Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. May 27, 2014
    100
    This episode builds up nicely to the finale, with a last minute reveal that will make the wait for the last episode seem longer than it likely will be.
  2. May 28, 2014
    98
    "In Sheep's Clothing" is easily my favorite installment in the series so far. it's melancholic and retrospective without sacrificing plot development. There's a nervous energy to it that keeps you on your toes and leads to a cliffhanger that will have you clamoring for the next episode, even though you don't want it to end.
  3. May 29, 2014
    96
    No review can ever possibly do justice to the violent, despairing beauty of these Fables trapped in a world not their own and still holding out for something, anything, better. Telltale Games delivers a masterclass in emotionally impactful storytelling and one of the most memorable video game settings of all time.
  4. May 28, 2014
    94
    I loved The Wolf Among Us: Episode 4:. It wasn’t as active as other episodes, but I feel like I finally have a grasp on what is going on.
  5. May 27, 2014
    90
    In Sheep’s Clothing ends on one of the best cliffhangers you could imagine.
  6. May 29, 2014
    88
    "In Sheep's Clothing" nails it where it counts. Not since episode one have we felt so fascinated with The Wolf Among Us.
  7. Aug 6, 2014
    85
    In Sheep's Clothing is by far one of the most engaging in the series, managing to bring together the many plot threads spun and finally setting the stage for the final chapter in the adventure series.
  8. May 27, 2014
    85
    The content is fantastic, though the timing between episodes holds the game back.
  9. May 31, 2014
    80
    If the goal was to pull everything together and push the hype for the last episode to the highest level, In Sheep's Clothing does an amazingly good job.
  10. May 30, 2014
    80
    The story is moved forward, and the quick time events and character development make you wish you could play the concluding episode right now. So, in essence, this episode does its job quite well, I just wish it had more internal resolution.
  11. May 29, 2014
    80
    In Sheep’s Clothing is a bit short and not as shocking as previous episodes, but it is darkly unsettling and deftly sets the scene for the closing of this horrific case. And we’re left with one final cliffhanger. Standing in a room, surrounded by enemies. The question is: who’s getting out?
  12. May 29, 2014
    80
    Still, it’s a necessary stepping stone to finally reach the summit that we’ve all been waiting for, and with the conclusion looming just over the horizon I can’t wait to see how it all ends for the denizens of FableTown.
  13. May 27, 2014
    80
    The crux of the problem with In Sheep’s Clothing is that we’re still not getting much in the way of payoff. A lot of questions are answered, sure, but the episode presents itself as one final buildup to the confrontation with The Crooked Man.
  14. May 27, 2014
    80
    Episode four makes Bigby's struggle more personal, then ends abruptly, transferring the pressure to deliver onto the finale.
  15. May 30, 2014
    77
    This is clearly not The Wolf Among Us at its best, even though it's got some interesting moments and a couple of cool choices. But it's clearly a little more than a preparation for the big finale.
  16. May 27, 2014
    75
    The Wolf Among Us: In Sheep's Clothing isn't a wholly satisfying penultimate episode, but it's about on par with its predecessors in terms of quality. You'll get enough answers and confrontations to be entertained throughout, but it most definitely leaves a lot to be resolved in the final episode.
  17. Jun 13, 2014
    70
    The fourth episode is the shortest one, and it acts as a bridge to a grand finale. In Sheep's Clothing raises your anticipation greatly, but its plot is not sufficiently progressing, ending sooner than it starts. It is obvious that its developers hold the best of it for the very end.
  18. Jun 4, 2014
    70
    In Sheep's Clothing was something of a letdown, especially compared to the calibre of the previous episode. It's an exposition-heavy hour and a half that does little to move the plot or develop the characters, and would have better as a concise, 15 minute introduction at the start of the final part.
  19. May 30, 2014
    70
    By the end of the episode, the pieces came together.
  20. May 29, 2014
    70
    Despite the acting, music, and graphics teams doing their bang-up jobs, and the storyline taking some interesting turns toward an epic finale, Episode 4 of The Wolf Among Us was more than a little unsatisfying.
  21. May 28, 2014
    70
    Episode four serves to connect most of the pieces together and potentially meet the perpetrator behind all the chaos in Fabletown… though it doesn’t hype up the next episode as much as it could. Of course there’s always the possibility Telltale is saving the best stuff for the conclusion, so I’m still hopeful episode five will blow us all away.
  22. May 27, 2014
    70
    I left the third episode of The Wolf Among Us with my heart in my stomach; I left the fourth with burning curiosity, which is not as striking of a feeling. But given what other fables tell me of the Crooked Man, I suspect that it will not just be my curiosity that burns in the final chapter of this episodic tale. I want closure, I crave closure, but The Wolf Among Us has taught me that conclusions aren't always neat and tidy, and that you must suffer pain before you can earn relief.
  23. May 27, 2014
    65
    The overall story is still intriguing, but this disappointing episode won't be a tough act to follow.
  24. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 8, 2014
    60
    The quality stands but only whets your appetite and doesn't fill it. This much fragmenting is killing the series.
  25. May 30, 2014
    60
    The worst episode so far. We can't feel the fight inside Bigby and the flow of the story is independent from his choices and words. The narrative castle Telltale built so far collapses for sloppy scripting and weak gameplay.
  26. May 29, 2014
    60
    This particular episode is more a shaggy dog story rather than something that goes for the throat, but it's building up promisingly towards the season climax.
  27. May 27, 2014
    60
    In Sheep’s Clothing still features Telltale’s strong writing, but is ultimately my least favorite chapter of the series so far. The lack of meaningful choices and scant story progression make Episode 4 feel unimportant in the grand scheme of things.
  28. Oct 19, 2014
    58
    Telltale should have just removed all the filler from In Sheep’s Clothing and attached all remaining good story bits to the final episode of the season.
  29. Jun 16, 2014
    50
    In Sheep’s Clothing is a very disappointing episode that starts slow and never picks up much steam. It all falls on the finale now to redeem this uneven series.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 188 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 188
  1. May 27, 2014
    9
    Another fantastic episode.

    Pros: -Fantastic build up. -Makes you really have to think about who is good and who isn't in all of this.
    Another fantastic episode.

    Pros:
    -Fantastic build up.
    -Makes you really have to think about who is good and who isn't in all of this.
    -Plays very heavily with the whole "good cop" vs. "bad cop" theme of the entire series.

    Cons:
    -Some minor technical hiccups (Snow White misses pushing either button to use the elevator..)
    -Quite short
    -The ending will leave you really wanting episode 5... which is a good thing in a way, but it feels bad.
    Full Review »
  2. May 28, 2014
    0
    This episode felt like one BIG filler. It just kept going and going and going. It was a disappointing episode. Though the writing was fine andThis episode felt like one BIG filler. It just kept going and going and going. It was a disappointing episode. Though the writing was fine and I liked the action scenes, plus the ending was cool. Full Review »
  3. May 28, 2014
    2
    Pros
    +it's a good way to lead into episode 5
    + good writing Cons - not lots of action - helpless feeling - felt like a repeated mix of
    Pros
    +it's a good way to lead into episode 5
    + good writing
    Cons
    - not lots of action
    - helpless feeling
    - felt like a repeated mix of episode 3 and 2.
    - anti climatic end
    - felt like a big filler
    Full Review »