Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. May 31, 2017
    90
    On Tokyo 42's website, the developers boast the game as a beloved blend of Syndicate and Grand Theft Auto, and honestly, they couldn't be more wrong and right. It's both those games in spirit, but twists them into something wholly its own. Tokyo 42 is an isometric cyberpoppunk action-shooter with a city that's worth getting lost in.
  2. May 31, 2017
    85
    This spin on Tokyo is breathtaking to view and full of memorable moments, all of which are worth dying over and over for.
  3. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jul 24, 2017
    80
    Regardless the badly managed shootouts against the hordes, the game will convince you of its high quality thanks to its art styling and flawless open world. [Issue#274]
  4. 80
    A new way of looking at things, quite literally, and one that chooses bright joyfulness as its medium and lives up to it through its play. It's absolutely worth the time and the money, and if you find it frustrating, I encourage you to give it another few hours. Just about anyone who does will be charmed by the supersaturated, gloriously isometric, high octane, quirkily funny cyberpunk blowout that is Tokyo 42.
  5. May 31, 2017
    80
    I enjoyed almost every minute I spent with Tokyo 42. Few games feel so immediately and consistently inviting - there are no penalties for pissing about in this urban utopia. You don’t even have to feel bad about killing civilians, as they’ll simply flicker back to life once you’ve ended your shooting spree. It’s a remarkable shooter, a solid stealth-‘em-up, and a terrible racing game.
  6. May 31, 2017
    80
    Tokyo 42 is a stylish action shooter with a distinctive and colorful scenario. The freedom related to the completion of each mission and the variety of the equipment are significant qualities, however the variety of missions could have been deeper.
  7. May 31, 2017
    80
    As far as debut projects go, Tokyo 42 is a great game with a fascinating sense of style and a confident swagger, let down by a handful of little things. Controlling how to shoot takes some getting used to and that sharp increase in difficulty was unwelcome to say the least, yet I had a fantastic time sneaking around and assassinating targets however I wished. A great effort.
  8. May 31, 2017
    75
    An isometric shooter with a ton of style, and a lack of complexity that works in its favour.
  9. Jun 27, 2017
    70
    Futuristic Tokyo is a beautiful and stylish city. It offers great stealth, pleasant freedom and great atmosphere. It’s a pity camera-shuffles sometimes make the shooting unpleasantly difficult.
  10. Edge Magazine
    Jun 22, 2017
    70
    For a game that promises a degree of freedom in how you approach a job, you'll often find there's a clearly preferred way of doing things. [Aug 2017, p.112]
  11. Jun 6, 2017
    70
    Although it has quite a few issues, it’s original and fresh, and has a strong personality. If you like what it has to offer, you’ll probably forget about the problems and enjoy it quite a lot.
  12. May 31, 2017
    70
    That's why it's so unfortunate that Tokyo 42 fails to leave its own mark on the genre its developers so clearly admire. It literally wears its cyberpunk influences on its sleeve (your default coat, Deckard, is named after Blade Runner’s iconic protagonist), but it fails to cultivate a unique personality during its various missions.
  13. May 31, 2017
    70
    Its issues and occasional shortcomings didn’t hugely detract from my enjoyment, and instead just left me with a longing sense of “what if”. Tokyo 42 is still a good game. It’s just one that comes close enough to being a great one that its flaws sting a little bit more than they probably should.
  14. May 31, 2017
    69
    An intricate, beautiful playground for some enjoyably open-ended assassinations.
  15. Jul 10, 2017
    68
    Quotation forthcoming.
  16. Jul 26, 2017
    65
    This action packed Syndicate-esque Tokyo 42 features lots of fun when the game plays right and lots of frustration when it doesn't. If you can withstand the randomness of its combat you are sure to enjoy the beautiful views of this colourful stylish cyberpunk shooter.
  17. May 31, 2017
    65
    Thanks to the imprecision of its shooting controls and the cheap behaviour of its AI, I could never really develop any confidence in Tokyo 42’s frustrating combat. Which is a shame because, glitches aside, I really loved exploring the wonderfully crafted world and the simple yet still challenging nature of its stealth-based assassinations.
  18. Jun 19, 2017
    64
    Tokyo 42 offers a stylish, polished, well-presented open world that’s unfortunately just not an awful lot of fun to do anything in. A few nice touches put a spark in its heart, but they can’t light up the overall experience.
  19. Jul 7, 2017
    60
    The eccentric aesthetic of Tokyo 42 is its biggest selling point. It’s a joy to run around the skyscrapers and having some fun shootouts. It’s a pity that the camera proves to be our biggest enemy alongside the issue of repetition.
  20. Jun 19, 2017
    60
    Tokyo 42 has a lot of potential, and moments of greatness where it can deliver satisfying action, but unfortunately gets bogged down by an annoying camera and notable structure issues and technical snafus. There’s still fun to be had in the candy-coated world of a futuristic Japan, especially when it comes to exploration and the occasional parkour, but those looking for a more focused and more effective action game would be better off checking something else instead. So in the end, it’s sadly less Blade Runner and more Johnny Mnemonic.
  21. Jun 9, 2017
    60
    Quotation forthcoming.
  22. May 31, 2017
    60
    The single player campaign remains immensely enjoyable but it’s a shame it can’t sustain early success. Refined controls and a focus on more crafted stealth missions, rather than turning everything up to 11, would have meant fewer rage-quits and a higher score.
  23. Aug 25, 2017
    57
    Tokyo 42 rarely locks us into a certain style of play, but it’s not the "isometric Hitman game" you probably wished for. It’s too small in all aspects to earn that title, and, the worst part, the stealth is awfully boring and primitive.
  24. CD-Action
    Sep 25, 2017
    55
    Repetitive, crude gameplay falls way behind Tokyo 42’s gorgeous visuals. [09/2017, p.42]
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 31, 2017
    Visually stunning but wholly underwhelming, Tokyo 42 fails to capitalise on its inventive premise.
  2. May 31, 2017
    Beautiful, strange and sometimes a bit fiddly, Tokyo 42 offers a dazzling toybox to explore. [Recommended]
  3. Tokyo 42 is an inventive and strikingly attractive game, with a very natural blend of stealth, combat and figuring out a path, unfortunately hamstrung somewhat by absolute fealty to its isometric perspective. I alternated between the beautiful tension of sneaking through busy places (personally, I incline towards the silent kills of a katana rather than the Syndicate-esque mass destruction of miniguns and rocket launchers) and the jaw-clenched annoyance of death-by-camera. An impressive accomplishment, but sometimes a grating one too.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Jun 7, 2017
    8
    What a stylish game.
    The world is really cool and the concept is fun and feels different. I've been having a blast playing through this
    What a stylish game.
    The world is really cool and the concept is fun and feels different. I've been having a blast playing through this game, and haven't been as distracted as some by the camera switching. My only real complaint is how terrible the motorcycle riding/racing is, but other than that it's been an incredibly fun experience. I do agree that there is a part of me that feels (as other reviewers have mentioned) that this game does fall under the "ugh... but it could have been so much more" category, but for what it is, it's well worth the time investment.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 18, 2022
    4
    i heard about this in middleshool on gameranx and it was more hyped than it shoulda been
  3. Jun 4, 2017
    10
    what a joy to play. This style and game design is pure genius. The soundtrack is one of the best I've heard in years. Game is incredibly fun.what a joy to play. This style and game design is pure genius. The soundtrack is one of the best I've heard in years. Game is incredibly fun. Controls are tight. I wish more games were this stylish and original. Highly recommend this game if you're looking for something unique and original. Full Review »