Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 487 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: From the creators of The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt comes a brand new tale set in the brutal and twisted universe of witcher Geralt of Rivia. The world stands on the verge of chaos, as the tensions between the power-hungry Nilfgaardian Empire and proud Northern Realms grow. Facing an imminentFrom the creators of The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt comes a brand new tale set in the brutal and twisted universe of witcher Geralt of Rivia. The world stands on the verge of chaos, as the tensions between the power-hungry Nilfgaardian Empire and proud Northern Realms grow. Facing an imminent invasion, Meve — war-veteran Queen of Lyria and Rivia — is forced to once again enter the warpath, and set out on a dark journey of destruction and revenge. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales - Official Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Oct 18, 2018
    100
    An amazing marriage of world-class storytelling and strategic card gaming, Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales is a fantastic RPG in its own right.
  2. Oct 29, 2018
    90
    The Witcher Tales is a strange potion that is surprisingly good. From a logical point of view, a game that mixes so many genres together can’t be this amazing, but then comes CDPR, a company that is just unable to develop bad titles.
  3. Nov 29, 2018
    90
    Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales could have been a lackluster, uninspired spinoff in an attempt to capitalize off the Witcher’s success, but it is so much more than that. Sure, I have some minor gripes, such as the lack of a mini-map and guide markers, or the anticlimactic final battle, but they all seem trivial when looking at what Thronebreaker accomplishes as a whole. The intricately layered story and carefully crafted characters and writing are some of the best I’ve seen this year, and the card play is more rewarding than it’s ever been before. Whether or not you are a fan of the Witcher series, or even card games in general, Thronebreaker deserves your attention.
  4. Nov 16, 2018
    85
    The standalone Gwent release is free on GOG, and I encourage those who enjoy it to shell out the money for Thronebreaker, a strong expansion of both the base game and the Witcher universe. Geralt’s portion of this story may have concluded, but the folks at CD Projekt RED seem committed to sharing more tales from this world, and I couldn’t be more excited.
  5. Oct 18, 2018
    83
    Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales is a tough and pure RPG without compromise, with a great card-based combat system.
  6. Nov 1, 2018
    80
    It's a spin-off of a spin-off that improbably couples the lighthearted but surprisingly complex mechanics of the free-to-play multiplayer Gwent: The Witcher Card Game with the dark, moral storytelling of Wild Hunt.
  7. Oct 18, 2018
    70
    Thronebreaker struggles as a card game but excels as a Witcher game due to its rich narrative and excellent, if simple, worldbuilding.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 103
  2. Negative: 7 out of 103
  1. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales is a perfect game. If you are done with it, then try Gwent: The Witcher Card Game.
  2. Oct 24, 2018
    10
    Game is masterpiece. At the beginning I was sceptical about the game. but after 10 hrs in the game I am very happy I gave it a try. GameGame is masterpiece. At the beginning I was sceptical about the game. but after 10 hrs in the game I am very happy I gave it a try. Game remindes me MTG duels of planewalkers I played when I was young. I am enjoying the exploration, story and puzzles served by the game. 10/10 Expand
  3. May 25, 2019
    10
    Great story, if you like point a clicl games with a good story and interesting puzzles, and decisions that make a difference than this is a must play!
  4. TIZ
    Oct 23, 2018
    10
    I would rate Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales actually a 9/10, but after reading the 1 score reviews I decided to give it a 10/10 just toI would rate Thronebreaker: The Witcher Tales actually a 9/10, but after reading the 1 score reviews I decided to give it a 10/10 just to cancel out some of the, in my opinion, poor reviews. The card game is fun, especially the card puzzles and interesting mechanics they offer. The resource collection and camp building mechanic is also an aspect that keeps the game more interesting then it ought to be. Finding new characters is a super fun part of the story including of course "Witchers", who do show up in this game. I bought this game mainly for the story aspect and less for the actual game-play. The storytelling and the characters are really great! The voice acting is amazing (in English at least). But having said that, I do enjoy the game-play more than I thought I would. Great game overall and if you are in it for the story, I highly recommend it. If you are in it purely for game-play I would say stick to Gwent: Online. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2018
    9
    Great gameplay, story and music. The only flaw about this game is that it is to easy (even on hardest difficulty).
  6. Dec 21, 2018
    8
    Thronebreaker, though at face value a mere card game, proves it's merit with fantastic story/narration and player choice options that willThronebreaker, though at face value a mere card game, proves it's merit with fantastic story/narration and player choice options that will leave you guessing if you've made the right choice. The game play is enjoyable though admittedly easy, with what seems to be an incredibly steep difficulty curve in regards to the last boss. The only thing holding Thronebreaker back is it's later chapters where choices feel less weighty and the horrid final boss that becomes borderline impossible without the right allies in your deck. Overall Thronebreaker proves it's worthy of The Witcher name.

    Reviewed on PS4
    Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2018
    0
    Overrated cash grab. Very retarded gameplay with pixel hunting and bad puzzles.

See all 103 User Reviews