• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Aug 15, 2012
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 270 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 86 out of 270

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    This is a game with a STEEP learning curve. GR:O is almost completely reliant on tactical game-play, teamwork, and unit-cohesion to win games. Currently in open beta at the time of this review, Ubisoft is doing a fantastic job moving Ghost Recon: Online in the correct direction.

    This game is DEFINITELY worth a try, especially given it's a free to play game. Most players will attempt it,
    This is a game with a STEEP learning curve. GR:O is almost completely reliant on tactical game-play, teamwork, and unit-cohesion to win games. Currently in open beta at the time of this review, Ubisoft is doing a fantastic job moving Ghost Recon: Online in the correct direction.

    This game is DEFINITELY worth a try, especially given it's a free to play game. Most players will attempt it, not understand it, and get frustrated. It's not your typical CoD knock-off shooter, and takes some adaptation and patience to really be competitive in-game.
    Expand
  2. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    Alright this reviews are out dated. game is completely changed from A to Z. specialy graphics. because it looks perfect right now. also gameplay is still unique itself. i really enjoying with this. its not pay to win but if you pay like around 50-60 dolar you can start with better weapons and gears etc. BUT the fact is at some point a free to play player can reach that level too (10 levelAlright this reviews are out dated. game is completely changed from A to Z. specialy graphics. because it looks perfect right now. also gameplay is still unique itself. i really enjoying with this. its not pay to win but if you pay like around 50-60 dolar you can start with better weapons and gears etc. BUT the fact is at some point a free to play player can reach that level too (10 level = 3 or 4 days depend your activity) and this is not a mmorpg game so gear doesnt mean everything. SKILL > MONEY this is another fact. so give a chance and play. trust me this game is fun. Expand
  3. Jun 28, 2014
    10
    Probably the best tactical shooter ever made. Outstanding! Everyone should give it a try. Even people that usually dont like TomClancy games (as i ) should give it a try. Especially movement and cover functions are very unique and unseen in shooter games.
  4. Aug 12, 2014
    8
    This game, free to play, it might be the successor of Counter Strike; tactical and teamwork based. Controls and graphics are really nice.
    Recommended.
  5. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    This is an absolutely superb PvP shooter, with really strong weapon handling/performance, map design and movement and cover mechanics. It is also very well-managed and not pay-to-win. It's not for everybody, though; hardcore, steep learning curve, much humiliation until you get in the groove. Best online shooter, either coop or PvP that I've played in years.
  6. Sep 7, 2012
    8
    This game is an unbelievable amount of fun. When you get a good team (and good opponents), a Control Points match can become a heated battle that gets your heart racing and forces a smile onto your face, and in Attack and Defense there is rarely a sure thing. Everything goes so smoothly- sliding into cover, activating a device, pole vaulting over a bit of cover- the animations are smootherThis game is an unbelievable amount of fun. When you get a good team (and good opponents), a Control Points match can become a heated battle that gets your heart racing and forces a smile onto your face, and in Attack and Defense there is rarely a sure thing. Everything goes so smoothly- sliding into cover, activating a device, pole vaulting over a bit of cover- the animations are smoother still. The graphics are high quality but don't require a high-end PC. The sound is great (nothing quite as satisfying for the ears as gunning someone down with an SMG), although in-lobby music is boring and repetitive. Fortunately, thanks to a growing player base and recent work on matchmaking, you won't have to stay in the lobby for long. As a game, it's great. Weapons are fair, gameplay is objective focused, and while there are few maps (so far) they all allow for everyone to play in their chosen style.
    Unfortunately, it's these chosen styles that can turn a potentially great match into a dull one. Many people decide their play style is simply to camp. This is made all the more easy with powerful sniper rifles being available at a cheap price. This means that people can just hang back while a small handful of soldiers move forward to capture the point and get into actual, incredibly satisfying fire fights (thankfully though, I've noticed less and less people camping in recent times).
    All in all, a great game with great gameplay, that is occasionally (albeit very rarely) let down by camping soldiers, sitting at the back and expecting their team to finish the game. Thankfully, when people aren't camping, this can be one of the most intense and satisfying games that I have played in a long time.
    Expand
  7. Sep 8, 2012
    8
    This is easily the most pleasant online shooter experience I've ever had. The gameplay is smooth, weapon balance is good, maps are well crafted and work well for both teams. There is a lot of challenge to do well and the rewards system is carefully crafted to reward and encourage team play.
    Players new to tactical shooters will find they have a lot to learn, but supporting your team and
    This is easily the most pleasant online shooter experience I've ever had. The gameplay is smooth, weapon balance is good, maps are well crafted and work well for both teams. There is a lot of challenge to do well and the rewards system is carefully crafted to reward and encourage team play.
    Players new to tactical shooters will find they have a lot to learn, but supporting your team and playing aggressively without being careless will see you winning matches fairly regularly.

    The game is still in its early days and could do with a few more maps and a firing range to try out weapons and attachments before purchase, but on the whole I've found the entire experience to be very rewarding.
    Expand
  8. Mar 3, 2014
    9
    This Game makes a lot of fun!!!! Perhaps you came (like me) from shooters like Battlefield or CoD. Because then this Game will teach you tactical game-play and it will have you fun at this.
  9. Jan 13, 2014
    8
    Ghost Recon Online is a high quality title for a free to play game. One of the best Free to Play games I have played. The game is not your typical free to play, boring snooze-fest of uninspiring work. This game changes that and brings hope to the Free to Play genre itself. I do not understand how people can say that this game has a steep learning curve. I have played some previousGhost Recon Online is a high quality title for a free to play game. One of the best Free to Play games I have played. The game is not your typical free to play, boring snooze-fest of uninspiring work. This game changes that and brings hope to the Free to Play genre itself. I do not understand how people can say that this game has a steep learning curve. I have played some previous Ghost Recon games before, but not for a while. When I played GR:O, of course I was not a straight veteran MLG pro quality player, but I felt right at home when playing this. It is a personal interest, a game that is right for me.

    Starting with the aesthetics, the game looks great. A very well polished game overall, perhaps the (second) most polished F2P game other than Team Fortress itself. Animations look great, not absolute perfect AAA quality, but near there. Better than some AAA blockbuster games though. One thing about the game are the guns. The guns also look very nice, they feel and handle well, all feeling unique as well as having a nice variety to spray your enemy with lead. You can customize your weapons to your liking, most attachments are side-grades. There are also 3 types of each gun, each having their own trade offs to suit your style and different situations as well. Personal customization isn't the greatest, but it's still there if you care enough about it. The biggest issue about the game is the new tier system they offered. This system has almost ruined the game and made it a grind. Before this system, you can rank up your character, and buy any gun as long as you were high enough in rank and credits. With the new Tier system, you have to buy every single gun below that tier, in order to get the gun that is the highest tier. A major turn off for everyone. You will be spending more credits on guns you won't need than the guns you do need.

    Gameplay is very solid, as compared to any other F2P game, it is superb. The game is cover-based which adds a large amount of tactics required. It is recommended that you stay close to your teammates as they usually provide extra perks from their upgrades. You can see thins "futuristic" beams that pair you with your teammates, a nice design to implement. Character speeds feel just about right, your speed also varies on your armor and which upgrades you have installed, same with the guns. You can choose between 3 stances, the typical, standing, crouching and prone; you can also toggle these different stances while taking cover, each providing more cover than the other, depending on the situation, as well as more accuracy and control for your gun. To add more tactics to the game itself, there are 3 classes: Recon, Assault, and Specialist. Each having their own unique and strategic advantage.

    As a Recon, you are an infiltrator, or a sniper, you can either cloak or detect enemies (Oracle).

    As an Assault, you push the front line, you can charge with your shield (Blitz) and bash enemies over or use your microwave emitter (Heat) to damage enemies in cover and prevent them from being able to attack.

    As a Specialist, you provide that special ability to either shield yourself (Aegis) as well as your friends from taking damage (unless enemies are inside the shield) or you can disable enemy components (Disrupt) and charge in to make a push and clear enemies.

    When using your gun, you can either hip fire, or aim down sights. The game is in third person, but the transition between third person and first person is very well executed.

    As far as I know and have been playing, there are only 3 game modes available:

    Conquest - which is similar to Attack/Defend of Team Fortress, you must attack one point and which ever team captures it will change the maps progression.

    Onslaught - This game gives both teams the opportunity to attack or defend each round. There are 2 points that one team must defend simultaneously , when both points are lost, the defending team must protect the 3rd point which becomes active.

    Holdout - There is only one capture point that both teams must fight over, which ever team has the point at the end game wins.

    When you begin your game, matches are the best, they are downright fun (at least I have found them to be). Like other games, once you are no longer in the novice rank, you will be put up against skilled players and matches become frustrating when your team is constantly getting wiped on the battlefield.

    The maps are very linear, resembling Team Fortress's style, which is not a bad thing. The reason why this is good is that a well designed linear map creates a front for a team to fight on; a war-zone where the team must work together and push as one. So fights are more organized and aren't a death pit such as Call of Duty as well as other games.

    Overall, this is a very well polished Free to Play title. If you like tactical shooters, this game is definitely worth giving a try.
    Expand
  10. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    Ghost Recon is an amazing game if you enjoy a good tactical shooter. This probably is one of the best free shooters on the market at the moment. Overall 9.5/10.
  11. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    This is a game for the tactical, thinking team. If you like to be strategic, analyze the situation, coordiante with your team and WORK TOGETHER, this is the game to end all games. Two thumbs up!
  12. Apr 19, 2014
    9
    A lot of these bad reviews don't give this game justice. Many people here aren't understanding what free to play is.

    As a game its got really really smooth and flexible controls. The defaults are a little weird but you can change them to what you want. The gunplay is solid and has some good mechanics. Like giving a slight critical shot bonus to players aiming without moving. So their
    A lot of these bad reviews don't give this game justice. Many people here aren't understanding what free to play is.

    As a game its got really really smooth and flexible controls. The defaults are a little weird but you can change them to what you want. The gunplay is solid and has some good mechanics. Like giving a slight critical shot bonus to players aiming without moving. So their first shot has a chance of dealing cortical damage. This also prevents quickshotting close range snipers. A sniper acts like a sniper but he can help his team with a scan or choose closed instead to help his team flank around somewhere. Each class can have a cool ability thing that can help the whole team. For example the assault can have a riot shield which has about a 2 second deploy time then you sprint forward fast and knock people down on the ground while your team shoots them all lying on the ground. Or take a shotgun with you bash someone down swap to your shotgun and blast the hell out of them.

    The cover system is great too. Spacebar by default is the cover button which I don't like (I play RO2 and spacebar is the vault button). But you can change it to whatever you want. But you can be in 3 stances while in cover which is awesome. Going prone in cover looks cool.

    The camera can go a little funny sometimes and not be where you want it that needs a little bit of polish.

    The graphics look good for how well it runs. It run so bloody well. Many people have been complaining about graphics. This is a competitive game and competitive gamers don't care about graphics. Though it still looks rather pretty for how it runs.

    Pricing wise its cheaper than planetside 2. You can also unlock every gameplay related its with earned currency. Only things like camo or helmets cost real money. But $5 can get you a primary weapon, a secondary weapon and a helmet. And if you are good you can get the in game cash pretty fast. They also give you a generous amount of starting cash and starting equipment. Level up once and you will get a few more items.

    Also the matchmaking problems that many have been complaining about have been fixed.

    This is a hardcore game relying on tactics ad proper thinking instead of mindless shooting. If you are some mindless Cod player who pushes two buttons to win you are gonna get thrashed in this game. It has a learning curve. Its not for whiny children.

    And its in no way pay to win you can do perfectly fine with the starting gear. And unlock things easy.
    Expand
  13. Apr 23, 2014
    10
    Great tactical shooter games.You cant win a round without team play and you have to use the cover system .(no run and gun) There're 3 classes and each one having 2 different devices.you have to use at the right time and move forward.Play it and decide.
  14. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    Hands out the best game I've ever played it has the FPS feel but its a TPS I've never loved a game so much until now. For a game to be free, its really good and I would recommend that you play it, you'll be addicted to it
  15. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    Ubisoft has genuinely come up with something different. For anyone who likes tactical shooters this is a very good game with slick controls & spot-on audio. It's a team-based game so lone-wolves need not apply, and when the teams are evenly balanced it's tense and exciting. Hopefully more maps & content will come as they move to full launch.
  16. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    Fans of GRAW and GRAW 2 will be reminiscing some awesome moments in this free to play, third/first person shooter. The game is still in beta, but already is showing polished mechanics and an excellent cover system. This is a tactical shooter and requires heavy collaboration with team members to be successful. They have a great VOiP to make this seamless. They are currently addingFans of GRAW and GRAW 2 will be reminiscing some awesome moments in this free to play, third/first person shooter. The game is still in beta, but already is showing polished mechanics and an excellent cover system. This is a tactical shooter and requires heavy collaboration with team members to be successful. They have a great VOiP to make this seamless. They are currently adding content as we speak and new arctic maps will be out shortly, this game seems to be managed on the lines of an MMO and carries over some of those characteristics. This will likely be a big hit with pro-gamers or anyone that likes intense FPS and likes to use their smarts to out-wit the enemy. Expand
  17. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    I recommend everyone at least try this game out (it's FREE.) If you are having trouble early, keep at it. Pretty steep learning curve. Playing with a group of friends is the best way to have fun, it is extremely team/tactical based. This is the farthest game from being p2w, everything you can buy with money can be bought with the free in game currency, and you get to keep all weapons andI recommend everyone at least try this game out (it's FREE.) If you are having trouble early, keep at it. Pretty steep learning curve. Playing with a group of friends is the best way to have fun, it is extremely team/tactical based. This is the farthest game from being p2w, everything you can buy with money can be bought with the free in game currency, and you get to keep all weapons and armor you purchase, it is not rented. As more content is added, I can see this being a real competitive game. Expand
  18. Sep 8, 2012
    10
    Awesome game. No Pay2Win... You need good tactics and skills to win... There gonna be so many new Updates for example a Snow-Map-Mod and new camouflages! GJ Ubisoft
  19. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    Very nice TPS, very tactical and smart, you really should try, it's free ! ;) The content it limited but it will be more in a few time (they are only 4 maps and no armor customisation yet)
  20. Nov 11, 2013
    10
    No other shooter provides such a good team experience. The cover system is incredible and the game is really tactical. It's hard in the beginning, but then super rewarding.
  21. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    I so like this TPS, many articles of customization and weapons, only 4 maps but the fun is here! (and one more map on the Septembre 12th :D) Can't put a 10 beacause nothing is perfect (like MK16 = sniper...)
  22. Sep 8, 2012
    9
    This is one of the best Free2Play shooters I've played to date, and it helps that it was designed exclusively for PC (with plans in the future for WiiU). The controls and camera feel perfect for a PC system, and the cover system is extremely polished.

    It's not a Pay2Win game at all, and the map designs work very well with the existing game types. The game encourages high levels of
    This is one of the best Free2Play shooters I've played to date, and it helps that it was designed exclusively for PC (with plans in the future for WiiU). The controls and camera feel perfect for a PC system, and the cover system is extremely polished.

    It's not a Pay2Win game at all, and the map designs work very well with the existing game types. The game encourages high levels of communication and teamwork, though the learning curve is quite steep. If you're a player that likes to concern themselves with Kill:Death ratios than expect to have terrible ones when you first start out. The game rewards players for playing the objective, not just for killing the enemy team (unless you're exceptionally good at killing the enemy team).

    Not rated 10 due to the current lack of content, and a few more issues that need to be polished. Unfortunately the game hasn't been advertised as much as possible either, and due to this the game is currently lacking in population. I highly recommend checking out this game though, the more players it has the better it will get!
    Expand
  23. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    This is a fantastic free to play game that is the least pay2win f2p ever. The game play is fast and fluid and the guns are varied and fun. With the new arctic pack coming out soon this is game that you must play.
  24. Sep 7, 2012
    10
    GRO is a breath of fresh air in the shooter genre. Too many games focus on destructible environments, vehicles, and bucket loads of bloom. Ghost Recon Online focuses on the most important thing that too many games today forget about until a month before launch: The Gameplay. What it may be lacking in the number of bullet points under its features list, it more than makes up for with highGRO is a breath of fresh air in the shooter genre. Too many games focus on destructible environments, vehicles, and bucket loads of bloom. Ghost Recon Online focuses on the most important thing that too many games today forget about until a month before launch: The Gameplay. What it may be lacking in the number of bullet points under its features list, it more than makes up for with high standards and quality of what really matters.

    People claiming it's a "camping game" don't understand cover-based shooters. It's not camping if you're advancing from cover to cover while assaulting an objective; it's tactical. Most people I've met who didn't like the game didn't stay with it past a few rounds. The game has a steep learning curve and you either push yourself to learn to play or you load of the latest re-skinned enumeration in the CoD franchise and plug yourself back into the meat grinder.

    This isn't CoD. Don't expect it to be. You need to work as a team, communicate, and focus your effort on the objective. If you just want to drop MOABs on people and run headlong into claymores after instantly respawning, then this probably won't quench your thirst.

    But, if you're sick of CoD and its bajillion clones, then you're probably hungry for something like GRO to sink your teeth into.
    Expand
  25. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Ghost Recon Online is a very in depth tactical experience. I (as a paintball lover) found this to be just as tactical and unforgiving as a competitive paintball match. I do reccomend to play with at least one person you know, for a solid reliance upon each other. As far as camping goes, teamwork eliminates that problem (if anyone wants to work together). The F2P system is the best I haveGhost Recon Online is a very in depth tactical experience. I (as a paintball lover) found this to be just as tactical and unforgiving as a competitive paintball match. I do reccomend to play with at least one person you know, for a solid reliance upon each other. As far as camping goes, teamwork eliminates that problem (if anyone wants to work together). The F2P system is the best I have ever seen, allowing anybody who has the patience to understand the game to be rewarded. Yes, run and gun will get you killed, so if you love COD and it's the best game in the world, avoid this game like the plauge. Any real fan of Ghost Recon Future Soldier will enjoy this due to it's numerous combat improvements and it's . I highly reccomend this game for any paintball player or a serious tactical gamer. If you are new to the genre, be patient. You will learn to love it. Expand
  26. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Tons of fun, excellent cover system, superb team play experience, unique class abilities, great maps. Cool weapons/ customizations, great community, A get-away from COD and Battlefield, a free triple A title. What more can you ask for...This game is the next big thing for shooters!
  27. Apr 11, 2013
    10
    Extremely smart and engaging game, with a higher skillcap and better teamwork mechanics than any other shooters I've played. My only real concern with the title is that it's so completely not pay-to-win that I have no idea how Ubi is going to make any money with this exceptional free-to-play.
  28. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    the game is like ghost recon future soldier but free 2 play .Also graphics, combination in weapons, equipment is fantastic. a very good imitation of ghost recon future solder. one thing i have to say for this game....excellent job GRO team...
  29. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    FINALLY a good multiplayer tactical shooter. The shooting mechanics in this game forces you to take a tactical approach to every situation. It takes a lot of time to become accurate when aiming down the sight so you can't just 360 quickscope. Because of these mechanics you have to have people who do cover fire for those who try to push back the front line. CoD style run and gun will notFINALLY a good multiplayer tactical shooter. The shooting mechanics in this game forces you to take a tactical approach to every situation. It takes a lot of time to become accurate when aiming down the sight so you can't just 360 quickscope. Because of these mechanics you have to have people who do cover fire for those who try to push back the front line. CoD style run and gun will not work in this game, you have to use teamwork. The weapon customization is also incredible. You can fine tune every gun you have as much as you want. And these weapons feel GREAT. None of them feel like peashooters. Great game, try it, it's FREE. Expand
  30. Jan 16, 2014
    10
    This game is definitely worth a try! And not to mention it is going on Steam soon and its F2P !! You will get addicted by the gameplay as it differs from the normal FPS shooters of today.

    Highly recommand it if you are a fan of shooters!
  31. Apr 14, 2014
    10
    With its launch, Ghost Recon Phantoms is now the best tactical, team based shooter in the online market.
    This game needs planning and communication among team members. It makes you feel you are part of the multi-player team rather than just an individual in an online shooter.

    Definitely a worth investment, and way ahead of its past (70 metacritic is out of date!)
  32. Jan 14, 2014
    8
    GR:O is a good online shooter, especially when it's free. The cover system is well designed and the maps are very innovative. The money (RP) system is a little frustrating because everything in the shop is just so expensive, so "they" are pretty much just forcing you to empty out you're wallet to buy the best weapons in the game.

    But when it comes to raw gameplay, this game definitely
    GR:O is a good online shooter, especially when it's free. The cover system is well designed and the maps are very innovative. The money (RP) system is a little frustrating because everything in the shop is just so expensive, so "they" are pretty much just forcing you to empty out you're wallet to buy the best weapons in the game.

    But when it comes to raw gameplay, this game definitely cut's it. It's easily addictive, after you past level 5, you'll just wanna keep advancing and keep playing.
    Expand
  33. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    muito bom o jogo, tem a captura de base como o bf e ainda contina com elementos da serie
    alem de ser free-to-play tem graficos excelentes e muito bem detalhados
    em fim, acho q pra quem é fan de games fps esse é indispensavel!
  34. Apr 13, 2014
    10
    Game is good so far and has a ton of potential. Only a few maps so far but they are well laid out with numerous ways to get to the same area allowing fair game play and layout stops campers from picking people off. This is a game that will get better as time progresses.
  35. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    This is coming from an unbiased perspective and not really being a fan of the whole Tom Clancy thing, But wow does this game deliver in fresh tactics guns that actually have important stats like the time your gun is ready to shoot when coming from a slide. The map design although many are criticizing it is actually the best map design I've seen in a long while. The maps don't point outThis is coming from an unbiased perspective and not really being a fan of the whole Tom Clancy thing, But wow does this game deliver in fresh tactics guns that actually have important stats like the time your gun is ready to shoot when coming from a slide. The map design although many are criticizing it is actually the best map design I've seen in a long while. The maps don't point out perfect roots to flank from or buildings and cover to camp from. No instead you have to find it your self which I very much like. The graphics are some what above average. Average being compared to Halo 4 and Call of Duty. The community is very good in this game too. in most public games you will have people willing to strategize over a microphone instead the average game where people shut up and play. It also features a well rounded cover mechanic which just helps to keep the imminent strategy. I strongly recommend this game. It is only a multiplayer game, and is a free to play, you here that 60 Dollar Call of Duty free-to-play! Expand
  36. May 16, 2013
    9
    Ghost Recon Online has to be one of the most polished TPS games I have played in quite some time. The amount of bad criticism I have seen has been quite surprising. I will try to cover a few topics I have heard issues with. Also this game has not had an updated review since the newer patches have been released as there is new content available.

    First, The newest patch 0.11.0 of Ghost
    Ghost Recon Online has to be one of the most polished TPS games I have played in quite some time. The amount of bad criticism I have seen has been quite surprising. I will try to cover a few topics I have heard issues with. Also this game has not had an updated review since the newer patches have been released as there is new content available.

    First, The newest patch 0.11.0 of Ghost Recon Online has helped to dramatically reduce the amount of sniping in the games. Earlier reviews told of sniper camping being one of the main issues with this game and I can assure you that problem has been addressed in this patch. Beforehand the twitch shooting on sniper rifles was a big problem. Being able to quickly pan the screen with no sway on the rifle while zoomed was a big issue for anyone trying to change positions while under sniper pressure. Now when a sniper quickly pans over while aiming there is residual sway on the scope making it hard to twitch fire accurately. Also camping players in cover with the sniper rifles has become harder with the sway being increased while aiming. You can no longer hover your reticule over a players position waiting for them to pop out for a clean head shot easily. The sway constantly keeps the reticule moving so (without some skill) it is difficult to keep that reticule exactly where it needs to be. They have also gotten rid of the "Sniper Dance" exploit which is a big complaint from many that have played this game and with the countersniping. Many snipers were able to change from prone or crouch to a standing position while aiming with no movement in the reticules sway. This made it easy to line up a shot without having to worry about being sniped, easily pop up and shoot. Now there is a large amount of sway in the snipers reticule when switching positions. I believe that covers most of the basic problems with snipers.

    Secondly, the amount of maps have been increased. There are now 6 regular playable maps, and 3 different game types. Also you can now (if you are in a clan) create a Clan Match to test out 3 beat maps that are currently still in development to give input on them while the mapmakers finish them. This lets the users give their insight into how they would like to see their maps look and feel. You are still not allowed to choose what map you play on unless you are creating a Clan vs Clan match but this is all part of GRO's matchmaking system. As a whole the maps are well balanced and you will always play at least 2 rounds as the teams switch sides just to make sure to keep it on an even keel (3 rounds when playing the "Holdout" game mode). These maps are well polished for a F2P game.

    Third, the matchmaking system could use a bit of an update but all in all is not overly flawed. It gets quite annoying when you are not matched with players of the same skill level but that happens in any game you play. You are able to run a Fireteam with up to 3 other players of your choosing to help even the odds of the matches that you search for. At times the other players that you are paired with may not be of the same skill level as yourself which makes for a bad experience but should not be the overall consensus of the matchmaking system. This system is designed specifically to be as random as possible and to keep from making 8 player teams that specifically rule every game they play. Imagine if you were allowed to choose an 8 player Fireteam and you had to continually come in contact with 8 of the best players there. This would not be a very good experience either. This matchmaking system is there to improve your play not hinder it.

    Lastly, the weapons in Ghost Recon Online are not as unbalanced as some have previously stated. The pricing is higher as the weapons get better and better which is, quite frankly, to be expected. In what game has a higher level weapon with a higher damage output and better control than a starter weapon not been much more expensive than a lower level weapon that you may be able to purchase after a few hours of play. This is not a uncommon occurrence. You must actually PLAY THE GAME in order to attain a higher level of weaponry. These weapons are not basically given to you because this is a F2P game. This game was not free to make and is made for the sole purpose of profit. Ubisoft spent time and money into this game and im sure they would enjoy to see profits in the end. Just because a game is free to play does not mean it is free to make. The "Ghost Coins" are a there to help other players that do not have the time to put in to attaining the amount of Requisition Points to attain some of the weaponry to essentially buy their way up. This is money for Ubisoft and helps the players this is not to destroy the gameplay but to help Ubisoft make a profit from a very respectable game.

    All in all this game is a must for any seasoned veteran in the shooter genre. This is no run and gun COD shooter so please don't rate it as such. Tactics reign supreme in GRO
    Expand
  37. Oct 6, 2013
    9
    Truly a gem among online FPS experiences. Game play, graphics, UI and especially audio are slick and considering the game is still in early beta, getting better with every release. Game play mechanics favour strong team coordination and tactics and when executed properly, the game is exciting and rewarding. Lone wolf style play can work but many find it frustrating. The game features aTruly a gem among online FPS experiences. Game play, graphics, UI and especially audio are slick and considering the game is still in early beta, getting better with every release. Game play mechanics favour strong team coordination and tactics and when executed properly, the game is exciting and rewarding. Lone wolf style play can work but many find it frustrating. The game features a level based and tiered equipment system with a set of class specific qualifications and awards to unlock. Equipment and gear can be bought with earned points or with cash. Despite this, the stats between the lowest tier and highest tier Expand
  38. Oct 20, 2013
    10
    Loving it. At first I got a little frustrated because you know, its a Pay to Win game, but then I found out that you can buy all the same stuff just with the points you get from playing (they do cost a bit more but not all that bad). Best of all, they appear to be infinite (not like combat arms where you would buy a gun to use for say, a month...). The game is really well made, has decentLoving it. At first I got a little frustrated because you know, its a Pay to Win game, but then I found out that you can buy all the same stuff just with the points you get from playing (they do cost a bit more but not all that bad). Best of all, they appear to be infinite (not like combat arms where you would buy a gun to use for say, a month...). The game is really well made, has decent graphics and is fun to play (oh ya, and its FREE). Yes it still does help if the other guy has tons of money to spend on guns but because of the point system you can still get better guns w/o paying) truly, I'd give it a 9.7 but that's not on the scale. Expand
  39. Feb 20, 2013
    9
    This is a very nice tactical shooter with linear map design. However, they suit the style of gameplay well and don't detract from the overall experience very much. I always enjoy cover-based games like Mass Effect, so when I saw this game I was very stoked. The shooting mechanics are very nice, and it has a steep learning curve. This game is NOT P2P at all. I absolutely destroyed many ofThis is a very nice tactical shooter with linear map design. However, they suit the style of gameplay well and don't detract from the overall experience very much. I always enjoy cover-based games like Mass Effect, so when I saw this game I was very stoked. The shooting mechanics are very nice, and it has a steep learning curve. This game is NOT P2P at all. I absolutely destroyed many of my opponents with the default weapons. Tactical flanking is encouraged, so long, boring firefights are not common. Pick this game up, you won't regret it. Expand
  40. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    This is a tactical shooter that uses active cover as a primary mechanic of the game. That being said, if you are a COD run and gunner, this game is not for you. If you try to run and gun, you will find your untimely death quite fast. Now, if you enjoy a more cerebral side of combat where squad tactics, stealth, and cover and concealment are a key part of success, then this is your game.This is a tactical shooter that uses active cover as a primary mechanic of the game. That being said, if you are a COD run and gunner, this game is not for you. If you try to run and gun, you will find your untimely death quite fast. Now, if you enjoy a more cerebral side of combat where squad tactics, stealth, and cover and concealment are a key part of success, then this is your game. Each of the 3 classes are very well matched and have their own strengths and weaknesses. To put it bluntly, there isn't a single class that is dominant. As you read the negative reviews, if you see keywords like camping, then you know they expected to be able to run and gun and got handled. It is free, give it a try. Expand
  41. Aug 27, 2013
    9
    All I can say is this game is phenomenal! No words can describe my joy and satisfaction while playing this game. This is the only shooter that raises my heart rate, It is packed with action and the fights are really intense.

    I played a lot of shooters in my life and Ghost Recon: Online just stands out from the rest. It is unique and mega-fun gaming experience that will keep you glued in
    All I can say is this game is phenomenal! No words can describe my joy and satisfaction while playing this game. This is the only shooter that raises my heart rate, It is packed with action and the fights are really intense.

    I played a lot of shooters in my life and Ghost Recon: Online just stands out from the rest. It is unique and mega-fun gaming experience that will keep you glued in your seats for hours. An amazing achievement from Ubisoft to have it on PC bringing back hardcore pc players.

    What I really like:
    1. Solid gameplay and cover system
    2. Encourages team play and coordination (You can create/ join clans and fire teams)
    3. Outstanding weapon and character feel
    4. Great visuals with superb audio
    5. Map design is very good
    6. Friendly community

    Why I gave it a 9:
    1. They need to release the full version!
    2. Match maker needs to be improved
    3. Rampant leavers
    4. Few cosmetics and character customizations
    5. No female character models!
    Expand
  42. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    Its no doubt "UBISOFT" is one of top developers. Its first F2P title from them and its worth playing. Its best TPS ( third person shooter) right now and better then many FPS (first person shooter). And if you havent played yet why are you thinking its FREE!!!!! It aint gona cost you a peny
  43. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    ghost recon onlin is best game online and he is free gameeeeee yeah freeeeeeeeee ******recon *****assult ****spesalist come to play this best game i love ghost recon online
  44. Nov 6, 2012
    10
    Good game, But lags some times because of its peer to peer connections.
    Very nice TPS, very tactical and smart, you really should try, it's free ! ;) The content it limited but it will be more in a few time (they are only 4 maps and no armor customisation yet)
  45. Apr 15, 2014
    10
    this game is great for a free game. If you somewhat grind you can upgrade weopans. each game gives you 1000 credits, and it'll take 12000-24000 credits to buy guns, and around 10000 to fully upgrade. so if you play a days worth, you can actually buy and upgrade a pretty sick gun. Great potential for team work, i say this cuz u need to play with people you know to have teamwork, nobodythis game is great for a free game. If you somewhat grind you can upgrade weopans. each game gives you 1000 credits, and it'll take 12000-24000 credits to buy guns, and around 10000 to fully upgrade. so if you play a days worth, you can actually buy and upgrade a pretty sick gun. Great potential for team work, i say this cuz u need to play with people you know to have teamwork, nobody talks. It's a 10/10 because i can find nothing wrong with it, it's not pay to win, and its not a huge grind to get things either, its the perfecrt middleground for microtransactions. if you like tactical gameplay and not just running and gunning, this is the game for you. cover system and camera are very good. Expand
  46. Apr 24, 2014
    10
    Great game! If you play any 3rd person shooters, you will like this. With some time and effort you will get it down in no time! this game IS all about COVER! really it is...Maps are ok, they seem to be a bit unbalenced. some at least. customization is awesome, and controls are great. even if you play with a controller! always you can make it to the way you play. the game is very slow paceGreat game! If you play any 3rd person shooters, you will like this. With some time and effort you will get it down in no time! this game IS all about COVER! really it is...Maps are ok, they seem to be a bit unbalenced. some at least. customization is awesome, and controls are great. even if you play with a controller! always you can make it to the way you play. the game is very slow pace at first, and when the snipers come out, oh boy, are you in some heat. take your time and master a class you want to really use. it is then then perks of that class come out. some time to get ahead...you still need to pay to play tho!! You dont need to be greedy! show some support and give them your money.. $14 bucks can go a long way. which really should be the price of the game.... but w.e. Expand
  47. Jul 20, 2014
    10
    Great controls. My only real gripe is people get bogged down in shoot outs but thats ok cuz ill run up on them and bunker them good. Great graphics and not hard to earn free credits to buy the guns. Not really pay to win though it looks like it from the onstart.

    gg
  48. Sep 18, 2014
    9
    This game is very similiar to Gears of war in its gameplay alltho this one has slightly superior one. I have had such an amazing time playing this game and I honestly dont think this is a Pay2win title while others do. Personally i have had no problem being top of the ranks and earning multiple MVP medals with just the tier 1 items. I can see that some weapons in the top tier are almostThis game is very similiar to Gears of war in its gameplay alltho this one has slightly superior one. I have had such an amazing time playing this game and I honestly dont think this is a Pay2win title while others do. Personally i have had no problem being top of the ranks and earning multiple MVP medals with just the tier 1 items. I can see that some weapons in the top tier are almost strictly better than your starting gear but I dont see too much of a problem in that because the matchmaking seems quite balanced during busy hours of gameplay and i rarely see any one hit kill snipers or other "super weapons". But when you do see that guy with pimpd out gear it does piss you off but those are rare and far between and they still die to your regular bullets unlike in free2play games like World of tanks where your only balanced bullets have to be bought with real money. I'd give it 10 but the limited game modes and maps (still many for a free to play) make it bit repetitive if you play it more than 2h in a day. Expand
  49. Jun 2, 2014
    10
    Very refreshing shooter, something that has been missing on the market. This is a game where you get severely punished for "run and gun", and need to outsmart your opponents. Some people said that there is a steep learning curve... to me playing this game felt more natural than any other shooter. This is a really good game!
    It is free to play you have so you don't have to take my word
    Very refreshing shooter, something that has been missing on the market. This is a game where you get severely punished for "run and gun", and need to outsmart your opponents. Some people said that there is a steep learning curve... to me playing this game felt more natural than any other shooter. This is a really good game!
    It is free to play you have so you don't have to take my word for it, download it and make up your own mind.
    Expand
  50. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    Best shooter already done, you do not play against the predictable machine but against people.
    With defined goal, and guerrilla tactics lead you to an addiction to not be able to stop playing.
    Beautiful graphics, good frame rate. a wonderful game

    Thanks ubisoft, you are the best.
  51. May 21, 2015
    9
    I play during the close beta and i can say that right now the game improve alot.

    Pros - tactical game is awesome - weapon customization - well balanced classes abilities Cons - need more maps and game mode - fix the matchmaking I've been playing since the age of disconnect with this game but now the server is much stable than the close beta. Not that I'm bragging or something
    I play during the close beta and i can say that right now the game improve alot.

    Pros
    - tactical game is awesome
    - weapon customization
    - well balanced classes abilities

    Cons
    - need more maps and game mode
    - fix the matchmaking

    I've been playing since the age of disconnect with this game but now the server is much stable than the close beta. Not that I'm bragging or something but this game requires skills, and also you need to spend the game currency wisely to get the top tier weapons and stuffs. One more thing, before i got my tier IX sniper and tier V armor I'm playing with the big boys of the colonel's rank with just tier I sniper.

    Definitely Recommend it
    Expand
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. May 19, 2014
    65
    It's basically the same game as Ghost Recon Online but with not so many more maps: a third person shooter that aims to be tactical without being able to provide fun for more than a few hours. It deserves to be tried only because it's free and nothing else.
  2. May 16, 2014
    70
    Classes and skills are well-balanced, and even though you’ll cycle through the small map selection quickly, they offer enough possibilities to stave off fatigue until Ubisoft adds more arenas. With more modes and maps, Phantoms would be a formidable offering, but it’s worth dipping into until then.
  3. Apr 30, 2014
    70
    Considering this is completely free to play, Phantoms has a lot to offer in terms of tight controls, nifty cooperation and a neat ranking system. Given the fact that it will keep evolving, it looks like fans will have good reason to stay.