This War of Mine Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 62 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 814 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In This War of Mine, the focus is shifted away from military operations portrayed in most games. Instead, it is a dark survival game where players control a gaggle of civilians attempting to stay alive in a besieged city. During the day snipers outside stop you from leaving your refuge,In This War of Mine, the focus is shifted away from military operations portrayed in most games. Instead, it is a dark survival game where players control a gaggle of civilians attempting to stay alive in a besieged city. During the day snipers outside stop you from leaving your refuge, offering players time to craft, trade, upgrade their shelter, feed and cure their people. At night they must scavenge nearby areas in search for food, medicines, weapons and other useful items. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
This War of Mine - Teaser Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 62
  2. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Jan 6, 2015
    100
    One of the best all-around games I’ve played all year. A crisp, consistent atmosphere, intuitive gameplay, and surprising depth create a fantastic experience.
  2. Nov 21, 2014
    90
    This War of Mine is probably one of the first modern titles capable of mixing mechanics with a strong message without breaking the ludo-narrative dissonance. A rogue-like masterpiece and one of the best indie games of the year.
  3. Games Master UK
    Dec 30, 2014
    90
    It's continually bleak and upsetting, sure, but always compelling and always powerful. [Jan 2015, p.83]
  4. Nov 19, 2014
    80
    Regardless of its shortcomings, This War of Mine is a hugely powerful game.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 23, 2014
    80
    Grim and edifying in equal measure. [Jan 2015, p.54]
  6. Nov 25, 2014
    80
    The reality of war, hammered home through stark visuals and tight resource management, in a game where just surviving another day is winning.
  7. CD-Action
    Feb 7, 2015
    65
    The game is dripping with pathos, but I couldn’t invest myself emotionally in it, because it all just feels fake. [01/2015, p.42]

See all 62 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 139
  1. Aug 10, 2016
    10
    This may seem like a very boring game, but once you begin playing it you won't want to stop. I have played through the entire game threeThis may seem like a very boring game, but once you begin playing it you won't want to stop. I have played through the entire game three times, and it just gets better and better. Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2014
    10
    So bleak and depressing that I have to stop every few hours. So gripping that I'm back within 20 minutes.

    Definitely not a feel good game
    So bleak and depressing that I have to stop every few hours. So gripping that I'm back within 20 minutes.

    Definitely not a feel good game (nor an easy one) but one you'd be a fool to miss.
    Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2014
    10
    Being a journo I got my final copy two days ago. Been busy with it ever since! At first I took this game as a gimmick, knowing about a conceptBeing a journo I got my final copy two days ago. Been busy with it ever since! At first I took this game as a gimmick, knowing about a concept since maybe April I perceived it as a very nice twist with a huge question mark for gameplay, replayability and actual story. While I still think that the devs a bit exaggerate their 'grieve' approach to war, casualties and such, I must say they have delivered an addictive game with strong mechanics. You've got crafting here, you've got exploring, time management, character developing so to speak, you've got resource management and a bit of randomness that adds a nice spice to the mix. So after a while you tend to forget all this bleak and suffering, and just enjoy your achievements, make bonds with characters, just immerse in the world and enjoy it. Especially I liked how the story is told: not to fast, you really focus on details, sharpen your attention, and enjoy small carefully polished details of the concept. Well done 11 Bit! Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2015
    9
    A very good game, that you will enjoy playing, and make you think in the process.

    The game is not perfect, and becomes very easy once you
    A very good game, that you will enjoy playing, and make you think in the process.

    The game is not perfect, and becomes very easy once you understand its mechanics.
    But playing it the first time was magical to me. I was stressed, cautious, sad. Some dilemmas really shattered me. It is a grand game.

    On the plus side, 11 bit studios is really engaged in making good by supporting an NGO, Child War. Very refreshing.

    I really hope 11 bit studios build on this success, and make a 2nd game, even darker, even more difficult, and very unpredictable.
    Expand
  5. Feb 10, 2015
    8
    Wow. What a bitter, relentless and overwhelmingly depressing game. Full of heart and character, but totally against what I've always beenWow. What a bitter, relentless and overwhelmingly depressing game. Full of heart and character, but totally against what I've always been fed as gaming experiences to date. I loved it.
    There's something about it, when my last player commits suicide, depressed and alone, I still find myself starting again immediately. A sign of a great game.
    The game is in essence a war-time-'The-sims' with a great atmospheric design and very well scripted characters. My first 5 - 10 play through s I didn't last long, choosing to instinctively steal & fight, paying the heavy consequences as my people started to resent what they'd become and especially those players that had murdered others. It's war I figured, and it's a survival game - think of number 1. In later play-through's I learnt the game plays on a fine line of balance and control. Don't take what you don't need, and when your back is up against the wall, only then harm the status quo.
    Also, later run through's I pushed my crafting much further, and it's greatly rewarding. But even with all the weapons and armour you can dream of, fighting soldiers still remains a decent challenge and tactical headspinner.
    The game has a few flaws, such as waiting for people to sleep off their tiredness can sometimes leave you watching 3 people in bed snoozing for 5 real-time minutes, but this seems a small price to pay for those fantastic nights of scavenging and stealing from under the enemies noses.
    If you see this game on sale - dont hesitate to buy it. I'd like to see an IOs and android release in the future as mentioned pre-release... as it's a game I could pick up for a train journey here n there
    Expand
  6. Feb 11, 2015
    8
    Nice to see a game in a war setting where you play as a regular person trying to survive. This War of Mine is a fun little game where you needNice to see a game in a war setting where you play as a regular person trying to survive. This War of Mine is a fun little game where you need to gather supplies, help people out, try not to get killed, and just generally survive through the war. Things get hard when people get depressed, sick, or bandits come in during the night and take your stuff. Expand
  7. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Вообщем игру делали поехавшие леваки, которые на войне никогда не были. Ниочем.

See all 139 User Reviews