Thief Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1529 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safeGarrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach. As an uprising emerges, Garrett finds himself entangled in growing layers of conflict. Lead by Orion, the voice of the people, the tyrannized citizens will do everything they can to claim back the City from the Baron’s grasp. The revolution is inevitable. If Garrett doesn’t get involved, the streets will run red with blood and the City will tear itself apart. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Thief - Gamescom 2013 Uprising Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    86
    An excellent stealth game, true to the spirit of the original and at the same time much more modern. Very polished gameplay and a clever difficulty level make Thief a game no stealth fan should miss. The plot and the setting aren't always inspired, but the quality of the content greatly makes up for it.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    81
    Not the best brand relaunch ever, but forgetting the great predecessors, it's a decent game of its own. [March 2014]
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    80
    While it suffers in aspects of level design and uninspired use of Garrett's inventory, Thief delivers a unique stealth experience that lives up to the original game, but not quite.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    75
    Maybe the new Thief fails to achieve sufficient amount of depth and alternative paths to satisfy every player, but its stealth gameplay makes this game fun.
  5. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Thief is far from the disaster that many feared it would be, and fans who take the time to customise their settings ahead of their first playthrough will find a rewarding world here to pick clean. Nevertheless, it’s still difficult to shake the feeling that, for all his dexterity, Garrett has stumbled in his attempt to gain access to a new generation.
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    65
    As a Thief, it is a huge disappointment. The extraordinary map design of the series is gone, the story is forgettable and the reboot of Garrett and The City really misjudged. While entertaining as a stealth game, its sins are bigger than its virtues.
  7. Mar 3, 2014
    30
    The three major strengths of past Thief titles - wide open mission design, sound propagation and narrative - are this game’s biggest weaknesses. That is a fundamental problem it cannot hope to overcome.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Is the first Thief I played, I played for almost 2 hours and loved the atmosphere, the gameplay, everything is perfect . You can choose theIs the first Thief I played, I played for almost 2 hours and loved the atmosphere, the gameplay, everything is perfect . You can choose the difficulty , I chose normal and it's still a little hard to steal things without being noticed, you have to think before what you're doing and keep an eye on the movement of soldiers. The graphics are not spectacular, but they are beautiful. I ran the game with everything max, filters, etc, at 1920x1080 and rolled flat, the FPS ranged between 50 and 60. It took me almost 2 hours to get past the first mission , exploring every corner to steal as much as possible and trying not to be detected, which made me take more. About the negative reviews, including the "big sites", I was not disappointed to read before playing, and now I played I'm not unrepentant, as I said, I loved the game and I recommend for you that enjoy a good first-person stealth game. Ignore the reviews, play and give your own conclusion. That's it. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    This was, literally, the BEST stealth game, thievery game, assassin game, it has moved to my top 5, top 3, actually it may be my favorite gameThis was, literally, the BEST stealth game, thievery game, assassin game, it has moved to my top 5, top 3, actually it may be my favorite game ever. This is simply amazing. The atmosphere, the controls, everything is just amazing. I have not played any of the predecessors, but I will say, playing on Master Thief game-mode makes the AI extremely realistic. Keep in mind you are apparently the master shadow looking thief. Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    9
    Despite its monotonous and somewhat tedious loading screens immensely dulling any exploration, Thief was hugely enjoyable for me(a new timerDespite its monotonous and somewhat tedious loading screens immensely dulling any exploration, Thief was hugely enjoyable for me(a new timer to the whole 'thief' series). The dark and chilling world is very appropriate to the concept and story of the game creating an experience whereby you're immersed in thievery; a expedition well worth it! As most might be aware, the Batman Arkham series are incredible masterpieces and some of my favourite games. The best part of the games however, was the stealth missions, which is what the whole game of Thief is!
    The use of the dualshock4 made me cry with joy for 19 days! Why? Because it was just a sensational idea and one that, in a dark room, made the entire game come to life! This also aids the extraordinary detail of the entire game and, ultimately, makes for a wonderfully involved game!
    Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    Ok this is an honest opinion on the game. I have not played previous thief games so I will not compare this to previous ones. Thief has a veryOk this is an honest opinion on the game. I have not played previous thief games so I will not compare this to previous ones. Thief has a very confronting storyline and throws you straight into the deep end without a decent back story or intro and at first I found it very hard to follow. Overall without any spoilers the storyline was OK. not great but still ok. The voice acting was pretty good, the cut scenes seemed to change volume to the actual game and were actually pretty crappy and not done well. The graphics are awesome, I played with everything maxxed out at 2560x1440 resolution - yes it's a beautiful game don't let others say otherwise. I found that stealing objects and items in the game was pretty much useless near end game I had well over 4 Thousand dollars to spend and I had NO IDEA were a shop was to spend it or upgrade my abilities. I dont think I upgraded 1 single ability apart from the tutorial one that is given to you which was quite a dissapointment. Overall I give the game 7/10 because the graphics, voice acting and general gameplay was interesting and fun overall. if the graphics had of been similar to dishonored then I honestly wouldn't have bothered with the game. don't get me wrong it's Still worth playing for sure - just be sure to get it when it''s on sale. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    5
    I am going to say right off the bad that this review is entirely based on Thief being viewed as a standalone game. That being said, it stillI am going to say right off the bad that this review is entirely based on Thief being viewed as a standalone game. That being said, it still is very lackluster and can hardly overcome its weaknesses to be a good game. In short, it is an average game, it isn't terrible like Ride to Hell but it hard to recommend unless you are desperate to play a stealth game and have already played Mark of the Ninja, The original Thief trilogy, The Deus Ex series with stealth runs and Dishonored.

    Level design:
    Levels, excluding the hub/city, are highly linear and the optimal route of the player is apparent. The best analogy for these linear sections is to equate them to hallways with cubbyholes on the sides with loot. Sure, you can go into the cubbyholes but they rarely help the player progression because many of them are dead ends and the player has to go back onto the path made by the developers. The question one should ask when playing Thief 4 is, "how did the devs want me to play this level." Not, "how should I beat this level."

    Player movement:
    The player cannot jump unless promoted too by the game, further limiting their actions to traverse a level and avoid traps that are in the game. As much as the developers want to believe, jumping is not a "contextual action". However, you can "swoop", an ability that is simply a dash that makes you hard to detect in lighted areas and can be chained in succession. Does it make up for the lack of an ability to jump without being prompted?

    Audio:
    After playing the game for a few hours, it will become apparent that the dialog and audio in the game repeats allot. The dialog itself in the game and cut scenes are uninspired. The audio transitions of being undetected and being engaged are poorly executed. Finally, the sound track for this game is hardly memorable, a shame from a triple A game.

    Graphics:
    This is one of the few strong points of the game, it isn't ugly, and in fact it is atmospheric. The textures are decent and the particle effects bring this world to life. There is a good contrast between the light and dark areas of the game but the washed out grey shadows makes you feel like the enemies should see you because you are not immersed in total darkness.

    AI:
    The AI is highly unaware of the world around it unless you put out light sources or throw a bottle to draw its attention. It can still detect you if you are not careful but it is easy to outsmart the AI.

    Combat:
    I do realize that this is a stealth game but it is poorly done when you are forced to do it. You can only attack with your blackjack, you cannot parry, but you can dodge. This close combat is highly repetitive especially in later levels where it takes 10-15 hits to kill an enemy. Finally, Garrett only has one audio file that plays whenever you attack which is, "EH", which is very annoying when repeated. It is quite clear that combat was not a focus of the game but it is neither enjoyable nor satisfying when you are forced to fight.

    Story (no spoiler mode):
    There isn't very special here, it is boring and does not help the player engage with the context of this world.

    In conclusion, Thief 4 on its own isn’t terrible but it isn’t a good game either. It falls flat of the triple A standard and can hardly match other giants in the stealth genre.
    Expand
  6. Mar 24, 2015
    4
    Totally generic and uninspired. It tries to copy so many other games that it completely fails to make its own identity. The setting interestedTotally generic and uninspired. It tries to copy so many other games that it completely fails to make its own identity. The setting interested me and, initially during the prologue, the looting interested me. That's it. Everything else was a disappointment. There's absolutely no reason to play this travesty when you can get Dishonored instead. Expand
  7. Jan 18, 2015
    0
    Yet another classic franchise ruined by AAA publisher "sensibilities."

    I grew up with the Thief games. And to see it turned into this
    Yet another classic franchise ruined by AAA publisher "sensibilities."

    I grew up with the Thief games. And to see it turned into this hackneyed abomination is just heartbreaking. They lobotomized the city by removing the interesting factions. The removed the majority of the color. They removed ALL of the humor. They...

    Ugh, you know what? Just google some reviews of this turd on stealth gaming websites. They'll explain it better, without a 5000 character limit.
    Expand

See all 342 User Reviews