Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 775 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Improvise. Adapt. Overcome. You are a fugitive, ruthlessly hunted by the very government you used to serve. Your only choice is to improvise to survive. Experience original gameplay based on improvisation in which your environment is your top weapon. Always on your toes, you need to react onImprovise. Adapt. Overcome. You are a fugitive, ruthlessly hunted by the very government you used to serve. Your only choice is to improvise to survive. Experience original gameplay based on improvisation in which your environment is your top weapon. Always on your toes, you need to react on the fly to any changing situations and use the environment and the crowds around you to create diversions and deter your enemies. As a fugitive, quick thinking and adaptation are essential to turn the situation to your advantage. A gameplay experience delivering 100% adrenaline includes close combat and shooting sequences. To survive, build an underground network of allies who will help you obtain high-tech gadgets and stay one step ahead of your pursuers as you struggle to unmask the forces that frame you. [Ubisoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Tom Clancy's Splinter Cell: Conviction Official Trailer 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. GamePro
    100
    Why Sam has stepped out of the shadows and is on full out attack makes complete sense in context with the story, so if you can accept it for what it is and not dwell on the fact that it isn't what you've come to expect in a Splinter Cell title, you'll no doubt agree that Conviction rivals Chaos Theory as the best title in the franchise's history. [Jun 2010, p.78]
  2. Arguably the best in the series. Better sneaking mechanic, one of the best cover systems ever, and pacing on a level unlike anything you've experienced in a stealth game, all while keeping it accessible to new players.
  3. Sam Fisher is back. Conviction is faster, harder and offers more action than the predecessors, but it’s still a Splinter Cell game at heart. And for the first time, Sam Fisher is a real human character.
  4. PC Zone UK
    84
    Sam might not be sticking to the shadows as much as he once did, but Splinter Cell's never been this classy. [July 2010, p.78]
  5. Conviction appeals to a whole new crowd that grew up on creating distractions, using every single gadget in their inventory and dragging bodies into shadows. If Conviction is evidence of where Ubisoft is taking the series, they are about to win over a lot of new fans and potentially upset a portion of those already loyal.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    80
    New, different and excellent – this is an all new Splinter Cell. Is it good because of changes or despite the changes, that is the question. [Issue#191]
  7. PC PowerPlay
    60
    In trading substance for style, Conviction winds up hollow and unsatisfying. Co-op is the only saving grace. [July 2010, p.52]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 104
  2. Negative: 29 out of 104
  1. ProphetofDoom
    May 5, 2010
    10
    Where are all your comments you whinning bitches? This game looks great plays great with keyboard and mouse and feels great, a worthy follow Where are all your comments you whinning bitches? This game looks great plays great with keyboard and mouse and feels great, a worthy follow up to Double Agent. Much better use of the unreal engine than bioware's effort in Mass Effect 2, which is not unexpected... Sam Fisher is one of the truly great characters of gameing, in no small part thanks to Micheal Ironside, whose rasping irony sets the mood right from the first sentence. The people who voted this game so low are probably the same pack of wankers we voted Dragon Age Origins RPG of the year. When it should have been voted biggest "..from the makers of KOTOR...", media hype, let down pile of bullshit of the year. Expand
  2. Jul 11, 2020
    10
    This game made me very satisfied. I had a little trouble playing the game because other games have not been so hidden :) The best in theThis game made me very satisfied. I had a little trouble playing the game because other games have not been so hidden :) The best in the series. I would recommend it to everyone. Expand
  3. Apr 13, 2014
    9
    A great game that concludes one of my favorite series. While I understand why people dislike it, I adored it from start to finish. It's allA great game that concludes one of my favorite series. While I understand why people dislike it, I adored it from start to finish. It's all about Sam in the end, and the gameplay change definitely fits it in that regard. The man has had enough and is at his peak physically and mentally. He simply doesn't care anymore and wants it all behind him. Micheal Ironside gives his best performance yet, and with some really great level and sound design (Amon Tobin never ceases to amaze), it's quite memorable in parts. The coop is also brilliant and incredibly fun with a friend.

    It isn't nearly as stealthy as its predecessors, but that doesn't mean there isn't any stealth, and it's by far a 'very bad Splinter Cell game'. Playing Chaos Theory, Double Agent and Conviction back to back is an absolutely solid video game experience. Don't miss it.
    Expand
  4. Feb 11, 2020
    7
    They basically turned what used to be a game about meticulous execution of stealth tactics into "run and go guns blazing".
    As a standalone
    They basically turned what used to be a game about meticulous execution of stealth tactics into "run and go guns blazing".
    As a standalone title it's actually a fun game, but too bad it runs like **** even in 2020.
    Expand
  5. Feb 12, 2018
    6
    Overall, and average third person shooter. Visually the game was really innovative and beautiful and also the story did it's part and it wasOverall, and average third person shooter. Visually the game was really innovative and beautiful and also the story did it's part and it was decent enough, although the story is not made for any newcomer to the world of Splinter Cell. It's hard to understand most of the time, if you haven't played through the previous couple games in the series. Also the Game-play it's broken and now as polished as expected. It's a complete chore to play most of the time. Expand
  6. Apr 17, 2020
    4
    А это точно Splinter Cell? А это точно написал Том Клэнси? Игра простая и глупая.
  7. Dec 5, 2014
    0
    I'm not a sneaky-purist so action games are welcome by me. I liked most of this game, in every way. This could have been a great game for me,I'm not a sneaky-purist so action games are welcome by me. I liked most of this game, in every way. This could have been a great game for me, BUT all is scre.ed up by the checkpoint system. Why on earth lazy devs or psycho money men are forcing it on us. I leave most games because I don't want to see the same bl..dy 20 secs or 2 mins of footage and starting the whole thing again. It makes me angry and I sooner or later leave the game.
    UPDATE: and it happened. After going throug the same sh.t for 20 times, listening the same stupid conversation that can't be skipped, I uninstalled this piece of crap from my computer and I won't install any other from the series till I know that there is a savegame feature. In this form this is just utter waste of time.
    As a game it is a 0.
    Expand

See all 104 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.