The Technomancer Image
Metascore
56

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 180 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Spiders are back with The Technomancer, a new post-apocalyptic RPG set in a cyberpunk world for PlayStation 4, Xbox One and PC set on Mars during the War of Water, where an aspiring Technomancer faces a myriad of questions as his future grows threatened by the secrets of his past.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Technomancer - Gamescom 2015 Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 34
  2. Negative: 8 out of 34
  1. Jun 28, 2016
    75
    The Technomancer is a very pleasant surprise. Studio Spiders has learned a lot from their mistakes and is on the way to joining the best RPG developers in the business. The game proves how big the quality leap is in terms of gameplay mechanic, graphics, atmosphere and storyline. If The Technomancer sells well, the developers will be able to put more effort and money into upcoming games (and that will be good for everybody).
  2. Jul 6, 2016
    70
    A fun little adventure which will definitely grow on you.
  3. Jul 1, 2016
    65
    The Technomancer could have been a far better game with a more polished combat and better storytelling, but its intriguing premise quickly disappears.
  4. Jun 29, 2016
    60
    The Technomancer has frustrated me a lot over the last couple weeks, because I really enjoyed the world that Spiders created and wanted to get to know the characters more, but the constant choke points and combat inconsistencies make me want to stop playing.
  5. CD-Action
    Sep 16, 2016
    50
    The game offers five endings but I’m sure most players will not even see one, because The Technomancer is disappointingly shallow, confined and devoid of passion. [09/2016, p.42]
  6. Jun 28, 2016
    50
    An uneven slab of Mars adventuring, The Technomancer carefully straddles the line between never really being good while never falling into being bad.
  7. Jul 28, 2016
    35
    The writing is predictable and cringe worthy and the combat is boring and dry. Somewhere beneath its surface lies a polished game. Its unfortunate the flaws are so deeply ingrained within the game that they cannot be ignored and it breaks the immersion.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 35
  2. Negative: 3 out of 35
  1. Jul 7, 2016
    10
    Ainda não terminei o jogo e não sou fluente em inglês (escrito), mas escreverei no meu idioma nativo.

    O jogo é muito bom, algo que me faz
    Ainda não terminei o jogo e não sou fluente em inglês (escrito), mas escreverei no meu idioma nativo.

    O jogo é muito bom, algo que me faz pensar que canais como IGN são pagos pelas grande empresas de jogos para que seus jogos tenham boas notas enquanto o de empresas menores recebem notas injustas.

    Todos os "bugs" do jogo podem ser comparados e não são piores que os de skyrim. o jogo possui uma boa história e seus mapas lembram jogos da era mass effect, o que não é uma coisa ruim. O jogo não precisa ser de mundo aberto para ser bom.

    O jogo possui algumas falhas, como missões repetitivas e bugs (ou erros) durante os diálogos onde os personagens do grupo ficam mal posicionados em relação ao personagem do jogador ou se movendo loucamente.

    Tirando estas falhas, o jogo traz um sistema de karma que não é visto a muito tempo em games de RPG. Neste game você não possui ilusão de escolha, se não existe a opção de um desfecho alternativo, o jogo te dá apenas uma opção. Quando você tem mais de uma opção, você pode gerar histórias diferentes e ficar amigo ou inimigo de mais de duas facções dentro do game.

    A história do jogo também é bem interessante, uma continuação e ao mesmo tempo "reboot" de mars war logs, trazendo alguns elementos do antigo game e referenciando missões e personagens do mesmo

    Esta análise não é completa, porém posso garantir que este jogo merece um 10, mesmo com as falhas. Não vemos jogos com este nível de roleplay a muito tempo e isto para mim o destaca dos demais.
    Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2016
    9
    Despite 3 issues (1) you will drain a lot of baddies unintentionally 2) use the map non stop because there is no waypoint 3) poorDespite 3 issues (1) you will drain a lot of baddies unintentionally 2) use the map non stop because there is no waypoint 3) poor performance with bad shadows and faces IMO this is one of the BEST games i have played in the LAST FEW YEARS: combat , story, settings, all deep and rewarding,. Disclaimer . i HATE popular rPGs like the super BORING WITCHER, MASS Effect, souls and SUCK at fighting micromanaging teams, crafting etc. but this game managed to make me interested in all of that, there is nothing wrong with the combat, i you want a movie go play batman! Expand
  3. Jul 2, 2016
    9
    The Graphics could be better and facial expressions a bit outdated but the technomancer is still a fun ride and a very good sci fi experienceThe Graphics could be better and facial expressions a bit outdated but the technomancer is still a fun ride and a very good sci fi experience that clearly got his inspiration from games like Dragon age, KOTOR, the witcher.

    The story is good and the voice acting exceptional. If you feel like playing a big enough game like dragon age, exploring maps with side quests etc.. you could have fun in this one.
    Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2017
    8
    Must admit that I didn't give the game a chance at first, because of the mediocre reviews. Found myself out of roleplay fodder during theMust admit that I didn't give the game a chance at first, because of the mediocre reviews. Found myself out of roleplay fodder during the Christmas vacation and gave this a chance, and I must say I was really positively surprised. Anyone who likes rpgs with interesting comapions and scifi settings will very likely enjoy this game. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2016
    8
    to make things short: the reviews - especially the official ones - to this game are simply not fair. there is a lot of ambition in this gameto make things short: the reviews - especially the official ones - to this game are simply not fair. there is a lot of ambition in this game and as an effort of a small developer the game has turned out to be a true gem in the rough. but - as so often - blockbuster games get higher praise instead of supporting runnerups to make even better games. the problem i see in the amount of negativity in reviews is, that less people buy the game and see its good aspects. as there is no marketing budget either the reviews are vital for such a small and new brand.

    however .. let´s put things in the right perspective: the voice acting is nice, the story is too - though there are some twists that i did not understand or did not seem logical to me. f.i. a female general i treated like **** and who called me a friend in the end (?!) even though i deserted. the graphics are ok and run on even older or weaker machines (i play on a laptop with a geforce 750m), the music score is somewhat enerving, but maybe that´s just a matter of taste. i liked the characters and the story writing. and there is plenty of good stuff to do. in the end, i would give it an 8 and recommend it to anyone who likes RPGs and is not looking for the stuff that all the others play too.
    Expand
  6. Jun 30, 2016
    7
    The Technomancer es un juego interesante. La ambientación está muy bien conseguida, las habilidades son muy llamativas y le dan un toque muyThe Technomancer es un juego interesante. La ambientación está muy bien conseguida, las habilidades son muy llamativas y le dan un toque muy dinámico, así como la toma de decisiones, que lo convierten en un título muy atractivo.Pese a todo el título no es perfecto y peca como todos los juegos del género con misiones secundarias insulsas y repetitivas, los gráficos son mejorables y la IA es nefasta. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2016
    3
    Looked good.Isn't good.Good idea,bad execution.Nothing stands out,everything is forgetful.Setting and factions are interestingLooked good.Isn't good.Good idea,bad execution.Nothing stands out,everything is forgetful.Setting and factions are interesting sometimes,nothing else.No variety.Backtracking is the worst.Borrowed elements from other oldeeerrr games and made worse,instead of bulding it into something better.Unused potential in all forms. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews