Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Mar 26, 2019
    70
    This last episode of The Walking Dead is certainly not perfect but it brings a conclusion - which was not sure a few months ago - to the series. And it still can be liked by those who truly love the characters, even if it has only a few surprises in store. Nevertheless, this opportunity to say goodbye to Clementine - in extension to the whole Telltale Games formula - is truly appreciable. We'll miss her for sure.
  2. Mar 25, 2019
    70
    This episode shows that The Walking Dead: The Final Season is by no means a failure. It may lack the ingenuity that the series has shown, particularly in its earlier entries, but it does provide a resolution. The Final Season ends comfortably, but given the highs of The Walking Dead, some may be left wondering if that was enough.
  3. Apr 1, 2019
    65
    Though it introduces new ideas and perspectives to players, the final episode of The Walking Dead drags on a bit too long in order to bring Clementine’s seven-year journey to a close.
  4. Mar 25, 2019
    60
    From the first moment that patrol car spilled convict Lee Everett into a ditch, to the final curtain fall on this climactic episode, players have enjoyed telling their tale of survival, friendship, bravery, and tragedy in a post-Walker world. It's been a very bumpy ride, both technically and narratively, but Telltale's The Walking Dead worked hard to push past these shortcomings, creating a new form of interactive fiction. One which procured genuine emotional investment from its fanbase and a deserved place in video game history.
  5. Jun 4, 2019
    55
    This season created problems and solved them, but the overarching themes of the series as a whole weren’t sufficiently addressed, and I feel as if the ending leaves too much unanswered. However, putting my feelings aside, it’s nearly impossible to hate on the final episode of The Walking Dead. It wouldn’t even exist if not for the outstanding effort from the developers and publisher, and for the sake of the fans like me, it was appreciated.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Mar 27, 2019
    The writers know that, and refuse despair by not closing the circle of loss that started with Lee’s death. They knew that we were watching and learning as well, and refused to leave us with a message of nihilism and hopelessness that has consumed much of zombie and other horror media.
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 52 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 52
  2. Negative: 4 out of 52
  1. Mar 27, 2019
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The Walking Dead: The Final Season Episode: 4 Take Us Back, does something that the series has not done in a long time. Since season 1 I have been hoping and waiting for that moment that made me connect with, not only the characters but everything about the game. Season 2 and Season 3 were major let downs in that department and it felt as if, as the seasons went on, you disconnected more and more from what the game was originally about. Not only season 4 episode 4, but Season 4 as a whole brought you back to the beautifully emotional first season of The Walking Dead series. With 1 episode less, it was just as effective. They were able to keep surprises through the episodes and keep it unpredictable, The Walking Dead Season 4, Episode 4 was a roller coaster from beginning to end, with either outcome you had in episode 3, choosing James or Lilly. They kept you at the edge of your seat with action, creepy characters, shocking attacks, and more. The big bang of the episode happens only half way in and has you questioning what is going to happen. Near the end, we finally get answers for the popular question of "What happened when Clem went to save AJ? Why was it so traumatizing." It was something a lot of people wanted to know, and a lot expected Season 4 to start out, at Mcarroll ranch. The Episode wraps up on a happy note and it is a beautiful end to an amazing game series. Full Review »
  2. Apr 1, 2019
    8
    It is sad to let her go, because she became family and so dear to our hearts, but I'm also glad that the Clementine's story now got the properIt is sad to let her go, because she became family and so dear to our hearts, but I'm also glad that the Clementine's story now got the proper ending. Thank you to Telltale for the story and characters & Skybound for making it possible for us to see the conclusion of Clementine's adventures. Full Review »
  3. Mar 30, 2019
    9
    So glad this was finished with a really emotional and good ending. However lots of lost potential but that is understandable considering howSo glad this was finished with a really emotional and good ending. However lots of lost potential but that is understandable considering how hard it must have been for such a small team to rebuild a game.
    Very sad to see this story end. Best walking dead main character and story out of them all, imo
    Full Review »