To the Moon Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1361 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join Dr. Rosalene and Dr. Watts as they enter a patient named Johnny's mind on his death bed to grant his final request. Watch, interact, and change the past as Johnny's life unfolds before you and takes you on a magical journey inside one's head that asks the greatest question of all: "WhatJoin Dr. Rosalene and Dr. Watts as they enter a patient named Johnny's mind on his death bed to grant his final request. Watch, interact, and change the past as Johnny's life unfolds before you and takes you on a magical journey inside one's head that asks the greatest question of all: "What if...?"
    If you had the chance to relive your life, would you change things? Would you try to achieve some grand goal? Could you find love? Fame? Fortune? Or would you realize that sometimes the past is meant to stay the same. Join Dr. Rosalene and Watts on their journey and travel To The Moon.
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
To the Moon - Official Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Oct 27, 2012
    100
    To The Moon is one of those games you instantly fall in love with. With it's simple, but elegant design, incredible writing, and thrilling, heartfelt tale, To The Moon is more story than game, but what a story it is.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Feb 13, 2012
    93
    This little game is by far the most touching story ever told in game industry. Although the game mechanics are very simple, the story is truly something, that bigger players of the business should take a look at. This game brought tears to my eyes. It's truly magical. [Feb 2012]
  3. Nov 22, 2011
    90
    The game may look like Chrono Trigger, but it is decidedly not a traditional RPG. It is definitely more adventure game than anything else, as the doctors need to find various "memory triggers" inside Johnny's memories in order to move backwards from his most recent memories to his earliest.
  4. Nov 22, 2011
    80
    To the Moon is a game you must play. It's available for download from developer Freebird Games' website for $11.99, which seems about right for this affecting four-hour tale. Those four hours pack a real punch, inviting you to consider just how a single event can change your destiny. For now, you should take control of your own destiny and play To the Moon. You'll be glad you did.
  5. Jan 19, 2012
    80
    An experience above all genres built on mundane concepts will hit gamer with its story of love, loss and dealing with one's destiny. Balancing on edge of interactivity and kitsch has turned out well and even though some lines have been made too sweet and the other ones too complicated the moments when those two meet each other have no parallel in video games.
  6. Dec 6, 2011
    80
    To the Moon's excellent storytelling never veers off course and is one of the best we've experienced this year.
  7. Dec 16, 2011
    50
    The silver lining in all of this is that the game is kept compact, and To the Moon can be finished in a sitting or two, before it really wears out its welcome.

See all 26 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 16 out of 262
  1. Nov 26, 2011
    10
    I was excited to see this game release from when I heard about it awhile ago. It borrows from the style of the 16-bit video game generationI was excited to see this game release from when I heard about it awhile ago. It borrows from the style of the 16-bit video game generation of yore, and shows the story of a man on his deathbed, who signs up for a program that can help him relive his life in order to achieve his wish.

    His wish? He wants to go to the moon.

    If you're anything like me, you're going through the first two hours of the game, basically at the brink of bawling like a baby (don't clump me in with those emo kids), with the last thing on your mind having anything to do with the moon. It's a complex story, and the culmination point of it seems farfetched until you let the entire story play before you, and you recognize the beauty of it all.

    Let me tell you something. Beauty is a perfect word to describe it. The storytelling is masterful, and complex, and charming. The characters are lovable. You play as the two scientists who assist the man in the pursuit of his dream, and often act as the comic relief for emotionally tense situations. Other times, they show as glimpses of characters who themselves have dark and secreted away emotions and struggles.

    The graphics show how aesthetic and detailed something can be when you focus that graphical attention on a style which is otherwise considered to be outdated. If you can masterfully produce something in 16-bit graphics, then you can see it as masterful as someone who built a complicated 3D system. The difference is that you have a much harder time showing a masterful presentation in 3D that ages well, since the medium is constantly being updated. The odd place of this current-day 16-bit presentation looks easily as masterful as the most detailed presentations of 16-bit classics.

    In short, I loved it.

    So, here's the part where I provide some criticism. The game looks very much like an old turn-based RPG classic. It plays like a point-and-click adventure, and much of the actual 'gameplay' is a set of sliding puzzles. The intent, it seems, is to focus much of the attention of the player to be on the story (which, as previously stated, is a strong point worthy of being pointed toward), but after all is said and done, one wonders about how necessary it was to have the title called a 'game'.

    Could the presentation have survived without the gameplay mechanics? The sliding puzzles, certainly, but one of the best things about a video game over, say, a book or a movie, is that you have the ability to interact with the world to get the most out of the storyline. There were a few things that I admired that could have only been done through use of gameplay- notes which get altered by untrustworthy narrators, and the like, but beyond that much of the exploration is required to progress the game, and the interactivity between the player and the environment is slim.

    In fact, the game 'reads' much like a visual novel. You do macguffins, and it makes story happen. But they jokingly acknowledged it several times, and clearly made an effort to keep it at a necessary minimum. To be fair, the turn-taking RPG itself stuff itself with macguffin'd tasks and elements. I dare you to tell me that the actual 'gameplay' in a Final Fantasy or Dragon Warrior game is good. Enjoying the battle element out of a turn-taking RPG is like liking calculators and Excel spreadsheets for the thrilling gameplay. You do a thing, which makes you feel like you're progressing.

    But, gamewise, is there a better way to include gameplay into a title which wants to focus as much as possible onto the story? Because of the detective-like elements of gameplay, and the articulation of the scientists would be better utilized with some of the elements which made Phoenix Wright into a game. I mean, sure, I don't know anything more about law than I did when I started playing the games, but I sure as hell felt like a lawyer. Some of the clues to the mystery of the man you are helping might be better solved if a gameplay mechanic forced the player to draw some of the conclusions itself.

    The end of the game was a clear and complete story of the man whose life you explored. But what is opened to you is a very interesting world, prime with opportunity for further exploration. So long as the charm of the two scientists is not over-explored early on, I expect myself to be able to enjoy the sequels that the game's conclusion certainly seemed to be hinting at. Hopefully I can man the hell up before I play them.

    Extra Note: I want to give special commendation to the game To the Moon for including a character who has special needs successfully into the story. I won't be too specific, since every single thing about this game should be experienced through the game itself, but all I want to say is that it was amazing to get a realistic human characterization without getting the 'a very special episode' feeling. Bravo.
    Expand
  2. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Its just beautiful and so emotive, you wont be let down! a must have game for anyone and everyone! there is something really captivating aboutIts just beautiful and so emotive, you wont be let down! a must have game for anyone and everyone! there is something really captivating about the entire game its simple yet brilliant! Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2012
    10
    16-bit era graphics + story telling better than any movie I've seen recently= An emotional 3 hour ride to the very end. I never played a game16-bit era graphics + story telling better than any movie I've seen recently= An emotional 3 hour ride to the very end. I never played a game that made me rethink my life and thinking that I'm the driver living it. A rare treat indeed. I don't think I've ever played a game that made me tear up in the end. This should be shared with the world and may definitely open a persons thoughts and eyes in where they should go with their life.

    I'm a fan of Kan Gao and Freebird games and I'm excited for their next outing.
    Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2013
    10
    Pleaso read it all. I am not judging "To the Moon" as a game because that would be a mistake. I am judging it for what it is. I'll explain...Pleaso read it all. I am not judging "To the Moon" as a game because that would be a mistake. I am judging it for what it is. I'll explain...

    I've cryed four times during this game. I can't tell at which parts whitout spoiling it, but, what I can say is basically I suffered something very similar to what the main character did. I will argue for days with people that say that "To the Moon"s story lacks of depth or originality. George R.R. Martin himself sayi that, these days, is not about telling a original story, but about telling a story in a way that has never been told. "To the moon" told me a story in a way that I was never told before. I would not call To the Moon as a game precisely, it's more of an interactive novel, with a few puzzles, very simple ones by the way. To the moon is a piece of art for me. It's basically a story told in a very beautiful way. I was sincerelly touched by this "game" and if you ever lost someone dear to you, I promisse you will be touched too.

    This is currently 3 bucks at Steam. Please don't draw yourself away from this game just because somepeople are complaining about graphics or not allowing themselfs to be touched by simple things. Anyway, that's my opinion
    Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2013
    9
    In this game the outstanding storyline covers lack of gameplay/interactivity or you name what. The breathtaking story is linear and leads youIn this game the outstanding storyline covers lack of gameplay/interactivity or you name what. The breathtaking story is linear and leads you through till the end. It's very catchy and doesn't let you go till the very end. The game reminded me of "Dear Esther", they have a lot in common. The only controversial thing is that the main mood is dramatic but pretty often it is spoiled by humorous main characters dialogues, so with more serious approach the game could be even better to my thought. Expand
  6. May 14, 2020
    9
    This game is perfect for what it is. The fact that it manages to tell an emotional story, when games with hundreds of times bigger budgetThis game is perfect for what it is. The fact that it manages to tell an emotional story, when games with hundreds of times bigger budget don't really manage to is a fantastic accomplishment. This is an example of what indie games can be.
    Towards the end, it does get just a bit more melodramatic than it should and there is an action sequence that did no sit well with me, pulling it down from a perfect rating, but they are of minor concern and you should experience this game.
    Rating of 0 for metacritic's search though, searching for the title, this game was on page 3
    Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2016
    0
    Folks, this is not a game. This is a short story that could be told in a half hour were it not for the mundane, tedious tasks you are forcedFolks, this is not a game. This is a short story that could be told in a half hour were it not for the mundane, tedious tasks you are forced to perform before moving on. Imagine reading your favorite book but before turning each page you and to toss 5 pennies into a jar from accross the room? I voted 1. Because this is not a game. Not even close to a game. You can't affect the end, you don't develope your character. You actually at one point play a very poorly rendered version of whack-a-mole so that you can move to the next chapter/paragraph/whatever. By the the time the story ended i was so irritated by the tedium, there wasn't any hope for a sad ending. It was a HAPPY ending for me because it was FINALLY over. Expand

See all 262 User Reviews