Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jan 11, 2018
    73
    Tiny Metal’s visual style pays homage to Intelligent Systems’ dormant Advance Wars series, but its under-baked action isn’t as cute. The battles never feel like a chore and I enjoyed basking in my easy victories, but Tiny Metal needs a few more tools in its arsenal if it wants to take on the legacy of Advance Wars.
  2. Jan 15, 2018
    70
    Tiny Metal isn’t particularly innovative, but that’s not bad. It takes a solid foundation and successfully brings back an experience many players miss.
  3. Jan 10, 2018
    70
    Tiny Metal is a love letter to turn-based strategy games of the past, offering a similar experience which doesn't overstay its welcome. Sadly, the game by Area 35 doesn't even try to move away from its main influence, the Advance Wars series, resulting in a game that doesn't feel particularly daring or innovative. Still, there's plenty of fun to be had, especially in Skirmish Mode, where all of the game's subsystems and mechanics get the chance to shine.
  4. Jan 5, 2018
    70
    Tiny Metal's mechanics succeed in creating an accessible war sim like Advance Wars. However, its level design is a bit too much on the easy side and does not offer enough depth.
  5. Dec 31, 2017
    70
    It’s the kind of game where you jump in just to take two or three more turns and suddenly an hour has passed, and you can’t rest until that pesky enemy gunship or tank fleet is down for good. Hopefully that can continue next year if the multiplayer patch comes as promised.
  6. Dec 21, 2017
    70
    Tiny Metal is an admirable return to the traditional turn-based strategy genre. There’s enough of a challenge both in the campaign and skirmish mode to keep players happy for a good while, but the lack of any sort of multiplayer at launch hurts its overall score.
  7. Dec 28, 2017
    68
    Underneath a forgettable campaign and unimpressive AI, Tiny Metal houses the seed of a really deep and entertaining multiplayer wargame. But until a head-to-head mode is added, it’s not much more than a set of unchallenging training scenarios broken up by far too much overwrought dialogue. I had plenty of fun with it, but didn’t get the kind of edge-of-my-seat decision-making moments that turned the tide of a difficult battle I could find in similar games.
  8. Mar 13, 2018
    65
    Right now, Tiny Metal feels slightly undercooked. It has the strong foundations of a game that could be great, but is let down at almost every turn.
  9. Mar 9, 2018
    65
    The lack of multiplayer wouldn't hurt so much if it weren't already promised, and the fact that the game launched without that feature makes it feel like an Early Access title rather than one with a $25 price tag. If you don't mind such things, then Tiny Metal is still worth checking out if you're a fan of simpler strategy. For anyone else looking for some challenge, it might be best to hold off to see if and when multiplayer goes live.
  10. Apr 7, 2018
    60
    A fun and well made TBS title held back by lackluster plot and mission design.
  11. Feb 2, 2018
    50
    I don’t often criticize a game for not living up to the standards of another but Tiny Metal tries so hard to mirror Nintendo’s approach I must speak up when I see failings. When you come at the king you better not miss, and Tiny Metal stumbles at every step on its way there. I wanted to love Tiny Metal, I really did, but in the end, as I chipped away at the game, it just made my longing to step back onto the Advance Wars battlefield even stronger. At best Tiny Metal is a rough draft of something that could be great further down the line.
User Score
3.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 11 out of 16
  1. Jul 27, 2018
    4
    Tiny Metal is a love letter to the Advance Wars series, a turn-based tactical game centered around building units and gaining map controlTiny Metal is a love letter to the Advance Wars series, a turn-based tactical game centered around building units and gaining map control against the opponent. The game features colorful characters and a lot of balanced units, different terrains, cities creating money when you capture them…

    Tiny Metal proposes all of this, and not much more. It doesn’t seem the developer ever tried to hide the affiliation to their mentor, the units and mechanics are so close I took more pleasure finding the differences between the two than playing the actual game. It even took the “bad” things Advance Wars has. The story parts take forever, the characters are caricatural and kinda dumb. When units fight each other, the camera zooms in to show the units firing, and in Advance Wars, that’s something I disable after 1 or 2 hours of game. It’s cool to have, but I’d have preferred them to not implement this and improve the game in other ways instead.

    The camera is shifted a bit on the Y axis, which is really disturbing for a top-down tactical game. The unit designs are too similar, it’s hard to recognize a recon jeep from a tank at a glance, which is bad when you have a lot of units on the battlefield. And when moving your cursor to move a unit, which is something you do most of the time, the tiles highlighted to see where you can go are not visible enough, so sometimes I’m not sure where my unit can go, and there is a sound -- a buzz sound like when you are doing something wrong -- but it’s playing every time you move the cursor to move a unit. Obnoxious.

    The game’s not bad, but it’s so close to Advance Wars that I’d just recommend playing the latter instead of this indie title. This game hasn’t enough for itself to justify playing it.
    Full Review »