Titanfall Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1780 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Crafted by one of the co-creators of Call of Duty and other key developers behind the Call of Duty franchise, Titanfall, with its advanced combat techniques, gives you the freedom to fight your way as both elite assault Pilot and fast, heavily armored Titan. The experience combinesCrafted by one of the co-creators of Call of Duty and other key developers behind the Call of Duty franchise, Titanfall, with its advanced combat techniques, gives you the freedom to fight your way as both elite assault Pilot and fast, heavily armored Titan. The experience combines fast-paced multiplayer action with the dramatically charged moments of a cinematic universe. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Titanfall - Ogre Titan Reveal Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 7, 2014
    100
    Polished from its first pixel to its last, this FPS will show the way of multiplayer action for years to come. [Issue #240]
  2. Mar 12, 2014
    93
    Respawn took a chance with Titanfall, embracing what it knew best with a multiplayer-only experience and pushing the envelope with its imaginative twists on classic competitive play. The result feels like a new breed of multiplayer that is inviting to established shooter players, but also compelling for people intrigued by everything from the free-running to the giant robotic titans.
  3. Apr 11, 2014
    90
    There is a lot of content in the main multiplayer of Titanfall. The capacity and ability of each player to approach each round and game mode in multiple is noteworthy. And the symbiosis between the pilot and the Titan is made with remarkable, where there is a real reason for the presence of each. The condiments are all here, varied game modes that are accompanied by a capable gameplay.
  4. Mar 14, 2014
    89
    A few things hold it back from being a complete success, but these can largely be overlooked in favor of all the things the game does right. Never before has a game made four words fill me with such excitement and anticipation. "Pilot, prepare for Titanfall."
  5. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    85
    Titanfall is a highly entertaining online shooter, but it's a bit light on content for a full priced game. You quickly start to realize that Titanfall could desperately use more maps, more unlockables, more upgrades and more customization. [Apr 2014]
  6. Mar 17, 2014
    81
    The game has obviously been lovingly crafted by a team of developers who live for online multiplayer and they have pretty much got everything right. But at some point someone should have pointed out that a large portion of the gaming audience also like single player and playing just for fun.
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Apr 15, 2014
    70
    A lot of fun, but perhaps a little too polished. [May 2014, p.54]

See all 29 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    This game has taken me back to the magic days of first discovering Halo:CE...the thrill of competition and a really good multiplayer game. IThis game has taken me back to the magic days of first discovering Halo:CE...the thrill of competition and a really good multiplayer game. I haven't really enjoyed an FPS online since Modern Warfare 2. The thrills and fun this game brings are just great.

    Are the graphics the best? Nope. Is there a storyline? Not really. Are there a zillion million weapons? No. Is there an insane amount of fun that leaves me shaking after basically every round from adrenaline? You bet. It takes me back to a simpler time when we weren't worried about all the stigma the FPS genre has around it these days; back to just running around like mad and shooting things.

    If you are looking for an in depth, story-driven game, this isn't for you. However, if you are looking for a fun way to kill a few hours and not even realize it...pick it up!
    Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2019
    10
    I can recommend it for everyone. Who's got a multiplayer and futuristic game. 10/10
    translated over Google. Czech to English
  3. Mar 30, 2014
    9
    Titanfall is a fantastic breath of fresh air to the fps genre. Many may argue its just same ol'-same ol' but I think the combination ofTitanfall is a fantastic breath of fresh air to the fps genre. Many may argue its just same ol'-same ol' but I think the combination of classic mechanics makes it a real gem. The double jump allows you to traverse the map in a whole different way from current-gen shooters, throwing back to those classics like "Tribes" or "Unreal Tournament 1" where gameplay was truly frantic, but always balanced. The only reason I declined to give this game a 10/10 would be the simple lack of content. After progressing 40 levels, I've found the same 15 maps and limited loadouts have begun to feel repetitive. I'm sure players out there have given up earlier, though many continue and prestige, so it's up to preference. Anyway, I think once DLC comes out, it should help. Overall, fantastic game, highly recommend for PC. Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2020
    7
    Good multiplayer game with a very primitive single company ...and with "full project's price" ...and the ubiquitous seasonal stuffing.
  5. Jan 13, 2015
    6
    Well if you want an honest review read this. I notice most people are giving this huge negative scores or perfect 10s and neither is fare norWell if you want an honest review read this. I notice most people are giving this huge negative scores or perfect 10s and neither is fare nor is it accurate. I am going to divide this review into three segments. Visuals/ art style/ music, functionality of the game which includes combat/ matchmaking/controls/bugs and finally the story/ character element of the game.

    Starting out one thing that i noticed about titanfall is that it is visually impressive. The detail in the environment the mech suits and even the pilots are all amazing. and The music is good but nothing to tear your hair out about. and the voice overs for the Titans are very well done and you have a large selection of them. All of this helps immerse you in this world and make you believe that you really are a friggin bad ass pilot who walks around messing stuff up.The visual representation is where this game shines.

    Now the functionality of the game is a mixed bag and it definitely has its issues. First off the controls are very responsive when you are a titan or pilot. i never have a problem with getting it to do what i want it to. The parkour system while done well here is nothing new. It has just been improved in a huge way in this game. Now when you are playing in pilot mode it is a twitch/ call of duty shooter with parkour elements. This honestly i think is a sad edition to the game. I was really expecting a more halfway point in between halo and call of duty but this is a personal preference of mine. Now the customization at first seems very good when you first create a class but in practice it is almost the same customization load outs that you have in call of duty modern 2 with one exception. The burn card system is where this innovates the customization. By doing challenges you lock appropriate burn cards for the challenges you complete. You are able to expend these in game to get significant boosts to your next spawn. . But again this is a nice addition but it is a minor one that people over emphasize. Now you can not significantly customize the look of your character. all you receive is a look based on the type of weapon and gender. Next we have the addition of mobs of very poor infantry added. Now the only thing infantry does is a way to rack up points so you can win. this to me is sad it makes it not feel like a real battle but more a shooting gallery where you occasionally meet a pilot and have a real firefight. Now matchmaking is a big pain. I constantly get paired with people much more experienced than me and get wiped off the floor. not only that but when people drop it doesn't replace them in a timely well balanced manner. The game is only 6v6 so having two people leave which happens often makes your entire match not enjoyable. Next we have crashes. The game is not usually buggy but it does crash often. It wasnt so often that i would rage but often enough that it annoyed me. The last thing i will mention is the fact that there are still cheap tactics in this game just like any call of duty game. There is satchel throwing bunny hopping madness. And you can run your titan into the middle of everything and self destruct it. But by far the worst thing is the smart pistol. Now starting out the smart pistol is a good way to ease the learning curve by auto locking and shooting enemies. But when you upgrade it and/or amp it up it becomes the cheapest killing weapon in the game.Out of everything i mentioned probably the worst is matchmaking because sometimes it makes the game unplayable.

    Story. This section is going to be short because guess what! there is a story but it is so crappy so painful to grind through its not even worth going into the various missions and characters there are. basically you join a multiplayer story mission. you get a small usually really bad (except for the first one with the space battle) cut scene and then some order on whats going on. Then throughout the mission you have random people that you dont know or care about screaming about stuff you dont care about. And further more the game makes you play through these two unlock the limited two out of three titans.

    The final verdict on this game is that it is unfinished. Many people give it terrible scores for some of its frustrating flaws or absolutely amazing scores because of potential. But in the end both are unfair. I quickly got bored of this game because of the lack of story and the frustration with the game so after ten hours i was done. But really they could have done so much more. you only have 3 titans around ,10 guns and no space battle missions also a crappy story. and for everything it tries to innovates it is held back by still sticking to its call of duty standard. So if you want a few hours of mech madness that is enjoyable but unpolished then buy this game. it is actually well worth the price at 20 bucks.But you will get bored. and sometimes frustrated. and you will tear your hair out at the squandered potential.
    Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2015
    4
    It's a game, it was kind of fun while it lasted. It's not anymore. But hey, at least it contains shooting and robots.... Thats really allIt's a game, it was kind of fun while it lasted. It's not anymore. But hey, at least it contains shooting and robots.... Thats really all their is too it though. Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2021
    0
    do not sabotage other games, i do not care for this game but hacking and destroying apex and my sunday evening is nto the way to go to fixdo not sabotage other games, i do not care for this game but hacking and destroying apex and my sunday evening is nto the way to go to fix your problems Expand

See all 467 User Reviews

Trailers