widely available.

    As a good game? Not a chance. Maybe I didn't play it long enough to see something worthwhile, but every single second that I played absolutely sucked. It felt like I was playing a Myst-Portal hybrid made by an untalented, copycat developer. It also crashed my entire rig when I tried to switch resolutions to Surround.

    I regarded Serious Sam as cynically designed, generic, and generally tedious company, and I dislike this for similar reasons. It was on my wishlist based on hype, genre, and screenshots, but it sure isn't now.

    Goodbye trash.
    Expand
  95. Dec 27, 2014
    5
    Now to best describe this game it would be hard so to simplify it s a puzzle game obviously smart one and challenging enough but in my oppinion puzzle games have all a fatal flaw boredom and this one is no diffrent puzzle after puzzle after puzzle untyl you can't take it anymore the story is just nothing new just to keep you going i would reccomend this only for puzzle fans everyone elseNow to best describe this game it would be hard so to simplify it s a puzzle game obviously smart one and challenging enough but in my oppinion puzzle games have all a fatal flaw boredom and this one is no diffrent puzzle after puzzle after puzzle untyl you can't take it anymore the story is just nothing new just to keep you going i would reccomend this only for puzzle fans everyone else after 1 hour of game you will be bored Expand
  96. Jan 19, 2015
    3
    Really quite boring after a while if you ask me. The levels run into each other and there isnt enough exploration. I had a little fun with it but it only lasted about an hour or so. After that it was just a chore to complete
  97. Dec 15, 2014
    8
    The game is nice . But I couldnt expect a game like this from croteam developers . I would rate it less than 6. But its from my favourite serious sam developers. So i rated it 8 .
  98. Jan 10, 2015
    5
    Wow so many 10s ud think this indie game is the best thing ever.
    Reviewers here are so extreme its either a 10 or a zero. Stay away form extremes.
    A fun puzzler from an eastern european dev, worth no more than $10. At this price you'd expect far more. The are parallels with Portal, it's longing for that attention, but its not there at all. Still, enjoyable on an off day. My advice
    Wow so many 10s ud think this indie game is the best thing ever.
    Reviewers here are so extreme its either a 10 or a zero. Stay away form extremes.

    A fun puzzler from an eastern european dev, worth no more than $10. At this price you'd expect far more.
    The are parallels with Portal, it's longing for that attention, but its not there at all.
    Still, enjoyable on an off day.
    My advice wait for a decent discount and get it under $10.
    Expand
  99. Dec 1, 2017
    10
    This is one of those rare cases when you can’t help but give a 10 score to the title.

    9/10 for being an amazing game, with great (and unique!) puzzle mechanics, beautifully crafted levels / worlds (especially the GORGEOUS Egypt locations - what else do you expect from Serious Sam creators), and captivating plot. And the last - and most precious - 1/10 - for making me believe in your
    This is one of those rare cases when you can’t help but give a 10 score to the title.

    9/10 for being an amazing game, with great (and unique!) puzzle mechanics, beautifully crafted levels / worlds (especially the GORGEOUS Egypt locations - what else do you expect from Serious Sam creators), and captivating plot.

    And the last - and most precious - 1/10 - for making me believe in your world. All those scattered terminals with bits of information from the archive, all those chats between forum users, all the letters from the developers of the “Talos” project, voice recording of Alexandra Drennan - it built the whole world for me. I cannot overstate the emotional effect this masterpiece had on me. The philosophy behind all the story - it is so pure, so beautiful, that you just can’t resist it.

    P.S.: this game has RIDICULOUS amount of Easter eggs. And it makes this game feel so warm, so alive - I literally felt how much love was put into this project. No one cares about Easter eggs these days. Devolved Digital do. Thank you, fellas.
    Expand
  100. Jan 30, 2016
    5
    I started playing The Talos Principle with high expectations. Though I quickly realized I was mistaken. This 'puzzle game' is nothing more than connect the dots. Could have been so much more.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Aug 24, 2015
    88
    Come for the puzzles stay for the philosophy.
  2. 90
    The world, puzzles, narrative and music are all served to the player in small helpings, never overwhelming and allowing you to soak in and become one with the world. By the end of the game, it has challenged your mind in multiple ways.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 18, 2015
    91
    Satisfying puzzles, philosophically engaging storyline and exquisite presentation combine to make The Talos Principle one of the best of its genre. [Feb 2015]