User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 316 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 23 out of 316

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    I didn't have the same emotions as in the first 5 parts, maybe because I miss Clementine und Lee so much! But this episode is realy good and it comples to make real very,... very hard decisions. I was realy lost in the few moments, what I have to do! This part is not so gourgeus and not so long, but it's deserved to be played! I'm waiting impatiently for the next season!
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    The Good: Moral dilemmas, upgraded combat, bridges the gap between the Walking Dead Season 1 and Season 2, likable characters, lots of replay value

    The Bad: Incredibly short, no big emotional connections, disappointing ending, technical issues The Walking Dead by Telltale is probably my favorite game of all time… or at least my favorite story of all time. TWD: 400 Days is an
    The Good: Moral dilemmas, upgraded combat, bridges the gap between the Walking Dead Season 1 and Season 2, likable characters, lots of replay value

    The Bad: Incredibly short, no big emotional connections, disappointing ending, technical issues

    The Walking Dead by Telltale is probably my favorite game of all time… or at least my favorite story of all time. TWD: 400 Days is an experiment in storytelling and DLC by Telltale which may not have you developing emotional connections as you did in Season 1, but still works for the most part. It includes five stories which can be played in any order (although there is a chronological order to follow if you’d prefer that) which all have a separate main character. The ending where everything comes together is quite disappointing and confusing but hardly ruins the experience.

    Each of the stories has a similar layout (other than Shel and Vince’s)- you start off with a conversation where you get to know the characters, an action moment arises (the action has been improved as well), then a moral dilemma, then back to a conversation. These dilemmas are very intricate and often had me pausing the game so I could think over them (I know, shame on me for pausing). But those aren’t always the best parts of the stories. The best parts are instead the calmer moments such as when you are playing “Would you Rather” or tense moments where an extremely important game of “Rock Paper Scissors” is being played.

    There are a few drawbacks to having five completely different stories of survivors of the zombie apocalypse however. Each story is incredibly short and the experience as a whole is shorter than an episode of the actual game. I beat TWD: 400 Days in one sitting in about 1 hour and 15 minutes. This is disappointing because the short length doesn’t let you get to know the characters well.

    There are a few technical issues, specifically involving the mouse (so console users don’t need to worry) which can’t be avoided but they aren’t major. All in all, The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a successful experiment which is far from perfect but worthy of any TWD-game fan’s attention. Also, there is tons of replay value due to the numerous choices which all have varied outcomes.

    You can also check out my review at: http://binarymessiah.wordpress.com/2013/07/10/the-walking-dead-400-days/
    Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead 400 Days have some positive points and negative points.
    *Positive points :
    1- Scenaristic
    2- Good prequel for the second season
    3- Many choice
    4- Cartoon graphics
    * Negative :
    1- Very short...
    2- Too much characters which we can't attach...
    (sorry for my english but i'm not english)
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    An interesting bit of DLC. some of the choices you can make don't necessarily feel like choices at the time. the characters are all nicely fleshed out, and yet again the quality of voice acting and setting are top notch. I'm definitely eager to play Season 2.
  5. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    For a 5 euros DLC content this is good enough for me. Although the choices you make wont effect on anything, at least not just yet. Voice acting is good and characters are interesting and different in
    their own way.
  6. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    it was fine not bad and not good 5 stories two were good 2 were fine and on was and before you play you must realize that you can't compare it to the entire walking dead season one game because this is a small DLC and it ends really fast and as the previous game it has a high replay ability as well play just to warm up for the next season
  7. Jul 5, 2013
    9
    Si bien me gustaria que la serie fuera un poco mas interactiva la nueva entrega sigue con misma habilidad e inteligencia para traer una buena historia,sin innovar pero con una nueva forma de abordar el relato.Mas alla de las pequeñas criticas que se le pueden hacer se merece un 10 entendido como un eslabon de una cadena y con mas ansias de ver su continuacion que de su par televisivo..queSi bien me gustaria que la serie fuera un poco mas interactiva la nueva entrega sigue con misma habilidad e inteligencia para traer una buena historia,sin innovar pero con una nueva forma de abordar el relato.Mas alla de las pequeñas criticas que se le pueden hacer se merece un 10 entendido como un eslabon de una cadena y con mas ansias de ver su continuacion que de su par televisivo..que ya es mucho decir Expand
  8. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    The writing, acting and suspense from the original series is still present, however the lack of any time to really get to know these characters spoils the experience in comparison to the first series. However, as a bridge to the second series of the game, it is definitely worth buying.
  9. Jul 4, 2013
    9
    I was pleasantly surprised with this DLC. It lives up to the original game, which is hard to do with a brand new cast of characters. At the beginning, there are five stories that you can play through in any order, and each of them are very well made. The only non-story-related thing this DLC adds that wasn't in the original game is the inclusion of missable achievements. In my opinion,I was pleasantly surprised with this DLC. It lives up to the original game, which is hard to do with a brand new cast of characters. At the beginning, there are five stories that you can play through in any order, and each of them are very well made. The only non-story-related thing this DLC adds that wasn't in the original game is the inclusion of missable achievements. In my opinion, this does not add to the game, since the game should be about making your own choices without worrying about whether your choice will make you miss an achievement. But I did not let that detract from my overall score. All things said, this is excellent DLC! I highly recommend it. Expand
  10. Jul 18, 2013
    8
    This is an interesting piece of DLC that links Season 1 and Season 2, although the decisions in 400 Days don't feel very important, they will certainly have an impact on Season 2. Once again the voice acting is amazing and still one of the high points in The Walking Dead game series. So, if you liked the first season of The Walking Dead you should probably buy this DLC, because I canThis is an interesting piece of DLC that links Season 1 and Season 2, although the decisions in 400 Days don't feel very important, they will certainly have an impact on Season 2. Once again the voice acting is amazing and still one of the high points in The Walking Dead game series. So, if you liked the first season of The Walking Dead you should probably buy this DLC, because I can assure you it is worth the money. Expand
  11. Jul 5, 2013
    8
    Telltale proves once again that they are the kings of video-game story telling with a more action oriented DLC. Whilst the walking dead 400 days does not reach the levels of emotion in the walking dead season 1, the 5 chapters each present an interesting aspect of the walking dead universe. The main issue with this DLC is that it follows such a different path from season 1.

    Whilst the
    Telltale proves once again that they are the kings of video-game story telling with a more action oriented DLC. Whilst the walking dead 400 days does not reach the levels of emotion in the walking dead season 1, the 5 chapters each present an interesting aspect of the walking dead universe. The main issue with this DLC is that it follows such a different path from season 1.

    Whilst the base game focused the story on Lee and Clementine, and only allowed you to play as Lee for the 10 to 12 hour experience, this DLC divides each protagonist's story into 20 to 30 minute segments, each one revolving in their struggle for survival in different moments of the first 400 days of the zombie apocalypse around a pitstop that is the central location of the DLC. Infact, certain choices you make in each chapter may influence the other chapters that take place days or even months later.

    Telltale succeeds on the game defining choices, and seeing as each chapter contains at least one important choice that impacts the epilogue, we can expect the charachters we defined in this DLC to be appearing in the walking dead season 2, in some shape or form.

    My main issue with this DLC is that with the exception of one or two survivors, you don't get to relate to them in a way we related to Lee. Still, each story focuses on a particular theme. For example, Russel's story is centred around trust, Shel's around family and Bonnie's around romantic betrayal. However, many of the ingame decisions don't leave you feeling as though you did good at the end of the DLC, and rather, leave us in constant doubt, something that Season 1 handled with better care, seeing as the DLC chapters end so quickly that we are left without explanations or knowledge of what happens next.

    The art style is as unique as the walking dead season 1, and certain enviromental additions improve the graphics slightly. However, a huge issue is that the game still presents sudden cutscenes, and occasionally choppy animations. We must hope TTG will improve this for the walking dead season 2.

    To sum everything up, The walking dead 400 days DLC is great. Whilst it won't live up to all the feelings season 1 provided, it's a good way to give us a taste of what's to come in the next chapter of the walking dead.
    Expand
  12. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    This is a great introduction to the upcoming second season. The decisions are hard to make, impactful and just difficult to make. I look forward to the second season and enjoyed playing this short but very well done prologue of season 2. Great story telling, but not really a game per se.
  13. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a great appetizer for Season 2. The ending’s a bit too simple (Wait, if they’re hiding from people, why would they do that?) and I don’t love the characters like I loved Lee and Clem, but the action and drama show that Telltale still has it and isn’t satisfied to pump out exactly what the developers did last year. That like these five stories is veryThe Walking Dead: 400 Days is a great appetizer for Season 2. The ending’s a bit too simple (Wait, if they’re hiding from people, why would they do that?) and I don’t love the characters like I loved Lee and Clem, but the action and drama show that Telltale still has it and isn’t satisfied to pump out exactly what the developers did last year. That like these five stories is very exciting Expand
  14. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    A good palette cleanser that preps you for the upcoming season 2. It lacks the emotional resonance of the first five chapters, though, as you never really get to know the characters you play as beyond a handful of crucial moments in their lives. Worth the token $5, but don't expect the story of the familiar characters to continue.
  15. Jul 16, 2013
    8
    You don't follow the characters long enough to get the same level of attachment felt in the first season, but it still serves as a great interlude between seasons.
  16. Jul 11, 2013
    9
    The walking dead 400 Days Almost everybody loved The walking dead game series as they touched our souls Game basic key is the CHOICE which follows you every step In 400 days Telltale games keep surprising us 5 different deep stories The only bad thing they're too short as you begin to enter inside the story it ends
  17. Jul 6, 2013
    9
    Didn't reach the emotional stakes of the actual game but the DLC does well in telling 5 stories very quickly. 400 Days tells these stories very well too, much better than your usual AAA titles, just like the actual game. TellTale have experimented here and I believe it has worked and it is great to see that there are a few new gameplay mechanics and that can only bode well for the futureDidn't reach the emotional stakes of the actual game but the DLC does well in telling 5 stories very quickly. 400 Days tells these stories very well too, much better than your usual AAA titles, just like the actual game. TellTale have experimented here and I believe it has worked and it is great to see that there are a few new gameplay mechanics and that can only bode well for the future of this game. Not perfect though, as I did think it was a little short but overall a 9/10 was fair for what you are paying here. Expand
  18. Jul 6, 2013
    8
    All of the 5 stories are interesting even though the choices you make nearly affect the ending which is going to be always the same the only thing that changes are the characters who are there. But it's still a good experience there are some hard decisions the gameplay is more complex compared to the first season so I'm looking forward for season 2.
  19. Jul 7, 2013
    8
    400 days was a fun bit of DLC but didn't have some of the fun and exciting parts the first five chapters had. The majority of the choices in this game don't have a impact on the rest the story. The voice acting and characters are well done as usual. Overall the DLC leaves you feeling a little empty and wanting to know what happens next. The game is definitely worth buying and playing.400 days was a fun bit of DLC but didn't have some of the fun and exciting parts the first five chapters had. The majority of the choices in this game don't have a impact on the rest the story. The voice acting and characters are well done as usual. Overall the DLC leaves you feeling a little empty and wanting to know what happens next. The game is definitely worth buying and playing.

    PS. The game will take you 2-3 hours.
    Expand
  20. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a DLC for the first season of The Walking Dead, this game has followed it's predecessor's tradition very well. When you play the game, you feel completely overwhelmed by the rich story which the game has. The characters can surprise you, so can the story. In a way you can feel the character and become attached to them. Although this happens less than with theThe Walking Dead: 400 Days is a DLC for the first season of The Walking Dead, this game has followed it's predecessor's tradition very well. When you play the game, you feel completely overwhelmed by the rich story which the game has. The characters can surprise you, so can the story. In a way you can feel the character and become attached to them. Although this happens less than with the original season, it still does the same effect. All of the details this game has are absolutely amazing, you can change the story all depending on the actions you do, it all changes the story in a great way. It's graphics aren't realistic, but their still attractive in their comic-style way. A DLC you must play. Expand
  21. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Although it's only one short episode, but it's a very good short episode. Even i could do some characterization for each survivors simply by doing conversation or other actions.
  22. Jul 26, 2013
    8
    I loved season 1, this was a Great Teaser for season 2, only complaint is there was not more to play, I guess its short but sweet, a good game worth playing to tide ya over till season 2. Also the choices you make in 400 days will have an effect on season 2.
  23. Nov 20, 2013
    9
    400 Days is a nice little add-on to gear us up for Telltale’s season 2 of The Walking Dead and I’m hoping that the outcomes of this expansion do reflect how we start the next game… Overall though, Telltale has kept the quality super high… In fact I found the characters presented even more interesting than anyone from the original game… So, even though total gameplay is around an hour and a400 Days is a nice little add-on to gear us up for Telltale’s season 2 of The Walking Dead and I’m hoping that the outcomes of this expansion do reflect how we start the next game… Overall though, Telltale has kept the quality super high… In fact I found the characters presented even more interesting than anyone from the original game… So, even though total gameplay is around an hour and a half at the most (which is 10-15 minutes per character story) it’s a simple reminder of how fantastic this game was at telling a story, putting you in control of a situation and making you think how you want to do things! It’s a great deal of fun, I can’t recommend this DLC enough and I’m frankly stoked for future instalments of ‘The Walking Dead’ from Telltale! Expand
  24. Sep 13, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Just only a DLC and nothing more.
    Short, no detail, not much fun
    It maybe a good intro to season 2, but who knows?

    The only too bad is no Clementine at all
    Expand
  25. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    Technically more stable with the adding of new gaming mechanise, 400 Days expands on the world of The Walking Dead. With a set of new characters, even more interesting than the last, its short though sweet and reminds players why Tell Tale are one of the best in the business. Although the lack of depth the decisions remain harder than ever. 400 Days is an excellent bridge between season 2Technically more stable with the adding of new gaming mechanise, 400 Days expands on the world of The Walking Dead. With a set of new characters, even more interesting than the last, its short though sweet and reminds players why Tell Tale are one of the best in the business. Although the lack of depth the decisions remain harder than ever. 400 Days is an excellent bridge between season 2 and is a must have for all Walking Dead Fans. Expand
  26. Sep 16, 2013
    8
    I really like this franchise but I find it more prevalent that my choices really don't impact the game which is a serious problem considering it's the game's most alluring aspect. I think I can still accept this dlc since it's more walking dead, and still enjoyable storyline though I would have liked to see more
  27. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 7 out of 10, Fun: 8 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 9 out of 10, Length: 6 out of 10, Re-play: 6 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10
  28. May 13, 2014
    9
    A short and quick DLC that can somehow make you commit hideous choices and great characters even in an hour and a half of gameplay. It's only necessary to see how these choices tie with Season 2.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    Oct 7, 2013
    85
    The Walking Dead. 400 Days offers the same great The Walking Dead experience, but this time with a focus on short stories instead of one larger one. Though there still could be some more actual interaction and less watching cutscenes, the quality of writing and experimenting in short story narrative more than makes up for it. [Aug 2013]
  2. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    By telling five different shorter stories Talltale manages to accelerate the pace of the The Walking Dead series. It has its complications but mostly feels fresh and exciting. 400 Days may not be as well written or as emotionally resonant as the episodes in season one but as an appetizer for the upcoming second season it works very well.
  3. Hyper Magazine
    Aug 8, 2013
    80
    Like a "best of" The Walking Dead, 400 Days is brief and exciting, even if it feels a little more like a demo than a game. [Sept 2013, p.75]