Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 729 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Wolf Among Us is a 5-episode series from the creators of The Walking Dead. Based on Fables (DC Comics/Vertigo), an award-winning comic book series, it is an often violent, mature and hard-boiled thriller where the characters and creatures of myth, lore and legend are real and exist inThe Wolf Among Us is a 5-episode series from the creators of The Walking Dead. Based on Fables (DC Comics/Vertigo), an award-winning comic book series, it is an often violent, mature and hard-boiled thriller where the characters and creatures of myth, lore and legend are real and exist in our world. As Bigby Wolf - THE big bad wolf in human form - you discover that the brutal, bloody murder of a Fable is just a taste of things to come, in a game series where your every decision can have enormous consequences. Your choices matter: it’s not only WHAT you choose to do that will affect how your story plays out, but WHEN you choose to do it. A mature and gritty take on characters from fairy tales, legends and folklore who have escaped into our world. These are not the characters you’d see on a little child’s lunchbox. Play as Bigby Wolf: formerly the most feared monster among the Fables, now Sheriff of Fabletown and protector of those he used to hunt. He must restrain the beast within if he is to earn the trust of those around him. Choose Bigby’s actions carefully. Will you approach a situation calmly or unleash your inner rage? The way you act will determine how others respond to you. Set before the events seen in the first issue of the comics – you don’t have to know the characters or the world to play. [Telltale Games] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    100
    An amazing introduction to the Fables setting, the first episode of The Wolf Among Us absorbs you fully into the character of Bigby Wolf through excellent writing and forcing the player to make engaging choices.
  2. Oct 16, 2013
    90
    Clocking in at around two hours, this is the best looking, best playing and most polished game that Telltale has created to date and while it’s a bit lacking in the idea that each choice has great weight and meaning behind them, it’s still a fantastic title and a truly promising beginning for what might become Telltale’s greatest work yet.
  3. Nov 6, 2013
    90
    After playing The Wolf Among Us you can see that Telltale has a real grasp on creating amazing interpretations of comics. Even without having any knowledge or relation to the Fables comic I can't wait for the next four episodes.
  4. Oct 14, 2013
    85
    A very good start. This is no pretty fairy tale, but a gruesome thriller with a fantastic parallel world New York as a background, where you meet characters from Snow White to Grendel.
  5. Nov 6, 2013
    80
    Faith is a sterling beginning to what looks to be another feather in Telltale’s cap; a confident, slick opener to a mystery that begs to be explored. I wait with bated breath and sweaty palms for the next installment, where I’m sure to discover how my choices have only made things worse, at least if The Walking Dead is anything to go by.
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    As only the first of five episodes, it is difficult to tell how the series will play out and evolve from here. However, The Wolf Among Us: Episode 1 - Faith makes a fantastic first impression and has us eagerly awaiting the next chapter of Bigby's story.
  7. Oct 20, 2013
    70
    A solid and enjoyable opening entry into a series that, thus far, is impossible to judge. The Wolf Among Us perhaps hews a little too closely to the first arc of the comic it's based on, but it does an admirable job of translating that world to a new medium.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 106
  2. Negative: 5 out of 106
  1. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Telltale has done it again this is definitely a must buy! The art style is yet again amazing the controls are fluid and responsive the storyTelltale has done it again this is definitely a must buy! The art style is yet again amazing the controls are fluid and responsive the story is compelling and the characters are loveable!
    Can't wait for episode 2!
    Collapse
  2. Jul 8, 2014
    10
    I didn't know what to expect from this series, because I had never heard of it until now. After episode one, I was hooked. Fantastic writingI didn't know what to expect from this series, because I had never heard of it until now. After episode one, I was hooked. Fantastic writing and great looking graphics are only the beginning. Telltale has found a way to make story games flow so evenly, I swear I was watching a show...an interactive show. After playing quite a few Tt titles previously, it is easy to see that Tt has definitely refined their approach, and it makes the experience so much more enjoyable. Definite 10! Expand
  3. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    An amazing introduction into the world of Fables. While I fell in love with The Walking Dead, The Wolf Among Us has a more immersive storylineAn amazing introduction into the world of Fables. While I fell in love with The Walking Dead, The Wolf Among Us has a more immersive storyline due to the constant mystery that lingers throughout each scene. The UI looks beautiful and the music is also chilling and atmospheric. A great game to get lost in. Expand
  4. Nov 2, 2013
    9
    The great setting. Cool and bright colors. Well designed characters that are hard to forgot. To conclude it is a very interesting and brightThe great setting. Cool and bright colors. Well designed characters that are hard to forgot. To conclude it is a very interesting and bright story. It is nice interactive story where u can make decisions, but there very small part of the game so we cant watch right now how ur decisions will affect story. Expand
  5. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    Telltale Games starts out strong in the first episode of "The Wolf Among Us"(TWAU) and proves that the previous success with "The WalkingTelltale Games starts out strong in the first episode of "The Wolf Among Us"(TWAU) and proves that the previous success with "The Walking Dead"(TWD) wasn't a fluke.
    The gameplay has developed and the action scenes are much smoother and fun to play this time around. This goes for most mechanics and the game feel more polished than previous titles. There is also some investigation and interrogation scenes that add variation to the gameplay.
    The story is unique and the familiar characters you meet all have some twist to them that makes them feel more human than they are. It is an interesting world we get to explore a small part of and I hope that it is expanded upon as the season plays out.
    If Telltale manages to keep the story going and the quality steady "TWAU" is going to be a strong contestant to "TWD" for the champion title. This first episode impressed me far more than the first of "TWD", but it all comes down to the overall quality of the season. I, for one, am already jumping in my chair waiting for the next episode.
    If you liked Telltales previous titles this game is a sure thing, but it is also worth the price if you like adventure games in general or unique twists to old formulas.
    Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2014
    9
    A beautiful start into a hopefully great series of games. The Wolf Among Us drags you directly into its world and bonds you with itsA beautiful start into a hopefully great series of games. The Wolf Among Us drags you directly into its world and bonds you with its characters. Set up similar to games like Heavy Rain, the game itself is more like a playable movie than a video game. Which is by no means a bad thing. The Wolf Among Us perfectly delivers its story that way. The controls are easily to get into even without explanation, the story explains itself perfectly without punching things into your face. A must play for fans of good story telling! Expand
  7. May 4, 2014
    0
    Another monotonous and boring video game story. Setting itself as a SinCity Noir esquire clone. Although differing when children's fables andAnother monotonous and boring video game story. Setting itself as a SinCity Noir esquire clone. Although differing when children's fables and urban legends are combined in the stroy, at least they don't have vampires and zombies, but then again they probably will do.

    Rather then actually playing game to the conclusion, where, what you do from actions and speech. Has any real effects to the games final outcome. The outcome will undoubtedly be the same. As if in any reward will only get a slightly different speech or animation throughout which doesn't effect anything., These slight differences are never of any actual consequence to this game because they will always be the same in this played out *video-game progression.

    *Keyword Video

    It has all be done before and much better so many other games, alter, tailoring gamer choices to events and outcomes. Even a game coming from under the same brand the Walking Dead had many better choices of characters left in play from direct game event actions. But also tedious when having a naff ending and lacking in much specific difference.

    Puzzle games, seek and search games are wonderful. However this isn't that type of game, items often wont fit as in if you do or don't have them, they are painfully easy to find, further they are mostly of no real consequence to outcomes. Actions won't particularly effect any game play neither will most choices of speech.

    Somebody will argue because I tore off a creatures arm in a programmed sequenced fight. The game is severely altered Oh no. That same armless guy is saying the same things to me in all the same places, however armless. if going to a different location this will affect a different game outcome? No! The same events will always take place, more through a lack of any actual event though. dulling wait another few months to get a different starting episode animation that won't have altered anything.

    Ultimately a tedious rip off selling a 1/5 of the game every few months to get more money from the gamer, but never the entire game for any complete discounted satisfaction.

    Simply them playing out a story for the gamer , where personally I would rather be watching my TV or reading a book. Avoid a complete waste of time until the full version is available at a discount
    Expand

See all 106 User Reviews