The Walking Dead: The Telltale Series - A New Frontier Image
Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Telltale's award-winning and chart-dominating The Walking Dead series returns with its third season "A New Frontier".

    Continuing the emotionally powerful story-telling seen in Seasons One and Two, we return to one of gaming's most favoured characters - Clementine - a young girl who has
    Telltale's award-winning and chart-dominating The Walking Dead series returns with its third season "A New Frontier".

    Continuing the emotionally powerful story-telling seen in Seasons One and Two, we return to one of gaming's most favoured characters - Clementine - a young girl who has grown up amid the horrors of the zombie apocalypse. We see her story through the eyes of Javier, a young man determined to find the family taken from him, and via playable flashbacks from Clem's past telling the story of how she came to be on a quest for vengeance. In A New Frontier, players will discover what the world is like when civilisation begins to rebuild, and what sacrifices it will take to make society work again.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Walking Dead: A New Frontier - The Game Awards 2016 Extended First Look
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 18
  2. Negative: 1 out of 18
  1. Dec 22, 2016
    90
    Given where Episode 2 leaves us, I am truly looking forward to see where A New Frontier goes. Javier is a charming character with a deep backstory, and they way his family is introduced throughout the past and present leads to an immediate investment in his future. Add in some shady actions on Clementine’s part, as well as the overwhelming desire to keep her around, and I feel that TWD is back on the right track. Telltale continues to impress.
  2. May 31, 2017
    85
    A New Frontier does Telltale’s The Walking Dead series justice, giving the ending that fans have been asking for.
  3. Games Master UK
    Aug 10, 2017
    80
    It's frustrating to see Telltale simultaneously at its best, and also just repeating itself. [Sept 2017, p.81]
  4. Dec 21, 2016
    70
    Whilst A New Frontier doesn’t do anything differently with the gameplay, the story has always been The Walking Dead’s strength and, in this area at least, season three may provide the reversal of fortune that Telltale need.
  5. Jun 21, 2017
    70
    An exciting adventure with interesting characters, but the recipe has been used to death at this point.
  6. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jan 25, 2017
    66
    Where the season will end up is a question that even developers have no answer for. Media that was shown at E3 has no relation to released product; Clem’s voice actress mentioned that this episode’s story kept being rewritten on the fly, and work on the next one hasn’t even began. What’s even worse is that this special magic which made people fall in love with first season is nowhere to be found in A New Frontier: Telltale no longer delivers unique experiences; every new project seems to be made from the same mold. [Issue#216, p.54]
  7. Aug 25, 2017
    43
    A boring, dumb, predictable game. You can’t find worse qualities in a game that’s all about choices and consequences.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 11 out of 27
  1. Mar 30, 2017
    10
    Telltale once again has made another masterpiece. With it's great action, adventure, and story, there's no reason to hate this game. It may beTelltale once again has made another masterpiece. With it's great action, adventure, and story, there's no reason to hate this game. It may be a completely main character, but you still feel like you're playing The Walking Dead. Expand
  2. Jul 7, 2017
    9
    Five Word Review: Everyone's favorite character returns, mostly.
    Favorite Thing: I enjoyed the story, in spite of its faults and lose ends.
    Five Word Review: Everyone's favorite character returns, mostly.
    Favorite Thing: I enjoyed the story, in spite of its faults and lose ends.
    Least Favorite Thing: That bloody camera shake. It doesn't make movies look better and there's absolutely no reason to add it into a game!

    Date Completed: 2017-07-04
    Playtime: ~ 7h
    Enjoyment: 9/10
    Recommendation: If you're a TellTale or Walking Dead fan you'll probably enjoy it.
    Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2019
    8
    Игра хороша. Но в ней я встретил пару багов. Улучшили графику главных героев на том же железе что и первый сезон и второй. История осталасьИгра хороша. Но в ней я встретил пару багов. Улучшили графику главных героев на том же железе что и первый сезон и второй. История осталась интересной. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2018
    6
    Hugely disappointed! Shallow story, boring main character, lazy graphics/animations. They've probably reused the same walker for like 20Hugely disappointed! Shallow story, boring main character, lazy graphics/animations. They've probably reused the same walker for like 20 scenes. In a game just about the choices you make and the story, they sure did a bad job in literally every department. For a game that has really basic gameplay mechanics, this is really disappointing. Barely anything that makes me want to keep on playing.

    Telltale has lost it, or they just don't care about their player base. They have forgotten why we liked them, which mostly comes down to the incredible writing and the choices that take a critical part in the experience.
    Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2018
    4
    Telltale Games screwed up! i don't like new characters and new Artstyle story suck.. TWD is falling down
  6. Mar 5, 2017
    2
    I was already disappointed when Telltale announced that Season 3 was going to have a new main character. They kept that a secret for as longI was already disappointed when Telltale announced that Season 3 was going to have a new main character. They kept that a secret for as long as possible and while they said Clementine was going to be back, when asked if she was going to be playable too they were always very vague up until the game was released. Smart from their part, because Clem is only playable for less than 10 minutes in 2 episodes and obviously, fans weren't happy. And she's only playable in flashbacks too, and speaking of which,are the most obnoxious thing Telltale has ever done to date. Dealing with Season 2's endings in a 5 minute flashback by killing off the remaining characters in the most terrible way possible, making the endings completely useless and basically sh*t on everyone's choices. They didn't even put any effort in trying to make Kenny, Edith and Jane LOOK like their former selves in season 2. Their models look absolutely terrible and it's honestly insulting to the fans that they thought those flashbacks were good enough to put on the game.

    But anyway, Telltale decided that it was best to throw away 2 seasons of investment and character development by pushing Clementine aside in favor of a random dude with a family that we are suddenly supposed to care about. TWD honestly became all about Clementine to me. In season 1 we have to protect her and teach her how to survive, in season 2 we get to play as her and shape her to be the character we want. In the meantime we watch her grow, both physically and mentally and in season 3 we get to see her become a young woman. So many opportunities right there. I honestly thought that we were going to get to play as her until she grows to be an adult. Not a lot of games do that, where you get to follow a character and watch them grow and adapt to a new world. Why Telltale decided to get rid of that is beyond me. Bringing a new established character that has been surviving in the apocalypse for 4 years with his family just doesn't work for me. Javier's intentions are all about protecting his family, but why should I care for them? I didn't get to develop these bonds between the characters and it certainly doesn't help when they are as bland and generic as Gabe and Kate are. The typical "bad stepmother" that has a bad attitude and doesn't know how to raise kids and that was abused by the husband. The stereotypical moody teenage boy who whines about trivial things 4 years into the apocalypse. That's another thing that bugs me about this family. They are completely oblivious and innocent, which is just not believable. They run into a trailer full of supplies and a bed and they aren't smart enough to put two and two together and come to the conclusion that someone lives there? Am I supposed to believe this family never run into bad people in 4 years?? That and the stupid sh*t they do, like running in an open field in the middle of a gunfire. That's bad writing, it makes your characters look stupid and not relatable.

    So far the side characters are just there, doesn't seem like they have a story and mind of their own. You meet Eleanor and talk to her for 1 minute and suddenly she wants to help you escape when you were involved in a murder. I mean, are you serious?? Then Javier is the reason why Prescott falls and for some reason Tripp is your best bud now and follows you unconditionally. Again, what?? I guess that's the problem with introducing new characters at the beginning of every season and then proceed to kill them all off only to do the same thing again in the next season. You basically have no time to develop a believable relationship with these characters. And it doesn't help when the hubs (which were a great way to stop and breath for a while and get to talk to the characters and get to know them a bit) are utter bullsh*t in this game. Season 2 suffered from this too. Only good old season 1 did this right. It's beyond me why Telltale dropped that. It probably also doesn't help when the episodes are so freaking short that you barely have time to do anything... and on top of that you lie to the fans saying "oh my god you guys episode 1 was so big we had to split it in two!" and then each part turns out to be 1 hour long. Oh, ok, so having a 2 hour episode was such a bad thing? Specially when we waited 3 years for a freaking new season, you honestly couldn't give something back to your fans? And you'd think we would have 4 more episodes after this since this was supposed to be episode 1 split in two but nope, we'll be getting one less episode, so only 3 more. Lol Just terrible.

    Overall, the first two episodes felt rushed, too much action and too little character interaction and development. Half of the season is almost gone and the events from the two episodes happened in less than a day! This is season 2 all over again where the entire season happened in the span of like one week. As I see it, a New Frontier should be a standalone game and Season 3 should follow Clem again.
    Expand
  7. Mar 9, 2017
    0
    Do not play this, unless you want to ruin your previous experience with the legendary series.

    Its not just bad, it somehow manages to ruin
    Do not play this, unless you want to ruin your previous experience with the legendary series.

    Its not just bad, it somehow manages to ruin the feel of what came before.
    Expand

See all 27 User Reviews