The Talos Principle Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 580 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In The Talos Principle, players assume the role of a sentient artificial intelligence placed within a simulation of humanity?s greatest ruins and linked together through an arcane cathedral. Players are tasked with solving a series of increasingly complex puzzles woven into a metaphysicalIn The Talos Principle, players assume the role of a sentient artificial intelligence placed within a simulation of humanity?s greatest ruins and linked together through an arcane cathedral. Players are tasked with solving a series of increasingly complex puzzles woven into a metaphysical parable about intelligence and meaning in an inevitably doomed world. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Talos Principle - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Digital Spy
    Dec 12, 2014
    100
    The Talos Principle ties its seemingly disparate parts together beautifully, making for a game that is every bit as smart as it purports to be.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 18, 2015
    91
    Satisfying puzzles, philosophically engaging storyline and exquisite presentation combine to make The Talos Principle one of the best of its genre. [Feb 2015]
  3. Dec 9, 2014
    90
    The Talos Principle is a game of challenges and conundrums and philosophical wonderings, filled with logic puzzles and cerebral mysteries.
  4. Jan 14, 2015
    90
    The Talos Principle will make you feel confounded but in that wonderful way that precludes an epiphany. You’ll leave each session feeling genuinely smarter – and perhaps a little rebellious to boot.
  5. Feb 10, 2015
    85
    Don't let the Portal similarities fool you. This is a cleverly designed puzzle game with its own identity, that will keep you hooked for hours upon hours.
  6. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Feb 17, 2015
    82
    Despite the sharp turn toward pacifism one can easily recognize Croteam style: unusual for puzzles large open locations, majestic architectural forms of ancient civilizations... It seems that you are about to hear the cries of a headless kamikazes. So when a screaming figure dashes nearby you start spinning the mouse wheel in search of shotgun on pure reflex. [Issue #195, p.68]
  7. Feb 26, 2015
    50
    The Talos Principle’s worst transgression is that it is absolutely predictable. The levels are all too similar, and by the end of the game you do pretty much the same routine as you do in the beginning.

See all 57 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 91 out of 107
  2. Negative: 3 out of 107
  1. Dec 13, 2014
    10
    A surprisingly fun puzzler with great graphics and great sound coming from the studio that made Serious Sam? That is a sentence i neverA surprisingly fun puzzler with great graphics and great sound coming from the studio that made Serious Sam? That is a sentence i never thought i would write! It is without a doubt the first FPS puzzler that comes near the perfection of Portal and in some, albeit subjective ways, it surpasses it. The "ways" i am talking about are the technical aspects(graphics and sound) which were always a forte of Croteam and the atmosphere. This game just grabs you from the first second with its amazing puzzle design and great writing. You just have to see what comes next. Overall a breath of fresh air in an otherwise stale year filled with over hyped triple A boredom. I wholeheartedly recommend buying it. Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    This was such a surprisingly interesting game with awesome graphics and even better sounds. Always being very critical about, well everything,This was such a surprisingly interesting game with awesome graphics and even better sounds. Always being very critical about, well everything, I thought I'd never say something like this about just one game, but it simply amazed me, so it means I'll definetely continue on playing it. Expand
  3. Jun 8, 2017
    10
    The Talos Principle is one of the best games I've ever played. I absolutely love how much the game forces one to think outside the box, whileThe Talos Principle is one of the best games I've ever played. I absolutely love how much the game forces one to think outside the box, while providing solid and straightforward challenge within each individual puzzle chamber as well. The music and graphics present a soothing and lovely atmosphere that works as a constant sort of coolant for the mind, as one works at overcoming each trial. Beyond the intended puzzles lies a rich layer of secrets, ranging from gaming and music references to curious little oddities that leave one questioning the meaning of the game itself and what it truly represents (maybe even life, if you're feeling totally deep, man). I did not find myself terribly interested in the backstory or philosophical ideas presented through much of the game, but loved the little bits and pieces of mythology, history, and science around. Whether one pays any attention to the attempted meaning behind the puzzles and dialogues, or just focuses intently on the mental exercise provided by each puzzle itself, I believe this game will deliver considerable enjoyment to anyone fond of puzzles, lovely environments, and serene atmosphere. Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2014
    10
    Very cool puzzle game with interasting gameplay and graphics. Gamplay is similiar to Portal witch was a great game. Cant wait till the releaseVery cool puzzle game with interasting gameplay and graphics. Gamplay is similiar to Portal witch was a great game. Cant wait till the release to play it! 10/10 Expand
  5. Feb 7, 2015
    9
    A story driven, high fidelity puzzler unlike any other. Yes, it shares some similarities with Portal, but definitely stands on its own, and isA story driven, high fidelity puzzler unlike any other. Yes, it shares some similarities with Portal, but definitely stands on its own, and is amazing. Expand
  6. Jan 11, 2015
    8
    The Talos Principle is a first-person[3][4] puzzle video game created by Croatian developer Croteam[5][6] and published by Devolver Digital.The Talos Principle is a first-person[3][4] puzzle video game created by Croatian developer Croteam[5][6] and published by Devolver Digital. The game features a philosophical storyline.[5][7][8] It was simultaneously released on Linux, OS X and Windows on 11 December 2014,[5][9] and is slated for release on PlayStation 4 and Android platforms in Q1 of 2015. Expand
  7. May 1, 2016
    2
    This was just shockingly terrible. Vacuous, uninspiring, and full of psuedo-philosophical nonsense, there's almost nothing to do here exceptThis was just shockingly terrible. Vacuous, uninspiring, and full of psuedo-philosophical nonsense, there's almost nothing to do here except look at the graphics and solve -extremely- simple puzzles.

    As a mobile game... ehhh, maybe. It sucks and is simple enough, but the graphics are too nice for mobile.

    As a Portal clone... ehhh, also maybe. It feels like a Portal clone, looks like a nicer outdoor version of Portal, and the game seems generally trying to copy the Portal FPS-puzzle-physics-placement formula in order to print money.

    As a benchmark... doubtful. The engine looks nice but doesn't seem to push my rig like other benchmarks already widely available.

    As a good game? Not a chance. Maybe I didn't play it long enough to see something worthwhile, but every single second that I played absolutely sucked. It felt like I was playing a Myst-Portal hybrid made by an untalented, copycat developer. It also crashed my entire rig when I tried to switch resolutions to Surround.

    I regarded Serious Sam as cynically designed, generic, and generally tedious company, and I dislike this for similar reasons. It was on my wishlist based on hype, genre, and screenshots, but it sure isn't now.

    Goodbye trash.
    Expand

See all 107 User Reviews