Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 59 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 59
  2. Negative: 0 out of 59
Buy On
  1. Apr 16, 2017
    100
    Thimbleweed Park is the finest example of a graphical adventure: an outstanding game full charm and personality. Every aspect is great work and this game is a true masterpiece.
  2. Apr 10, 2017
    100
    This spiritual sequel to the original point-and-clicker Maniac Mansion sets the mood, brings out the joke book (both literally and figuratively) and takes us on a journey through adventure game history, while still managing to make it feel fresh and hysterically fun.
  3. Apr 3, 2017
    100
    Another masterpiece from Ron Gilbert. The game is a joy to play and provides the perfect mix of humour, challenge and engaging storyline. I genuinely have nothing but praise for the game and I can’t recommend it enough.
  4. Mar 30, 2017
    100
    Thimbleweed Park is one of those extremely rare occasions when all the expectations are not only met but surpassed. I quote myself from my preview: Thimbleweed Park is not an homage, tribute or even a retro game. It's the real deal. It's everything I love about graphic adventures. As much as I was entertained by the time I spent in Thimbleweed County, at the end there was a bit of sadness in the air as I had to bid farewell to the wonderful cast of characters.
  5. Mar 30, 2017
    100
    An incredible game that takes all the best parts of how classic adventures used to be made and then adds so much more to ensure it stands up to today’s standards. Thimbleweed Park is a gem that will be remembered for at least another 30 years.
  6. Mar 30, 2017
    96
    A stylistic and narrative triumph, Thimbleweed Park not only succeeds in being the natural successor to Maniac Mansion and Day of the Tentacle but will go down in adventure game history as one of the finest examples of the genre ever made.
  7. Apr 19, 2017
    95
    Thimbleweed Park is an excellent experience made by masters of their craft. Every speck of it drips with quality and care.
  8. Apr 3, 2017
    95
    Thimbleweed Park is one of those games that speaks to those people who enjoy the genre, and it’s certainly good enough that it will hopefully attract newcomers as well. It’s fan service and an all new exciting game at the same time. Hopefully this is the first of more from Terrible Toybox; regardless, this is a gem and a must-have for anyone that likes games that are story, character, and puzzle-driven adventures.
  9. Mar 31, 2017
    95
    Thimbleweed Park is an excellent adventure game. Ron Gilbert has conceive again a great "point and click" adventure.
  10. Mar 30, 2017
    91
    We need to go back to 1986 to find a game so deep, so challenging and beautiful: come to think of it, it’s a paradox. Everything works perfectly in Thimbleweed Park, like a pendulum clock in the hall of a mysterious mansion. One of the finest adventures you’ll play this year, and probably one of the best ever made.
  11. May 4, 2017
    90
    It feels like the long lost semi-sequel to Maniac Manson, like another Lucas Arts gem that someone somehow forgot in a floppy disk and suddenly was discovered and released today. One of the greatest examples of writing/ puzzling/ breaking the fourth wall in adventure history, Thimbleweed Park is an instant classic whose only fault is overextending itself by it’s a-tad-too-open world gameplay and 1-2 playable characters more than needed.
  12. Apr 27, 2017
    90
    An excellent point and click adventure proves that both Ron Gilbert and the adventure genre still have plenty to offer.
  13. CD-Action
    Apr 26, 2017
    90
    The old guard sent us a beautiful postcard from the year 1987 and I don’t hesitate to announce that Thimbleweed Park features Gilbert’s best script in at least two decades. [05/2017, p.66]
  14. Apr 10, 2017
    90
    If it’s anything at all, Thimbleweed Park is a brave game. It’s a standalone adventure with no sequel tie-ins. It’s a self-contained story with interesting characters and an intriguing mystery to solve. It’s unafraid to embrace its heritage and it’s not afraid of modernising to improve on the old formula.
  15. Apr 3, 2017
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  16. Mar 30, 2017
    90
    Thimbleweed Park is excellent, both as tongue-in-cheek homage and in its own right. It’s a LucasArts adventure game the way you remember them being, with the same witty humor and, yes, the same sometimes-asinine puzzles. The good and the bad.
  17. Mar 30, 2017
    90
    Thimbleweed Park has a few small flaws but nothing that stopped me immensely enjoying myself. This is very much a classic comedy adventure in the LucasArts style, and that’s exactly what I wanted.
  18. Mar 30, 2017
    90
    Thimbleweed Park brings us all to the point-and-click era, jumping more than twenty years back in time to discover the truth behind a murder case.
  19. Mar 30, 2017
    90
    Miss the LucasArts adventures of the '90s? Thimbleweed Park is the best way to beat the nostalgia and to play an adventure game that is already a must-play.
  20. Mar 30, 2017
    90
    An adventure game with a style that is clearly recognizable, traditional and innovative at the same time. It's also nostalgic and ironic, tender and sarcastic. A gameplay crafted by masters, in which even the casual mode shines, proudly closed in its 1987 mood, and yet so modern and with many more things to say than many other point and click games. It is not the nostalgia that talks: it is the voice of a hand-crafted videogame.
  21. Mar 30, 2017
    90
    I had a blast exploring Thimbleweed Park, and if you've ever enjoyed telling Bernard Bernoulli or Guybrush Threepwood what to do, you will too.
  22. Mar 30, 2017
    90
    With Thimbleweed Park, Ron Gilbert proves that he has definitely not lost the magic wand he used decades ago to conceive point and click adventures. This game is ridiculously fun and well-built, will make you think and laugh really hard from the beginning to the end. It really fells like an undiscovered LucasArts game we've never played before.
  23. 90
    Thimbleweed Park is a shining example of the ideal in the point-and-click genre, featuring the puzzles, storylines, dialog, and other goodies that bring players back, time and time again. It is a must-play, purchase-immediately release. The stellar comedy, gripping mystery, and polished design set a new standard in the genre, and prove that even classic themes, like those of it's spiritual fore-figure, Maniac Mansion, can be revisited, revised, and perfected for a new generation of gamers.
  24. Mar 30, 2017
    90
    Thimbleweed Park is a true love letter to the adventure game genre, developed by two geniuses who built up the genre back in the golden age of the point and click games. Ron Gilbert and Gary Winnick give us one of the best adventure games of the last 20 years. Its clever puzzle design and gorgeous pixel art visuals, combined with over the average length delivers a really enjoyable game that brings back the best vibe of the classic Lucas games A truly modern classic and a masterpiece of the genre.
  25. Apr 7, 2017
    88
    As someone who’s been craving for another adventure game for nearly 20 years, Thimbleweed Park is, indeed, the perfect comfort food.
  26. Apr 3, 2017
    88
    It’s funny, it’s challenging, and it brings back lots of good memories from a bygone era. Better yet, if you weren’t alive 30 years ago, and if you don’t know anything about LucasArts or their adventuring heyday, then Thimbleweed Park works as an introduction to that era without even requiring you to go through DOS. Thimbleweed Park is the best adventure I’ve played in years, and it’s easily worth its $20 price.
  27. May 29, 2017
    87
    Thimbleweed Park isn't perfect, but it hits all the right nostalgic chords. Though, at times, the humor can be crude and a little too fourth wall breaking for my taste, the game achieves everything it set out to do and more. Filled with plenty of jokes and more references than I can wrap my head around, Thimbleweed Park is an enjoyable trip to the past that I've been looking for. It's not a short romp either, as you're probably looking at 10 or more hours of play. I hope Mr. Gilbert and company don't stop here, and continue to bring us more adventures in the future.
  28. Mar 31, 2017
    87
    This is like your first love rekindled – if you are fan of classic adventures. Filled to the rim with references to old masterpieces from LucasArts while sporting old-school qualities like beautifully written dialogue, quirky characters and bucket-loads of humour this is on par with the likes of Maniac Mansion, Zak McCracken etc.
  29. Mar 30, 2017
    87
    It's one of the best graphic adventures we've played lately, which brings back the essence of LucasArts. If you ever liked this genre, don't miss Thimbleweed Park.
  30. Apr 7, 2017
    85
    Thimbleweed Park is built on a foundation of nostalgia and reinforced with pop culture references, but it's the clever puzzles, funny characters, and stellar design that hold it all together. It reminds us what's great about classic point-and-click adventures while showing that there's still a place for the genre in modern gaming. Lucasfilm Games and its beloved IP may be lost to us, but the creative forces behind those classics still know what it takes to make a compelling, funny, clever adventure.
  31. Apr 3, 2017
    85
    Thimbleweed Park is a game this generation needs, not for quenching nostalgic needs, but to show us just how great point and click adventure games can be in the right hands. Even though some of the puzzles can have you ripping your hair out, the satisfaction of solving is second to none. Terrible Toybox has put together a delightful game, and it would be a real shame if you were to miss out on the mysteries of Thimbleweed Park.
  32. Mar 30, 2017
    85
    Thimbleweed Park revels in its humor, and succeeds in its efforts toward better puzzle design. The narrative takes some twists and turns that didn’t always hit home with me, but I enjoyed the whimsical journey nonetheless. With its stellar characters and smart puzzles, Thimbleweed Park is a joy to play from beginning to end.
  33. Mar 30, 2017
    85
    You certainly get your $20’s worth out of Thimbleweed Park. The voice cast doesn’t elevate the script in the way they always did in the LucasArts “talky” days, but an enjoyable, self-referential story and hundreds of puzzles to solve make it worthy of a place on your shelf next to Maniac Mansion and Monkey Island.
  34. Games Master UK
    Jun 6, 2017
    84
    A shot in the arm for the genre. Smart, funny, and only slightly tainted by a stop-start plot. [May 2017, p.79]
  35. Mar 30, 2017
    84
    A quality adventure game with challenging puzzles, oddball characters, and an intriguing, mystery-laden plot.
  36. Mar 30, 2017
    82
    Funny time travel to the beginnings of the genre. Veterans will like the allusions to the classics and the 80s setting.
  37. Mar 30, 2017
    82
    Nostalgic attack incoming! Thimbleweed Park is a complete and funny tribute to graphic adventures. It will touch the hearts of the most veteran gamers.
  38. Apr 28, 2017
    80
    A buddy-cop duo, a gypsy-cursed clown, and a hopeful video game developer walk into a reboot of Maniac Mansion. Jokes ensue. Thimbleweed Park's sense of humor works best if you can easily laugh at easy laughs. It's a great throwback, but I don't expect today's adventure games to borrow much from this lovingly refurbished template. You don't have to be a Gen X'er to appreciate it, but it wouldn't hurt.
  39. Apr 17, 2017
    80
    Thumbleweek Park is a stellar mix of mystery and humour, letting players delve into a case that requires plenty of thought… and, sadly, a lot of backtracking. A fast-travel map mitigates the latter issue quite a bit, but one elevator will make you rip your hair out, forcing you to take characters up and down one person at a time.
  40. Apr 6, 2017
    80
    This classic point-and-click adventure about point-and-click adventures is a great choice for people that love point-and-click adventures. If you are a part of that niche, congrats, you will love this game.
  41. Apr 5, 2017
    80
    Thimbleweed Park is a game that will resonate strongly with those who enjoy adventure games, and especially fans of some of the older games in the genre. It is a labour of love and that’s something that shines through the game. There are points though where some puzzles can feel a bit too obtuse in relation to their end goals, leading to a bit of frustration, though that can be countered with the casual mode. Thimbleweed is a strong entry to the adventure genre from the minds of those who helped cement it, though it can be tough at times.
  42. Apr 4, 2017
    80
    I really liked Thimbleweed Park. I loved its little references, I loved its knowing winks, and I loved the way it successfully feels like a game that’s timewarped out of the early 90s. Do you wistfully think back to those years and those games? Then you should definitely play this. It might not rank up there with the absolute best, but it captures the essence of the adventures of yesteryear and provides a sharp, witty, and genuinely puzzling experience.
  43. Apr 4, 2017
    80
    Ron Gilbert and his crew are back from the past with a new adventure. Thimbleweed Park is a pure back-in-the-days game, when the genre was one of the most popular, with same mechanics and same pros and cons. Perfect for veterans but maybe not for everybody.
  44. Mar 30, 2017
    80
    Despite a few rough edges this is easily the best new graphic adventure since the ‘90s, and a game that can stand toe-to-toe with the rest of the LucasArts pantheon. More importantly, it’s a game who’s focus on dialogue and character has an awful lot to teach modern games when it comes to telling a ripping yarn.
  45. Mar 30, 2017
    80
    Thimbleweed Park has sharp, often hilarious writing and convoluted puzzles to spare. All in all, it's a welcome return to the point-and-click adventure, even if it ends up feeling a bit like a b-side to the classics before it.
  46. Mar 30, 2017
    80
    A point and click adventure for the now, Thimbleweed Park takes everything great about classic Lucasfilm games and leaves out the flaws. You might not love all the central characters, but this is as weird and compelling a town as Twin Peaks.
  47. 80
    Ultimately, this is a game anyone that loved adventure games will enjoy, and find entertainment in. There are quite a few nods to the Lucasarts/Lucasfilm stable, cameos and a continuation of jokes that have been there since the first Edison encounter. In terms of where it would sit alongside the earlier adventure games, it’s definitely a B-side, but being a B-side to the likes of Monkey Island, Zak McKracken and Day of the Tentacle is still a pretty mean feat.
  48. Mar 30, 2017
    80
    Thimbleweed Park shows that adventure games very much have a place in 2017 as they did in the ’80s and ’90s thanks to its loving callbacks to the genre, but also its willingness to improve upon them in many ways. As the game’s trailers have used the slogan that “a dead body is the least of your problems” in the game’s dilapidated town, Thimbleweed Park hides many more secrets and ways of enjoying it beyond its murder-mystery plot, for those willing to look just a little bit deeper.
  49. Mar 30, 2017
    80
    The experience of Thimbleweed Park is so drenched in nostalgia that it made me question whether I was enjoying the game for what it actually was, or if I was just enjoying the comfort of having an old itch scratched. In the end, though, I don't think it really matters. While Thimbleweed Park might be alienating to a newcomer to adventure games, that's by design. It's a game that exists somewhere between 1987 and 2017, and for someone with a love of the genre, it feels like coming home.
  50. Mar 30, 2017
    80
    In many ways, Thimbleweed Park is exactly as advertised: A retro adventure game, playing heavily on nostalgia, but made with modern game design principles and technology.
  51. Mar 30, 2017
    77
    A rather peculiar, yet very enjoyable tribute to traditional adventure games that suffers notably from uneven storytelling and some bland characters. Luckily the beautiful retro visuals, satisfying puzzles and (almost too) many references to the genre easily make up for that. Thimbleweed Park may not be remembered as a modern classic, but it's a good adventure with tons of style and one of the most bizarre endings we've seen in a long, long time.
  52. Apr 10, 2017
    75
    Thimbleweed Park is a game that was created with a specific audience in mind, and that audience is adults who grew up on classic LucasArts adventure games. If you’re part of that audience, you owe it to yourself to check it out. If you aren’t, there really isn’t much for you here.
  53. games(TM)
    Jun 17, 2017
    70
    A pleasant puzzling trip down memory lane. [Issue#187, p.74]
  54. Mar 30, 2017
    70
    Thimbleweed Park is a time capsule that reminds us what we love about the point-and-click genre while still retaining many of its unremedied issues. Its amusing open world is packed with infectious personalities and clever puzzles that magnify the joy of its experiences. And its efforts to shift beyond the template of its predecessors and contemporaries make it surprisingly affecting, especially if you're a longtime devotee of point-and-click adventures. While this reverence for the past and its eventual conclusion could very well fly over the heads of the uninitiated, Thimbleweed Park recaptures the charm of the games from which it draws inspiration, presenting a worthwhile experience for those who've been playing them since the beginning.
  55. Apr 17, 2017
    69
    Thimbleweed Park feels like a party that Gilbert threw for his core audience, a true sign of appreciation for those who loved his previous work, and backed this game almost sight unseen. But for others, who aren't fans of Gilbert or the classic adventure genre, it's tough to recommend.
  56. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Apr 25, 2017
    65
    It’s nice to know that Dave and Sandy from Maniac Mansion are doing fine, but they have no relation to this story. Same can be said for many others: storyline is chockfull of side stuff that ends up going nowhere. It’s also missing an ending – instead of resolving everything, Thimbleweed Parks plays a postmodernism card that leaves an extremely bad aftertaste [Issue#219, p.78]
  57. Jul 11, 2017
    60
    Thimbleweed Park ultimately seems to care about neither its story nor its characters. What’s the core here, then? I suspect it’s just about the easy, wistful smile, and the prick of familiar memory. Do you remember? asks Thimbleweed Park as it displays its lustrous imitation of a bygone era, and on seeing a nod it lies: Yes, it was just like this.
  58. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 15, 2017
    60
    A bizarre trip between Twin Peaks, X-Files and the collective sub-consciousness of the whole adventure genre. The initial storyline can discourage someone, but persistent players will be rewarded by a truly unique experience. [Issue#274]
  59. Apr 11, 2017
    60
    Thimbleweed Park doesn't need to explain the appeal of adventure games. When it gets out of its own way, it does a fine job of introducing a vibrant community that's genuinely fun to explore.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Apr 7, 2017
    Thimbleweed Park is an unabashed adventure game throwback with all the good and bad that brings. When it parlays that love of a bygone era into interesting challenges, it borders on great. When it simply emulates the past, it's a real slog.
  2. Mar 31, 2017
    Thimbleweed Park is what would happen if you moved Nightvale into Monkey Island, and gave everyone too much rum. [Recommended]
  3. Mar 30, 2017
    This is simultaneously a joke about pixel hunting, a joke about adventure games, and a joke about the dumb things that players will do in video games. Did you ever think you’d want to hunt for pixels again? And did you ever think that the act of hunting pixels might be fun? Thimbleweed Park somehow both subverts pixel-hunting and makes you want to hunt pixels, which is just about all you can ask for in an adventure game.
  4. Mar 31, 2017
    They didn’t disappoint me. Is this the best adventure, full stop? Apart from a few red herring moments, I was delighted by how design exceeded every other one of my expectations.
  5. It’s a smart game though and a thoughtful one, even if it sometimes hides those qualities behind its clown makeup and a beaglepuss.
  6. Mar 30, 2017
    Thimbleweed Park's puzzles are just fine as they are...By which I mean they are enjoyably frustrating, comfortably confusing—echoes of the point-and-click past. Mercifully, they're articulated in such a fashion that, again, once you begin to acknowledge the mechanics made available to you, key amongst them character swapping on the fly, they begin to sing. And they really are like songs, after a fashion, constituents of an arrangement fractured by design, until such a time that a third party, the player, can piece them back together and drink in the singular melodies.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 183 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 183
  1. Fuz
    Oct 11, 2018
    10
    Thimbleweed Park is basically a sort of sequel to Maniac Mansion.
    Puzzles are all well thought and logical; not too easy and not super
    Thimbleweed Park is basically a sort of sequel to Maniac Mansion.
    Puzzles are all well thought and logical; not too easy and not super frustrating. And you always have something to do or something to check, so getting stumped is rare.
    The story and its delivery are fantastic. The characters are tons of fun. The mistery/humor mix is spot on (well, I like Ron's kind of humor). The whole writing is superb - except for the *really* excessive metatext, self-referentiality and the breaking of the fourth wall. It's way too much. This is its worst flaw. And if something like this is the worst flaw... well...
    This game is EXACTLY what I wanted to play in an adventure game.
    Hope Ron (and the rest of his team) keeps making games like this.

    Absolutely fantastic.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 9, 2017
    10
    This is what we are looking for..... for such a long time.
    A pixel-art adventure game.
    A game with humor dialogue and puzzle. A game with
    This is what we are looking for..... for such a long time.
    A pixel-art adventure game.
    A game with humor dialogue and puzzle.
    A game with immersive music.
    It is not for everyone, but a must play for a lover of point-n-click genre.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 3, 2017
    9
    Disney, please note this noise. SELL THE LICENSE. WE'LL PAY. We are not just a bunch of pirates, ya'know!!

    The game is absolutely
    Disney, please note this noise. SELL THE LICENSE. WE'LL PAY. We are not just a bunch of pirates, ya'know!!

    The game is absolutely fantastic, even if It has minor flaws; that won't make me lower my rating. This is pure "Lucas". Genius design, puzzles, dialogues, locations, ambiance, graphics. Everything is a big 10 for me.
    Full Review »