Thief Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1600 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Garrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safeGarrett, the Master Thief, steps out of the shadows into the City. In this treacherous place, where the Baron’s Watch spreads a rising tide of fear and oppression, his skills are the only things he can trust. Even the most cautious citizens and their best- guarded possessions are not safe from his reach. As an uprising emerges, Garrett finds himself entangled in growing layers of conflict. Lead by Orion, the voice of the people, the tyrannized citizens will do everything they can to claim back the City from the Baron’s grasp. The revolution is inevitable. If Garrett doesn’t get involved, the streets will run red with blood and the City will tear itself apart. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Thief - Gamescom 2013 Uprising Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 2 out of 37
  1. Feb 24, 2014
    86
    An excellent stealth game, true to the spirit of the original and at the same time much more modern. Very polished gameplay and a clever difficulty level make Thief a game no stealth fan should miss. The plot and the setting aren't always inspired, but the quality of the content greatly makes up for it.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    81
    Not the best brand relaunch ever, but forgetting the great predecessors, it's a decent game of its own. [March 2014]
  3. Mar 2, 2014
    80
    While it suffers in aspects of level design and uninspired use of Garrett's inventory, Thief delivers a unique stealth experience that lives up to the original game, but not quite.
  4. Feb 24, 2014
    75
    Maybe the new Thief fails to achieve sufficient amount of depth and alternative paths to satisfy every player, but its stealth gameplay makes this game fun.
  5. Feb 24, 2014
    70
    Thief is far from the disaster that many feared it would be, and fans who take the time to customise their settings ahead of their first playthrough will find a rewarding world here to pick clean. Nevertheless, it’s still difficult to shake the feeling that, for all his dexterity, Garrett has stumbled in his attempt to gain access to a new generation.
  6. Feb 24, 2014
    65
    As a Thief, it is a huge disappointment. The extraordinary map design of the series is gone, the story is forgettable and the reboot of Garrett and The City really misjudged. While entertaining as a stealth game, its sins are bigger than its virtues.
  7. Mar 3, 2014
    30
    The three major strengths of past Thief titles - wide open mission design, sound propagation and narrative - are this game’s biggest weaknesses. That is a fundamental problem it cannot hope to overcome.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    Is the first Thief I played, I played for almost 2 hours and loved the atmosphere, the gameplay, everything is perfect . You can choose theIs the first Thief I played, I played for almost 2 hours and loved the atmosphere, the gameplay, everything is perfect . You can choose the difficulty , I chose normal and it's still a little hard to steal things without being noticed, you have to think before what you're doing and keep an eye on the movement of soldiers. The graphics are not spectacular, but they are beautiful. I ran the game with everything max, filters, etc, at 1920x1080 and rolled flat, the FPS ranged between 50 and 60. It took me almost 2 hours to get past the first mission , exploring every corner to steal as much as possible and trying not to be detected, which made me take more. About the negative reviews, including the "big sites", I was not disappointed to read before playing, and now I played I'm not unrepentant, as I said, I loved the game and I recommend for you that enjoy a good first-person stealth game. Ignore the reviews, play and give your own conclusion. That's it. Expand
  2. Mar 19, 2014
    10
    I have played, been immersed with and enjoyed the Thief Franchise since the very first game in 1998, and I don't believe that this is a badI have played, been immersed with and enjoyed the Thief Franchise since the very first game in 1998, and I don't believe that this is a bad game at all. There are complaints about the linear nature of this particular game, but I don't believe it is much more so than the previous games. About the only thing I am a little disappointed with is the departure from the original concepts which made the story so rich, such as the Hammers, Pagan and if this is a reboot, the Keepers, but on the other hand, the storyline was in my mind another good storyline in the mosaic which is the Thief series. What could make this game brilliant is a series of well done DLC missions, or the ability for players to craft their own missions.

    I also see why they changed the voice for Garrett and hearing Garrett panting when jumping from posts and climbing walls adds an authentic appeal to it, though I still in my heart of hearts, miss the cool voice of Stephen Russell.

    I really hope they continue with this franchise...
    Expand
  3. Mar 31, 2014
    9
    Love the re invention of the classic Thief. The prologue is an ok way to learn to play the game, but it really gets going once the gameLove the re invention of the classic Thief. The prologue is an ok way to learn to play the game, but it really gets going once the game proper starts.
    So good to play a real sneak em up again, if the guards find you? they will kill you, it give real tension and makes the game. Far to many "sneaky" games are really just beat em ups in disguise. This isn't, trying to make it through an entire level without any detections, amassing a small fortune in the process, solving the games main quests etc etc. Its just very well done. Love it.
    Expand
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    7
    Ok this is an honest opinion on the game. I have not played previous thief games so I will not compare this to previous ones. Thief has a veryOk this is an honest opinion on the game. I have not played previous thief games so I will not compare this to previous ones. Thief has a very confronting storyline and throws you straight into the deep end without a decent back story or intro and at first I found it very hard to follow. Overall without any spoilers the storyline was OK. not great but still ok. The voice acting was pretty good, the cut scenes seemed to change volume to the actual game and were actually pretty crappy and not done well. The graphics are awesome, I played with everything maxxed out at 2560x1440 resolution - yes it's a beautiful game don't let others say otherwise. I found that stealing objects and items in the game was pretty much useless near end game I had well over 4 Thousand dollars to spend and I had NO IDEA were a shop was to spend it or upgrade my abilities. I dont think I upgraded 1 single ability apart from the tutorial one that is given to you which was quite a dissapointment. Overall I give the game 7/10 because the graphics, voice acting and general gameplay was interesting and fun overall. if the graphics had of been similar to dishonored then I honestly wouldn't have bothered with the game. don't get me wrong it's Still worth playing for sure - just be sure to get it when it''s on sale. Expand
  5. Feb 25, 2014
    5
    The smaller scale of the levels is not my main problem with the game, Deadly Shadows also had smaller levels compared to the previous games,The smaller scale of the levels is not my main problem with the game, Deadly Shadows also had smaller levels compared to the previous games, but they oozed personality and atmosphere, from the pitch black forge with the immortal golems to the zombie ship at the harbor to Shalebridge Cradle. This, however, does not. There are not many locations in Thief that are memorable, it all feels pretty generic. They also seem to have largely ignored the heavy Steampunk art design of the previous games, which makes things worse. The story is also uninteresting. As for the graphics, they are a mixed bag. The lighting and fog are great, while texture quality is rather poor. The game also looks like it lacks the high contrast black of the previous games, it looks washed out and grey as if the developers were afraid of the shadows, ironically enough. "Batman vision" also looks out of place in a Thief game. Good things? The PC version runs well and the difficulty is highly customizable, if you turn everything apart from the vision indicator off you can have an experience close to the older Thief games, although unfortunately a more boring one. Overall, I don't think this is worth full price, but perhaps it's worth playing through when it goes 50% off. At around 8 hours to completion, it is also about half as long as one would expect from such a game. Even Last of Us took about 15 hours to finish, this game is definitely way too short. What a shame. Expand
  6. Dec 31, 2014
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Its not thief.
    Its qte console trash.

    Good gfx
    Horrible sound (bugs, no environment sounds and, etc)
    Horrible music (into what music?)
    A.I. - Artificial idiot

    What is it?
    Expand
  7. Mar 15, 2020
    0
    This game has been produced with 0 respect towards the the source material.
    Thief series has some simple elements that made him a classic:
    A
    This game has been produced with 0 respect towards the the source material.
    Thief series has some simple elements that made him a classic:
    A strong in game world
    A protagonist with a strong personality
    A challenging open map level system that makes exploration and stealth important.

    The remake developers became angry when asked if they were gonna maintain the game world, claiming they removed many classical elements because they did not want to be compare with the old game.
    They also ruined the protagonist portraying him as a imbecile ... like, Gareth whole persona was greed and cynicism, the new Gareth is... not that. Not to mention they refused the get the original voice actor and lied on why.
    Not content with having ruined the soul of the game they decided to replace the huge open world level maps with a stupid claustrophobic hub system and the levels are horribly linear.

    This game is too generic to attract new players and its too dumb down to attract the Thief series fans.
    Expand

See all 352 User Reviews