The Turing Test Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 99 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Turing Test is a challenging first-person puzzle game set on Jupiter’s moon, Europa. Assume the role of Ava Turing, an engineer for the International Space Agency (ISA) sent to discover the cause behind the disappearance of the ground crew stationed there.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Aug 30, 2016
    95
    An excellent game visually, mechanically and with it’s strong story and acting, this should be in your libraries.
  2. Aug 31, 2016
    85
    If you're hankering for a first person puzzler and/or you're a sci-fi nut, then you will probably love The Turing Test.
  3. CD-Action
    Nov 18, 2016
    80
    Even if the The Turing Test sometimes wanders into the realm of clichés in terms of both gameplay and the story, the developers tackled the subject of artificial intelligence really well and created an engaging game. [11/2016, p.50]
  4. Aug 25, 2016
    75
    The Turing Test offers some engaging puzzle gameplay that will keep you entertained for roughly 12 hours. It lacks polish in some areas but as a package is a solid addition to the library of those interested in first person puzzle games.
  5. Oct 23, 2016
    70
    The Turing Test provides interesting story and characters, but the puzzles are a bit too monotonous and easy. Still, this science-fiction tale is worth discovering, and the dialogue is well-written.
  6. Sep 1, 2016
    70
    The Turing Test can be quite accurately described as Portal meets Soma, exploring similar ideas of AI and selfhood. The trouble is, I suppose, that both those games did each aspect better.
  7. Edge Magazine
    Sep 27, 2016
    60
    There's promise in The Turing Test's constituent parts, but considered as a whole, it fails the imitation game. [Nov 2016, p.110]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 2 out of 15
  1. Jun 22, 2019
    9
    Great game that explores an interesting topic. written well with fun puzzles to keep you engaged. Pretty short game as I finished it in a day.Great game that explores an interesting topic. written well with fun puzzles to keep you engaged. Pretty short game as I finished it in a day. A must play for sure! Expand
  2. Mar 4, 2017
    9
    Love a game that challenges you enough without taxing you too much, nice story, good computer/character interaction. The game offers a tasteLove a game that challenges you enough without taxing you too much, nice story, good computer/character interaction. The game offers a taste of history if you have the patience to read the docs you find. I give it a 9 out of 10.
    Bringing Alan Turing and Ada Lovelace together is the perfect computer history story!
    Expand
  3. Sep 6, 2017
    9
    An enjoyable game that forces you to think abstractly. A plethora of interacting mechanisms gave decent satisfaction once solving each puzzle,An enjoyable game that forces you to think abstractly. A plethora of interacting mechanisms gave decent satisfaction once solving each puzzle, once you get past the introductory fluff. I played this game over a 3 month period doing 2-4 puzzles each sitting. Many other user reviews here say it falls short of delivering a Portal 2 or Talos Principle quality game and I'll cop that but it's a unique and fun game nonetheless.

    GOOD ENDING.
    Expand
  4. Apr 9, 2019
    6
    In short, an aesthetically-pleasing puzzle game in a space environment with a fairly OK narrative.

    However, it is a copy-cat of Portal to
    In short, an aesthetically-pleasing puzzle game in a space environment with a fairly OK narrative.

    However, it is a copy-cat of Portal to an embarrassing degree, with some elements from Watch_Dogs and other games. Very low on the innovativeness scale. The mechanics were introduced well though, so that it's fairly unlikely to not feel comfortable with them. The puzzles themselves were OK, but also pretty uneven. Most were very simple and short (some, even towards the end, made me go "what? already?), but now and then there was a really long and fairly difficult one. It felt like the progression wasn't smooth at all.

    The story behind the gameplay, philosophical to a large extent, clearly had a lot of thought put into it, but ultimately felt rather shallow and disappointing, especially towards the end. The AI's main accusation of Ava Turing was that she's naive, and I couldn't agree more. The game is very pleasing visually too, with colourful lighting effects much to my liking, and a neat dynamic implementation of pupillary light reflex.

    All in all, fairly entertaining for a few hours, if you're not in an overly demanding mood. I wouldn't say it's worth the full price though, considering you can get something like The Witcher 3 on sale for less.
    Expand
  5. Oct 5, 2016
    6
    I was disappointed by the ending of the game. through the game you would expect something bigger than whats coming. It wasn't surprising atI was disappointed by the ending of the game. through the game you would expect something bigger than whats coming. It wasn't surprising at all, you could expect that from the middle of the game.
    Except that, the puzzles weren't that hard and u could finish the game in few hours, so im not sure if its worth the full price, maybe if its on a sale.
    Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2016
    6
    It is fun, entertaining and has some clever twists - however, it comes short regarding really telling the story and it is in general too short at all.
  7. Sep 13, 2016
    4
    I'm sorry but this game pissed me off. It's a poor version of The Talos Principle. Only less creative. All the game is about big empty spacesI'm sorry but this game pissed me off. It's a poor version of The Talos Principle. Only less creative. All the game is about big empty spaces with door puzzles to solve it. I was thinking big Europa Station to be explored, a lot of rooms, a lot of secrets but all I got was door puzzles. It's not a "smart" game like many critics are saying. Believe me. It's one of those that really pisses you off at the end.

    Oh I forgot to mention: BUGs. Lots and lots of bugs. You better prepared yourself for loooooong loading times. But do a little research and there's a lot of help on the internet.
    Expand

See all 15 User Reviews